Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through the links below, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
At a glance
Our top picks

YIHUA 862BD+
A soldering iron and a hot air rework station in one box, for SMD and BGA work a plain iron can't touch.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
Hakko FX-888DX
The FX-888D's replacement: the same T18 tips and handpiece, with a 100W station, a proper dial and five presets.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
Weller WE1010NA
ESD-safe construction and tight temperature stability for a dedicated electronics bench.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓Also great
- 4
YIHUA 939D+Check pricePrice →Best Value ESD-Safe Station4.4★★★★☆ - 5
X-Tronic 3020-XTSCheck pricePrice →Best Budget Kit with Long Warranty4.4★★★★☆ - 6
FNIRSI HS-02ACheck pricePrice →Best High-Power Smart Iron4.4★★★★☆ - 7
Pinecil V2Check pricePrice →Best Portable4.7★★★★★ - 8
YIHUA 926 IIICheck pricePrice →Best Budget Station4.3★★★★☆ - 9
Miniware TS101Check pricePrice →Best Portable Smart Iron4.4★★★★☆ - 10
Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron KitCheck pricePrice →Cheapest Digital Kit4.2★★★★☆
Quick shopping
Compare at a glance
Swipe sideways on mobile to see every spec.
| Model | Award | Rating | Power | Temperature range | Display | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
#1YIHUA 862BD+ | Best 2-in-1 with Hot Air Rework | 4.3★★★★☆ | 75W iron / 500W hot air (720W total) | 200–480°C iron, 100–480°C hot air | LED, independent iron/air readouts | Check price → |
#2Hakko FX-888DX | Best Overall | 4.7★★★★★ | 100W station (65W iron) | — | — | Check price → |
#3Weller WE1010NA | Best for Professional Benches | 4.6★★★★★ | 85W station (70W iron) | — | — | Check price → |
#4YIHUA 939D+ | Best Value ESD-Safe Station | 4.4★★★★☆ | "75W equivalent" (listing; spec table says 120W) | — | — | Check price → |
#5X-Tronic 3020-XTS | Best Budget Kit with Long Warranty | 4.4★★★★☆ | 75W station (60W iron) | — | — | Check price → |
#6FNIRSI HS-02A | Best High-Power Smart Iron | 4.4★★★★☆ | Up to 100W, USB-C PD/QC 9–20V | — | — | Check price → |
#7Pinecil V2 | Best Portable | 4.7★★★★★ | Up to 88W at 24V DC; about 60W from 20V USB-C PD | — | — | Check price → |
#8YIHUA 926 III | Best Budget Station | 4.3★★★★☆ | 60W per listing (YIHUA site: 130W max, 18W rated) | — | — | Check price → |
#9Miniware TS101 | Best Portable Smart Iron | 4.4★★★★☆ | USB-C PD 9–20V or DC 9–24V (65W adapter included) | — | — | Check price → |
#10Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron Kit | Cheapest Digital Kit | 4.2★★★★☆ | 80W, 110–120V | — | — | Check price → |
In depth
Detailed reviews
YIHUA 862BD+
A soldering iron and a hot air rework station in one box, for SMD and BGA work a plain iron can't touch.
Best for:SMD/BGA rework alongside general soldering
The 862BD+ pairs a 75W soldering iron with a separate 500W hot air gun in one station, aimed at SMD and BGA rework rather than general through-hole soldering alone. It's a genuinely different tool category from a standalone iron, not just a cheaper or pricier version of one.
Why it fits: It tops a repair list because it is the only pick that can lift QFNs, shields and connectors cleanly: a 500W hot air gun at 100–480°C alongside a 75W iron at 200–480°C, each with its own LED readout, and ESD-safe per its listing. It is larger and more complex than a plain station, the US listing is the 110–127V version and the listing doesn't name the iron's tip series.
- Power
- 75W iron / 500W hot air (720W total)
- Temperature range
- 200–480°C iron, 100–480°C hot air
- Display
- LED, independent iron/air readouts
- Best for
- SMD/BGA rework alongside general soldering
Reasons to buy
- +Combines a soldering iron and hot air rework station in one unit
- +Wide temperature range on both the iron and the hot air gun
- +Independently adjustable iron and hot air temperatures with separate LED readouts
Reasons to avoid
- −This US listing is the 110–127V version; buyers elsewhere need their region's variant
- −Larger and more complex than a basic iron if you never do SMD rework
Hakko FX-888DX
The FX-888D's replacement: the same T18 tips and handpiece, with a 100W station, a proper dial and five presets.
Best for:Serious hobbyists, repair benches
Hakko replaced the FX-888D with the FX-888DX. It keeps the FX-8801 handpiece and T18 tips, the 50–480°C range and ±1°C idle stability, but the station rises from 70W to 100W, swaps the old button interface for a push-button rotary dial with a digital °F/°C display, stores five presets and adds a parameter lock against accidental calibration. It is ESD safe and also drives Hakko's tweezers, solder gun and larger irons.
Why it fits: If you only want one iron, this is it: ±1°C idle stability, a 50–480°C range, five presets, a parameter lock and the huge T18 tip catalog, on an ESD-safe 100W station with a 65W iron. It can also drive Hakko tweezers for two-terminal SMD removal. It has no hot air of its own and no stated sleep mode, which is why the YIHUA leads for repair.
- Power
- 100W station (65W iron)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated by Hakko
- Temperature control
- Digital, closed-loop, 50–480°C
- Best for
- Serious hobbyists, repair benches
Reasons to buy
- +Same T18 tips as the FX-888D
- +Rotary dial and five temperature presets
- +ESD safe; drives other Hakko handpieces
Reasons to avoid
- −Larger than a portable iron: the station weighs 1.2 kg
- −Counterfeits exist: buy from authorized sellers
- −No stated sleep or standby mode
Weller WE1010NA
ESD-safe construction and tight temperature stability for a dedicated electronics bench.
Best for:Dedicated workbenches, professional use
Weller's WE1010NA brings ESD-safe construction and tight temperature stability to an 85W digital station driving a 70W iron, making it a strong choice for anyone running a dedicated electronics bench.
Why it fits: An ESD-safe station with a 70W iron, ET tips, standby with auto setback and a password lock, which keeps a shared repair bench at sensible settings. Weller quotes ±6°C stability and a 450°C ceiling, both looser than the Hakko, and about 28 seconds to reach 350°C.
- Power
- 85W station (70W iron)
- Heat-up time
- ~28 seconds (50–350°C)
- Temperature control
- Digital, 100–450°C, ESD-safe
- Best for
- Dedicated workbenches, professional use
Reasons to buy
- +ESD-safe design protects sensitive components
- +Strong temperature stability under sustained use
- +Backed by Weller's long-standing reputation
Reasons to avoid
- −Higher price point than hobbyist kits
- −Not portable — bench-only design
YIHUA 939D+
A transformer-based, ESD-safe station with a metal front panel and a detachable iron, at a hobby price.
Best for:ESD-sensitive hobby and repair work
The 939D+ is a transformer-based station with PID temperature control, a 200–480°C range, °C/°F display, temperature calibration and error detection. The station and its 907E detachable iron are ESD safe, the front panel is brushed aluminum and the iron stand is a separate metal unit. It takes YIHUA's 900M tips. The listing calls it "75W equivalent" but its spec table says 120W, and YIHUA's own page (for a 220V model) quotes a 450°C maximum, so treat the headline numbers with care.
Why it fits: A transformer-based station with PID control, calibration, error detection and a detachable 907E iron; both the station and iron are ESD safe, and it takes common 900M tips. YIHUA's page for the 220V model quotes ±1°C static stability, but its power and maximum temperature figures conflict between sources, so we rank it below the Weller.
- Power
- "75W equivalent" (listing; spec table says 120W)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated by YIHUA
- Temperature control
- PID, LED display, 200–480°C
- Best for
- ESD-sensitive hobby and repair work
Reasons to buy
- +ESD-safe station and iron
- +Built-in transformer and metal front panel
- +Uses common 900M-series tips
Reasons to avoid
- −Power and maximum temperature figures conflict between sources
- −Sleep mode isn't stated for this US version
X-Tronic 3020-XTS
An ESD-safe PID station from a US-based brand, with a 3-year warranty and a 10-minute sleep timer.
Best for:Hobby benches that want a long warranty
X-Tronic's 3020-XTS is a 75W station (60W to the iron, 15W to the iron's control board) with PID control, a 200–480°C range, ±2°C static stability and a blue LED readout with a C/F switch. It's ESD safe, sleeps and cools down after 10 minutes, and runs on 110V only. The Amazon kit includes two helping hands, a silicone mat, five spare tips, a 50 g lead-free roll and a brass tip cleaner. X-Tronic, based in Lincoln, Nebraska, backs it with a 3-year warranty. Its own page also quotes 90–480°C for the iron, so the low end of the range is inconsistent.
Why it fits: ESD safe with PID control, ±2°C static stability, a 10-minute sleep with auto cool-down and a 3-year warranty, plus five spare tips and helping hands in the kit. It runs on 110V only, and X-Tronic's pages give two different minimum temperatures.
- Power
- 75W station (60W iron)
- Heat-up time
- Under 30 s, 200 to 480°C (X-Tronic's listing)
- Temperature control
- PID, LED display, 200–480°C, ±2°C
- Best for
- Hobby benches that want a long warranty
Reasons to buy
- +ESD safe with a 10-minute sleep and auto cool-down
- +3-year warranty and US-based support
- +Kit includes helping hands, silicone mat and five tips
Reasons to avoid
- −110V only, no 220V version
- −X-Tronic's pages give two different minimum temperatures
FNIRSI HS-02A
A 100W USB-C smart iron with a color screen, three presets and a 100W charger in the box.
Best for:Portable kits that need real power
The HS-02A is a pen-sized smart iron that draws up to 100W from USB-C PD or QC (9–20V), covers 100–450°C and shows settings on a 0.96-inch color screen. It stores three temperature presets, supports calibration and has sleep, auto power-off and a child lock. This kit includes six tips (K, KU, JS, I, C2, B), a 100W charger and a mini stand, and the iron weighs 61 g. It has no battery, so it always needs a supply, and FNIRSI lists a different tip set for the HS-02B, so buy HS-02A tips.
Why it fits: Up to 100W from USB-C PD or QC gives it more reserve than any other pen iron for pads tied to ground pours, and it adds three presets, calibration and six tips with a 100W charger. ESD safety isn't stated and it always needs a supply, so it suits field repairs rather than delicate bench work on static-sensitive boards.
- Power
- Up to 100W, USB-C PD/QC 9–20V
- Heat-up time
- 2–3 s tinning (FNIRSI's figures differ)
- Temperature control
- Digital, color screen, 100–450°C, 3 presets
- Best for
- Portable kits that need real power
Reasons to buy
- +100W charger and six tips included
- +Three presets plus calibration
- +Only 61 g
Reasons to avoid
- −No built-in battery: needs a PD/QC supply
- −FNIRSI's 2-year warranty applies to direct orders, per its site
Pinecil V2
USB-C powered and pocket-sized — the rare budget tool that doesn't feel like a compromise.
Best for:Portability, field repairs
USB-C powered, pocket-sized, and genuinely fast to heat up — the Pinecil V2 is the rare budget tool that doesn't feel like a compromise, making it a favorite for on-the-go repairs.
Why it fits: Pine64 rates it up to 88W at 24V and about 12 seconds to working temperature on a 20V-plus supply, and the short ST-B2 tip fitted as standard is precise for repair work. No stand comes in the box, it needs a capable PD supply, and Pine64 publishes neither an ESD rating nor a temperature range.
- Power
- Up to 88W at 24V DC; about 60W from 20V USB-C PD
- Heat-up time
- ~12 seconds (with a 20V+ supply)
- Temperature control
- OLED digital display
- Best for
- Portability, field repairs
Reasons to buy
- +Extremely compact and travel-friendly
- +Fast heat-up for its size
- +Powered by any USB-C PD source, even a power bank
Reasons to avoid
- −No stand included by default
- −Needs a USB-C PD or DC supply; full power needs 24V
- −Pine64's Amazon listing still describes the original Pinecil (65W, 12–21V barrel jack): check the version shown before you buy
YIHUA 926 III
A compact PID station with sleep and calibration, sold as a full kit with helping hands and six tips.
Best for:First station for hobby electronics
The 926 LED III is a small digital station with the iron holder built into the body and tip slots in the rear guard. It covers 90–480°C with PID control, switches between °C and °F, supports digital calibration and sleeps after 5, 10 or 30 minutes idle. The Amazon kit adds two helping hands, six 900M-series tips, lead-free solder, a solder sucker and ESD-safe tweezers. Power figures conflict: the listing says 60W, while YIHUA's own page lists 130W maximum and 18W rated.
Why it fits: PID control from 90–480°C, digital calibration, an adjustable 5, 10 or 30 minute sleep and six 900M tips make it a capable first repair station. YIHUA doesn't state ESD safety for the station, and its wattage figures conflict: 60W on the listing versus 130W maximum and 18W rated on YIHUA's page.
- Power
- 60W per listing (YIHUA site: 130W max, 18W rated)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated by YIHUA
- Temperature control
- PID, LED display, 90–480°C
- Best for
- First station for hobby electronics
Reasons to buy
- +Adjustable sleep timer and digital calibration
- +Six 900M-series tips and helping hands in the kit
- +Holder built into the station saves bench space
Reasons to avoid
- −Wattage figures conflict between the listing and YIHUA's site
- −Station ESD safety isn't stated (only the tweezers are ESD safe)
Miniware TS101
A portable smart iron with an OLED screen, USB-C PD or DC input and TS100 tip compatibility.
Best for:Portable kits, field repairs
Miniware's TS101 is the successor to the TS100: a portable iron with an OLED display, 50–400°C range, motion-sensing sleep, an overheat warning and a Boost button, powered from USB-C PD (9–20V) or a 9–24V DC supply. This kit includes a 65W USB-C adapter, and TS100 tips fit. It goes head to head with the Pinecil V2; Miniware's listing gives conflicting wattage figures, so we don't quote one.
Why it fits: Its 50–400°C range goes lower than most, which is gentle on plastic housings and flex cables, and TS100 tips fit. Motion-sensing sleep and a 65W adapter in the box help. The 400°C ceiling is the lowest here and Miniware's listing gives conflicting wattage, so we can't credit it with much reserve for heavy joints.
- Power
- USB-C PD 9–20V or DC 9–24V (65W adapter included)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated
- Temperature control
- Digital, OLED, 50–400°C
- Best for
- Portable kits, field repairs
Reasons to buy
- +USB-C PD or DC input; 65W adapter in the box
- +Motion-sensing sleep and Boost button
- +Takes TS100 tips
Reasons to avoid
- −400°C ceiling is lower than bench stations
- −Maximum wattage not clearly stated by Miniware
- −Amazon listing is a kit sold by a third-party seller
Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron Kit
A digital-readout pen iron with auto sleep for about the price of a spool of solder.
Best for:Beginners on a tight budget
Liouhoum's 80W kit is a plug-in pen iron with an LCD, so you set and read 180–480°C directly instead of guessing from a dial. Per the listing, it drops its temperature after 5 minutes on the stand, remembers the last setting, supports calibration and switches between °C and °F. The kit includes five tips, rosin-core solder, flux, a sponge and a basic stand. There's no station, no ESD rating and no stated tip series, so it suits starter and occasional repair work rather than a daily bench.
Why it fits: A digital 180–480°C readout, calibration and 5-minute auto sleep make it usable for the odd resoldered joint. It has no ESD rating, no named tip series and specs that come only from its listing, so it is the least suited of the ten to repairing valuable or static-sensitive boards.
- Power
- 80W, 110–120V
- Heat-up time
- 10 s (listing's claim)
- Temperature control
- LCD, buttons, 180–480°C
- Best for
- Beginners on a tight budget
Reasons to buy
- +Digital temperature readout at a very low price
- +Auto sleep after 5 minutes on the stand
- +24-month replacement offered by the seller
Reasons to avoid
- −No ESD rating or named tip series
- −Light stand and basic accessories
Before you buy
Buying advice
Buy for removal, not just soldering
New builds mostly add solder; repairs mostly take it away. That shifts the priorities toward hot air, a tip large enough to melt old joints quickly and tools like wick and a solder sucker. If you already own a good iron, adding hot air may do more for your repair work than upgrading the iron itself.
Protect the board you are saving
A repair is only a success if everything else on the board survives. Use an ESD-safe station or a grounded mat and wrist strap, keep the setpoint as low as still flows solder in a couple of seconds, and shield plastic parts from hot air. Pads that lift during a repair are usually the result of dwell time, not a weak iron.
Keep at least three tip shapes on hand
A fine conical tip for tight spots, a 2 mm chisel for most joints and a larger chisel or bevel for connectors and ground pads cover nearly every repair. Tips from the T18, ET, 900M and TS100 families are widely sold. Swapping tips takes seconds; overheating a pad with the wrong one can't be undone.
Clean up after every repair
Flux residue left around a repaired joint can attract moisture and cause leakage on high-impedance circuits. Clean with isopropyl alcohol and a brush, inspect under magnification for bridges and cold joints, and check continuity on any trace you repaired before powering the board again.
Methodology
How we chose
We ranked these ten for removing and replacing parts on existing boards: hot air capability first, then published temperature stability and control, ESD safety, tip shapes and availability, and features such as presets, locks, calibration and sleep. Every figure comes from the maker's site or the official Amazon listing, and conflicts are noted. This is desk research; none of these ten has been hands-on tested by us.
Picks marked "Hands-on Tested" have been bought and tested by us; the rest are desk research. A pick only carries that badge once we have actually bought and tested that unit. More on how we research.
Questions
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a hot air station to repair circuit boards?+
Not for every repair. Through-hole parts, two-terminal SMD components and gull-wing ICs can all be handled with an iron, flux and wick. Hot air becomes close to essential for QFN and other bottom-terminated chips, metal shields, and connectors whose tabs pull heat away faster than a tip can supply it. If you repair phones, laptops or modern consumer boards regularly, a combined unit like the YIHUA 862BD+ pays for its bench space.
What causes pads to lift during circuit board repair?+
Usually too much heat for too long, or force on a part before every joint has melted. A tip that is too small makes you dwell, and a high setpoint softens the adhesive under the copper. Use a tip large enough to transfer heat quickly, add fresh flux and solder to old joints, and never pry a part off. Our pad repair guide covers fixing one that has already lifted.
Is a USB-C soldering iron good enough for PCB repair?+
For many jobs, yes. The Pinecil V2 and FNIRSI HS-02A reach working temperature quickly and the HS-02A can draw up to 100W from a suitable charger, which helps on ground pours. They lack the ESD rating, stand and steady thermal mass of a bench station, so they make an excellent second iron or travel kit, but a station remains the better daily tool for repair work.
Should I use leaded or lead-free solder for board repairs?+
Many repairers rework lead-free boards with a leaded alloy because it melts lower and flows more easily, which reduces heat stress on old pads. If the product must stay RoHS compliant, use a lead-free alloy and expect to run the tip roughly 20–30°C hotter. Either way, add fresh flux, clean residue afterwards, and wash your hands after handling leaded solder.
How do I avoid damaging nearby components with hot air?+
Use the smallest nozzle that covers the part, keep the airflow moderate so tiny passives don't blow away, and shield plastic connectors and electrolytic capacitors with heat-resistant tape or a scrap of metal. Preheat the area gradually rather than blasting at full temperature, and move the nozzle in small circles. Removing the part as soon as all joints melt keeps neighboring parts out of trouble.

