Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through the links below, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
At a glance
Our top picks

Hakko FX-888DX
The FX-888D's replacement: the same T18 tips and handpiece, with a 100W station, a proper dial and five presets.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
Weller WE1010NA
ESD-safe construction and tight temperature stability for a dedicated electronics bench.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
YIHUA 862BD+
A soldering iron and a hot air rework station in one box, for SMD and BGA work a plain iron can't touch.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓Also great
- 4
YIHUA 939D+Check pricePrice →Best Value ESD-Safe Station4.4★★★★☆ - 5
X-Tronic 3020-XTSCheck pricePrice →Best Budget Kit with Long Warranty4.4★★★★☆ - 6
Pinecil V2Check pricePrice →Best Portable4.7★★★★★ - 7
FNIRSI HS-02ACheck pricePrice →Best High-Power Smart Iron4.4★★★★☆ - 8
Miniware TS101Check pricePrice →Best Portable Smart Iron4.4★★★★☆ - 9
YIHUA 926 IIICheck pricePrice →Best Budget Station4.3★★★★☆ - 10
Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron KitCheck pricePrice →Cheapest Digital Kit4.2★★★★☆
Quick shopping
Compare at a glance
Swipe sideways on mobile to see every spec.
| Model | Award | Rating | Power | Heat-up time | Temperature control | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
#1Hakko FX-888DX | Best Overall | 4.7★★★★★ | 100W station (65W iron) | Not stated by Hakko | Digital, closed-loop, 50–480°C | Check price → |
#2Weller WE1010NA | Best for Professional Benches | 4.6★★★★★ | 85W station (70W iron) | ~28 seconds (50–350°C) | Digital, 100–450°C, ESD-safe | Check price → |
#3YIHUA 862BD+ | Best 2-in-1 with Hot Air Rework | 4.3★★★★☆ | 75W iron / 500W hot air (720W total) | — | — | Check price → |
#4YIHUA 939D+ | Best Value ESD-Safe Station | 4.4★★★★☆ | "75W equivalent" (listing; spec table says 120W) | Not stated by YIHUA | PID, LED display, 200–480°C | Check price → |
#5X-Tronic 3020-XTS | Best Budget Kit with Long Warranty | 4.4★★★★☆ | 75W station (60W iron) | Under 30 s, 200 to 480°C (X-Tronic's listing) | PID, LED display, 200–480°C, ±2°C | Check price → |
#6Pinecil V2 | Best Portable | 4.7★★★★★ | Up to 88W at 24V DC; about 60W from 20V USB-C PD | ~12 seconds (with a 20V+ supply) | OLED digital display | Check price → |
#7FNIRSI HS-02A | Best High-Power Smart Iron | 4.4★★★★☆ | Up to 100W, USB-C PD/QC 9–20V | 2–3 s tinning (FNIRSI's figures differ) | Digital, color screen, 100–450°C, 3 presets | Check price → |
#8Miniware TS101 | Best Portable Smart Iron | 4.4★★★★☆ | USB-C PD 9–20V or DC 9–24V (65W adapter included) | Not stated | Digital, OLED, 50–400°C | Check price → |
#9YIHUA 926 III | Best Budget Station | 4.3★★★★☆ | 60W per listing (YIHUA site: 130W max, 18W rated) | Not stated by YIHUA | PID, LED display, 90–480°C | Check price → |
#10Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron Kit | Cheapest Digital Kit | 4.2★★★★☆ | 80W, 110–120V | 10 s (listing's claim) | LCD, buttons, 180–480°C | Check price → |
In depth
Detailed reviews
Hakko FX-888DX
The FX-888D's replacement: the same T18 tips and handpiece, with a 100W station, a proper dial and five presets.
Best for:Serious hobbyists, repair benches
Hakko replaced the FX-888D with the FX-888DX. It keeps the FX-8801 handpiece and T18 tips, the 50–480°C range and ±1°C idle stability, but the station rises from 70W to 100W, swaps the old button interface for a push-button rotary dial with a digital °F/°C display, stores five presets and adds a parameter lock against accidental calibration. It is ESD safe and also drives Hakko's tweezers, solder gun and larger irons.
Why it fits: It ranks first because it combines a 65W iron on a 100W station, ±1°C idle stability, ESD safety and the huge T18 tip range, which covers everything from 0402 work to large terminals. Hakko has discontinued the FX888D, so this replacement takes its place here and our FX888D Pick is marked unavailable; the limits are a 1.2 kg station and no stated sleep mode.
- Power
- 100W station (65W iron)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated by Hakko
- Temperature control
- Digital, closed-loop, 50–480°C
- Best for
- Serious hobbyists, repair benches
Reasons to buy
- +Same T18 tips as the FX-888D
- +Rotary dial and five temperature presets
- +ESD safe; drives other Hakko handpieces
Reasons to avoid
- −Larger than a portable iron: the station weighs 1.2 kg
- −Counterfeits exist: buy from authorized sellers
- −No stated sleep or standby mode
Weller WE1010NA
ESD-safe construction and tight temperature stability for a dedicated electronics bench.
Best for:Dedicated workbenches, professional use
Weller's WE1010NA brings ESD-safe construction and tight temperature stability to an 85W digital station driving a 70W iron, making it a strong choice for anyone running a dedicated electronics bench.
Why it fits: An ESD-safe station with a 70W iron, ET tips, standby with auto setback and a password lock makes it a natural fit for shared or production-style benches. It sits second because Weller's own page quotes ±6°C stability and a 450°C ceiling, both looser than the Hakko's figures, and it takes about 28 seconds to reach 350°C.
- Power
- 85W station (70W iron)
- Heat-up time
- ~28 seconds (50–350°C)
- Temperature control
- Digital, 100–450°C, ESD-safe
- Best for
- Dedicated workbenches, professional use
Reasons to buy
- +ESD-safe design protects sensitive components
- +Strong temperature stability under sustained use
- +Backed by Weller's long-standing reputation
Reasons to avoid
- −Higher price point than hobbyist kits
- −Not portable — bench-only design
YIHUA 862BD+
A soldering iron and a hot air rework station in one box, for SMD and BGA work a plain iron can't touch.
Best for:SMD/BGA rework alongside general soldering
The 862BD+ pairs a 75W soldering iron with a separate 500W hot air gun in one station, aimed at SMD and BGA rework rather than general through-hole soldering alone. It's a genuinely different tool category from a standalone iron, not just a cheaper or pricier version of one.
Why it fits: This is the only pick with a hot air gun, so it handles QFN, shielded and multi-pin SMD parts that defeat an iron alone, while its 75W iron covers through-hole joints. It places third rather than higher because it is larger and more complex than a plain station, and the listing doesn't name its tip series.
- Power
- 75W iron / 500W hot air (720W total)
- Temperature range
- 200–480°C iron, 100–480°C hot air
- Display
- LED, independent iron/air readouts
- Best for
- SMD/BGA rework alongside general soldering
Reasons to buy
- +Combines a soldering iron and hot air rework station in one unit
- +Wide temperature range on both the iron and the hot air gun
- +Independently adjustable iron and hot air temperatures with separate LED readouts
Reasons to avoid
- −This US listing is the 110–127V version; buyers elsewhere need their region's variant
- −Larger and more complex than a basic iron if you never do SMD rework
YIHUA 939D+
A transformer-based, ESD-safe station with a metal front panel and a detachable iron, at a hobby price.
Best for:ESD-sensitive hobby and repair work
The 939D+ is a transformer-based station with PID temperature control, a 200–480°C range, °C/°F display, temperature calibration and error detection. The station and its 907E detachable iron are ESD safe, the front panel is brushed aluminum and the iron stand is a separate metal unit. It takes YIHUA's 900M tips. The listing calls it "75W equivalent" but its spec table says 120W, and YIHUA's own page (for a 220V model) quotes a 450°C maximum, so treat the headline numbers with care.
Why it fits: PID control, a transformer-based design, a detachable 907E iron and an ESD-safe station and handpiece give it the strongest feature set among the budget stations. It ranks behind the 862BD+ because sources disagree: the listing says "75W equivalent" while its own spec row says 120W, and YIHUA's page for the 220V model gives 450°C rather than 480°C.
- Power
- "75W equivalent" (listing; spec table says 120W)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated by YIHUA
- Temperature control
- PID, LED display, 200–480°C
- Best for
- ESD-sensitive hobby and repair work
Reasons to buy
- +ESD-safe station and iron
- +Built-in transformer and metal front panel
- +Uses common 900M-series tips
Reasons to avoid
- −Power and maximum temperature figures conflict between sources
- −Sleep mode isn't stated for this US version
X-Tronic 3020-XTS
An ESD-safe PID station from a US-based brand, with a 3-year warranty and a 10-minute sleep timer.
Best for:Hobby benches that want a long warranty
X-Tronic's 3020-XTS is a 75W station (60W to the iron, 15W to the iron's control board) with PID control, a 200–480°C range, ±2°C static stability and a blue LED readout with a C/F switch. It's ESD safe, sleeps and cools down after 10 minutes, and runs on 110V only. The Amazon kit includes two helping hands, a silicone mat, five spare tips, a 50 g lead-free roll and a brass tip cleaner. X-Tronic, based in Lincoln, Nebraska, backs it with a 3-year warranty. Its own page also quotes 90–480°C for the iron, so the low end of the range is inconsistent.
Why it fits: It is ESD safe, holds ±2°C with PID control, sleeps and cools after 10 minutes and carries a 3-year warranty, which makes it a sound everyday bench iron. It runs on 110V only, and X-Tronic's pages give two different minimum temperatures, so it trails the 939D+.
- Power
- 75W station (60W iron)
- Heat-up time
- Under 30 s, 200 to 480°C (X-Tronic's listing)
- Temperature control
- PID, LED display, 200–480°C, ±2°C
- Best for
- Hobby benches that want a long warranty
Reasons to buy
- +ESD safe with a 10-minute sleep and auto cool-down
- +3-year warranty and US-based support
- +Kit includes helping hands, silicone mat and five tips
Reasons to avoid
- −110V only, no 220V version
- −X-Tronic's pages give two different minimum temperatures
Pinecil V2
USB-C powered and pocket-sized — the rare budget tool that doesn't feel like a compromise.
Best for:Portability, field repairs
USB-C powered, pocket-sized, and genuinely fast to heat up — the Pinecil V2 is the rare budget tool that doesn't feel like a compromise, making it a favorite for on-the-go repairs.
Why it fits: Pine64 rates it at up to 88W on a 24V supply and quotes about 12 seconds to working temperature with a 20V-plus supply, so it handles most board work from a USB-C charger or power bank. As a portable it lacks a stand in the box and needs a capable PD supply, and Pine64 doesn't state ESD safety or a temperature range.
- Power
- Up to 88W at 24V DC; about 60W from 20V USB-C PD
- Heat-up time
- ~12 seconds (with a 20V+ supply)
- Temperature control
- OLED digital display
- Best for
- Portability, field repairs
Reasons to buy
- +Extremely compact and travel-friendly
- +Fast heat-up for its size
- +Powered by any USB-C PD source, even a power bank
Reasons to avoid
- −No stand included by default
- −Needs a USB-C PD or DC supply; full power needs 24V
- −Pine64's Amazon listing still describes the original Pinecil (65W, 12–21V barrel jack): check the version shown before you buy
FNIRSI HS-02A
A 100W USB-C smart iron with a color screen, three presets and a 100W charger in the box.
Best for:Portable kits that need real power
The HS-02A is a pen-sized smart iron that draws up to 100W from USB-C PD or QC (9–20V), covers 100–450°C and shows settings on a 0.96-inch color screen. It stores three temperature presets, supports calibration and has sleep, auto power-off and a child lock. This kit includes six tips (K, KU, JS, I, C2, B), a 100W charger and a mini stand, and the iron weighs 61 g. It has no battery, so it always needs a supply, and FNIRSI lists a different tip set for the HS-02B, so buy HS-02A tips.
Why it fits: A 100W ceiling from USB-C, three presets, calibration and six tips with a 100W charger in the kit give it more reserve than any other pen iron here for pads tied to ground pours. It ranks below the Pinecil because ESD safety isn't stated, it needs a PD or QC supply every time, and its tips differ from the HS-02B's.
- Power
- Up to 100W, USB-C PD/QC 9–20V
- Heat-up time
- 2–3 s tinning (FNIRSI's figures differ)
- Temperature control
- Digital, color screen, 100–450°C, 3 presets
- Best for
- Portable kits that need real power
Reasons to buy
- +100W charger and six tips included
- +Three presets plus calibration
- +Only 61 g
Reasons to avoid
- −No built-in battery: needs a PD/QC supply
- −FNIRSI's 2-year warranty applies to direct orders, per its site
Miniware TS101
A portable smart iron with an OLED screen, USB-C PD or DC input and TS100 tip compatibility.
Best for:Portable kits, field repairs
Miniware's TS101 is the successor to the TS100: a portable iron with an OLED display, 50–400°C range, motion-sensing sleep, an overheat warning and a Boost button, powered from USB-C PD (9–20V) or a 9–24V DC supply. This kit includes a 65W USB-C adapter, and TS100 tips fit. It goes head to head with the Pinecil V2; Miniware's listing gives conflicting wattage figures, so we don't quote one.
Why it fits: TS100 tip compatibility, a 50–400°C range, motion-sensing sleep and a 65W adapter in the box make it handy for anyone already invested in TS100 tips. Its 400°C ceiling is the lowest here and Miniware's listing gives conflicting wattage, so we can't credit it with the reserve of the HS-02A.
- Power
- USB-C PD 9–20V or DC 9–24V (65W adapter included)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated
- Temperature control
- Digital, OLED, 50–400°C
- Best for
- Portable kits, field repairs
Reasons to buy
- +USB-C PD or DC input; 65W adapter in the box
- +Motion-sensing sleep and Boost button
- +Takes TS100 tips
Reasons to avoid
- −400°C ceiling is lower than bench stations
- −Maximum wattage not clearly stated by Miniware
- −Amazon listing is a kit sold by a third-party seller
YIHUA 926 III
A compact PID station with sleep and calibration, sold as a full kit with helping hands and six tips.
Best for:First station for hobby electronics
The 926 LED III is a small digital station with the iron holder built into the body and tip slots in the rear guard. It covers 90–480°C with PID control, switches between °C and °F, supports digital calibration and sleeps after 5, 10 or 30 minutes idle. The Amazon kit adds two helping hands, six 900M-series tips, lead-free solder, a solder sucker and ESD-safe tweezers. Power figures conflict: the listing says 60W, while YIHUA's own page lists 130W maximum and 18W rated.
Why it fits: PID control, calibration, an adjustable 5, 10 or 30 minute sleep and six 900M tips cover a beginner's first electronics bench well. It sits ninth because the station's ESD safety isn't stated and its power figures conflict: 60W on the listing versus 130W maximum and 18W rated on YIHUA's page.
- Power
- 60W per listing (YIHUA site: 130W max, 18W rated)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated by YIHUA
- Temperature control
- PID, LED display, 90–480°C
- Best for
- First station for hobby electronics
Reasons to buy
- +Adjustable sleep timer and digital calibration
- +Six 900M-series tips and helping hands in the kit
- +Holder built into the station saves bench space
Reasons to avoid
- −Wattage figures conflict between the listing and YIHUA's site
- −Station ESD safety isn't stated (only the tweezers are ESD safe)
Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron Kit
A digital-readout pen iron with auto sleep for about the price of a spool of solder.
Best for:Beginners on a tight budget
Liouhoum's 80W kit is a plug-in pen iron with an LCD, so you set and read 180–480°C directly instead of guessing from a dial. Per the listing, it drops its temperature after 5 minutes on the stand, remembers the last setting, supports calibration and switches between °C and °F. The kit includes five tips, rosin-core solder, flux, a sponge and a basic stand. There's no station, no ESD rating and no stated tip series, so it suits starter and occasional repair work rather than a daily bench.
Why it fits: A digital readout from 180–480°C, temperature memory and a 5-minute auto sleep are useful at this price, and the listing claims a 10-second heat-up. It ranks last for electronics because no maker site backs the specs, there is no ESD rating and the tip series isn't named, so replacement tips are a guess.
- Power
- 80W, 110–120V
- Heat-up time
- 10 s (listing's claim)
- Temperature control
- LCD, buttons, 180–480°C
- Best for
- Beginners on a tight budget
Reasons to buy
- +Digital temperature readout at a very low price
- +Auto sleep after 5 minutes on the stand
- +24-month replacement offered by the seller
Reasons to avoid
- −No ESD rating or named tip series
- −Light stand and basic accessories
Before you buy
Buying advice
Match the tip to the joint, then pick the iron
Most problems blamed on a weak iron come from a tip that is too small. A 2 mm chisel moves far more heat into a header pin than a needle point at the same setting, so you can run cooler and protect pads. Before buying, check that the iron's tip family is sold in a conical, a chisel and a bevel shape you can actually get, and read our guide to tip types for the trade-offs.
Treat ESD as part of the iron's spec
Static damage often shows up weeks later as a part that fails early, not as a dead board on the bench. If your projects include MOSFETs, microcontrollers or sensors, favor the irons listed as ESD safe here and add a grounded mat. Portable USB-C irons rarely state an ESD rating, so keep them for jobs where that risk is low or the work area is already grounded.
Decide early whether you need hot air
If your boards are mostly through-hole and larger SMD parts, any good iron with flux and wick will do. Once you start replacing QFN regulators, USB connectors with shield tabs or multi-pin ICs, hot air saves time and pads. A combined unit like the YIHUA 862BD+ costs less bench space than buying a separate rework station later.
Read power figures with suspicion
Listings for budget stations often quote station totals, "equivalent" ratings or numbers that disagree with the maker's site. The YIHUA 926 III and 939D+ both show this. Compare irons on heater rating, published stability and tip mass instead, and don't assume a bigger number means faster recovery on a ground plane.
Plan for fumes, burns and a safe place to park the iron
Rosin flux smoke irritates the lungs, so use a fume extractor or a fan that pulls smoke away from your face. A heavy stand that holds the iron at an angle prevents burns and rolled-off irons; the pen irons here come with light stands, so set them where they can't be knocked. Wash your hands after handling leaded solder and keep food off the bench.
Methodology
How we chose
We ranked these ten for mixed through-hole and SMD board work: published temperature stability and control first, then tip family and availability, ESD safety, hot air for rework and features for the money. Every figure comes from the maker's site or the official Amazon listing, and where they conflict we say so; this is desk research, and none of these ten has been hands-on tested by us.
Picks marked "Hands-on Tested" have been bought and tested by us; the rest are desk research. A pick only carries that badge once we have actually bought and tested that unit. More on how we research.
Questions
Frequently asked questions
What temperature should I set my soldering iron to for electronics?+
For leaded 63/37 or 60/40 solder, many people work around 315–345°C; lead-free alloys usually need roughly 350–370°C. Large pads, ground planes and thick wires may need more, while tiny SMD parts prefer the lowest setting that still flows solder within a couple of seconds. Every iron in this list reaches at least 400°C, so range is rarely the problem; holding the setpoint under load is.
Is a soldering station better than a soldering iron pen for electronics?+
A station puts the controller in a separate box, which usually means a lighter handpiece, a proper holder and steadier temperature during long sessions. Pen irons like the Pinecil V2 and FNIRSI HS-02A carry the controller in the handle and run from USB-C, which suits field repairs and small benches. For daily through-hole and SMD work, a station is the comfortable choice; a pen makes a good second iron.
Do I need an ESD-safe soldering iron?+
If you work on MOSFETs, CMOS chips, RF parts or modern phone and laptop boards, an ESD-safe iron is worth having. It grounds the tip so static and leakage current have a safe path. In this list the Hakko FX-888DX, Weller WE1010NA, YIHUA 939D+, X-Tronic 3020-XTS and YIHUA 862BD+ are listed as ESD safe. For the others, ESD safety isn't stated, so pair them with a grounded mat and wrist strap.
Can I solder SMD components with a regular soldering iron?+
Yes, most two-terminal parts down to 0603, SOT-23 transistors and SOIC chips solder well with a fine conical or small chisel tip, flux and thin solder. Fine-pitch QFP packages can be drag-soldered with a hoof or bevel tip. Parts with pads hidden underneath, such as QFN and BGA, need hot air or a preheater, which is why the YIHUA 862BD+ ranks high here.
How many watts does a soldering iron for electronics need?+
Around 60–80W on the heater is plenty for most circuit boards when the control loop is fast. Higher ratings help most with ground planes, large connectors and heavy wire, where a weak iron lets the tip temperature sag. Be careful comparing numbers: some listings quote station totals, "equivalent" wattage or figures that conflict with the maker's own page, as with both YIHUA stations here.
Which soldering tip shapes are best for electronics work?+
A medium chisel of about 2 mm handles through-hole pins, wires and most SMD passives, and transfers heat better than a needle point. Add a fine conical tip for crowded areas and a bevel or hoof tip for drag soldering IC legs. Buy tips from the same family as your iron, such as T18, ET, 900M or TS100, so replacements fit and read temperature correctly.

