COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 115 vs Fluke 87V: Key Differences

The short answer: buy the Fluke 115 if you need a reliable True RMS meter for building wiring, appliances and general field service up to 600 V; buy the Fluke 87V if you probe service equipment, work above 600 V, tune instrument loops, chase flame-sensor microamps or troubleshoot motor drives. Both are True RMS Flukes we own and have used, but the 87V belongs to a different class: CAT IV rating, ten-times-tighter DC accuracy, low-current ranges, temperature, a drive filter and a lifetime warranty.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 115 field-service True RMS multimeter, front view
Best for Field ServiceHands-on Tested

Fluke 115

4.8★★★★★

The same Fluke reliability as the 117, in the same body, without the electrician-specific extras (NCV, AutoVolt, LoZ).

Fluke 87V industrial True RMS multimeter with 19,999-count mode, front view
Best for ProfessionalsHands-on Tested

Fluke 87V

4.8★★★★★

The step-up pick for anyone who needs CAT IV protection and high-resolution readings daily.

Specs side by side

Fluke 115Fluke 87V
Rating4.8★★★★★4.8★★★★★
AccuracyTrue RMSTrue RMS
Safety ratingCAT III 600VCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
Auto-ranging Yes Yes
Best forField technicians, general electrical and electronics workIndustrial technicians, daily professional use
Max voltage600 V AC/DC1000 V AC/DC
Display6,000 counts6,000 counts; 19,999 in high-res mode
Analog bar graph33 segments32 segments, 40 updates/s
DC volts accuracy±(0.5% + 2)±(0.05% + 1)
AC volts accuracy±(1.0% + 3), 45 to 500 Hz±(0.7% + 2)
Current ranges6 A and 10 A only; 1 mA best resolution10 A (20 A for 30 s), mA and µA; 0.01 µA DC resolution
ResistanceTo 40 MΩTo 50 MΩ
Capacitance1 nF to 9,999 µFTo 9,999 µF
Frequency / duty cycleTo 50 kHz (2020 manual: 99.99 kHz) / Not statedTo 200 kHz / yes
TemperatureNo (Fluke 116 only)-200 °C to 1090 °C excl. probe; 80BK probe included
RecordingMin/Max/Avg with elapsed timeMin/Max plus 250 µs Peak Capture
Drive low-pass filter NoYes, 3 dB at 1 kHz
Size / weight167 × 84 × 46 mm, 550 gSize not stated; 355 g (624 g in holster)
BatteryOne 9 V, about 400 hAbout 400 h
Warranty3 yearsLifetime

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Both products hands-on tested by OhmSavvy. How we research.

Key differences

  • →Safety category: the 87V carries CAT IV 600V and CAT III 1000V; the 115 stops at CAT III 600V, which excludes the service entrance and anything over 600 V.
  • →DC precision: Fluke lists ±(0.05% + 1) for the 87V against ±(0.5% + 2) for the 115, and only the 87V offers a 19,999-count high-resolution mode.
  • →Low current: the 115 has no mA or µA input and resolves 1 mA at best. The 87V has dedicated mA and µA ranges down to 0.01 µA DC.
  • →Industrial extras exist only on the 87V: thermocouple temperature, duty cycle, 200 kHz frequency, a low-pass filter for drive outputs and 250 µs Peak Capture.
  • →Identical on paper: True RMS, capacitance to 9,999 µF, an analog bar graph, roughly 400 hours per battery, and no non-contact or LoZ function on either.
  • →The bare 87V is lighter (355 g against 550 g), and its warranty is lifetime rather than three years.

What the two meters share

It helps to start with the overlap, because it is bigger than the gap in cost suggests. Both read AC volts and amps as True RMS, so neither is fooled by the distorted current of an LED driver or a switch-mode supply. Both auto-range, both have an analog bar graph that moves faster than the digits, both measure capacitance up to 9,999 µF for motor-run and supply capacitors, and both run around 400 hours on a battery. Neither has non-contact voltage detection or a low-impedance ghost-voltage input; for those, the Fluke 117 is the model to look at.

OhmSavvy bought and used both meters, so each carries our Hands-on Tested badge. We haven't published bench measurements from that use, so every number on this page comes from Fluke's spec tabs and datasheet. Where Fluke's own documents disagree (the 115's top frequency is 50 kHz on the datasheet and 99.99 kHz in the 2020 manual), we say so.

Fluke 115 vs 87V differences in numbers

Fluke 115
600 V
Fluke 87V
1000 V
Maximum rated voltage. The 87V covers 1000 V systems; the 115 stops at 600 V.
Fluke 115
50 kHz
Fluke 87V
200 kHz
Top frequency per Fluke's spec tabs. The 115's 2020 manual lists 99.99 kHz.
Fluke 115
40 MΩ
Fluke 87V
50 MΩ
Highest resistance range, in MΩ. A small gap that rarely decides a purchase.
Fluke 115
550 g
Fluke 87V
355 g
Weight without holster, in grams. The 87V is the lighter meter in the hand.

The accuracy gap is easiest to see on a real reading. Take a 12.60 V DC battery bus. On its 60.00 V range the 115's ±(0.5% + 2) works out to 0.063 V plus two counts of 0.01 V, about ±0.08 V. The 87V's ±(0.05% + 1) gives 0.0063 V plus one count, about ±0.016 V. Both are fine for "is it charged?"; only the 87V is tight enough to judge a few tens of millivolts of voltage drop across a connection or to check a reference against its tolerance.

Current: the gap most buyers miss

On a spec sheet both meters "measure 10 A", but the 115 has only 6 A and 10 A ranges. Its best resolution is 1 mA, and it has no separate mA or µA jack. The 87V adds both low-current ranges and resolves DC current to 0.01 µA, which is 100,000 times finer.

0.01 µA1 µA1 mA1 A10 AFluke 87V: µA, mA and 10 A rangesFluke 115: 1 mA stepsbelow its resolutionflame sensor (typ. a few µA)4-20 mA loopLog scale: equal distances mean equal ratios. Signal markers are typical values.
Where each meter can resolve current, on a log scale. Signal markers show typical values, not limits.

Two common jobs show why it matters. A 4-20 mA transmitter loop has a 16 mA span, so on the 115 each 1 mA step is 1 ÷ 16 = 6.25% of the span: you can see the loop is alive, but not whether it reads 50% or 53%. A furnace flame sensor usually runs a few microamps, which the 115 can't see at all. If either job is on your list, see our guides to multimeters for 4-20 mA loop testing and measuring microamps.

Temperature, recording and drive work

FeatureFluke 115Fluke 87V
Thermocouple inputNone-200 to 1090 °C, 80BK probe (-40 to 260 °C) in the box
Min/Max recordingMin/Max/Avg with elapsed timeMin/Max
Fast-event captureNo250 µs Peak Capture
VFD output readingNo filter; carrier inflates itLow-pass filter, 3 dB at 1 kHz
Duty cycleNot statedYes
High-resolution modeNo19,999 counts

Min/Max isn't the same as Peak Capture

Both meters can hold the highest and lowest reading while a load cycles, which catches a slow sag during a compressor start. A contact bounce or a brief dropout can come and go faster than an ordinary Min/Max update. The 87V's Peak Capture is specified for events as short as 250 µs; the 115 has nothing equivalent, so a very short glitch can pass unrecorded.

Fluke 115 or 87V: which should you buy?

Your workBetter fitWhy
Home wiring, outlets, appliancesFluke 115CAT III 600V and True RMS cover it; the 87V's extras sit idle
Field service on equipment under 600 VFluke 115Volts, 10 A, capacitance and frequency in one meter
Meter base, service drop, outdoor feedersFluke 87VCAT IV 600V; the 115 isn't rated there
Solar strings or 690 V plantFluke 87VRated to 1000 V
Furnace flame sensorsFluke 87VµA range; the 115 resolves only 1 mA
Instrument and 4-20 mA loopsFluke 87VmA range and 0.05% DC accuracy
VFD and motor troubleshootingFluke 87VLow-pass filter and Peak Capture
Duct, pipe or bearing temperatureFluke 87VThermocouple input with probe included
Electronics bench, hobby repairFluke 115Same capacitance range; µA work is better served by a bench meter or the 87V

Skip the 115 if any 87V row above describes your regular work: no setting or accessory adds CAT IV, µA or temperature to it later. Skip the 87V if you never leave CAT III, never need low current and never see a drive; you'd be paying for a lifetime warranty on features you won't touch. If you want the 115's core plus non-contact detection and LoZ, read Fluke 115 vs Fluke 117; for the cheaper route to CAT IV, see Fluke 87V vs Fluke 179.

Match the rating to where you probe

A CAT III 600V meter like the 115 is built for transients inside the building, not for the higher-energy surges at the utility connection. Using it at a meter socket, or using either meter with damaged or lower-rated leads, gives up the protection the rating describes. Prove the meter on a known live source before and after a dead test, and leave utility-side work to a licensed electrician.

Choose the Fluke 115 if…

  • ✓You measure receptacles, branch circuits, appliances and controls inside the building, all within CAT III 600V
  • ✓Amps for you means load current, where 1 mA steps on the 6 A range are fine
  • ✓You want Fluke's core True RMS meter without paying for industrial features you won't use

Choose the Fluke 87V if…

  • ✓You take readings at the meter base, service conductors or anything above 600 V
  • ✓You need mA or µA ranges for 4-20 mA loops or furnace flame sensors, or a thermocouple input
  • ✓You commission or repair variable-frequency drives and want the low-pass filter and 250 µs Peak Capture

The bottom line

For most electricians, technicians and serious DIYers working inside buildings, the Fluke 115 measures everything they need with True RMS accuracy and Fluke durability. The Fluke 87V earns its place when the job needs CAT IV or 1000 V, low-current ranges, temperature, 0.05% DC accuracy or drive-friendly filtering, and its lifetime warranty makes it a meter you buy once.

Frequently asked questions

What is the main difference between the Fluke 115 and the Fluke 87V?+

Scope. The 115 is a CAT III 600V field-service meter with True RMS, 10 A current and capacitance. The 87V is an industrial meter rated CAT IV 600V and CAT III 1000V, with about ten times tighter DC accuracy, mA and µA ranges, temperature, a 19,999-count mode, a drive low-pass filter, Peak Capture and a lifetime warranty.

Can the Fluke 115 measure milliamps or microamps?+

Not usefully. Its only current ranges are 6 A and 10 A, with 1 mA as the finest step, and there is no separate mA or µA input. Small currents such as a 4-20 mA loop show only in coarse 1 mA steps, and flame-sensor microamps don't register. The Fluke 87V has dedicated mA and µA ranges.

Is the Fluke 87V lighter than the Fluke 115?+

Yes, bare. Fluke lists the 87V at 355 g and the 115 at 550 g. Once the 87V is in its holster it weighs 624 g, so in everyday carry the two feel similar. Fluke gives the 115's size as 167 × 84 × 46 mm; the 87V's dimensions aren't in the specifications we used.

Does either meter have non-contact voltage detection or LoZ?+

No. The 115 lacks VoltAlert and the low-impedance AutoVolt input, which in the 110 Series belong to the Fluke 117. Fluke lists neither feature for the 87V. Owners of either meter typically carry a separate pen-style voltage detector and load-test suspicious readings on disconnected conductors.

Is the Fluke 87V worth it over the 115 for a home electrician?+

Usually not. Household circuits sit in CAT III, rarely exceed 240 V, and seldom need microamps, temperature or 0.05% accuracy, so the 115 covers the work. The 87V makes sense if you also service furnaces, work on drives or solar, or want one meter for life under Fluke's lifetime warranty.

Do the Fluke 115 and 87V have the same battery life?+

Close to it. Fluke rates the 115 at about 400 hours typical on one 9 V alkaline battery with the backlight off, and the 87V at about 400 hours as well. Running the backlight shortens the 115's figure, so keep a spare battery in the case for long service days.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews