COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 17B+ vs Fluke 101

Fluke 17B+ vs Fluke 101 is less a contest than a question of scope. The 101 has only two input jacks and cannot measure current at all, so it is a voltage, resistance and frequency checker; the 17B+ is a full meter that adds current from microamps to 10A, temperature and MIN MAX. Fluke calls neither True RMS.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 17B+ digital multimeter, front view
Best Value Fluke

Fluke 17B+

4.5★★★★★

A full-size Fluke with temperature, frequency, MIN MAX and relative mode, but not True RMS.

Fluke 101 compact digital multimeter, front view
Smallest Fluke

Fluke 101

4.1★★★★☆

Fluke's smallest, simplest meter: volts, ohms, capacitance and frequency in 160 g, but no current measurement at all.

Specs side by side

Fluke 17B+Fluke 101
Rating4.5★★★★★4.1★★★★☆
AccuracyNot stated as True RMS by FlukeNot stated as True RMS by Fluke
Safety ratingCAT III 600V / CAT II 1000VCAT III 600V
Auto-rangingYes (manual override) Yes
Best forElectronics hobbyists, students, appliance repairVoltage and continuity checks only
Input jacksCurrent inputs fused at 440 mA and 11 ATwo: COM and one shared input
Current400 µA to 10A AC/DCNone
Display4,000 counts6,000 counts
Volts ranges4.000 V to 1000 V6.000 V to 600.0 V
DC volts accuracy±(0.5% + 3)±(0.5% + 3)
CapacitanceUp to 1,000 µFFluke sources conflict: 100 µF or 1,000 µF
Frequency / duty cycleTo 100 kHz / 1–99%To 100 kHz / 0.1–99.9% per Fluke's 101 page
Temperature−55 °C to 400 °C, probe included No
Battery2 × AA, 500 h minimum2 × AAA, life not stated
Size / weight183 × 91 × 49.5 mm, 455 g130 × 65 × 27 mm, 160 g
Drop ratingNot stated1 m, tested at −10 °C
Warranty1 year (users manual)1 year
US availabilitySold on fluke.com USNot on fluke.com US; Amazon listing is a third-party import

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →The 101 can't measure current: it has only two jacks, so any job involving amps needs the 17B+.
  • →The 17B+ adds temperature, MIN MAX, relative mode and a 30V hazardous-voltage LED.
  • →Both read frequency to 100 kHz and duty cycle; the 101 does it in a body roughly a third of the 17B+'s weight.
  • →The 101 has a 6,000-count display against the 17B+'s 4,000 counts, and the same ±(0.5% + 3) DC volts accuracy.
  • →Both carry a one-year warranty, but the 17B+ is sold by Fluke US while the 101 reaches the US as an import.

What the 101 leaves out

Fluke built the 101 as a minimal tester. Its two-jack layout is the giveaway: there is nowhere to plug a lead for current. These are the 17B+ functions it doesn't have.

Current

No amps, milliamps or microamps on the 101.

Temperature

The 17B+ includes a Type K probe.

MIN MAX

The 17B+ records highs and lows.

Relative

The 17B+ can zero a reference reading.

1000V range

The 101 stops at 600V.

Warning LED

The 17B+ lights at 30V or more.

Fluke 17B+ vs 101 spec by spec

For the functions both meters have, Fluke publishes the same accuracy: ±(0.5% + 3) on DC volts and the same three resistance bands, from ±(0.5% + 3) on the 400 Ω range to ±(1.5% + 3) on 40 MΩ. The 101's 6,000-count display moves its range breaks to 6 V and 60 V, so on a 5 V rail it shows one more digit.

SpecFluke 17B+Fluke 101Same?
DC volts ranges4.000, 40.00, 400.0, 1000 V6.000, 60.00, 600.0 VDiffer
DC volts accuracy±(0.5% + 3)±(0.5% + 3)Same
Resistance400.0 Ω to 40.00 MΩ400.0 Ω to 40.00 MΩSame
Frequency10 Hz to 100 kHz10 Hz to 100 kHzSame
Current400.0 µA to 10.00 ANone17B+ only
Temperature−55 °C to 400 °CNone17B+ only
Safety ratingCAT III 600VCAT III 600VSame
Weight455 g160 gDiffer
Fluke 17B+
455 g
Fluke 101
160 g
Weight in grams. The 101 is the lightest Fluke on our list.
17B+ (40.00 V)
±0.055 V
101 (6.000 V)
±0.028 V
Worked arithmetic, not a measurement: ± volts on a 5.000 V reading. The 17B+ reads it on 40.00 V, the 101 on 6.000 V, so the 3-count term shrinks tenfold.

The sums: 0.5% of 5 V is 0.025 V. Three counts on a 40.00 V range is 0.03 V, giving ±0.055 V; on a 6.000 V range it is 0.003 V, giving ±0.028 V. At 12.6 V the two meters tie, because both are on a range with a 0.01 V step and land at ±0.093 V.

Why two jacks means no current

A meter reads voltage in parallel with a circuit but has to sit in series to read current: you open the circuit and let the current flow through the meter's fused shunt. The 17B+ has dedicated current jacks fused at 440 mA and 11 A for that. The 101 has only COM and a combined volts and ohms input, so there is no path that could carry load current safely.

12 Vbatteryloadcircuit openedFluke 17B+mA / ACOMin series: reads ampsFluke 101: COM and V/Ω jacks only, no current path.
Current is read in series through a fused jack. The 101 has no such jack, by design.

That design is also a safety feature: you can't accidentally short an outlet by leaving a lead in an amps jack. If you like that idea but need occasional current, a clamp meter covers it without breaking the circuit; see measuring current without breaking the circuit.

Fluke 17B+ vs 101: which should you buy?

JobBetter fitWhy
Outlet and battery voltageEitherSame DC accuracy; both CAT III 600V
Wire and fuse continuityEitherBoth beep on continuity and read ohms to 40 MΩ
Parasitic battery drain17B+Needs a mA range; the 101 has no current input
Appliance current draw17B+4.000 A and 10.00 A ranges
Fan PWM duty cycleEitherBoth read duty cycle and frequency to 100 kHz
Pipe or heatsink temperature17B+Type K probe included
A spare meter in the car101160 g, 27 mm thick, 1 m drop rating

The import question

The 17B+ is a current Fluke US product with a one-year warranty. The 101 is sold by Fluke in markets such as India and Malaysia, and the Amazon US listing comes from a third-party importer, with a one-year warranty. Its own Fluke page also contradicts itself on capacitance: the range table runs to 1,000 µF while the general specs say 100 µF. Treat 100 µF as the safe ceiling until Fluke clears it up.

Who the 101 is really for

Someone who wants a Fluke-built voltage and continuity checker that weighs less than a phone and can't be misused on an amps jack. If you might ever measure current or temperature, the 17B+ is the better first meter, and our best multimeter for beginners guide covers other options.

Safety on household circuits

Both meters are rated CAT III 600V, suitable for outlets, fixtures and branch circuits but not the service entrance. Neither is True RMS, so readings on dimmers and variable-speed drives can be off. Use the live-dead-live habit: confirm the meter on a known live outlet before and after you check that a circuit is dead. For anything inside the panel, call a licensed electrician.

Choose the Fluke 17B+ if…

  • ✓You will ever need to measure current, from microamps to 10A
  • ✓You want temperature with the included Type K probe
  • ✓You want a meter sold and supported by Fluke US

Choose the Fluke 101 if…

  • ✓You only ever check voltage, continuity, resistance and frequency
  • ✓You want the smallest, lightest Fluke: 160 g
  • ✓You accept a third-party import listing

The bottom line

For almost everyone the 17B+ is the right buy: it does everything the 101 does except fit in the smallest pocket, and adds current, temperature and logging. The 101 only makes sense as a deliberately simple voltage and continuity tester, and its US listing is an import with a one-year warranty.

Frequently asked questions

Can the Fluke 101 measure amps?+

No. The 101 has only a COM jack and one shared input, and Fluke's datasheet lists no current function. To read amps a meter must sit in series through a fused current jack. Use the 17B+, which measures from 400 µA to 10A AC and DC on inputs fused at 440 mA and 11 A.

Is the Fluke 101 sold in the US?+

Not by Fluke US: its product page isn't on fluke.com US, and the model is listed on Fluke's India and Malaysia sites. The Amazon listing is fulfilled by Amazon but sold by a third-party importer, so warranty support may run through the seller. The 17B+ is a regular Fluke US product.

What capacitance can the Fluke 101 measure?+

Fluke's own documents disagree: the datasheet gives a 100 µF maximum, while the users manual and the range table on Fluke's 101 page go to 1,000 µF. Plan around 100 µF to be safe. The 17B+ is consistently listed at 1,000 µF, with ±(5% + 5) accuracy on the microfarad ranges.

Do both meters read frequency and duty cycle?+

Yes. Both read frequency from 10 Hz to 100 kHz. Fluke lists duty cycle from 1% to 99% on the 17B+ and from 0.1% to 99.9% on its 101 page. For checking a PWM fan, a dimmer or a small generator's output, the 101 keeps up with the 17B+.

Do the 17B+ and 101 have the same warranty?+

Yes, on paper: the 15B+/17B+/18B+ users manual gives one year, and the 101's manual, datasheet and Fluke India page also give one year. The difference is support. Because the 101 reaches the US through an importer, check the Amazon seller's return and warranty terms before ordering, since Fluke US doesn't list the model.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews