Multimeters · RV

Ranked for house batteries, shore power and draw.

Top 10 Best Multimeters for RV Owners

Our top 10 best multimeters for RV owners, ranked for 12 V house banks, converters and solar, 120 V shore power and generators, parasitic draw and fridge temperature.

10
Compared
100%
Spec-Verified
$0
Sponsored

Two electrical systems, one meter

The best multimeter for RV use is a True RMS meter rated at least CAT III 600V with µA-to-10 A current ranges, because a camper runs two very different systems. The 12 V side is a house battery bank fed by a converter, a solar charge controller and often the tow vehicle's alternator. The 120 V side comes from a 30 A or 50 A pedestal, a generator or an inverter. A meter for RV work has to read a few hundredths of a volt on a lithium bank, a few milliamps of overnight drain and 120 V at the pedestal without being out of its depth on any of them.

We ranked ten meters on those jobs using maker specifications and official listings. For the procedures, see our guides to checking a 12 V leisure battery, measuring parasitic battery drain and testing a solar panel. If your rig has a big roof array, our solar panel testing meters are ranked for open-circuit voltage and string work, and the car battery testing list covers cranking checks on a motorhome chassis battery.

Shore power and battery bank safety

Treat 120 V and 240 V at a pedestal as lethal. Use a meter and leads rated at least CAT III 600V, check the meter on a known live outlet first, and keep one hand away from the RV body. Never open a pedestal: if it reads wrong, has a hot skin or trips repeatedly, stop, unplug and report it to the campground or a licensed electrician. House banks can deliver hundreds of amps into a short, so never put a meter set to amps across the battery posts, remove rings and watches, and keep sparks away from vented lead-acid batteries.

Quick comparison

#MultimeterCAT ratingTrue RMSLowest current rangeTemperatureBest for
1Fluke 87VCAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000VYes600.0 µAYes, -200 to 1090 °C (probe)One meter for the battery bank, pedestal and generator
2Klein Tools MM720CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000VYes600.0 µAYes, to 1832°FShore power plus house-bank draw for under a Fluke
3Power Probe DM600MAXCAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000VYes400.0 µAYes, to 1,200 °CLogging a slow drain or charger output over hours
4Fluke 179CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000VYes0.01 mA resolutionYes, supplied thermocoupleA rugged all-rounder with Min/Max-Average
5KAIWEETS HT118ACAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V (manual)Yes600 µAYesBudget kit for both the 12 V and 120 V sides
6Fluke 117CAT III 600VYes6.000 A (1 mA resolution)NoAC-side checks with LoZ and VoltAlert
7KAIWEETS HT118ECAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000VYes200 µAYesFine DC volts on a lithium bank for little money
8Klein Tools MM420CAT III 600VYes400.0 µAYes, -40 to 1832°FInside-the-rig checks; Klein rates it indoor-only
9Fluke 115CAT III 600VYes6.000 A (1 mA resolution)NoSimple, durable volts and amps in the bay
10KAIWEETS KM200sCAT II 600VYesNot statedNot statedInexpensive 12 V and outlet-level checks

Ratings and ranges come from the makers or official listings. "Not stated" means our verified data has no figure. The Fluke 179 is shown by its finest current resolution, and the Fluke 115 and 117 have no range below 6 A.

How the ten compare on paper

KAIWEETS HT118E
200 µA
Power Probe DM600MAX
400 µA
Klein Tools MM420
400 µA
Fluke 87V
600 µA
Klein Tools MM720
600 µA
KAIWEETS HT118A
600 µA
Fluke 117
6 A
Fluke 115
6 A

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Lowest current range in microamps, on a log scale (lower resolves smaller house-bank drains). The Fluke 179 and KAIWEETS KM200s publish no lowest-range figure in our data.
Lead-acid, 50% (rested)
~12.2 V
Lead-acid, full (rested)
~12.6-12.7 V
LiFePO4, full (rested)
~13.3-13.4 V
Typical float charge
~13.2-13.8 V
Typical bulk charge
~14.2-14.6 V
Typical full-charge resting voltage and common charging levels for a 12 V system. These are typical values, not specifications: your battery and charger manuals set the real numbers.

What to look for in an RV multimeter

CAT III or CAT IV

A shore-power pedestal is fed from the campground's distribution system, so the meter on it should carry at least CAT III 600V.

True RMS

Open-frame generators and modified-sine inverters produce non-sinusoidal AC that an average-responding meter can misread.

µA and mA ranges

Slow house-bank drains from detectors, stereos and control boards sit in the milliamp range, too small for a 10 A range to resolve cleanly.

A 10 A jack

Start every draw test on the amps jack, because a step or slide-out controller waking up can exceed a fused mA input.

Fine DC resolution

Lithium banks barely change voltage across most of their charge, so a 6,000-count or higher display shows the small shifts that matter.

Temperature input

A thermocouple lets you log how cold the fridge box and freezer get on propane, 120 V and 12 V modes.

Why a lithium bank needs more resolution

A 12 V LiFePO4 bank may move only a few tenths of a volt between about 20% and 90% charge. A meter accurate to ±1% can be off by about 0.13 V at 13.3 V, which swallows much of that window. At ±0.1% the error is near 0.013 V. That is why the 87V's 19,999-count mode, the HT118E's ±(0.08% + 5) DC accuracy and the DM600MAX's ±(0.03% + 1) rank well here, while a budget meter is still fine for telling a charged bank from a flat one.
OSBy OhmSavvy Research TeamSpecs verified against manufacturer data · 3 of 10 hands-on tested

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through the links below, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

At a glance

Our top picks

1Fluke 87V
Best for Professionals4.8★★★★★
Hands-on Tested

Fluke 87V

The step-up pick for anyone who needs CAT IV protection and high-resolution readings daily.

Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
2Klein Tools MM720
Best Budget Electrician's Meter4.6★★★★★

Klein Tools MM720

CAT IV 600V, 1000V, LoZ and True RMS at a budget price, the most panel-ready meter in this tier.

Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
3Power Probe DM600MAX
Most Rugged4.5★★★★★

Power Probe DM600MAX

An IP67, True RMS shop meter with 0.03% DC accuracy, LoZ, Bluetooth logging and temperature to 1,200 °C.

Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓

Also great

Quick shopping

Compare at a glance

Swipe sideways on mobile to see every spec.

ModelAwardRatingAccuracySafety ratingAuto-ranging
Fluke 87V#1Fluke 87V✓ TestedBest for Professionals4.8★★★★★True RMSCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V YesCheck price →
Klein Tools MM720#2Klein Tools MM720Best Budget Electrician's Meter4.6★★★★★True RMS, 6,000-countCAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000VYes (manual RANGE button)Check price →
Power Probe DM600MAX#3Power Probe DM600MAXMost Rugged4.5★★★★★True RMS, ±(0.03% + 1) DCCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V YesCheck price →
Fluke 179#4Fluke 179Best for Industrial Work4.7★★★★★True RMSCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600VYes (manual override)Check price →
KAIWEETS HT118A#5KAIWEETS HT118ABest Low-Cost True RMS4.4★★★★☆True RMS, 6,000-countCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V YesCheck price →
Fluke 117#6Fluke 117✓ TestedBest Overall4.8★★★★★True RMSCAT III 600V YesCheck price →
KAIWEETS HT118E#7KAIWEETS HT118ECheapest 20,000-Count µA Meter4.2★★★★☆±(0.08%+5) DC V; True RMS not statedCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V YesCheck price →
Klein Tools MM420#8Klein Tools MM420Best Budget Klein True RMS4.5★★★★★True RMS, 4,000-countCAT III 600VYes (manual RANGE button)Check price →
Fluke 115#9Fluke 115✓ TestedBest for Field Service4.8★★★★★True RMSCAT III 600V YesCheck price →
KAIWEETS KM200s#10KAIWEETS KM200sBest Budget4.5★★★★★True RMSCAT II 600V YesCheck price →

In depth

Detailed reviews

#1Best for Professionals4.8★★★★★Hands-on Tested

Fluke 87V

The step-up pick for anyone who needs CAT IV protection and high-resolution readings daily.

Best for:Industrial technicians, daily professional use

The 87V is Fluke's industrial-grade step up from the 117 — a 1000V CAT III / 600V CAT IV rating, a 6,000-count main display with a 19,999-count high-resolution mode, and a 32-segment analog bar graph for watching signals change in real time.

Why it fits: Our Hands-on Tested 87V covers every RV job in one body: CAT IV 600V for the pedestal and generator outlets, True RMS for distorted generator AC, a 600.0 µA range with 0.01 µA resolution for the smallest house-bank drains, 10 A continuous (20 A for 30 seconds), and temperature from -200 to 1090 °C for fridge checks. The 19,999-count high-resolution mode is what you want for reading small voltage shifts on a lithium bank.

Accuracy
True RMS
Safety rating
CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes
Best for
Industrial technicians, daily professional use

Reasons to buy

  • +Joint-highest CAT rating in this list (CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V)
  • +19,999-count high-resolution mode
  • +Analog bar graph tracks fast-changing signals

Reasons to avoid

  • −Among the most expensive picks here
  • −Overkill for casual home use
#2Best Budget Electrician's Meter4.6★★★★★

Klein Tools MM720

CAT IV 600V, 1000V, LoZ and True RMS at a budget price, the most panel-ready meter in this tier.

Best for:Electricians working panels and feeders

The MM720 is rated CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V and measures up to 1000V AC/DC, with a LoZ mode for ghost voltages. It is True RMS, auto-ranging and 6,000-count, and the reverse-contrast display adjusts itself to the light. Current runs from a 600.0 µA range (0.1 µA) to 10 A. It adds 60 MΩ resistance, capacitance to 6,000 µF, temperature to 1832°F, IP42 and a 2 m drop rating, and a carrying pouch comes in the box. Klein lists no NCV.

Why it fits: The MM720 matches the 87V on the essentials an RV owner needs, CAT IV 600V, True RMS, a 600.0 µA range to 10 A and temperature to 1832°F, and adds LoZ for ghost voltages, IP42 and a 2 m drop rating that suit a storage bay. It has no NCV and its display is 6,000 counts without a high-resolution mode, which is why it sits just behind the Fluke.

Accuracy
True RMS, 6,000-count
Safety rating
CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V
Auto-ranging
Yes (manual RANGE button)
Best for
Electricians working panels and feeders

Reasons to buy

  • +CAT IV 600V and 1000V AC/DC
  • +LoZ mode for ghost voltages
  • +IP42, 2 m drop rating and pouch included

Reasons to avoid

  • −Priced at the top of the budget tier
  • −No non-contact voltage detection
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#3Most Rugged4.5★★★★★

Power Probe DM600MAX

An IP67, True RMS shop meter with 0.03% DC accuracy, LoZ, Bluetooth logging and temperature to 1,200 °C.

Best for:Pro techs who need a tough meter

The DM600MAX is a high-end general meter that Power Probe sells to automotive techs. It's IP67 and drop-rated to 4 ft, True RMS, with a 4,000-count (40,000 high-resolution) color screen, DC voltage accuracy as good as ±(0.03% + 1), a 400.0 µA range for parasitic-draw work, LoZ for ghost voltages, frequency and duty cycle to 100 kHz, Min/Max/Average, Peak Hold, 40,000-reading memory and Bluetooth to the Power Probe Link app. It has no RPM or dwell, and the 30 A probe is listed as optional in the manual even though the Amazon listing says it's included.

Why it fits: No meter here is better at watching a battery bank over time: 40,000-reading memory and Bluetooth to the Power Probe Link app log a drain or charger output while you stay outside, and ±(0.03% + 1) DC accuracy shows the small steps in lithium voltage. It is IP67, CAT IV 600V and True RMS with a 400.0 µA range and temperature to 1,200 °C. It costs more than most picks, and the manual lists the 30 A probe as optional while Amazon says it is included.

Accuracy
True RMS, ±(0.03% + 1) DC
Safety rating
CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes
Best for
Pro techs who need a tough meter

Reasons to buy

  • +IP67 and 4 ft drop rating
  • +µA range, LoZ and Bluetooth logging
  • +Temperature to 1,200 °C with included thermocouple

Reasons to avoid

  • −Costs more than most automotive meters
  • −No RPM or dwell functions
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#4Best for Industrial Work4.7★★★★★

Fluke 179

Fluke's do-everything bench-and-field meter: CAT IV 600V, True RMS, temperature and a 6,000-count display with bar graph.

Best for:Industrial maintenance, electronics, HVAC

The Fluke 179 is the full-featured member of Fluke's 170 series: True RMS, CAT III 1000V and CAT IV 600V, a 6,000-count backlit display with an analog bar graph, and temperature measurement with the supplied thermocouple. It adds Min/Max-Average recording and both manual and automatic ranging, so it suits industrial maintenance and electronics work where the 117's electrician-focused extras matter less than range and resolution.

Why it fits: Fluke's 179 is CAT IV 600V, True RMS, and reads temperature with the supplied thermocouple, so it handles shore power, generators and the fridge. Min/Max-Average records a voltage sag when the air conditioner starts, and current resolves to 0.01 mA with a 10 A input. It lacks a µA range and logging, so it ranks behind the three above for hunting tiny drains.

Accuracy
True RMS
Safety rating
CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes (manual override)
Best for
Industrial maintenance, electronics, HVAC

Reasons to buy

  • +CAT IV 600V for service entrances and outdoor feeds
  • +Temperature, capacitance to 10,000 µF and frequency to 100 kHz
  • +Min/Max-Average recording and analog bar graph

Reasons to avoid

  • −Costs more than the 117 for features many electricians won't use
  • −No non-contact voltage detection
#5Best Low-Cost True RMS4.4★★★★☆

KAIWEETS HT118A

True RMS, CAT III 1000V and µA current with NCV and temperature at a low price.

Best for:Budget all-rounder for home, car and hobby

The HT118A is a 6,000-count, auto-ranging True RMS meter with an analog bar. KAIWEETS's manual rates it CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V for up to 1000V DC and 750V AC, and current runs from a 600 µA range (0.1 µA) to 10 A. It also measures resistance to 60 MΩ, capacitance, frequency to 10 MHz, duty cycle and temperature, and adds NCV, a Live-wire test, Min/Max, jack lights, a flashlight and a kickstand. KAIWEETS gives a 3-year warranty. Its own product page lists 600V AC/DC, which disagrees with the manual and the meter face.

Why it fits: For a budget RV meter the HT118A covers the full list: True RMS, a 600 µA range to 10 A, temperature, NCV, Min/Max and a 3-year warranty. Its manual and meter face rate it CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V, but KAIWEETS's own product page lists 600V AC/DC, so that conflict is worth knowing before you use it on a pedestal.

Accuracy
True RMS, 6,000-count
Safety rating
CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes
Best for
Budget all-rounder for home, car and hobby

Reasons to buy

  • +µA, mA and 10 A ranges
  • +NCV, temperature and Min/Max included
  • +3-year warranty

Reasons to avoid

  • −Maker's product page and manual disagree on max voltage
  • −Bulky compared with slim meters
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#6Best Overall4.8★★★★★Hands-on Tested

Fluke 117

The meter working electricians actually buy with their own money, not just the one brands push.

Best for:Electricians, serious hobbyists

The Fluke 117 is the meter most working electricians reach for. True RMS readings, non-contact voltage detection, and a CAT III 600V rating make it reliable in real electrical panels, not just hobby projects.

Why it fits: The Hands-on Tested 117 is a strong pick for the 120 V side: CAT III 600V, True RMS, LoZ against ghost voltages, VoltAlert non-contact detection and Min/Max/Average. For the battery side it reads 6 A and 10 A ranges with 1 mA resolution, which finds a large drain but not a small one, and it has no temperature input.

Accuracy
True RMS
Safety rating
CAT III 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes
Best for
Electricians, serious hobbyists

Reasons to buy

  • +Trusted, well-documented reliability
  • +Non-contact voltage (NCV) detection built in
  • +Durable enough for daily field use

Reasons to avoid

  • −Premium price for casual hobbyists
  • −No Bluetooth/app connectivity
#7Cheapest 20,000-Count µA Meter4.2★★★★☆

KAIWEETS HT118E

A budget 20,000-count meter with a 200 µA range (KAIWEETS doesn't claim True RMS) and no relative mode for low-ohm work.

Best for:Beginner Arduino and µA checks

The HT118E has a 20,000-count display, CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V and a 200 µA range at ±(0.5% + 5 digits) DC. At 20,000 counts that implies 0.01 µA resolution, though KAIWEETS doesn't print it. It covers temperature, capacitance, frequency, NCV and continuity, with lit input jacks and a flashlight. Its 200 Ω range is only ±(1.0% + 15 digits) and KAIWEETS lists no relative mode, so you have to subtract lead resistance yourself. That makes it better for sleep-current checks than for milliohm work.

Why it fits: A 20,000-count display with ±(0.08% + 5) DC volt accuracy makes the HT118E unusually good at showing the small voltage changes of a LiFePO4 bank at a low price, and it adds a 200 µA range, temperature, NCV and CAT IV 600V. KAIWEETS doesn't publish its top current range in our data, so check the manual before using it on larger loads.

Accuracy
±(0.08%+5) DC V; True RMS not stated
Safety rating
CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes
Best for
Beginner Arduino and µA checks

Reasons to buy

  • +200 µA range with 20,000 counts at a budget price
  • +CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
  • +Lit input jacks, NCV and flashlight

Reasons to avoid

  • −No relative mode listed for zeroing test leads
  • −Per-range resolution and burden voltage not published
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#8Best Budget Klein True RMS4.5★★★★★

Klein Tools MM420

Klein's everyday True RMS, auto-ranging meter: µA to 10 A, temperature and capacitance, rated CAT III 600V.

Best for:Home electrical, HVAC and appliance work

The MM420 is a 4,000-count, True RMS, auto-ranging meter rated CAT III 600V. It measures AC/DC current from a 400.0 µA range (0.1 µA resolution) up to 10 A, resistance to 50 MΩ, capacitance to 400 µF, frequency to 50 kHz and temperature from -40 to 1832°F with the included thermocouple. Lead-Alert lights show which jacks to use, it has Min/Max, a backlight and a 2 m drop rating. There's no LoZ mode or NCV, and Klein rates it for indoor use only.

Why it fits: The MM420 brings True RMS, a 400.0 µA range to 10 A, Min/Max and temperature from -40 to 1832°F, which suits house-bank draw and fridge checks. It is CAT III 600V with no LoZ or NCV, and Klein rates it for indoor use, so keep it for work inside the coach rather than at a wet pedestal.

Accuracy
True RMS, 4,000-count
Safety rating
CAT III 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes (manual RANGE button)
Best for
Home electrical, HVAC and appliance work

Reasons to buy

  • +µA, mA and 10 A ranges on AC and DC
  • +Temperature, capacitance and frequency included
  • +Lead-Alert jack lights help beginners

Reasons to avoid

  • −No LoZ mode or non-contact voltage detection
  • −CAT III 600V only, not for service-entrance work
Check price on Amazon →Price shown at retailer, may fluctuate.
#9Best for Field Service4.8★★★★★Hands-on Tested

Fluke 115

The same Fluke reliability as the 117, in the same body, without the electrician-specific extras (NCV, AutoVolt, LoZ).

Best for:Field technicians, general electrical and electronics work

The Fluke 115 is Fluke's field-service meter — True RMS, CAT III 600V, and a 6,000-count backlit display, like the 117, but without non-contact voltage detection or the AutoVolt AC/DC auto-selector. A strong pick if you want Fluke's reliability without the electrician-focused extras.

Why it fits: The Hands-on Tested 115 shares the 117's CAT III 600V, True RMS and Min/Max/Avg, and its 6 A and 10 A ranges with 1 mA resolution handle converter output and larger drains. It lacks the 117's NCV and LoZ and has no temperature input or µA range, so it trails meters that cover the fridge and small drains too.

Accuracy
True RMS
Safety rating
CAT III 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes
Best for
Field technicians, general electrical and electronics work

Reasons to buy

  • +Same Fluke reliability and accuracy as the 117
  • +Same size and weight as the 117 at a lower price
  • +Includes capacitance and frequency measurement

Reasons to avoid

  • −No non-contact voltage (NCV) detection
  • −No AutoVolt AC/DC auto-selector or LoZ mode the 117 has
#10Best Budget4.5★★★★★

KAIWEETS KM200s

Covers the fundamentals of the Fluke at under half the price — the sensible first meter.

Best for:Home use, beginners

For under half the price of the Fluke, the KM200s covers the fundamentals well: auto-ranging, True RMS, and a non-contact voltage detector. A sensible first meter for home and hobby use.

Why it fits: The KM200s is the low-cost entry: True RMS, auto-ranging, NCV and a backlit display for 12 V checks and testing plug-in appliances. It is rated CAT II 600V, which covers equipment plugged into outlets but not a campground pedestal, and its current ranges and temperature support are not stated in our data.

Accuracy
True RMS
Safety rating
CAT II 600V
Auto-ranging
Yes
Best for
Home use, beginners

Reasons to buy

  • +Excellent value for the feature set
  • +Backlit display for low-light use
  • +Smart auto-ranging simplifies readings

Reasons to avoid

  • −Build quality isn't field-tool grade
  • −CAT II rating means it's not meant for service-panel work

Before you buy

Buying advice

Match the CAT rating to where you'll put the probes

Inside the RV, an outlet is a plug-in level circuit. The pedestal is part of the campground's distribution system and can carry larger transients, so it calls for CAT III at minimum. Six of these ten carry CAT IV 600V. The KM200s, at CAT II 600V, belongs on the 12 V side and on appliance cords, not the pedestal.

Know what voltage can tell you about a lithium bank

A lead-acid bank drops steadily as it discharges, so a meter reading maps reasonably well to state of charge. A LiFePO4 bank stays almost flat for most of its capacity and only falls off near empty. Use the meter to confirm charging setpoints and spot a dead cell or bad connection, and rely on a shunt-based battery monitor or the BMS app for state of charge.

Plan the draw test around the RV's own disconnect

Most RVs have a battery disconnect switch, which makes series current tests easier: open it, put the meter across the switch terminals or in series with the negative cable, and read. Disconnect shore power and solar first or the converter will mask the drain. Expect a steady load from detectors and control boards; a figure far above the sum of those points to a circuit worth chasing.

Check charging sources at the battery, not at the source

Converter, solar controller and alternator outputs lose voltage through long RV cable runs. Read DC volts at the battery posts while each source is charging and compare with its manual. A difference of more than a few tenths between the controller terminals and the battery points to undersized or loose wiring rather than a bad charger.

Methodology

How we chose

We ranked these ten for RV electrical work: CAT rating for shore power and generator outlets, True RMS for distorted generator and inverter AC, µA and mA ranges plus a 10 A jack for house-bank drains, DC resolution for lithium batteries, and temperature for fridge checks. Figures come from maker pages, manuals or official Amazon listings; the ranking is desk research, and only the Fluke 87V, 117 and 115 carry our Hands-on Tested badge.

Specs from the sourceEvery spec is checked against the manufacturer's official product page or datasheet and the official Amazon listing. Where sources disagree, we say so.
Fit over feature countEach pick earns its place for a specific kind of buyer, and we name who should skip it, rather than ranking on spec-sheet length.
Owner feedback, cross-checkedWe look for patterns in verified-purchase reviews to catch reliability issues that spec sheets never show.
No sponsored picksWe earn mainly from Amazon affiliate commissions and may also show display ads from Google. No brand or advertiser can pay for a spot, a ranking or a badge, and ads never affect our picks.

Picks marked "Hands-on Tested" have been bought and tested by us; the rest are desk research. A pick only carries that badge once we have actually bought and tested that unit. More on how we research.

Questions

Frequently asked questions

What kind of multimeter do I need for an RV?+

Look for an auto-ranging True RMS meter rated at least CAT III 600V, with a 10 A jack plus a mA or µA range. That covers the 12 V house battery, converter and solar output, parasitic draw, and the 120 V shore-power and generator side. A temperature input is a bonus for checking the fridge. A low-cost CAT II meter is fine for 12 V work but should stay off the pedestal.

What voltage should my RV house battery read?+

It depends on chemistry, so check the battery maker's chart. A rested 12 V flooded or AGM battery typically reads about 12.6 to 12.7 V when full and around 12.2 V at half charge. A 12 V LiFePO4 bank typically rests near 13.3 to 13.4 V when full and stays between roughly 13.0 and 13.3 V for most of its capacity, so voltage alone is a poor fuel gauge for lithium.

Can I test RV shore power with a multimeter?+

Yes, at the RV's own receptacles a CAT III meter can confirm about 120 V hot to neutral, near 0 V neutral to ground, and 120 V hot to ground. At a 50 A pedestal, each leg reads about 120 V to neutral and about 240 V leg to leg. If you see anything odd at the pedestal itself, don't open it: report it to the campground or call an electrician.

Why does True RMS matter for an RV generator?+

Many open-frame generators and older modified-sine inverters don't produce a clean sine wave. An average-responding meter assumes a sine wave and can read such waveforms high or low. A True RMS meter calculates the actual heating value of the voltage, so the number you see is closer to what your air conditioner, microwave and converter actually receive.

How do I find a parasitic drain on my RV house battery?+

Turn off the battery disconnect, disconnect shore power and solar, then put the meter in series between the battery negative and its cable, starting on the 10 A jack. Note the total, step down to mA if it is small, and pull 12 V fuses one at a time to see which circuit drops it. Propane and CO detectors, stereos and control boards are common steady loads.

Can a multimeter check my RV converter or solar charge controller?+

It can confirm they are delivering voltage. Measure DC volts at the battery posts with the converter or controller charging, then compare the reading with the setpoints in its manual for your battery type. Many converters charge in the 13.2 to 14.6 V region depending on stage and chemistry. A reading that stays near resting voltage suggests no charge is reaching the bank.

More multimeter guides and reviews