Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through the links below, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
At a glance
Our top picks

Power Probe DM600MAX
An IP67, True RMS shop meter with 0.03% DC accuracy, LoZ, Bluetooth logging and temperature to 1,200 °C.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
Fluke 88V
Fluke's top automotive meter: CAT IV 600V, 0.1% DC accuracy, 250 µs peak capture and a lifetime warranty.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
Power Probe DM300AUTO
An automotive meter that walks you through cranking-voltage and alternator tests and reads current through a fuse without pulling it.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓Also great
- 4
Fluke 87VCheck pricePrice →Best for Professionals4.8★★★★★ - 5
UNI-T UT181ACheck pricePrice →Best Color-Screen Data Logger4.4★★★★☆ - 6
BTMETER BT-770KCheck pricePrice →Best Budget Engine Analyzer4.2★★★★☆ - 7
KAIWEETS HT118ACheck pricePrice →Best Low-Cost True RMS4.4★★★★☆ - 8
Fluke 179Check pricePrice →Best for Industrial Work4.7★★★★★ - 9
Innova 3340Check pricePrice →Best Value Automotive4.5★★★★★ - 10
Innova 3320Check pricePrice →Best Budget Battery Checker4.2★★★★☆
Quick shopping
Compare at a glance
Swipe sideways on mobile to see every spec.
| Model | Award | Rating | Accuracy | Safety rating | Auto-ranging | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
#1Power Probe DM600MAX | Most Rugged | 4.5★★★★★ | True RMS, ±(0.03% + 1) DC | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes | Check price → |
#2Fluke 88V | Best Professional Automotive | 4.7★★★★★ | Average-responding, ±(0.1% + 1) DC | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes (manual override) | Check price → |
#3Power Probe DM300AUTO | Best Guided Battery & Charging Tests | 4.3★★★★☆ | True RMS, ±(2% + 3) voltage | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes | Check price → |
#4Fluke 87V✓ Tested | Best for Professionals | 4.8★★★★★ | True RMS | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes | Check price → |
#5UNI-T UT181A | Best Color-Screen Data Logger | 4.4★★★★☆ | True RMS, ±(0.025%+5) DC V | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes (manual override) | Check price → |
#6BTMETER BT-770K | Best Budget Engine Analyzer | 4.2★★★★☆ | True RMS | CAT III 1000V (marked on meter) | Yes (manual override) | Check price → |
#7KAIWEETS HT118A | Best Low-Cost True RMS | 4.4★★★★☆ | True RMS, 6,000-count | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes | Check price → |
#8Fluke 179 | Best for Industrial Work | 4.7★★★★★ | True RMS | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes (manual override) | Check price → |
#9Innova 3340 | Best Value Automotive | 4.5★★★★★ | True RMS not stated | CAT II 600V (marked on meter) | Yes | Check price → |
#10Innova 3320 | Best Budget Battery Checker | 4.2★★★★☆ | True RMS not stated | CAT I (marked on meter) | Yes | Check price → |
In depth
Detailed reviews
Power Probe DM600MAX
An IP67, True RMS shop meter with 0.03% DC accuracy, LoZ, Bluetooth logging and temperature to 1,200 °C.
Best for:Pro techs who need a tough meter
The DM600MAX is a high-end general meter that Power Probe sells to automotive techs. It's IP67 and drop-rated to 4 ft, True RMS, with a 4,000-count (40,000 high-resolution) color screen, DC voltage accuracy as good as ±(0.03% + 1), a 400.0 µA range for parasitic-draw work, LoZ for ghost voltages, frequency and duty cycle to 100 kHz, Min/Max/Average, Peak Hold, 40,000-reading memory and Bluetooth to the Power Probe Link app. It has no RPM or dwell, and the 30 A probe is listed as optional in the manual even though the Amazon listing says it's included.
Why it fits: Top place goes to the meter that pairs ±(0.03% + 1) DC accuracy for resting voltage with Max/Min/Avg, Peak Hold, a 400.0 µA range, 40,000-reading memory and Bluetooth to the Power Probe Link app, so a slow drain can be logged and watched from outside the car. It has no guided battery tests, and Power Probe's manual lists the 30 A probe as optional while the Amazon listing says it is included.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, ±(0.03% + 1) DC
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes
- Best for
- Pro techs who need a tough meter
Reasons to buy
- +IP67 and 4 ft drop rating
- +µA range, LoZ and Bluetooth logging
- +Temperature to 1,200 °C with included thermocouple
Reasons to avoid
- −Costs more than most automotive meters
- −No RPM or dwell functions
Fluke 88V
Fluke's top automotive meter: CAT IV 600V, 0.1% DC accuracy, 250 µs peak capture and a lifetime warranty.
Best for:Professional and hybrid-vehicle work
The 88V adds the automotive functions to Fluke's 80-series core: millisecond pulse width for injectors, duty cycle to 99.9%, RPM with an inductive pickup and temperature with a probe. Min/Max/Average recording with a 250 µs Peak Min/Max catches cranking dips and intermittent dropouts, and it's rated CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V, which matters on hybrid systems. Two things to know: it's average-responding, not True RMS, and Fluke lists the inductive pickup and temperature probe as optional for the bare 88V.
Why it fits: A 250 µs Peak Min/Max that records the bottom of a cranking dip, 0.1% DC accuracy, a 600.0 µA range and 20 A for 30 seconds cover every battery measurement except logging, with a CAT IV 600V rating and lifetime warranty. It ranks second only because the DM600MAX can store a night's worth of drain readings.
- Accuracy
- Average-responding, ±(0.1% + 1) DC
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual override)
- Best for
- Professional and hybrid-vehicle work
Reasons to buy
- +250 µs Peak Min/Max catches fast glitches
- +10 A continuous, 20 A for 30 seconds
- +Limited lifetime warranty
Reasons to avoid
- −Not True RMS
- −Expensive, and the RPM pickup and temperature probe are sold separately
Power Probe DM300AUTO
An automotive meter that walks you through cranking-voltage and alternator tests and reads current through a fuse without pulling it.
Best for:Battery, starter and alternator checks
The DM300AUTO's guided modes are the selling point: a cranking-voltage test and normal or smart alternator charging tests for 12 V and 24 V systems, each with on-screen pass/fail, plus a fuse-current mode that estimates current through MINI, ATC and MAXI fuses up to 80 A from the voltage drop. It's True RMS, CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V, with a 6,000-count color screen and 30 A in-line current with the 30 A probe. The trade-offs are basic: voltage accuracy is ±(2% + 3 digits), there's no RPM, temperature or Min/Max, and it costs a lot more than a regular meter.
Why it fits: No meter here makes starting and charging checks simpler: guided cranking and alternator tests for 12 V and 24 V give on-screen pass or fail, and its fuse mode estimates current through MINI, ATC and MAXI fuses up to 80 A without pulling them. Coarse ±(2% + 3) voltage accuracy blurs the 0.2 V steps of state of charge, and it has no Min/Max or µA range.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, ±(2% + 3) voltage
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes
- Best for
- Battery, starter and alternator checks
Reasons to buy
- +Guided cranking and alternator tests with pass/fail
- +Reads current through fuses without removing them
- +30 A in-line current with the 30 A probe
Reasons to avoid
- −Coarse ±2% voltage accuracy for the price
- −No RPM, temperature or Min/Max
Fluke 87V
The step-up pick for anyone who needs CAT IV protection and high-resolution readings daily.
Best for:Industrial technicians, daily professional use
The 87V is Fluke's industrial-grade step up from the 117 — a 1000V CAT III / 600V CAT IV rating, a 6,000-count main display with a 19,999-count high-resolution mode, and a 32-segment analog bar graph for watching signals change in real time.
Why it fits: It carries our Hands-on Tested badge and covers the job from a 600.0 µA range to 20 A for 30 seconds, with Peak Capture at 250 µs and a 19,999-count high-resolution mode for reading 12.6 V to fine detail. It trails the 88V and the Power Probes because it offers neither logging nor guided tests.
- Accuracy
- True RMS
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes
- Best for
- Industrial technicians, daily professional use
Reasons to buy
- +Joint-highest CAT rating in this list (CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V)
- +19,999-count high-resolution mode
- +Analog bar graph tracks fast-changing signals
Reasons to avoid
- −Among the most expensive picks here
- −Overkill for casual home use
UNI-T UT181A
A 60,000-count colour-screen logging meter that stores 20,000 readings and graphs them, for well under Fluke 287 money.
Best for:Logging battery drain and drift
The UT181A is a True RMS logging meter with a 3.5-inch colour TFT, 60,000 counts and CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V. Its lowest ranges are 600 µA and 600 Ω, so at 60,000 counts it reads to 0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω, though UNI-T doesn't print a per-range resolution. It logs 20,000 readings with a real-time clock and trend graph, measures two thermocouples at once, and runs on a rechargeable Li-ion pack. It has IP65 sealing and a 1 kHz low-pass filter. Bluetooth needs UNI-T's optional adaptor, despite what the listing implies.
Why it fits: Its 20,000-record logger with a trend graph on a color screen shows how a parasitic drain steps down as modules sleep, and its ±(0.025% + 5) DC accuracy is the lowest percentage figure here. It also reads 600 µA to 10 A, or 20 A for 30 seconds. Price and a 638.6 g body make it a lot of meter to leave hanging off a battery cable.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, ±(0.025%+5) DC V
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual override)
- Best for
- Logging battery drain and drift
Reasons to buy
- +20,000-reading logger with trend graph on a colour screen
- +60,000 counts, 600 µA and 600 Ω lowest ranges
- +Rechargeable battery and IP65 sealing
Reasons to avoid
- −Bluetooth needs an optional adaptor
- −UNI-T doesn't publish per-range resolution or burden voltage
BTMETER BT-770K
True RMS plus dwell, pulse width, duty cycle and RPM (with an extra clamp) at a budget price.
Best for:Budget engine diagnostics
The BT-770K packs automotive functions into a 6,000-count True RMS meter: dwell for 4/5/6/8 cylinders, 0.1–10 ms injector pulse width, duty cycle, temperature with the included thermocouple, 20 A current, Min/Max with peak hold and NCV, plus a rear magnet and auto backlight for under-hood work. RPM needs BTMETER's BT-705A inductive clamp, which isn't in the box, and the listing gives two different RPM ranges. It's marked CAT III 1000V. All specs come from the Amazon listing because BTMETER has no product page.
Why it fits: Max/Min with a 1.28 ms peak catches cranking dips, and the 20 A jack (10 seconds) gives more headroom than most cheap meters during the first minutes of a draw test. Its lowest current range is 60 mA, coarser than the µA-capable meters above, and the specs come only from an Amazon listing.
- Accuracy
- True RMS
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V (marked on meter)
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual override)
- Best for
- Budget engine diagnostics
Reasons to buy
- +Dwell, pulse width and duty cycle
- +20 A current and temperature
- +Magnet and auto backlight for under-hood use
Reasons to avoid
- −RPM clamp sold separately
- −Specs come only from the Amazon listing, which contradicts itself in places
KAIWEETS HT118A
True RMS, CAT III 1000V and µA current with NCV and temperature at a low price.
Best for:Budget all-rounder for home, car and hobby
The HT118A is a 6,000-count, auto-ranging True RMS meter with an analog bar. KAIWEETS's manual rates it CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V for up to 1000V DC and 750V AC, and current runs from a 600 µA range (0.1 µA) to 10 A. It also measures resistance to 60 MΩ, capacitance, frequency to 10 MHz, duty cycle and temperature, and adds NCV, a Live-wire test, Min/Max, jack lights, a flashlight and a kickstand. KAIWEETS gives a 3-year warranty. Its own product page lists 600V AC/DC, which disagrees with the manual and the meter face.
Why it fits: Current ranges from 600 µA to 10 A, Min/Max/Average and True RMS for reading alternator ripple make it the best low-cost choice for draw testing. KAIWEETS publishes no DC accuracy on our sources, so for state-of-charge readings near the 0.2 V boundaries we would trust the Flukes and Power Probes more.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, 6,000-count
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes
- Best for
- Budget all-rounder for home, car and hobby
Reasons to buy
- +µA, mA and 10 A ranges
- +NCV, temperature and Min/Max included
- +3-year warranty
Reasons to avoid
- −Maker's product page and manual disagree on max voltage
- −Bulky compared with slim meters
Fluke 179
Fluke's do-everything bench-and-field meter: CAT IV 600V, True RMS, temperature and a 6,000-count display with bar graph.
Best for:Industrial maintenance, electronics, HVAC
The Fluke 179 is the full-featured member of Fluke's 170 series: True RMS, CAT III 1000V and CAT IV 600V, a 6,000-count backlit display with an analog bar graph, and temperature measurement with the supplied thermocouple. It adds Min/Max-Average recording and both manual and automatic ranging, so it suits industrial maintenance and electronics work where the 117's electrician-focused extras matter less than range and resolution.
Why it fits: Min/Max-Average, current resolution to 0.01 mA, a 10 A input and Fluke's CAT IV 600V build make it a dependable garage meter for draw and charging checks. With no µA range, peak capture or logging it ranks behind the more specialized meters.
- Accuracy
- True RMS
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual override)
- Best for
- Industrial maintenance, electronics, HVAC
Reasons to buy
- +CAT IV 600V for service entrances and outdoor feeds
- +Temperature, capacitance to 10,000 µF and frequency to 100 kHz
- +Min/Max-Average recording and analog bar graph
Reasons to avoid
- −Costs more than the 117 for features many electricians won't use
- −No non-contact voltage detection
Innova 3340
A proper engine-analyzer meter (RPM, dwell, duty cycle, pulse width, temperature) with the inductive pickup in the box.
Best for:DIY engine diagnostics
The Innova 3340 is built for car work: it reads RPM from 0 to 10,000 with the included inductive clamp (conventional, DIS and coil-on-plug), plus dwell, duty cycle, millisecond pulse width, frequency and temperature with the supplied probe. It's auto-ranging with Min/Max and Hold and a 10 MΩ input that's safe around ECUs. Innova doesn't claim True RMS, the meter face shows only CAT II 600V, and the 15 A input is unfused (15-second tests with a 15-minute rest).
Why it fits: Min/Max and Hold record cranking dips, and fused 40 mA and 400 mA ranges plus a 15 A input suit parasitic-draw work, with engine functions as a bonus. The 15 A jack is unfused and limited to 15-second tests, and Innova does not publish accuracy figures.
- Accuracy
- True RMS not stated
- Safety rating
- CAT II 600V (marked on meter)
- Auto-ranging
- Yes
- Best for
- DIY engine diagnostics
Reasons to buy
- +Inductive RPM pickup and temperature probe included
- +RPM, dwell, duty cycle and pulse width
- +Min/Max and Hold for catching drops
Reasons to avoid
- −Only CAT II 600V: not for household panel work
- −15 A input is unfused and limited to 15-second tests
Innova 3320
A simple auto-ranging meter with green/yellow/red battery-load LEDs that make quick battery checks easy.
Best for:Quick battery and fuse checks
The 3320 keeps things simple: auto-ranging DC/AC volts, resistance, diode and continuity, AC/DC milliamps and a 10 A DC input, plus a battery-load test with color LEDs (Innova calls it a "small battery load test"; the dial has 1.5, 6, 9 and 12 V positions). The 10 MΩ input is ECU-safe. It has no RPM, temperature or Min/Max, it's marked only CAT I, and the 10 A input is unfused (15 seconds on, 15 minutes off).
Why it fits: Its LED battery-load test with 1.5, 6, 9 and 12 V positions gives a quick green, yellow or red answer, and it has mA ranges and a 10 A input for draw checks. That light load is not a starting-battery load test, there is no Min/Max for cranking, and the face is marked only CAT I.
- Accuracy
- True RMS not stated
- Safety rating
- CAT I (marked on meter)
- Auto-ranging
- Yes
- Best for
- Quick battery and fuse checks
Reasons to buy
- +Color LED battery-load test
- +Auto-ranging and easy for beginners
- +ECU-safe 10 MΩ input
Reasons to avoid
- −CAT I only: keep it off mains wiring
- −No RPM, temperature or Min/Max
Before you buy
Buying advice
Know what a multimeter can and cannot tell you
A meter answers three questions well: is the battery charged, is something draining it, and is the alternator recharging it. It does not measure cold-cranking amps. A battery can read 12.6 V and still collapse under the starter, so if resting voltage and charging voltage look right but the car still cranks slowly, borrow or buy a load tester, or have the battery tested at a parts store.
Buy accuracy where state of charge lives
The gap between a full battery and a half-charged one is only about 0.4 V. A meter accurate to ±2% can be off by roughly a quarter of a volt at 12.6 V, which is the difference between full and three-quarters. The DM600MAX, UT181A and Fluke 88V publish DC accuracy of 0.1% or better, so their readings line up with the charge charts.
Plan your parasitic-draw setup before buying
Draw testing means leaving the meter in series for up to an hour while modules go to sleep. A meter with logging, such as the DM600MAX or UT181A, records the whole sequence. Check the fuse ratings of the mA jack, because opening a door or switching on the ignition with the meter on a mA range can blow it. A jumper wire across the meter while you switch ranges keeps the circuit closed so the modules stay asleep.
Use a clamp for cranking current
Starter current runs to hundreds of amps, far beyond any meter's jacks, including the 20 A ratings here. Measure cranking voltage at the battery posts with Min/Max, and if you need cranking current, use a DC clamp meter or the DM300AUTO's guided test. The DM300AUTO's fuse-current mode is also handy for narrowing down a drain without pulling fuses and resetting modules.
Methodology
How we chose
We ranked these ten for 12 V battery work: DC voltage accuracy for state of charge, Min/Max or peak capture for cranking dips, current ranges for parasitic draw and logging for drains that come and go, with guided battery tests counted as a bonus. Figures come from maker pages, manuals or official Amazon listings; the ranking is desk research, and only the Fluke 87V carries our Hands-on Tested badge.
Picks marked "Hands-on Tested" have been bought and tested by us; the rest are desk research. A pick only carries that badge once we have actually bought and tested that unit. More on how we research.
Questions
Frequently asked questions
Can a multimeter test a car battery's health?+
Only partly. A multimeter shows state of charge from resting voltage and reveals a weak battery by how far voltage sags while cranking. It cannot measure cold-cranking amps or internal resistance under a controlled load, which is what a dedicated battery load tester or conductance tester does. Use the meter to find whether the problem is charge, draw or charging, then confirm a suspect battery with a load test.
What voltage should a healthy car battery read?+
After the car has rested for several hours with no surface charge, a fully charged 12 V lead-acid battery reads about 12.6 V or slightly more. Around 12.4 V is roughly three-quarters charged and near 12.2 V is about half. With the engine running, charging voltage usually sits between about 13.7 and 14.7 V. Below roughly 9.6 V while cranking suggests a worn battery.
How do I measure parasitic draw with a multimeter?+
Turn everything off, close the doors with the latches tricked shut, and connect the meter in series between the negative battery post and its cable, starting on the 10 A jack. Wait for modules to sleep, which can take 20 to 60 minutes, then step down to a mA range if the reading allows. Pull fuses one at a time and watch which one drops the current.
What is an acceptable parasitic draw on a modern car?+
Most modern cars settle somewhere around 20 to 50 mA once every module is asleep, and many manufacturers publish a limit for each model. A draw in the hundreds of milliamps will flatten a typical battery within days. Because the reading falls in stages as modules shut down, measure after the sleep period rather than straight after locking the car.
Why does a Min/Max function matter for cranking voltage?+
The lowest point of a cranking dip lasts a fraction of a second, too short to read on a display that updates a few times per second. Min/Max records the extreme value for you. Fast peak modes, such as the 250 µs Peak Min/Max on the Fluke 88V, catch even very short dips, so you can compare the lowest cranking voltage against the battery maker's guidance.
Is the battery test on a cheap multimeter a real load test?+
No. Meters such as the Innova 3320 place a small load across the battery and show green, yellow or red LEDs, which Innova itself calls a small battery load test. That light load says little about a car battery that must deliver hundreds of amps to a starter. Treat it as a quick charge check and use a proper load tester for a verdict.




