COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 17B+ vs Fluke 15B+

Fluke 17B+ vs Fluke 15B+ is a comparison of two meters built on one platform. They share the case, the CAT III 600V / CAT II 1000V rating, the 4,000-count backlit display and the µA-to-10A current ranges, so the decision rests entirely on the functions the 17B+ adds and the 15B+ leaves out: temperature, frequency, duty cycle, MIN MAX, relative mode and a hazardous-voltage LED.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 17B+ digital multimeter, front view
Best Value Fluke

Fluke 17B+

4.5★★★★★

A full-size Fluke with temperature, frequency, MIN MAX and relative mode, but not True RMS.

Fluke 15B+ digital multimeter, front view
Best Basic Fluke

Fluke 15B+

4.3★★★★☆

The 17B+ body and safety rating without frequency, temperature or MIN MAX: a plain, tough Fluke for volts, amps and ohms.

Specs side by side

Fluke 17B+Fluke 15B+
Rating4.5★★★★★4.3★★★★☆
AccuracyNot stated as True RMS by FlukeNot stated as True RMS by Fluke
Safety ratingCAT III 600V / CAT II 1000VCAT III 600V / CAT II 1000V
Auto-rangingYes (manual override)Yes (manual override)
Best forElectronics hobbyists, students, appliance repairBasic electrical and electronics checks
Display4,000 counts, backlit, 3 updates/s4,000 counts, backlit, 3 updates/s
Max voltage1000V AC/DC1000V AC/DC
Current ranges400.0 µA to 10.00 A AC/DC, ±(1.5% + 3)400.0 µA to 10.00 A AC/DC, ±(1.5% + 3)
Capacitance40 nF to 1,000 µF40 nF to 1,000 µF
Frequency / duty cycle10 Hz to 100 kHz; 1% to 99% No
Temperature−55 °C to 400 °C, Type K probe included No
MIN MAX / relativeYes / YesNo / No
Hazardous-voltage LEDLights at 30V or more No
Size / weight183 × 91 × 49.5 mm, 455 g183 × 91 × 49.5 mm, 455 g
Battery / warranty2 × AA, 500 h minimum; 1 year2 × AA, 500 h minimum; 1 year
AC bandwidth (volts / amps)40–500 Hz / 40–400 Hz40–500 Hz / 40–400 Hz
In the boxTL75 leads, Type K probe, 2 × AATL75 leads, 2 × AA

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →Only the 17B+ measures temperature; Fluke includes a Type K probe and specifies −55 °C to 400 °C.
  • →Only the 17B+ reads frequency (10 Hz to 100 kHz) and duty cycle; Fluke's manual marks both as 17B+ functions.
  • →MIN MAX recording and relative mode are 17B+ only, per Fluke's users manual.
  • →The 17B+ has a warning LED that lights at 30V or more, or on an overload; the 15B+ has no such indicator.
  • →Everything else matches: same 183 × 91 × 49.5 mm, 455 g case, same safety rating, same 4,000-count display, same current ranges and 1,000 µF capacitance range.
  • →Neither is described by Fluke as True RMS, so both are best kept to ordinary sine-wave mains and electronics work.

The functions only the 17B+ has

Put the two side by side and the dials tell the story: the 17B+ has extra positions and buttons, the 15B+ stops at the basics. These are the additions, each confirmed in Fluke's 15B+/17B+/18B+ manual.

Temperature

Type K probe included; −55 °C to 400 °C, °C or °F.

Frequency

10 Hz to 100 kHz in five ranges, ±(0.1% + 3).

Duty cycle

1% to 99%, for PWM and switching signals.

MIN MAX

Holds the lowest and highest reading on volts, amps and temperature.

Relative

Zeroes a reference on volts, amps, capacitance or temperature.

30V warning LED

Lights when the input reaches 30 V or overloads.

Fluke 17B+ vs 15B+ spec by spec

Fluke publishes identical accuracy figures for every function the two meters share. That means the 15B+ is not a lower-grade meter; it is the same instrument with a shorter function list. The table puts the shared specs first and the 17B+ additions last.

SpecFluke 17B+Fluke 15B+Same?
DC volts4.000 to 1000 V, ±(0.5% + 3)4.000 to 1000 V, ±(0.5% + 3)Same
AC volts, 40 to 500 Hz4.000 to 1000 V, ±(1.0% + 3)4.000 to 1000 V, ±(1.0% + 3)Same
DC millivolts400.0 mV, ±(1.0% + 10)400.0 mV, ±(1.0% + 10)Same
CurrentµA, mA and A ranges to 10 A, ±(1.5% + 3)µA, mA and A ranges to 10 A, ±(1.5% + 3)Same
Resistance400.0 Ω to 40.00 MΩ400.0 Ω to 40.00 MΩSame
Capacitance40 nF to 1,000 µF, ±(2% + 5) to ±(5% + 5)40 nF to 1,000 µF, ±(2% + 5) to ±(5% + 5)Same
Diode test2.000 V, 10%2.000 V, 10%Same
ContinuityBeeps below 70 ΩBeeps below 70 ΩSame
Volts input impedance>10 MΩ>10 MΩSame
Fuses440 mA and 11 A, both 1000 V440 mA and 11 A, both 1000 VSame
Frequency10 Hz to 100 kHz, ±(0.1% + 3)Not available17B+ only
Duty cycle1% to 99%, 1% typicalNot available17B+ only
Temperature−55 °C to 400 °C, Type KNot available17B+ only
MIN MAX, relativeYesNot available17B+ only
Hazardous-voltage LEDAt 30 V or OLNot available17B+ only
400.0 µA (0.1 µA res.)
400 µA
4000 µA
4 mA
40.00 mA
40 mA
400.0 mA
400 mA
4.000 A
4 A
10.00 A
10 A

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Current ranges shared by both meters, on a log scale. Each step is ten times the last, from 400 µA up to 10 A.
−20 °C (9% + 2 °C)
±3.8 °C
25 °C (±2 °C)
±2.0 °C
200 °C (2% + 1 °C)
±5.0 °C
17B+ temperature tolerance at three example readings, worked from Fluke's spec (meter only, probe error extra).

The temperature arithmetic: at 200 °C, 2% of the reading is 4 °C, plus 1 °C gives ±5 °C. At −20 °C, 9% of 20 is 1.8 °C, plus 2 °C gives ±3.8 °C. That is plenty for checking an oven element, a heat-sink or a duct, but it is not lab-grade, and the supplied bead probe adds its own tolerance on top.

What MIN MAX catches that a live display misses

A display that updates three times a second can miss a dip that lasts a fraction of a second, and even if it shows, you have to be looking at that moment. MIN MAX on the 17B+ keeps the lowest and highest values it sees while you watch the machine instead of the meter. Fluke allows it on voltage, current and temperature, not on resistance, capacitance, frequency, duty cycle or diode.

12 V9.6 VMIN held: 9.6 Vlive reading now: 12.0 Vtime (motor start, relay pull-in, etc.)17B+ keeps the dip; the 15B+ shows only what is there now
Illustrative only: a 12 V supply that sags briefly when a motor starts. The numbers are an example, not a measurement.

That is the classic intermittent fault: a control board that resets when a compressor kicks in, or a car accessory that drops out on crank. The 15B+ can only tell you the supply looks fine now. For more on chasing that kind of problem, see how to find an intermittent electrical fault with a multimeter.

Relative mode: what it can and can't zero

Relative mode stores the present reading and shows only the difference from it. The manual allows it on volts, amps, capacitance and temperature, so it is useful for nulling the stray capacitance of the leads (Fluke mentions a floor of up to 1.5 nF on the 40 nF range) before measuring a small capacitor. It is not available on resistance or continuity, so it won't subtract test-lead resistance on either meter; short the leads and subtract by hand instead.

Use cases: where the extras pay off

Appliance and HVAC repair is where the 17B+ earns its keep. A thermocouple on an oven cavity, a dryer exhaust or a supply-air register answers whether the heat source works before you start pulling panels, and the duty-cycle mode reads the PWM command to an EC blower motor. In hobby electronics, frequency and duty cycle cover 555 timers, fan headers and motor drivers.

The 15B+ is the better buy when the job is plainly electrical: checking a breaker's output, a battery, a fuse or a motor's running current. It keeps the same µA range as the 17B+, so flame-rectification checks and standby-current tests still work. Fewer buttons also means fewer chances to leave the meter in an unexpected mode, which some trainers and shared-tool shops value.

Buyer decision flow: 15B+ or 17B+ in four questions

Because the shared functions are identical, the choice reduces to whether any one of the 17B+'s extras would get used. Work down the chart. A single yes is enough, since there is no way to add temperature or a frequency counter to a 15B+ later; four noes mean the extras would sit idle.

Drives, dimmers or LED drivers? Neither: buy True RMS(Fluke 115 or 117). Otherwise, start below.Measure temperature?Yes17B+Type K probeNoRead Hz or PWM duty?Yes17B+Hz / % modeNoChase sags or peaks?Yes17B+MIN MAXNoWant a 30 V warning LED?Yes17B+Live-input alertNo to all fourFluke 15B+same accuracy, µA to 10 A, fewer modes
Decision flow built from the functions Fluke's manual marks 17B+ only. Start with the True RMS check at the top.

The top box matters more than it looks. Fluke makes no True RMS claim for either meter, and their AC current is specified from 40 to 400 Hz and AC volts from 40 to 500 Hz. If a variable-speed drive or electronic dimmer is involved, both will misread its distorted output, and choosing between them misses the point.

Temperature use cases, with the tolerance at each

Fluke splits the 17B+'s temperature accuracy into three bands: ±(9% + 2 °C) from −55 to 0 °C, a flat ±2 °C from 0 to 50 °C, and ±(2% + 1 °C) from 50 to 400 °C, all at 0.1 °C resolution and for the meter alone. Applied to everyday targets, it looks like this. The targets are common reference values, not OhmSavvy measurements; check the appliance maker's own figure before acting on a reading.

JobTypical target17B+ bandMeter tolerance
Freezer check−18 °C (0 °F)−55 to 0 °C±3.6 °C
Refrigerator check4 °C (40 °F) or below0 to 50 °C±2.0 °C
Water heater outletabout 49 °C (120 °F)0 to 50 °C±2.0 °C
Oven calibration177 °C (350 °F)50 to 400 °C±4.5 °C
3D-printer hot end (PLA)around 210 °C50 to 400 °C±5.2 °C
Freezer −18 °C
±3.6 °C
Fridge 4 °C
±2.0 °C
Water heater 49 °C
±2.0 °C
Oven 177 °C
±4.5 °C
Hot end 210 °C
±5.2 °C
17B+ meter tolerance at each target above, °C, worked from Fluke's three temperature bands.
60 Hz line (500.0 Hz range)
±0.36 Hz
1 kHz timer (5.000 kHz range)
±4 Hz
25 kHz fan PWM (50.00 kHz range)
±55 Hz
17B+ frequency tolerance at three common signals, Hz, worked from ±(0.1% + 3 counts) on the range each lands in.

Two practical notes. On air-conditioning work, relative mode is allowed on temperature: rest the probe in the return air, press REL, then move it to a supply register and the display shows the drop directly, though each reading still carries its own tolerance. And the 400 °C ceiling belongs to the meter, not necessarily the probe. Fluke's page includes a Type K bead probe without naming its model or its maximum, so don't assume it is good to 400 °C; for a soldering tip or a kiln, use a probe whose own rating you have checked. Our guide on checking a thermocouple with a multimeter covers the furnace-side version of this job, and the 15B+ can do that one too, since it measures the thermocouple's millivolts rather than its temperature.

Frequency and duty cycle use cases

The 17B+ counts from 10 Hz to 100 kHz across five ranges, and the range sets the step: 0.01 Hz on the 50.00 Hz range up to 0.1 kHz on the top one. A US portable generator should hold close to 60 Hz; that lands on the 500.0 Hz range, where the tolerance is 0.1% × 60 + 3 × 0.1 = ±0.36 Hz, fine enough to spot a governor running fast or slow under load. If your generator cuts out when an appliance starts, read the frequency and voltage with the load applied, alongside our guide to a generator that shuts off under load.

Duty cycle carries a catch that Fluke states in small print: the 1% typical accuracy applies at 50 or 60 Hz with a duty between 10% and 90%. A PC or EC-motor fan PWM line usually runs far faster, often around 25 kHz, so a 17B+ reading there is a useful indication (is the controller commanding 30% or 90%?) rather than a specified measurement. The frequency figure itself remains specified at those speeds. The 15B+ has neither mode; on a PWM line its DC volts range shows only the average.

For the budget buyer: value by features

On a tight budget, the useful question is not which meter is better but what the cheaper one costs you in capability. With this pair the answer is precise, because the spec table above splits cleanly: ten shared rows with identical figures and five rows that exist only on the 17B+. Saving money on the 15B+ never means a less accurate volts, amps or ohms reading, a lower safety rating, a weaker fuse or a shorter warranty. It means doing without specific functions, and for each one the question is whether you have a workaround.

17B+ function you give upWorkaround on a 15B+How good is the workaround?
Temperature with Type K probeA separate thermometerFine, but one more tool to buy and carry
Frequency, 10 Hz to 100 kHzNone on the meterNo substitute; DC volts shows only an average
Duty cycle, 1% to 99%None on the meterNo substitute for reading a PWM command
MIN MAX on volts, amps, temperatureWatch the displayMisses short dips at 3 updates/s
Relative modeSubtract by handWorkable for lead capacitance
30 V hazardous-voltage LEDRead the display before touchingWorkable with good habits
Identical on both
10 rows
17B+ only
5 rows
Rows in the spec-by-spec table above: identical on both meters versus 17B+ only.

Three of the six have reasonable workarounds and three don't. If frequency, duty cycle or catching a brief sag is part of your work, a 15B+ can't do it at all, and the 17B+ is the better value even on a budget. If all you need are volts, amps, ohms, continuity and capacitance, the 15B+ delivers the same measurements and the extra spend would buy dial positions you never turn to. Neither meter is described by Fluke as True RMS, so a budget buyer who works near drives or LED drivers should stretch to a True RMS model instead; the Fluke 117 vs Fluke 15B+ comparison shows what that step adds.

Fluke 17B+ or 15B+: which should you buy?

You are…Better fitWhy
Appliance or HVAC repair techFluke 17B+Type K temperature, duty cycle for EC motors, MIN MAX for sags
Electronics student or hobbyistFluke 17B+Frequency and duty cycle for timers, PWM and fan circuits
3D-printer or reflow tinkererFluke 17B+Checks hot-end and bed temperatures against the firmware
Homeowner with a basic toolkitFluke 15B+Volts, amps, ohms and continuity, with the same accuracy
Maintenance shop buying shared metersFluke 15B+Fewer modes to misuse; identical safety rating and fuses
Anyone working near variable-speed drivesNeitherNo True RMS claim; look at the Fluke 115 or 117

Comparing either one with a True RMS electrician's meter? Read Fluke 17B+ vs Fluke 117 and Fluke 117 vs Fluke 15B+.

Safety: the 1000 V figure is CAT II, not CAT III

Both meters read up to 1000 V, but their CAT III rating stops at 600 V. On a distribution panel or feeder, stay within 600 V; the 1000 V figure applies only to CAT II circuits such as plug-in appliances. Replace blown fuses only with the 440 mA and 11 A 1000 V parts Fluke specifies, and if you're unsure what category a circuit falls in, ask a licensed electrician.

Choose the Fluke 17B+ if…

  • ✓You check appliance, HVAC or 3D-printer temperatures and want the Type K probe in the box
  • ✓You work on PWM, motor speed or supply circuits where frequency and duty cycle matter
  • ✓You want MIN MAX to catch a dipping supply and relative mode to null lead capacitance or an offset

Choose the Fluke 15B+ if…

  • ✓You only measure volts, amps, ohms, continuity, diodes and capacitance
  • ✓You want the fewest buttons possible: just HOLD and RANGE
  • ✓You'd rather not pay for functions you won't use

The bottom line

Buy the 17B+ unless you are sure you will never need temperature, frequency or MIN MAX; the extra functions make it the more useful meter for electronics and appliance work. The 15B+ suits anyone who wants a simple, tough Fluke for volts, amps and ohms, with the same accuracy. Either way, check the 17B+ listing, as its Amazon photo shows the newer 17B MAX.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the Fluke 17B+ and 15B+?+

The 17B+ adds temperature with a Type K probe, frequency to 100 kHz, duty cycle, MIN MAX recording, relative mode and a 30V hazardous-voltage LED. The case, safety rating, 4,000-count display, current ranges from 400 µA to 10 A, capacitance range, fuses, battery life and one-year warranty are the same, and so is every shared accuracy figure.

Are the Fluke 17B+ and 15B+ True RMS?+

Fluke doesn't describe either as True RMS in its datasheet, manual or product pages, so treat them as average-responding. On clean mains and batteries that is fine. For variable-speed drives, LED drivers and other distorted waveforms, a True RMS meter such as the Fluke 115 or 117 is the better tool.

Do the 17B+ and 15B+ measure microamps?+

Yes. Both have 400.0 µA and 4000 µA ranges with 0.1 µA resolution on the lowest, plus mA and A ranges up to 10A AC and DC, all at ±(1.5% + 3). The current inputs are protected by 440 mA and 11 A fuses rated at 1000V, which suits flame-sensor and standby-current checks.

Can the Fluke 15B+ measure temperature?+

No. Fluke's manual lists temperature as a 17B+-only function, and the 15B+ has no thermocouple position on its dial. If you need temperature from a 15B+, you'd carry a separate thermometer. The 17B+ ships with a Type K bead probe and reads from −55 °C to 400 °C in °C or °F.

Is the Fluke 15B+ the better value for a budget buyer?+

Yes, if your work is volts, amps, ohms, continuity and capacitance. Fluke gives it the same accuracy, current ranges, fuses, safety rating and one-year warranty as the 17B+. It is poorer value if you will ever need frequency, duty cycle or MIN MAX, because the 15B+ has no way to take those readings, while temperature can at least come from a separate thermometer.

What warranty do the Fluke 15B+ and 17B+ have?+

One year for both. Fluke's 15B+/17B+/18B+ users manual gives a one-year warranty, and the US product pages don't state a different term; they show only a 30-day return window in the purchase box. That's a shorter term than Fluke gives the pocket 106/107 or the 115/117, so keep your proof of purchase.

Can the Fluke 17B+ check a generator's frequency?+

Yes. Its frequency mode covers 10 Hz to 100 kHz, and a 60 Hz output reads on the 500.0 Hz range to about ±0.36 Hz, enough to see whether a governor holds speed under load. The 15B+ can read the generator's voltage but has no frequency function, so checking speed regulation would need a second tool.

Why does the Amazon 17B+ listing show a 17B MAX?+

The listing's main photo shows a meter printed 17B MAX, the newer model, so the listing may now ship the successor rather than the 17B+. Check the product details and the seller's notes before you order if you specifically want the 17B+, and compare the specs you receive against Fluke's own page.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews