COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 17B+ vs Fluke 107

Fluke 17B+ vs Fluke 107 is closer than it looks: unlike most pocket meters, the 107 reads frequency, duty cycle, capacitance and diodes, so it covers much of what the 17B+ does. What the bigger meter adds is temperature, microamp and milliamp ranges, MIN MAX, relative mode and a higher voltage ceiling, while the 107 counts to 6,000 in a 200 g case.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 17B+ digital multimeter, front view
Best Value Fluke

Fluke 17B+

4.5★★★★★

A full-size Fluke with temperature, frequency, MIN MAX and relative mode, but not True RMS.

Fluke 107 palm-sized digital multimeter, front view
Best Pocket Fluke

Fluke 107

4.3★★★★☆

A palm-sized Fluke with CAT III 600V and a 6,000-count display, but not True RMS.

Specs side by side

Fluke 17B+Fluke 107
Rating4.5★★★★★4.3★★★★☆
AccuracyNot stated as True RMS by FlukeAverage-responding (not True RMS)
Safety ratingCAT III 600V / CAT II 1000VCAT III 600V
Auto-rangingYes (manual override)Yes (per display)
Best forElectronics hobbyists, students, appliance repairA compact second meter, home and auto checks
Display4,000 counts, backlit6,000 counts, backlit
Max voltage1000V AC/DC600V AC/DC
Safety rating detailCAT III 600V; 1000V max to earthCAT III 600V
Current ranges400.0 µA to 10.00 A AC/DC4.000 A and 10.00 A AC/DC only
Millivolts400.0 mV AC and DC600.0 mV AC
Frequency / duty cycle10 Hz to 100 kHz / 1–99%10 Hz to 100 kHz / 1–99%
Temperature−55 °C to 400 °C, probe included No
MIN MAX / relativeYes / YesNot stated / Not stated
Drop ratingNot stated1 m
Size / weight183 × 91 × 49.5 mm, 455 g142 × 69 × 28 mm, 200 g
Battery2 × AA, 500 h minimum2 × AAA, 200 h minimum

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →Both measure frequency, duty cycle, capacitance, diodes and continuity with the same frequency accuracy, ±(0.1% + 3), so the 107 loses less than most pocket meters.
  • →The 17B+ adds a temperature function with a Type K probe, plus MIN MAX recording and relative mode.
  • →The 17B+ has µA and mA current ranges on a 440 mA fused input; the 107's current starts at its 4.000 A range.
  • →The 107's display reaches 6,000 counts; the 17B+ stops at 4,000.
  • →The 17B+ reads up to 1000V; the 107 is limited to 600V. Both are rated CAT III 600V.
  • →The 107 is 142 × 69 × 28 mm and 200 g, less than half the 17B+'s 455 g, and Fluke rates it for a 1 m drop.
  • →Neither is True RMS: Fluke states the 107 is not, and makes no True RMS claim for the 17B+.

At a glance

Shared core

Volts, 4 A and 10 A, ohms, capacitance, diode, frequency and duty cycle.

17B+ extra: temperature

Type K probe included, −55 °C to 400 °C.

17B+ extra: small current

400.0 µA to 400.0 mA ranges the 107 lacks.

17B+ extra: MIN MAX

Captures highs and lows, plus relative zeroing.

107 extra: portability

200 g, 28 mm thick, rated for a 1 m drop.

Verdict

HVAC, appliance and electronics: 17B+. Pocket and glovebox: 107.

Fluke 17B+ vs 107 spec by spec

Fluke's spec tabs give the two meters identical accuracy on every function they share: ±(0.5% + 3) on DC volts, ±(1.0% + 3) on AC volts, ±(1.5% + 3) on current and ±(0.1% + 3) on frequency. What differs is where each one switches ranges, which functions exist at all, and the box they come in.

FunctionFluke 17B+Fluke 107Same?
Volts ranges4.000 V to 1000 V6.000 V to 600.0 VDiffer
DC volts accuracy±(0.5% + 3)±(0.5% + 3)Same
AC volts, 40–500 Hz±(1.0% + 3)±(1.0% + 3)Same
Current ranges400.0 µA to 10.00 A4.000 A and 10.00 ADiffer
AC current bandwidth40 to 400 Hz40 to 200 HzDiffer
Resistance400.0 Ω to 40.00 MΩ400.0 Ω to 40.00 MΩSame
Capacitance40.00 nF to 1000 µF50.00 nF to 1000 µFNear
Frequency10 Hz to 100 kHz, ±(0.1% + 3)10 Hz to 100 kHz, ±(0.1% + 3)Same
Duty cycle1% to 99%1% to 99%Same
Diode test2.000 V2.000 VSame
Temperature−55 °C to 400 °CNo17B+ only
Battery life500 h minimum, 2 × AA200 h minimum, 2 × AAADiffer
17B+ length
183 mm
107 length
142 mm
17B+ thickness
49.5 mm
107 thickness
28 mm
Body length and thickness in millimeters, from Fluke's specifications.
17B+ (400.0 µA)
0.1 µA
107 (4.000 A)
1,000 µA

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Smallest current step, in µA, log scale: 17B+ on its 400.0 µA range against the 107 on 4.000 A.
Fluke 17B+Fluke 107TemperatureµA and mAMIN MAXRelativeDC millivolts1000 V readingAC/DC voltsAmps (4 A, 10 A)Ohms to 40 MΩContinuityDiode testCapacitanceFrequencyDuty cycle6,000 counts200 g body1 m drop rating
Feature overlap, per Fluke's spec tabs. The middle column is what you keep if you choose the 107.

What the temperature function is worth

The 17B+ ships with a Type K probe and reads −55 °C to 400 °C. Fluke's accuracy is banded: ±2 °C from 0 to 50 °C, 2% ±1 °C above 50 °C, and 9% ±2 °C below freezing. Worked through, that is the spread below. It is plenty for a supply-air check, a heatsink or a freezer, though a dedicated thermometer is better for refrigerant superheat.

−20 °C (freezer)
±3.8 °C
25 °C (room)
±2.0 °C
200 °C (heatsink)
±5.0 °C
Worked arithmetic on Fluke's 17B+ temperature spec, ± °C at three example readings. Not measured.

The 107 has no thermocouple input at all, so for temperature you'd carry a separate thermometer. Our guide to checking a thermocouple with a multimeter shows the millivolt side of the same job, which the 107 can only do on AC.

Fluke 17B+ vs 107: which should you buy?

You are…Better fitWhy
Appliance or HVAC hobbyistFluke 17B+Temperature probe included, plus mA for small control circuits
Car owner chasing a battery drainFluke 17B+Its 400.0 mA range reads the 20–50 mA a drain test needs
Checking PWM fans and dimmersEitherBoth read frequency to 100 kHz and duty cycle 1–99%
Glovebox or backpack meterFluke 107200 g, 28 mm thick, 1 m drop rating
Electronics with 5 V railsFluke 107Its 6.000 V range shows the millivolt digit
Watching a drifting readingFluke 17B+MIN MAX captures the highs and lows for you
Solar or DC above 600 VFluke 17B+Reads to 1000 V; the 107 stops at 600 V

For the pocket line-up, see Fluke 106 vs 107; for the full-size step up to True RMS, see Fluke 17B+ vs 117.

Use cases in practice

On a workbench the 17B+ earns its size. Relative mode zeros a reference reading so you see only the change, MIN MAX holds the dip when a motor starts, and the microamp range reads sleep current on a battery-powered board. Its two AA cells are rated for at least 500 hours, so it rarely dies mid-job.

Away from the bench the 107 makes more sense. It reads the frequency of a generator, the duty cycle of a fan controller and the capacitance of a start capacitor, which covers most quick field checks, and Fluke rates it to survive a 1 m drop. What it can't do is read a current below a few tens of milliamps with useful resolution: on its 4.000 A range one count is 1 mA.

A note on True RMS

Neither meter is True RMS, so both read clean sine-wave mains correctly but can misread the chopped waveforms of dimmers, drives and switch-mode supplies. If that is your work, step up to a True RMS meter such as the Fluke 117 or 115.

Safety: both are CAT III 600V meters

The 17B+ displays up to 1000 V, but both meters carry a CAT III 600V rating, so neither belongs at a service entrance or meter base. Check the leads are in the volts jack before probing an outlet, because a lead left in the A jack shorts the circuit through the fuse. On a hot heatsink or stove element, let the 17B+'s probe do the touching, not your hand, and call an electrician for anything inside a panel you aren't trained to open.

Choose the Fluke 17B+ if…

  • ✓You want temperature readings with a probe included
  • ✓You measure small currents in µA or mA, such as standby or sensor loops
  • ✓You log fluctuating readings with MIN MAX or need relative mode

Choose the Fluke 107 if…

  • ✓You want frequency and duty cycle in something that fits a pocket
  • ✓You value a 6,000-count display over extra functions
  • ✓You want a meter Fluke rates for a 1 m drop

The bottom line

Pick the 107 if you want frequency and duty cycle in a pocket-size meter with a finer display; it covers most everyday electronics checks. Pick the 17B+ if temperature, milliamp ranges, MIN MAX logging or readings above 600V matter, and you don't mind a full-size meter.

Frequently asked questions

Does the Fluke 107 measure frequency like the 17B+?+

Yes. Fluke lists frequency from 10 Hz to 100 kHz and duty cycle from 1% to 99% on both meters, with the same ±(0.1% + 3) frequency accuracy. Its sibling, the Fluke 106, lacks both functions, which is the main reason to choose the 107 over the 106.

Is the Fluke 107 True RMS?+

No. Fluke states plainly that the 107 is not a True RMS meter, and it makes no True RMS claim for the 17B+ either. Both read pure sine-wave mains accurately, but on variable-speed drives, LED drivers and dimmers their AC readings can be off. For that work, look at a True RMS Fluke such as the 115 or 117.

Can the Fluke 107 measure milliamps?+

Not usefully. The 107 has only 4.000 A and 10.00 A current ranges on a single 11 A fused input, so its smallest step is 1 mA and its accuracy band on a 50 mA load is several milliamps wide. The 17B+ has dedicated 40.00 mA and 400.0 mA ranges, plus microamp ranges.

Can the Fluke 107 measure temperature?+

No. Temperature is a 17B+ feature here, using its included Type K probe across −55 °C to 400 °C. Fluke rates it at ±2 °C between 0 and 50 °C and 2% ±1 °C above that, which suits supply-air, pipe and heatsink checks. The 107 has no thermocouple input.

Which has more resolution, the 17B+ or the 107?+

The 107, with a 6,000-count display against the 17B+'s 4,000 counts. In practice that matters between 4 V and 6 V, and between 400 V and 600 V, where the 107 stays on a finer range. A 5 V rail reads to 0.001 V on the 107 and 0.01 V on the 17B+.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews