Multimeters · Budget Tier

Ranked on safety, accuracy and fit for the job.

Best Multimeter Under $100: Top 10 Budget Meters Ranked

Our top 10 budget multimeters, ranked on documented safety ratings, True RMS, display resolution and current ranges, with a clear pick for homeowners, appliance tinkerers, electronics hobbyists and anyone who just wants a meter in the drawer.

10
Compared
100%
Spec-Verified
0
Sponsored Picks

The best budget multimeter, in brief

The best budget multimeter for most people is the KAIWEETS HT118A: it is True RMS, rated CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V in its manual, and adds NCV, temperature and microamp current, so it covers the house, the car and hobby electronics. Choose the Klein Tools MM420 if you prefer a major US tool brand with a thermocouple in the box, or the UNI-T UT61E+ if you mostly work on circuit boards and want 22,000 counts. The other seven each win for a narrower buyer, from rechargeable Smart-mode meters to a basic manual-ranging Klein.

Budget meters differ far more from each other than premium ones do. Some publish a full manual with accuracy tables and a CAT rating printed on the case; others make claims on the listing that the manual doesn't support. We only considered meters whose safety rating is documented by the maker or marked on the case, and where sources disagree we used the lower figure. This guide ranks for the general buyer; if you need True RMS above all, our True RMS budget ranking weighs that first, and trade users should read the electricians' budget meters guide. For a head-to-head between two of the cheapest picks, see KAIWEETS KM200s vs UNI-T UT139C.

A low-cost meter still has to be safe

The CAT rating, fused current inputs and lead insulation are what stand between you and a mains fault. Use a CAT III 600V meter or better on anything wired into the wall, keep CAT II meters to plug-in appliances and electronics, and never measure voltage with the red lead in an amps jack. Replace damaged leads straight away, and call a licensed electrician for panel or service work.

Quick comparison

#MeterCountsSafety ratingTrue RMSBest for
1KAIWEETS HT118A6,000CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600VYesOne meter for house, car and hobby
2Klein Tools MM4204,000CAT III 600VYesA big-brand meter for appliances and HVAC
3UNI-T UT61E+22,000CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600VYesElectronics benches that need fine resolution
4Klein Tools MM460S4,000CAT III 600VYesOccasional users who want the meter to choose
5KAIWEETS KM6026,000CAT III 600VYesNo batteries to buy, ever
6UNI-T UT139C6,000CAT III 600VYesThe plain, low-cost True RMS option
7OWON B41T+22,0001000V CAT III (case marking)YesLogging readings to a phone or overnight
8KAIWEETS HT118E20,000CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600VYesSleep-current checks at the lowest cost
9KAIWEETS KM200sNot in our dataCAT II 600VYesPlug-in appliances, batteries and hobby kits
10Klein Tools MM3252,000CAT III 600VNoBattery and continuity checks only

Ratings come from each maker's manual or the meter's marking. The KM602 listing claims CAT IV, but its manual and case say CAT III 600V, which we use. OWON's page gives no CAT rating for the B41T+, so the figure shown is the one marked on the case.

Which budget meter fits which buyer

If you are a…Start withWhy
Homeowner who checks outlets and appliancesKAIWEETS HT118ANCV, temperature and a CAT IV 600V rating in one body
Appliance or HVAC tinkererKlein Tools MM420Temperature probe included, µA to 10 A, Lead-Alert jacks
Arduino or PCB repair hobbyistUNI-T UT61E+22,000 counts, 0.01 Ω and 0.01 µA resolution, REL mode
Battery-powered project builderOWON B41T+Logs 10,000 points over up to 168 hours without a phone
Someone who hates dialsKlein Tools MM460S or KAIWEETS KM602Smart mode picks V, Ω or continuity for you
Glovebox or junk-drawer meterKlein Tools MM3251.5V/9V battery test, CAT III 600V, backlight

Resolution and current sensitivity compared

UNI-T UT61E+
22,000
OWON B41T+
22,000
KAIWEETS HT118E
20,000
KAIWEETS HT118A
6,000
KAIWEETS KM602
6,000
UNI-T UT139C
6,000
Klein Tools MM420
4,000
Klein Tools MM460S
4,000
Klein Tools MM325
2,000
Display counts. The KM200s isn't shown because its count isn't in our verified data. The OWON and UNI-T figures are as sold (22,000 counts).
UNI-T UT61E+
0.01 µA
OWON B41T+
0.01 µA
KAIWEETS HT118E
0.01 µA (implied)
KAIWEETS HT118A
0.1 µA
Klein Tools MM420
0.1 µA
KAIWEETS KM602
0.1 mA

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Smallest current step on the lowest range, in µA, log scale (shorter is finer). The HT118E value follows from its 200 µA range at 20,000 counts; KAIWEETS doesn't print it. The KM602 starts at a 600 mA range.

What to check before you buy a budget meter

A real, documented safety rating

Low-cost meters vary most here. Trust the manual and the marking on the case; where a listing claims more, we use the lower figure.

True RMS where you need it

Most of this list is True RMS. It matters for dimmers, inverters and motor drives, and barely at all for batteries and fuses.

Counts and resolution

A 20,000-count meter shows a 5V rail to the millivolt and resolves 0.01 Ω on its lowest range; a 4,000-count meter cannot.

Current ranges that fit your work

A µA range matters for sleep current in battery projects. Household users rarely need more than the 10 A input.

Warranty and support

KAIWEETS gives a 3-year warranty on the HT118A and KM602, and Klein is a major US tool brand with an established warranty process.

What's in the box

A thermocouple, a USB cable or a rechargeable cell adds real value; check the listing for exactly which accessories ship.

Cheap meters fail at the edges, not in the middle

Nearly every meter here will read a 12V battery or a 120V outlet correctly. The differences show up at the extremes: microamps, fractions of an ohm, distorted AC and high-energy transients. Decide which of those edges you will actually reach. Our guides to measuring microamps, multimeter accuracy for electronics repair and the multimeter buying guide explain each one, and our KAIWEETS KM200s review looks closely at the entry-level end.
OSBy OhmSavvy Research TeamSpecs verified against manufacturer data · desk research

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through the links below, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

At a glance

Our top picks

1KAIWEETS HT118A
Best Low-Cost True RMS4.4★★★★☆

KAIWEETS HT118A

True RMS, CAT III 1000V and µA current with NCV and temperature at a low price.

Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
2Klein Tools MM420
Best Budget Klein True RMS4.5★★★★★

Klein Tools MM420

Klein's everyday True RMS, auto-ranging meter: µA to 10 A, temperature and capacitance, rated CAT III 600V.

Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
3UNI-T UT61E+
Best Budget Meter for Electronics4.5★★★★★

UNI-T UT61E+

A budget 22,000-count True RMS meter with 0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution, REL mode and a USB link.

Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓

Also great

Quick shopping

Compare at a glance

Swipe sideways on mobile to see every spec.

ModelAwardRatingAccuracySafety ratingAuto-ranging
KAIWEETS HT118A#1KAIWEETS HT118ABest Low-Cost True RMS4.4★★★★☆True RMS, 6,000-countCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V YesCheck price →
Klein Tools MM420#2Klein Tools MM420Best Budget Klein True RMS4.5★★★★★True RMS, 4,000-countCAT III 600VYes (manual RANGE button)Check price →
UNI-T UT61E+#3UNI-T UT61E+Best Budget Meter for Electronics4.5★★★★★True RMS, ±(0.05%+5) DC VCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600VYes (manual override)Check price →
Klein Tools MM460S#4Klein Tools MM460SBest Smart-Mode Klein4.4★★★★☆True RMS, 4,000-countCAT III 600VYes, plus Smart modeCheck price →
KAIWEETS KM602#5KAIWEETS KM602Best Rechargeable Smart Meter4.2★★★★☆True RMS, 6,000-countCAT III 600VYes, plus Smart modeCheck price →
UNI-T UT139C#6UNI-T UT139CBest Value Auto-Ranging4.4★★★★☆True RMS, 6,000-countCAT III 600V YesCheck price →
OWON B41T+#7OWON B41T+Best Budget Bluetooth Logger4.2★★★★☆True RMS, ±(0.1%+2) DC V1000V CAT III (case marking) YesCheck price →
KAIWEETS HT118E#8KAIWEETS HT118ECheapest 20,000-Count µA Meter4.2★★★★☆±(0.08%+5) DC V; True RMS not statedCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V YesCheck price →
KAIWEETS KM200s#9KAIWEETS KM200sBest Budget4.5★★★★★True RMSCAT II 600V YesCheck price →
Klein Tools MM325#10Klein Tools MM325Best Basic Manual-Ranging4.1★★★★☆Not True RMS (2,000-count)CAT III 600VNo (manual ranging)Check price →

In depth

Detailed reviews

#1Best Low-Cost True RMS4.4★★★★☆

KAIWEETS HT118A

True RMS, CAT III 1000V and µA current with NCV and temperature at a low price.

Best for:Budget all-rounder for home, car and hobby

The HT118A is a 6,000-count, auto-ranging True RMS meter with an analog bar. KAIWEETS's manual rates it CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V for up to 1000V DC and 750V AC, and current runs from a 600 µA range (0.1 µA) to 10 A. It also measures resistance to 60 MΩ, capacitance, frequency to 10 MHz, duty cycle and temperature, and adds NCV, a Live-wire test, Min/Max, jack lights, a flashlight and a kickstand. KAIWEETS gives a 3-year warranty. Its own product page lists 600V AC/DC, which disagrees with the manual and the meter face.

Why it fits: It gives the broadest coverage of any low-cost meter here: True RMS on 6,000 counts, CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V per the manual, current from a 600 µA range to 10 A, temperature, NCV, Min/Max, jack lights and a flashlight, backed by a 3-year warranty. KAIWEETS's product page lists a lower maximum voltage than its manual, and the body is bulky.

Accuracy
True RMS, 6,000-count
Safety rating
CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes
Best for
Budget all-rounder for home, car and hobby

Reasons to buy

  • +µA, mA and 10 A ranges
  • +NCV, temperature and Min/Max included
  • +3-year warranty

Reasons to avoid

  • −Maker's product page and manual disagree on max voltage
  • −Bulky compared with slim meters
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#2Best Budget Klein True RMS4.5★★★★★

Klein Tools MM420

Klein's everyday True RMS, auto-ranging meter: µA to 10 A, temperature and capacitance, rated CAT III 600V.

Best for:Home electrical, HVAC and appliance work

The MM420 is a 4,000-count, True RMS, auto-ranging meter rated CAT III 600V. It measures AC/DC current from a 400.0 µA range (0.1 µA resolution) up to 10 A, resistance to 50 MΩ, capacitance to 400 µF, frequency to 50 kHz and temperature from -40 to 1832°F with the included thermocouple. Lead-Alert lights show which jacks to use, it has Min/Max, a backlight and a 2 m drop rating. There's no LoZ mode or NCV, and Klein rates it for indoor use only.

Why it fits: A True RMS CAT III 600V Klein with AC/DC current from a 400.0 µA range to 10 A, temperature with the included thermocouple, capacitance to 400 µF and Lead-Alert jack lights. It ranks second because of the brand's US support and the thermocouple in the box. There's no NCV or LoZ, and Klein rates it for indoor use.

Accuracy
True RMS, 4,000-count
Safety rating
CAT III 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes (manual RANGE button)
Best for
Home electrical, HVAC and appliance work

Reasons to buy

  • +µA, mA and 10 A ranges on AC and DC
  • +Temperature, capacitance and frequency included
  • +Lead-Alert jack lights help beginners

Reasons to avoid

  • −No LoZ mode or non-contact voltage detection
  • −CAT III 600V only, not for service-entrance work
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#3Best Budget Meter for Electronics4.5★★★★★

UNI-T UT61E+

A budget 22,000-count True RMS meter with 0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution, REL mode and a USB link.

Best for:Arduino, hobby electronics, PCB repair

The UT61E+ is UNI-T's 22,000-count version of the UT61+ series: True RMS, CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V, with a 220.00 µA range at 0.01 µA resolution and a 220.00 Ω range at 0.01 Ω (±0.5% + 10 digits). REL mode subtracts lead resistance, which UNI-T's manual tells you to do for low-ohm readings. It also adds capacitance to 220 mF, frequency to 220 MHz, hFE, NCV and a USB cable for PC readout. It has no temperature function (that's the UT61D+), and UNI-T doesn't publish its burden voltage.

Why it fits: For electronics this is the strongest budget meter here: 22,000 counts, 0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution, REL mode to subtract lead resistance, capacitance to 220 mF, frequency to 220 MHz, NCV and a USB link, all at CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V. It lacks temperature and UNI-T doesn't publish burden voltage, which keeps it behind the two all-rounders.

Accuracy
True RMS, ±(0.05%+5) DC V
Safety rating
CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes (manual override)
Best for
Arduino, hobby electronics, PCB repair

Reasons to buy

  • +0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution at a budget price
  • +REL mode to zero test-lead resistance
  • +USB PC link, capacitance to 220 mF, frequency to 220 MHz

Reasons to avoid

  • −No temperature measurement
  • −Burden voltage not published
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#4Best Smart-Mode Klein4.4★★★★☆

Klein Tools MM460S

A True RMS Klein whose Smart mode picks AC/DC voltage, resistance or continuity for you, a gentle start for beginners.

Best for:Beginners and quick household checks

In Smart mode the MM460S works out whether you're measuring AC or DC voltage, resistance or continuity without turning the dial (the minimum voltage it detects there is 0.8V). Outside Smart mode it is a regular auto-ranging True RMS meter. It reads current from a 400.0 µA range up to 10 A, resistance to 50 MΩ, capacitance to 4,000 µF and temperature to 1832°F. The 4,000-count reverse-contrast display is backlit, it's rated CAT III 600V with a 2 m drop rating, and Lead-Alert gives visual and audible warnings for wrong lead placement. There's no LoZ or NCV, and it is for indoor use.

Why it fits: Smart mode works out AC or DC voltage, resistance or continuity without turning the dial, from a minimum of 0.8V, and Lead-Alert gives visual and audible warnings for a misplaced lead. It also reads current from a 400.0 µA range to 10 A and temperature to 1832°F. It is CAT III 600V with no NCV or LoZ, and it is an indoor meter.

Accuracy
True RMS, 4,000-count
Safety rating
CAT III 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes, plus Smart mode
Best for
Beginners and quick household checks

Reasons to buy

  • +Smart mode auto-detects V, Ω and continuity
  • +µA to 10 A plus temperature and capacitance
  • +Backlit reverse-contrast display

Reasons to avoid

  • −CAT III 600V only
  • −No LoZ or non-contact voltage detection
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#5Best Rechargeable Smart Meter4.2★★★★☆

KAIWEETS KM602

A rechargeable True RMS meter whose Smart mode measures voltage, resistance or continuity without turning a dial.

Best for:Beginners who want a no-dial, rechargeable meter

The KM602 starts in Smart mode, where it detects voltage, resistance and continuity on its own, and a FUNC button switches to manual mode. It has a full-screen colour display, 6,000 counts with an analog bar, True RMS, and a built-in 1,200 mAh lithium battery that charges by cable. It measures up to 600V AC/DC, current on 600 mA, 6 A and 10 A ranges (no µA), resistance to 60 MΩ, capacitance, frequency, duty cycle and temperature, and it has NCV, Live, Max/Min/Avg and a flashlight. KAIWEETS's manual rates it CAT III 600V, lower than the 1000V figure on its listing.

Why it fits: A built-in 1,200 mAh lithium cell charged by cable, a color display, Smart mode with a manual fallback, NCV and temperature make it the most convenient meter on the list to live with. Current starts at a 600 mA range with no µA, and the manual and meter face say CAT III 600V, below the figure on its listing.

Accuracy
True RMS, 6,000-count
Safety rating
CAT III 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes, plus Smart mode
Best for
Beginners who want a no-dial, rechargeable meter

Reasons to buy

  • +Smart mode plus manual mode
  • +Rechargeable, no batteries to buy
  • +NCV, temperature and Max/Min/Avg

Reasons to avoid

  • −No µA range; smallest current resolution 0.1 mA
  • −Listing's CAT IV claim isn't backed by the manual
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#6Best Value Auto-Ranging4.4★★★★☆

UNI-T UT139C

True RMS and auto-ranging at a price that undercuts most of this list.

Best for:Budget-conscious buyers who still want True RMS

UNI-T's UT139C packs True RMS accuracy, a 6,000-count display, and both auto and manual ranging into one of the more affordable meters here — a strong value pick if you don't need a specific brand name.

Why it fits: A straightforward True RMS, 6,000-count meter with auto and manual ranging, NCV and CAT III 600V. It does the core jobs well at a lower cost than most of the list. UNI-T is less established in the US than Klein, and the build is adequate rather than rugged, which matters little for occasional use.

Accuracy
True RMS, 6,000-count
Safety rating
CAT III 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes
Best for
Budget-conscious buyers who still want True RMS

Reasons to buy

  • +True RMS at a budget price
  • +Both auto and manual ranging
  • +Non-contact voltage detection included

Reasons to avoid

  • −Less established brand recognition than Fluke/Klein
  • −Build quality is adequate, not rugged
#7Best Budget Bluetooth Logger4.2★★★★☆

OWON B41T+

A 22,000-count Bluetooth meter with 0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution that logs 10,000 points by itself.

Best for:Logging µA sleep current on a budget

The B41T+ is OWON's 4½-digit (22,000-count) True RMS meter. Its 220 µA range resolves 0.01 µA and its 220 Ω range resolves 0.01 Ω, both at ±(0.5% + 10 digits), and relative mode zeroes the leads. Bluetooth 4.0 sends readings to a phone app, and the "+" model records up to 10,000 points over as long as 168 hours with no phone attached, so it can log a project's sleep current overnight. OWON doesn't state a CAT rating on its page (the case says 1000V CAT III), AC voltage tops out at 750 V and burden voltage isn't published.

Why it fits: Its party trick is logging: Bluetooth 4.0 to a phone app, plus 10,000 stored points over up to 168 hours with no phone attached. The 22,000-count display resolves 0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω, with relative mode and temperature. OWON's page states no CAT rating (the case says 1000V CAT III), AC voltage stops at 750 V and burden voltage isn't published.

Accuracy
True RMS, ±(0.1%+2) DC V
Safety rating
1000V CAT III (case marking)
Auto-ranging
Yes
Best for
Logging µA sleep current on a budget

Reasons to buy

  • +0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution
  • +Offline logging of 10,000 points without a phone
  • +Bluetooth app, capacitance to 220 mF, temperature

Reasons to avoid

  • −OWON publishes no CAT rating or burden voltage
  • −AC voltage limited to 750 V
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#8Cheapest 20,000-Count µA Meter4.2★★★★☆

KAIWEETS HT118E

A budget 20,000-count meter with a 200 µA range (KAIWEETS doesn't claim True RMS) and no relative mode for low-ohm work.

Best for:Beginner Arduino and µA checks

The HT118E has a 20,000-count display, CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V and a 200 µA range at ±(0.5% + 5 digits) DC. At 20,000 counts that implies 0.01 µA resolution, though KAIWEETS doesn't print it. It covers temperature, capacitance, frequency, NCV and continuity, with lit input jacks and a flashlight. Its 200 Ω range is only ±(1.0% + 15 digits) and KAIWEETS lists no relative mode, so you have to subtract lead resistance yourself. That makes it better for sleep-current checks than for milliohm work.

Why it fits: It brings 20,000 counts and a 200 µA range to a very low-cost meter, with CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V, temperature, capacitance, NCV and lit jacks. KAIWEETS doesn't print per-range resolution, its 200 Ω range is only ±(1.0% + 15) and there's no relative mode, so it suits sleep-current checks better than low-ohm work.

Accuracy
±(0.08%+5) DC V; True RMS not stated
Safety rating
CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes
Best for
Beginner Arduino and µA checks

Reasons to buy

  • +200 µA range with 20,000 counts at a budget price
  • +CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
  • +Lit input jacks, NCV and flashlight

Reasons to avoid

  • −No relative mode listed for zeroing test leads
  • −Per-range resolution and burden voltage not published
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#9Best Budget4.5★★★★★

KAIWEETS KM200s

Covers the fundamentals of the Fluke at under half the price — the sensible first meter.

Best for:Home use, beginners

For under half the price of the Fluke, the KM200s covers the fundamentals well: auto-ranging, True RMS, and a non-contact voltage detector. A sensible first meter for home and hobby use.

Why it fits: The entry ticket to an auto-ranging True RMS meter with NCV and a backlight. It handles batteries, cords, holiday lights and hobby projects comfortably. Its CAT II 600V rating places it below the CAT III meters for fixed wiring, and the build isn't meant for daily site use.

Accuracy
True RMS
Safety rating
CAT II 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes
Best for
Home use, beginners

Reasons to buy

  • +Excellent value for the feature set
  • +Backlit display for low-light use
  • +Smart auto-ranging simplifies readings

Reasons to avoid

  • −Build quality isn't field-tool grade
  • −CAT II rating means it's not meant for service-panel work
#10Best Basic Manual-Ranging4.1★★★★☆

Klein Tools MM325

A low-cost Klein for checking outlets, batteries and continuity, as long as you're happy picking ranges yourself.

Best for:Basic household and battery checks

The MM325 is a manual-ranging, 2,000-count meter rated CAT III 600V. It reads AC/DC voltage to 600V, DC current from a 200 µA range up to 10 A, and resistance to 2 MΩ, and it has diode, continuity and a 1.5V/9V battery test. Lead-Alert lights, a backlight and a 2 m drop rating come from Klein's pricier meters. Klein doesn't claim True RMS for it, it can't measure AC current, and you have to choose each range on the dial.

Why it fits: The simplest meter here: manual-ranging, 2,000 counts, CAT III 600V, DC current from a 200 µA range to 10 A, a 1.5V/9V battery-test position, Lead-Alert lights and a backlight. Klein doesn't claim True RMS, and it can't measure AC current, capacitance or temperature, so it suits a glovebox or drawer rather than a bench.

Accuracy
Not True RMS (2,000-count)
Safety rating
CAT III 600V
Auto-ranging
No (manual ranging)
Best for
Basic household and battery checks

Reasons to buy

  • +Low cost from a major tool brand
  • +Battery test for 1.5V and 9V cells
  • +Lead-Alert lights and backlit display

Reasons to avoid

  • −Manual ranging and not True RMS
  • −No AC current, capacitance or temperature
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.

Before you buy

Buying advice

Spend on the safety rating before the feature list

A low-cost meter with a documented CAT III 600V rating, fused current inputs and sound leads is a better buy than a feature-packed one with no stated category. Meters with no stated rating, such as the AstroAI DM6000AR, were left out of this list on purpose. If a listing promises CAT IV but the manual or case says CAT III, believe the manual.

Choose resolution only if you work on electronics

Counts and microamp resolution are what separate the UT61E+, B41T+ and HT118E from the rest. They matter for measuring a microcontroller's sleep current or a 0.5 Ω shunt. For household and automotive checks, a 4,000- or 6,000-count meter already shows more digits than the job needs, and its simpler dial is easier to use.

Factor in the running costs

A budget meter's real costs are batteries, fuses and leads. The KM602 avoids batteries with its rechargeable cell; the others use AA or 9V cells. Check that replacement fuses with the rating printed in the manual are easy to buy, and plan on a better set of leads if the included ones feel stiff or thin.

Know when to step up

If you start working inside distribution panels every week, need an industrial warranty or want LoZ for ghost voltage, a budget meter is the wrong tool. Our guides for electricians and HVAC technicians cover meters built for daily trade use. Until then, any of these ten will cover the vast majority of home, car and hobby jobs.

Methodology

How we chose

We considered only budget meters with a safety rating documented in the maker's manual or marked on the case, then ranked them for a general buyer: how many everyday jobs one meter covers safely first, then True RMS, display counts and current resolution, convenience features such as NCV, Smart mode or a rechargeable cell, and warranty. Specs come from maker manuals, product pages and official listings; where they conflict we use the lower figure. This is desk research, and none of these ten has been hands-on tested by us.

Specs from the sourceEvery spec is checked against the manufacturer's official product page or datasheet and the official Amazon listing. Where sources disagree, we say so.
Fit over feature countEach pick earns its place for a specific kind of buyer, and we name who should skip it, rather than ranking on spec-sheet length.
Owner feedback, cross-checkedWe look for patterns in verified-purchase reviews to catch reliability issues that spec sheets never show.
No sponsored picksWe earn mainly from Amazon affiliate commissions and may also show display ads from Google. No brand or advertiser can pay for a spot, a ranking or a badge, and ads never affect our picks.

Picks marked "Hands-on Tested" have been bought and tested by us; the rest are desk research. A pick only carries that badge once we have actually bought and tested that unit. More on how we research.

Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is a budget multimeter accurate enough for real work?+

For most household, automotive and hobby measurements, yes. The UNI-T UT61E+ quotes ±(0.05% + 5) on DC volts and the OWON B41T+ ±(0.1% + 2), both far tighter than a typical 12V or 120V check needs. What you give up on low-cost meters is usually support, documentation consistency and ruggedness, not basic accuracy. Use a calibrated professional meter when a job demands a certificate.

Which budget multimeter is safest for household outlets?+

Pick one whose manual and case both state CAT III 600V or higher. On this list the HT118A, HT118E and UT61E+ add CAT IV 600V, and the Klein MM420, MM460S and MM325, UNI-T UT139C and KAIWEETS KM602 are CAT III 600V. The KM200s is CAT II, so keep it to plug-in appliances, batteries and electronics rather than fixed wiring or panels.

What does 6,000 count mean on a multimeter?+

It is the largest number the display can show before switching range, roughly 5,999 plus a sign. On a 6V range a 6,000-count meter resolves 0.001V, while a 4,000-count meter switches up a range sooner and loses a digit around 4V. Higher counts, like the 22,000 on the UT61E+, give finer readings on low voltages and resistances, which helps electronics work more than household checks.

Are KAIWEETS and UNI-T multimeters good brands?+

Both publish manuals with full specification tables, which is what we rely on, and the CAT rating is printed on the case of each meter we list. Where their listings and manuals disagree, as on the KAIWEETS KM602's CAT rating and the HT118A's maximum voltage, we use the lower figure from the manual or the meter face. They lack the dealer network of Klein or Fluke, so check warranty terms before buying.

Do I need Bluetooth on a budget multimeter?+

Only if you want to record readings over time. The OWON B41T+ sends data to a phone over Bluetooth and stores up to 10,000 points by itself, which helps when watching a battery drain overnight or a temperature over an afternoon. For checking a fuse or an outlet, Bluetooth adds pairing steps and nothing else, so most buyers are better served by a plainer meter.

More multimeter guides and reviews