COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 17B+ vs Fluke T5-600

Fluke 17B+ vs Fluke T5-600 is a bench-versus-panel choice. The 17B+ is a full multimeter built for electronics, with temperature, frequency, capacitance to 1,000 µF and MIN MAX recording. The T5-600 is an electrical tester that trades those functions for speed: automatic AC/DC voltage, quick continuity and up to 100A AC through an open jaw.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 17B+ digital multimeter, front view
Best Value Fluke

Fluke 17B+

4.5★★★★★

A full-size Fluke with temperature, frequency, MIN MAX and relative mode, but not True RMS.

Fluke T5-600 electrical tester with OpenJaw current fork
Best Electrical Tester

Fluke T5-600

4.4★★★★☆

Not a multimeter but an electrician's tester: volts, continuity and up to 100A AC through an open jaw, no leads in the circuit.

Specs side by side

Fluke 17B+Fluke T5-600
Rating4.5★★★★★4.4★★★★☆
AccuracyNot stated as True RMS by FlukeAverage-responding (not True RMS)
Safety ratingCAT III 600V / CAT II 1000VCAT III 600V
Auto-rangingYes (manual override)Automatic AC/DC voltage selection
Best forElectronics hobbyists, students, appliance repairElectricians' quick voltage and current checks
Instrument typeDigital multimeterElectrical tester
Display4,000 counts, backlitDigital LCD (count not stated), 1 V steps on volts
VoltageTo 1000V AC/DCTo 600V AC/DC, automatic AC/DC selection
DC volts accuracy±(0.5% + 3)±(1% + 1)
Current400 µA to 10A AC/DC via leads, ±(1.5% + 3)To 100A AC via open jaw, ±(3% + 3)
ResistanceTo 40 MΩTo 1,000 Ω
CapacitanceTo 1,000 µF No
Frequency / duty10 Hz to 100 kHz; 1–99% No
Temperature−55 °C to 400 °C, probe included No
RecordingMIN MAX, relative, holdDisplay hold
Input impedance>10 MΩLow (Fluke: shouldn't show ghost voltage)
Battery2 × AA, 500 h minimum2 × AA, 400 h alkaline
Weight455 g300 g
Drop ratingNot stated3 m (10 ft)
Warranty1 year (Fluke manual)2 years

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →The 17B+ is a general-purpose multimeter; Fluke sells the T5-600 as an electrical tester.
  • →Only the 17B+ measures capacitance, frequency, duty cycle and temperature.
  • →The T5-600 reads AC current up to 100A through its open jaw; the 17B+ reads up to 10A, AC or DC, with the leads in series.
  • →Resistance tops out at 1,000 Ω on the T5-600 against 40 MΩ on the 17B+.
  • →The 17B+ resolves volts to 0.001 V on its 4 V range; the T5-600 reads volts in whole-volt steps.
  • →The T5-600 picks AC or DC voltage automatically and survives a 3 m drop; the 17B+ needs the dial set but offers MIN MAX and relative mode.
  • →Neither is True RMS: Fluke calls the T5-600 average-responding and makes no True RMS claim for the 17B+.

Fluke 17B+ vs T5-600 spec by spec

The two overlap on voltage but diverge sharply elsewhere. These first two charts use a logarithmic scale because the ranges differ by orders of magnitude.

Fluke 17B+
40 MΩ
Fluke T5-600
1,000 Ω

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Maximum resistance: 40 MΩ is 40,000 times the T5-600's 1,000 Ω.
Fluke 17B+
10A AC/DC
Fluke T5-600
100A AC

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Maximum current: the open jaw reaches ten times further, AC only.
Fluke 17B+, 10 A range
±0.18 A
Fluke T5-600, jaw
±0.60 A
Worst-case error on a 10 A AC load, from each maker spec: the 17B+ at ±(1.5% + 3 × 0.01 A), the T5-600 at ±(3% + 3 × 0.1 A). Lower is better.
Fluke 17B+
±0.9 V
Fluke T5-600
±2.2 V
Worst-case error reading 120 V DC: ±(0.5% + 3 × 0.1 V) on the 17B+'s 400 V range, ±(1% + 1 V) on the T5-600.

Neither error matters for the T5-600's intended job. Knowing a motor draws 9.4 A rather than 10.0 A, or that a circuit carries 120 V rather than 118 V, is plenty to tell a healthy load from a dead or overloaded one. The 17B+'s tighter figures pay off on electronics, where a reading of 4.85 V against 5.00 V on a logic supply is the difference between a working board and a fault.

Resolution: what whole-volt steps hide

The T5-600 shows voltage in 1 V steps. That is a deliberate choice for a tester meant to answer "is it live, and is it about 120 V or 240 V?" in a second. The 17B+ shows the same voltage to 0.01 V on its 40 V range and to 0.001 V on its 4 V range, which is what you need for batteries, sensors and logic rails.

Reading a 12 V battery17B+: 0.01 V steps (only every tenth tick drawn)12 V13 VT5-600: 1 V steps12.2 V battery12.7 V batteryBoth batteries sit between the same two T5-600 display values;the 17B+ separates them by 50 counts.
Display steps of each tool around 12 V. Battery voltages shown are examples, not measurements.

A resting 12 V lead-acid battery near 12.7 V is roughly full, and one near 12.2 V is roughly half discharged; those are typical rule-of-thumb values that vary with battery type and temperature. The 17B+ separates them easily. The T5-600 can't, which is why a pocket multimeter belongs beside it for any battery, automotive or electronics job. Our guide on testing a 12V battery under load goes further.

Bench or panel: matching the job

JobBetter fitReason
Checking a capacitor on a circuit board17B+T5-600 has no capacitance function
Reading an oven or heatsink temperature17B+Type K probe included
Confirming a breaker is liveT5-600Automatic AC/DC voltage, no dial change
Motor current on a 20A circuitT5-60017B+ stops at 10A
Tracking an intermittent fault17B+MIN MAX recording
Checking a PWM fan or dimmer output17B+Frequency and duty cycle
Tracing a dead circuit in old wiringT5-600Low input impedance sheds ghost voltage

A note on the 17B+ listing

The Amazon listing for the 17B+ shows the newer 17B MAX in its main photo, so check which model it ships before ordering.

Who should buy which

Buy the 17B+ if your work happens on a bench or inside appliances. Its µA and mA ranges cover standby draw and control loops, its thermocouple input covers ovens and HVAC air, and frequency to 100 kHz with duty cycle covers PWM circuits. It is also the only one of the pair that can log extremes with MIN MAX while you wait for an intermittent fault.

Buy the T5-600 if your work happens at panels and motors. The open jaw takes a single conductor up to 1/0 THHN in its 12.9 mm opening, so you read a compressor or heater current without shutting anything down. The long, narrow body stores its probes in the back and is rated for a 3 m drop. Many electricians carry both kinds of tool; if you want one meter that does both jobs, compare the Fluke 117 and T5-600 or read our clamp meter buying guide.

Fluke 17B+ vs T5-600: which should you buy?

You are…Better fitWhy
Electronics hobbyist or studentFluke 17B+Capacitance, frequency, µA ranges and 0.001 V resolution
Appliance or HVAC service technicianFluke 17B+Temperature plus mA ranges for controls
Residential electricianFluke T5-600Fast live checks and 100A AC without opening circuits
Maintenance tech on motors and heatersFluke T5-600Load current above 10A through the jaw
Car ownerFluke 17B+DC current and fine DC volts; the T5-600 can't read DC amps
Buyer who drops tools from laddersFluke T5-600Rated for a 3 m fall

Safety: current checks on live circuits

To read current, the 17B+ must be wired in series: switch off, open the circuit, connect the leads to the A or mA jack, then power up. Never leave the leads in a current jack and probe a voltage source, which puts a near short across it. The T5-600 avoids that by clamping one conductor, but Fluke warns it won't read a whole cord, because hot and neutral cancel. Both are CAT III 600V; for service-entrance work or a panel that is hot, buzzing or burnt, call a licensed electrician.

Choose the Fluke 17B+ if…

  • ✓You repair electronics and need capacitance, frequency and duty cycle
  • ✓You want temperature readings with the included Type K probe
  • ✓You need resistance above 1,000 Ω, up to 40 MΩ

Choose the Fluke T5-600 if…

  • ✓You check panels, outlets and motors and want answers fast
  • ✓You need AC current above 10A without opening the circuit
  • ✓You drop tools: Fluke rates it for a 3 m fall

The bottom line

For electronics, choose the Fluke 17B+: capacitance, frequency, temperature and MIN MAX are things the T5-600 simply can't do. For electrical panels and motors, the T5-600 is the faster, tougher tool and reads far more current. Many electricians carry a tester like the T5 and a multimeter like the 17B+ side by side.

Frequently asked questions

Can the Fluke T5-600 replace a 17B+ multimeter?+

Not for electronics. It has no capacitance, frequency, duty cycle or temperature function, resistance stops at 1,000 Ω, and voltage reads in whole-volt steps. It covers what an electrician checks most: AC and DC voltage, continuity and AC current to 100A. For circuit boards, batteries and sensors you still need a multimeter such as the 17B+.

Which reads more current, the 17B+ or the T5-600?+

The T5-600, up to 100A AC through its open jaw with 0.1 A resolution. The 17B+ reads up to 10A, but on both AC and DC and down to its 400.0 µA range at 0.1 µA resolution. So the T5-600 wins on big motor and heater loads, and the 17B+ wins on anything small or DC.

Does the Fluke 17B+ measure temperature?+

Yes, from -55 °C to 400 °C with the Type K thermocouple probe Fluke includes. Accuracy is ±2 °C from 0 to 50 °C and ±(2% + 1 °C) from 50 to 400 °C, which is fine for HVAC air, ovens and heatsinks. The T5-600 has no temperature function, so you would need a separate thermometer.

Are the 17B+ and T5-600 the same safety rating?+

Both are CAT III 600V, which covers distribution panels, feeders and branch circuits. Fluke's datasheet also gives the 17B+ a CAT II 1000V rating for lower-energy, plug-connected equipment, and it measures up to 1000V. Neither tool is rated CAT IV, so neither should be used at the service entrance or meter base.

Is the Fluke T5-600 True RMS?+

No. Fluke describes the T5-600's AC response as averaging, and it makes no True RMS claim for the 17B+ either. Both read clean 60 Hz sine waves correctly. On variable-speed drives, LED drivers and other distorted loads their AC readings can be off, so choose a True RMS meter such as the Fluke 117 for that work.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews