Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through the links below, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
At a glance
Our top picks

Pinecil V2
USB-C powered and pocket-sized — the rare budget tool that doesn't feel like a compromise.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
FNIRSI HS-02A
A 100W USB-C smart iron with a color screen, three presets and a 100W charger in the box.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
Hakko FX-601
A temperature-controlled Hakko iron with the dial on the handle and no station to find room for.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓Also great
- 4
Miniware TS101Check pricePrice →Best Portable Smart Iron4.4★★★★☆ - 5
Hakko FX-888DXCheck pricePrice →Best Overall4.7★★★★★ - 6
Weller WE1010NACheck pricePrice →Best for Professional Benches4.6★★★★★ - 7
YIHUA 862BD+Check pricePrice →Best 2-in-1 with Hot Air Rework4.3★★★★☆ - 8
X-Tronic 3020-XTSCheck pricePrice →Best Budget Kit with Long Warranty4.4★★★★☆ - 9
Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron KitCheck pricePrice →Cheapest Digital Kit4.2★★★★☆ - 10
Q-MING 60W KitCheck pricePrice →Best Budget4.3★★★★☆
Quick shopping
Compare at a glance
Swipe sideways on mobile to see every spec.
| Model | Award | Rating | Power | Heat-up time | Temperature control | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
#1Pinecil V2 | Best Portable | 4.7★★★★★ | Up to 88W at 24V DC; about 60W from 20V USB-C PD | ~12 seconds (with a 20V+ supply) | OLED digital display | Check price → |
#2FNIRSI HS-02A | Best High-Power Smart Iron | 4.4★★★★☆ | Up to 100W, USB-C PD/QC 9–20V | 2–3 s tinning (FNIRSI's figures differ) | Digital, color screen, 100–450°C, 3 presets | Check price → |
#3Hakko FX-601 | Best Stationless Iron | 4.4★★★★☆ | 67W (120V) | Not stated by Hakko | Dial on handle, closed-loop, 240–540°C | Check price → |
#4Miniware TS101 | Best Portable Smart Iron | 4.4★★★★☆ | USB-C PD 9–20V or DC 9–24V (65W adapter included) | Not stated | Digital, OLED, 50–400°C | Check price → |
#5Hakko FX-888DX | Best Overall | 4.7★★★★★ | 100W station (65W iron) | Not stated by Hakko | Digital, closed-loop, 50–480°C | Check price → |
#6Weller WE1010NA | Best for Professional Benches | 4.6★★★★★ | 85W station (70W iron) | ~28 seconds (50–350°C) | Digital, 100–450°C, ESD-safe | Check price → |
#7YIHUA 862BD+ | Best 2-in-1 with Hot Air Rework | 4.3★★★★☆ | 75W iron / 500W hot air (720W total) | — | — | Check price → |
#8X-Tronic 3020-XTS | Best Budget Kit with Long Warranty | 4.4★★★★☆ | 75W station (60W iron) | Under 30 s, 200 to 480°C (X-Tronic's listing) | PID, LED display, 200–480°C, ±2°C | Check price → |
#9Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron Kit | Cheapest Digital Kit | 4.2★★★★☆ | 80W, 110–120V | 10 s (listing's claim) | LCD, buttons, 180–480°C | Check price → |
#10Q-MING 60W Kit | Best Budget | 4.3★★★★☆ | 60W | ~15 seconds | Adjustable dial, 200–450°C | Check price → |
In depth
Detailed reviews
Pinecil V2
USB-C powered and pocket-sized — the rare budget tool that doesn't feel like a compromise.
Best for:Portability, field repairs
USB-C powered, pocket-sized, and genuinely fast to heat up — the Pinecil V2 is the rare budget tool that doesn't feel like a compromise, making it a favorite for on-the-go repairs.
Why it fits: It goes where car repairs happen: a 28 g iron rated for 12–24V input that runs from USB-C PD chargers and power banks, with up to 88W on a 24V supply and about 12 seconds to working temperature on 20V or more. That makes it ideal for splices behind dashboards and in engine bays. No stand comes in the box, and Pine64 publishes no temperature range or ESD rating.
- Power
- Up to 88W at 24V DC; about 60W from 20V USB-C PD
- Heat-up time
- ~12 seconds (with a 20V+ supply)
- Temperature control
- OLED digital display
- Best for
- Portability, field repairs
Reasons to buy
- +Extremely compact and travel-friendly
- +Fast heat-up for its size
- +Powered by any USB-C PD source, even a power bank
Reasons to avoid
- −No stand included by default
- −Needs a USB-C PD or DC supply; full power needs 24V
- −Pine64's Amazon listing still describes the original Pinecil (65W, 12–21V barrel jack): check the version shown before you buy
FNIRSI HS-02A
A 100W USB-C smart iron with a color screen, three presets and a 100W charger in the box.
Best for:Portable kits that need real power
The HS-02A is a pen-sized smart iron that draws up to 100W from USB-C PD or QC (9–20V), covers 100–450°C and shows settings on a 0.96-inch color screen. It stores three temperature presets, supports calibration and has sleep, auto power-off and a child lock. This kit includes six tips (K, KU, JS, I, C2, B), a 100W charger and a mini stand, and the iron weighs 61 g. It has no battery, so it always needs a supply, and FNIRSI lists a different tip set for the HS-02B, so buy HS-02A tips.
Why it fits: With up to 100W from USB-C PD or QC at 9–20V, it has the most reserve of the portable irons for lighting and accessory feeds, and its six-tip kit (K, KU, JS, I, C2, B) includes knife shapes that suit wire work. A 100W charger, sleep, auto power-off and three presets help. It has no battery, so it always needs a supply, and ESD safety isn't stated.
- Power
- Up to 100W, USB-C PD/QC 9–20V
- Heat-up time
- 2–3 s tinning (FNIRSI's figures differ)
- Temperature control
- Digital, color screen, 100–450°C, 3 presets
- Best for
- Portable kits that need real power
Reasons to buy
- +100W charger and six tips included
- +Three presets plus calibration
- +Only 61 g
Reasons to avoid
- −No built-in battery: needs a PD/QC supply
- −FNIRSI's 2-year warranty applies to direct orders, per its site
Hakko FX-601
A temperature-controlled Hakko iron with the dial on the handle and no station to find room for.
Best for:Heavy wire, terminals, stained glass
The FX-601 is a mains-powered iron with closed-loop temperature control built into the handle: a ceramic heater with its own sensor, a 240–540°C dial and a lock key to stop it being knocked. At 67W it reaches higher than most bench stations, which suits heavy wire, terminals and stained-glass work, but it has no display and its lowest setting of 240°C is warm for fine electronics.
Why it fits: For battery cables, ring terminals and ground straps, its 67W heater, closed-loop control and 240–540°C range give the most heat of any pick here, and the lock key stops the setting being knocked in a busy garage. It needs a 120V outlet and has no display, and its 240°C minimum is too hot for module electronics.
- Power
- 67W (120V)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated by Hakko
- Temperature control
- Dial on handle, closed-loop, 240–540°C
- Best for
- Heavy wire, terminals, stained glass
Reasons to buy
- +No station: plugs straight into the wall
- +High 540°C ceiling for big joints
- +Lock key keeps the setting fixed
Reasons to avoid
- −No temperature display
- −240°C minimum is hot for delicate SMD work
- −Sold by third parties on Amazon; Hakko warns of counterfeits
Miniware TS101
A portable smart iron with an OLED screen, USB-C PD or DC input and TS100 tip compatibility.
Best for:Portable kits, field repairs
Miniware's TS101 is the successor to the TS100: a portable iron with an OLED display, 50–400°C range, motion-sensing sleep, an overheat warning and a Boost button, powered from USB-C PD (9–20V) or a 9–24V DC supply. This kit includes a 65W USB-C adapter, and TS100 tips fit. It goes head to head with the Pinecil V2; Miniware's listing gives conflicting wattage figures, so we don't quote one.
Why it fits: Its DC input accepts 9–24V as well as USB-C PD, which gives the most flexible power options for working at the car, and motion-sensing sleep helps when the iron gets set down in awkward places. It takes TS100 tips and comes with a 65W adapter. The 400°C ceiling and Miniware's conflicting wattage figures limit it on heavy wire.
- Power
- USB-C PD 9–20V or DC 9–24V (65W adapter included)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated
- Temperature control
- Digital, OLED, 50–400°C
- Best for
- Portable kits, field repairs
Reasons to buy
- +USB-C PD or DC input; 65W adapter in the box
- +Motion-sensing sleep and Boost button
- +Takes TS100 tips
Reasons to avoid
- −400°C ceiling is lower than bench stations
- −Maximum wattage not clearly stated by Miniware
- −Amazon listing is a kit sold by a third-party seller
Hakko FX-888DX
The FX-888D's replacement: the same T18 tips and handpiece, with a 100W station, a proper dial and five presets.
Best for:Serious hobbyists, repair benches
Hakko replaced the FX-888D with the FX-888DX. It keeps the FX-8801 handpiece and T18 tips, the 50–480°C range and ±1°C idle stability, but the station rises from 70W to 100W, swaps the old button interface for a push-button rotary dial with a digital °F/°C display, stores five presets and adds a parameter lock against accidental calibration. It is ESD safe and also drives Hakko's tweezers, solder gun and larger irons.
Why it fits: When a cluster, body controller or radio comes out of the car for board-level repair, this ESD-safe station with ±1°C idle stability, a 50–480°C range and T18 tips is the best place to work on it. It is a mains bench tool with a 1.2 kg station, so it does nothing for repairs in the vehicle itself.
- Power
- 100W station (65W iron)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated by Hakko
- Temperature control
- Digital, closed-loop, 50–480°C
- Best for
- Serious hobbyists, repair benches
Reasons to buy
- +Same T18 tips as the FX-888D
- +Rotary dial and five temperature presets
- +ESD safe; drives other Hakko handpieces
Reasons to avoid
- −Larger than a portable iron: the station weighs 1.2 kg
- −Counterfeits exist: buy from authorized sellers
- −No stated sleep or standby mode
Weller WE1010NA
ESD-safe construction and tight temperature stability for a dedicated electronics bench.
Best for:Dedicated workbenches, professional use
Weller's WE1010NA brings ESD-safe construction and tight temperature stability to an 85W digital station driving a 70W iron, making it a strong choice for anyone running a dedicated electronics bench.
Why it fits: An ESD-safe 70W station with standby, auto setback and a password lock suits a shop bench that handles customers' modules, keeping settings consistent between technicians. Weller quotes ±6°C and a 450°C ceiling, and it is bench-only, so it ranks behind the Hakko for module work.
- Power
- 85W station (70W iron)
- Heat-up time
- ~28 seconds (50–350°C)
- Temperature control
- Digital, 100–450°C, ESD-safe
- Best for
- Dedicated workbenches, professional use
Reasons to buy
- +ESD-safe design protects sensitive components
- +Strong temperature stability under sustained use
- +Backed by Weller's long-standing reputation
Reasons to avoid
- −Higher price point than hobbyist kits
- −Not portable — bench-only design
YIHUA 862BD+
A soldering iron and a hot air rework station in one box, for SMD and BGA work a plain iron can't touch.
Best for:SMD/BGA rework alongside general soldering
The 862BD+ pairs a 75W soldering iron with a separate 500W hot air gun in one station, aimed at SMD and BGA rework rather than general through-hole soldering alone. It's a genuinely different tool category from a standalone iron, not just a cheaper or pricier version of one.
Why it fits: The 500W hot air gun shrinks sealed heat-shrink evenly and handles SMD rework on modules, while the 75W iron covers bench soldering, both with their own readouts. It is a mains bench unit, the US listing is the 110–127V version, and it is more equipment than a garage that only splices wires needs.
- Power
- 75W iron / 500W hot air (720W total)
- Temperature range
- 200–480°C iron, 100–480°C hot air
- Display
- LED, independent iron/air readouts
- Best for
- SMD/BGA rework alongside general soldering
Reasons to buy
- +Combines a soldering iron and hot air rework station in one unit
- +Wide temperature range on both the iron and the hot air gun
- +Independently adjustable iron and hot air temperatures with separate LED readouts
Reasons to avoid
- −This US listing is the 110–127V version; buyers elsewhere need their region's variant
- −Larger and more complex than a basic iron if you never do SMD rework
X-Tronic 3020-XTS
An ESD-safe PID station from a US-based brand, with a 3-year warranty and a 10-minute sleep timer.
Best for:Hobby benches that want a long warranty
X-Tronic's 3020-XTS is a 75W station (60W to the iron, 15W to the iron's control board) with PID control, a 200–480°C range, ±2°C static stability and a blue LED readout with a C/F switch. It's ESD safe, sleeps and cools down after 10 minutes, and runs on 110V only. The Amazon kit includes two helping hands, a silicone mat, five spare tips, a 50 g lead-free roll and a brass tip cleaner. X-Tronic, based in Lincoln, Nebraska, backs it with a 3-year warranty. Its own page also quotes 90–480°C for the iron, so the low end of the range is inconsistent.
Why it fits: An ESD-safe PID station with ±2°C static stability, a 10-minute sleep with auto cool-down and a 3-year warranty makes a sensible budget bench for occasional module repairs. Its 60W iron is modest for heavy cable, it runs on 110V only and it stays on the bench.
- Power
- 75W station (60W iron)
- Heat-up time
- Under 30 s, 200 to 480°C (X-Tronic's listing)
- Temperature control
- PID, LED display, 200–480°C, ±2°C
- Best for
- Hobby benches that want a long warranty
Reasons to buy
- +ESD safe with a 10-minute sleep and auto cool-down
- +3-year warranty and US-based support
- +Kit includes helping hands, silicone mat and five tips
Reasons to avoid
- −110V only, no 220V version
- −X-Tronic's pages give two different minimum temperatures
Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron Kit
A digital-readout pen iron with auto sleep for about the price of a spool of solder.
Best for:Beginners on a tight budget
Liouhoum's 80W kit is a plug-in pen iron with an LCD, so you set and read 180–480°C directly instead of guessing from a dial. Per the listing, it drops its temperature after 5 minutes on the stand, remembers the last setting, supports calibration and switches between °C and °F. The kit includes five tips, rosin-core solder, flux, a sponge and a basic stand. There's no station, no ESD rating and no stated tip series, so it suits starter and occasional repair work rather than a daily bench.
Why it fits: An 80W plug-in pen with a digital 180–480°C readout and a 5-minute auto sleep handles occasional splices if you can run an extension cord to the car. Its specs come only from the listing, there's no ESD rating and the tip series isn't named, so it isn't for module work.
- Power
- 80W, 110–120V
- Heat-up time
- 10 s (listing's claim)
- Temperature control
- LCD, buttons, 180–480°C
- Best for
- Beginners on a tight budget
Reasons to buy
- +Digital temperature readout at a very low price
- +Auto sleep after 5 minutes on the stand
- +24-month replacement offered by the seller
Reasons to avoid
- −No ESD rating or named tip series
- −Light stand and basic accessories
Q-MING 60W Kit
A genuinely complete starter kit — easy first purchase for anyone new to soldering.
Best for:Beginners, occasional use
A genuinely complete starter kit — ceramic heating element, multiple tips, and a stand included, at a price that makes it an easy first purchase for anyone new to soldering.
Why it fits: A basic 60W dial iron from 200–450°C with five tips and a stand, heating in about 15 seconds. It is enough for an occasional signal-wire splice. There's no digital readout and the build suits light use, so it ranks last for regular automotive work.
- Power
- 60W
- Heat-up time
- ~15 seconds
- Temperature control
- Adjustable dial, 200–450°C
- Best for
- Beginners, occasional use
Reasons to buy
- +Comes with 5 tips and a stand in one box
- +Very low price for a complete kit
- +Simple dial control, no learning curve
Reasons to avoid
- −No digital temperature readout
- −Build quality suited for light, occasional use
Before you buy
Buying advice
Split the job between a portable and a bench tool
Automotive electronics covers two very different jobs. Wire splices and connector repairs happen in the car, where a USB-C or DC iron is far more practical than a station on an extension cord. Board-level repairs on clusters and modules are best done on a bench with an ESD-safe station. Many owners end up with a pen iron in the car kit and a station at home.
Check the power source as carefully as the iron
A USB-C iron only delivers its rated power from a supply that can provide it: the Pinecil V2's 88W figure needs 24V, and the HS-02A's 100W needs a 100W PD or QC charger. A small phone charger or a car socket at 12V will run them at much lower power. Bring the right supply, or plan heavy joints for the bench.
Seal and support every splice
Vehicle wiring lives with vibration, heat cycles and moisture. Stagger splices so the harness doesn't bulge, use adhesive-lined heat-shrink over each joint, and secure the repaired section so it can't flex at the solder line. Those steps matter more for long-term reliability than which iron made the joint.
Respect airbags, fuel and the battery
Never probe or solder airbag wiring (usually in yellow conduit) without following the service procedure. Keep the iron well away from fuel lines and vapors, and disconnect the battery before working on anything beyond a simple isolated wire. If a fault involves airbags, hybrid high-voltage cables (often orange) or the fuel system, leave it to a qualified technician.
Methodology
How we chose
We ranked these ten for car, truck and motorcycle electrical work: the ability to work at the vehicle without a wall outlet came first, then reserve power for thick wiring, a usable temperature range, ESD safety and stability for bench repairs on modules, and features such as sleep and secure holders. Every figure comes from the maker's site or the official Amazon listing; this is desk research, and none of these ten has been hands-on tested by us.
Picks marked "Hands-on Tested" have been bought and tested by us; the rest are desk research. A pick only carries that badge once we have actually bought and tested that unit. More on how we research.
Questions
Frequently asked questions
Can I run a soldering iron from a car's 12V socket?+
Some irons accept a 12V-range input. Pine64 rates the Pinecil V2 for 12–24V and Miniware lists 9–24V DC for the TS101, while the FNIRSI HS-02A takes USB-C PD or QC from 9–20V, which a capable car USB-C charger can supply. Expect less power than from a 24V or 20V source, check the socket's fuse rating, and don't run the iron with the engine off for long.
Is solder or crimp better for automotive wiring repairs?+
Both are used. A quality crimp with the correct tool is standard for terminals and is what many service manuals specify, because solder can stiffen the wire and crack under vibration right where it leaves the joint. Soldered splices are common for in-line repairs when supported and sealed. Follow the vehicle maker's repair procedure where one exists, and always add strain relief and adhesive-lined heat-shrink.
What size wire can a portable soldering iron handle in a car?+
Signal and sensor wiring is easy for any pen iron here. Lighting and accessory feeds are fine on a pen with reserve power, such as the FNIRSI HS-02A at up to 100W or the Pinecil V2 on a 24V supply, with a large chisel tip. Battery cables, ring terminals and ground straps need a high-power mains iron such as the Hakko FX-601, or a crimp instead.
Do I need to disconnect the car battery before soldering?+
For anything beyond a simple, isolated wire splice, yes. Disconnect the negative terminal first, then wait as the service manual directs, especially near airbag circuits, which can need several minutes to discharge. Removing a control module to solder it at the bench is safer than working on it in place. Check whether the vehicle needs radio codes or relearn procedures after reconnection.
What solder should I use for car electrical repairs?+
Rosin-core electronics solder is the usual choice for wiring and modules. Never use acid-core plumbing solder, because its flux corrodes copper over time. A diameter around 0.8–1.0 mm suits most wire splices, and thinner wire suits board work on modules. Clean off flux residue where moisture can reach, and seal every splice with adhesive-lined heat-shrink to keep water out.


