Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through the links below, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
At a glance
Our top picks

X-Tronic 3020-XTS
An ESD-safe PID station from a US-based brand, with a 3-year warranty and a 10-minute sleep timer.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
YIHUA 926 III
A compact PID station with sleep and calibration, sold as a full kit with helping hands and six tips.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
Hakko FX-888DX
The FX-888D's replacement: the same T18 tips and handpiece, with a 100W station, a proper dial and five presets.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓Also great
- 4
Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron KitCheck pricePrice →Cheapest Digital Kit4.2★★★★☆ - 5
Q-MING 60W KitCheck pricePrice →Best Budget4.3★★★★☆ - 6
YIHUA 939D+Check pricePrice →Best Value ESD-Safe Station4.4★★★★☆ - 7
FNIRSI HS-02ACheck pricePrice →Best High-Power Smart Iron4.4★★★★☆ - 8
Weller WE1010NACheck pricePrice →Best for Professional Benches4.6★★★★★ - 9
Pinecil V2Check pricePrice →Best Portable4.7★★★★★ - 10
Miniware TS101Check pricePrice →Best Portable Smart Iron4.4★★★★☆
Quick shopping
Compare at a glance
Swipe sideways on mobile to see every spec.
| Model | Award | Rating | Power | Heat-up time | Temperature control | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
#1X-Tronic 3020-XTS | Best Budget Kit with Long Warranty | 4.4★★★★☆ | 75W station (60W iron) | Under 30 s, 200 to 480°C (X-Tronic's listing) | PID, LED display, 200–480°C, ±2°C | Check price → |
#2YIHUA 926 III | Best Budget Station | 4.3★★★★☆ | 60W per listing (YIHUA site: 130W max, 18W rated) | Not stated by YIHUA | PID, LED display, 90–480°C | Check price → |
#3Hakko FX-888DX | Best Overall | 4.7★★★★★ | 100W station (65W iron) | Not stated by Hakko | Digital, closed-loop, 50–480°C | Check price → |
#4Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron Kit | Cheapest Digital Kit | 4.2★★★★☆ | 80W, 110–120V | 10 s (listing's claim) | LCD, buttons, 180–480°C | Check price → |
#5Q-MING 60W Kit | Best Budget | 4.3★★★★☆ | 60W | ~15 seconds | Adjustable dial, 200–450°C | Check price → |
#6YIHUA 939D+ | Best Value ESD-Safe Station | 4.4★★★★☆ | "75W equivalent" (listing; spec table says 120W) | Not stated by YIHUA | PID, LED display, 200–480°C | Check price → |
#7FNIRSI HS-02A | Best High-Power Smart Iron | 4.4★★★★☆ | Up to 100W, USB-C PD/QC 9–20V | 2–3 s tinning (FNIRSI's figures differ) | Digital, color screen, 100–450°C, 3 presets | Check price → |
#8Weller WE1010NA | Best for Professional Benches | 4.6★★★★★ | 85W station (70W iron) | ~28 seconds (50–350°C) | Digital, 100–450°C, ESD-safe | Check price → |
#9Pinecil V2 | Best Portable | 4.7★★★★★ | Up to 88W at 24V DC; about 60W from 20V USB-C PD | ~12 seconds (with a 20V+ supply) | OLED digital display | Check price → |
#10Miniware TS101 | Best Portable Smart Iron | 4.4★★★★☆ | USB-C PD 9–20V or DC 9–24V (65W adapter included) | Not stated | Digital, OLED, 50–400°C | Check price → |
In depth
Detailed reviews
X-Tronic 3020-XTS
An ESD-safe PID station from a US-based brand, with a 3-year warranty and a 10-minute sleep timer.
Best for:Hobby benches that want a long warranty
X-Tronic's 3020-XTS is a 75W station (60W to the iron, 15W to the iron's control board) with PID control, a 200–480°C range, ±2°C static stability and a blue LED readout with a C/F switch. It's ESD safe, sleeps and cools down after 10 minutes, and runs on 110V only. The Amazon kit includes two helping hands, a silicone mat, five spare tips, a 50 g lead-free roll and a brass tip cleaner. X-Tronic, based in Lincoln, Nebraska, backs it with a 3-year warranty. Its own page also quotes 90–480°C for the iron, so the low end of the range is inconsistent.
Why it fits: It does the most to keep a beginner out of trouble: an ESD-safe PID station holding ±2°C, a clear LED readout with a C/F switch, and a sleep that cools the tip after 10 minutes idle. The kit adds two helping hands, a silicone mat, five spare tips, a 50 g lead-free roll and a brass cleaner, and X-Tronic backs it with a 3-year warranty. It is 110V only.
- Power
- 75W station (60W iron)
- Heat-up time
- Under 30 s, 200 to 480°C (X-Tronic's listing)
- Temperature control
- PID, LED display, 200–480°C, ±2°C
- Best for
- Hobby benches that want a long warranty
Reasons to buy
- +ESD safe with a 10-minute sleep and auto cool-down
- +3-year warranty and US-based support
- +Kit includes helping hands, silicone mat and five tips
Reasons to avoid
- −110V only, no 220V version
- −X-Tronic's pages give two different minimum temperatures
YIHUA 926 III
A compact PID station with sleep and calibration, sold as a full kit with helping hands and six tips.
Best for:First station for hobby electronics
The 926 LED III is a small digital station with the iron holder built into the body and tip slots in the rear guard. It covers 90–480°C with PID control, switches between °C and °F, supports digital calibration and sleeps after 5, 10 or 30 minutes idle. The Amazon kit adds two helping hands, six 900M-series tips, lead-free solder, a solder sucker and ESD-safe tweezers. Power figures conflict: the listing says 60W, while YIHUA's own page lists 130W maximum and 18W rated.
Why it fits: A compact PID station from 90–480°C with the iron holder built into the body, an adjustable 5, 10 or 30 minute sleep and digital calibration. The kit includes two helping hands, six 900M tips, lead-free solder, a solder sucker and ESD-safe tweezers. YIHUA doesn't state ESD safety for the station itself, and its wattage figures disagree between the listing and its site.
- Power
- 60W per listing (YIHUA site: 130W max, 18W rated)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated by YIHUA
- Temperature control
- PID, LED display, 90–480°C
- Best for
- First station for hobby electronics
Reasons to buy
- +Adjustable sleep timer and digital calibration
- +Six 900M-series tips and helping hands in the kit
- +Holder built into the station saves bench space
Reasons to avoid
- −Wattage figures conflict between the listing and YIHUA's site
- −Station ESD safety isn't stated (only the tweezers are ESD safe)
Hakko FX-888DX
The FX-888D's replacement: the same T18 tips and handpiece, with a 100W station, a proper dial and five presets.
Best for:Serious hobbyists, repair benches
Hakko replaced the FX-888D with the FX-888DX. It keeps the FX-8801 handpiece and T18 tips, the 50–480°C range and ±1°C idle stability, but the station rises from 70W to 100W, swaps the old button interface for a push-button rotary dial with a digital °F/°C display, stores five presets and adds a parameter lock against accidental calibration. It is ESD safe and also drives Hakko's tweezers, solder gun and larger irons.
Why it fits: For a beginner who wants to buy once, this ESD-safe 100W station with a 65W iron, 50–480°C range, push-button rotary dial and five presets will still suit you years from now, and T18 tips are sold in every shape. The 1.2 kg station takes bench space and Hakko states no sleep mode, so build the habit of switching it off.
- Power
- 100W station (65W iron)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated by Hakko
- Temperature control
- Digital, closed-loop, 50–480°C
- Best for
- Serious hobbyists, repair benches
Reasons to buy
- +Same T18 tips as the FX-888D
- +Rotary dial and five temperature presets
- +ESD safe; drives other Hakko handpieces
Reasons to avoid
- −Larger than a portable iron: the station weighs 1.2 kg
- −Counterfeits exist: buy from authorized sellers
- −No stated sleep or standby mode
Liouhoum 80W Soldering Iron Kit
A digital-readout pen iron with auto sleep for about the price of a spool of solder.
Best for:Beginners on a tight budget
Liouhoum's 80W kit is a plug-in pen iron with an LCD, so you set and read 180–480°C directly instead of guessing from a dial. Per the listing, it drops its temperature after 5 minutes on the stand, remembers the last setting, supports calibration and switches between °C and °F. The kit includes five tips, rosin-core solder, flux, a sponge and a basic stand. There's no station, no ESD rating and no stated tip series, so it suits starter and occasional repair work rather than a daily bench.
Why it fits: The lowest-cost way to get a digital temperature readout: an LCD from 180–480°C, temperature memory, calibration and a 5-minute auto sleep, with five tips, rosin-core solder, flux, a sponge and a basic stand in the kit. The specs come only from its listing, there's no ESD rating and the tip series isn't named.
- Power
- 80W, 110–120V
- Heat-up time
- 10 s (listing's claim)
- Temperature control
- LCD, buttons, 180–480°C
- Best for
- Beginners on a tight budget
Reasons to buy
- +Digital temperature readout at a very low price
- +Auto sleep after 5 minutes on the stand
- +24-month replacement offered by the seller
Reasons to avoid
- −No ESD rating or named tip series
- −Light stand and basic accessories
Q-MING 60W Kit
A genuinely complete starter kit — easy first purchase for anyone new to soldering.
Best for:Beginners, occasional use
A genuinely complete starter kit — ceramic heating element, multiple tips, and a stand included, at a price that makes it an easy first purchase for anyone new to soldering.
Why it fits: A 60W pen iron with a dial from 200–450°C, about 15 seconds to heat, five tips and a stand in one box, which makes it a simple first purchase. The dial has no digital readout, so you set temperature by feel, and the build suits light, occasional use rather than a growing hobby.
- Power
- 60W
- Heat-up time
- ~15 seconds
- Temperature control
- Adjustable dial, 200–450°C
- Best for
- Beginners, occasional use
Reasons to buy
- +Comes with 5 tips and a stand in one box
- +Very low price for a complete kit
- +Simple dial control, no learning curve
Reasons to avoid
- −No digital temperature readout
- −Build quality suited for light, occasional use
YIHUA 939D+
A transformer-based, ESD-safe station with a metal front panel and a detachable iron, at a hobby price.
Best for:ESD-sensitive hobby and repair work
The 939D+ is a transformer-based station with PID temperature control, a 200–480°C range, °C/°F display, temperature calibration and error detection. The station and its 907E detachable iron are ESD safe, the front panel is brushed aluminum and the iron stand is a separate metal unit. It takes YIHUA's 900M tips. The listing calls it "75W equivalent" but its spec table says 120W, and YIHUA's own page (for a 220V model) quotes a 450°C maximum, so treat the headline numbers with care.
Why it fits: An ESD-safe, transformer-based station with PID control, a °C/°F display, calibration and a separate metal stand, taking common 900M tips. It is a step up for a beginner who wants station-grade construction. Its power and maximum-temperature figures conflict between sources, and sleep isn't stated for the US version.
- Power
- "75W equivalent" (listing; spec table says 120W)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated by YIHUA
- Temperature control
- PID, LED display, 200–480°C
- Best for
- ESD-sensitive hobby and repair work
Reasons to buy
- +ESD-safe station and iron
- +Built-in transformer and metal front panel
- +Uses common 900M-series tips
Reasons to avoid
- −Power and maximum temperature figures conflict between sources
- −Sleep mode isn't stated for this US version
FNIRSI HS-02A
A 100W USB-C smart iron with a color screen, three presets and a 100W charger in the box.
Best for:Portable kits that need real power
The HS-02A is a pen-sized smart iron that draws up to 100W from USB-C PD or QC (9–20V), covers 100–450°C and shows settings on a 0.96-inch color screen. It stores three temperature presets, supports calibration and has sleep, auto power-off and a child lock. This kit includes six tips (K, KU, JS, I, C2, B), a 100W charger and a mini stand, and the iron weighs 61 g. It has no battery, so it always needs a supply, and FNIRSI lists a different tip set for the HS-02B, so buy HS-02A tips.
Why it fits: It is the only pick with a child lock, alongside sleep, auto power-off, three presets and a color screen, and the kit includes six tips, a 100W charger and a mini stand. It is very light at 61 g. It always needs a USB-C PD or QC supply, ESD safety isn't stated and the stand is small, so set up a stable spot for it.
- Power
- Up to 100W, USB-C PD/QC 9–20V
- Heat-up time
- 2–3 s tinning (FNIRSI's figures differ)
- Temperature control
- Digital, color screen, 100–450°C, 3 presets
- Best for
- Portable kits that need real power
Reasons to buy
- +100W charger and six tips included
- +Three presets plus calibration
- +Only 61 g
Reasons to avoid
- −No built-in battery: needs a PD/QC supply
- −FNIRSI's 2-year warranty applies to direct orders, per its site
Weller WE1010NA
ESD-safe construction and tight temperature stability for a dedicated electronics bench.
Best for:Dedicated workbenches, professional use
Weller's WE1010NA brings ESD-safe construction and tight temperature stability to an 85W digital station driving a 70W iron, making it a strong choice for anyone running a dedicated electronics bench.
Why it fits: Standby with auto setback and a password lock make it a safe station for a classroom or makerspace where several beginners share it, and it is ESD safe with a 70W iron. For one person learning at home it is more station than needed, and Weller quotes about 28 seconds to reach 350°C.
- Power
- 85W station (70W iron)
- Heat-up time
- ~28 seconds (50–350°C)
- Temperature control
- Digital, 100–450°C, ESD-safe
- Best for
- Dedicated workbenches, professional use
Reasons to buy
- +ESD-safe design protects sensitive components
- +Strong temperature stability under sustained use
- +Backed by Weller's long-standing reputation
Reasons to avoid
- −Higher price point than hobbyist kits
- −Not portable — bench-only design
Pinecil V2
USB-C powered and pocket-sized — the rare budget tool that doesn't feel like a compromise.
Best for:Portability, field repairs
USB-C powered, pocket-sized, and genuinely fast to heat up — the Pinecil V2 is the rare budget tool that doesn't feel like a compromise, making it a favorite for on-the-go repairs.
Why it fits: Small, fast to heat (about 12 seconds on a 20V-plus supply per Pine64) and able to run from a USB-C PD power bank. For a first iron, it has practical gaps: no stand by default, the need for a capable PD supply, and an Amazon listing that still describes the original Pinecil, so check you are getting the V2.
- Power
- Up to 88W at 24V DC; about 60W from 20V USB-C PD
- Heat-up time
- ~12 seconds (with a 20V+ supply)
- Temperature control
- OLED digital display
- Best for
- Portability, field repairs
Reasons to buy
- +Extremely compact and travel-friendly
- +Fast heat-up for its size
- +Powered by any USB-C PD source, even a power bank
Reasons to avoid
- −No stand included by default
- −Needs a USB-C PD or DC supply; full power needs 24V
- −Pine64's Amazon listing still describes the original Pinecil (65W, 12–21V barrel jack): check the version shown before you buy
Miniware TS101
A portable smart iron with an OLED screen, USB-C PD or DC input and TS100 tip compatibility.
Best for:Portable kits, field repairs
Miniware's TS101 is the successor to the TS100: a portable iron with an OLED display, 50–400°C range, motion-sensing sleep, an overheat warning and a Boost button, powered from USB-C PD (9–20V) or a 9–24V DC supply. This kit includes a 65W USB-C adapter, and TS100 tips fit. It goes head to head with the Pinecil V2; Miniware's listing gives conflicting wattage figures, so we don't quote one.
Why it fits: An OLED pen iron with a 50–400°C range, motion-sensing sleep, an overheat warning and a 65W USB-C adapter in the kit, taking TS100 tips. It suits a beginner who already has TS100 tips or needs a portable iron, but Miniware's listing gives conflicting wattage and the kit comes from a third-party seller.
- Power
- USB-C PD 9–20V or DC 9–24V (65W adapter included)
- Heat-up time
- Not stated
- Temperature control
- Digital, OLED, 50–400°C
- Best for
- Portable kits, field repairs
Reasons to buy
- +USB-C PD or DC input; 65W adapter in the box
- +Motion-sensing sleep and Boost button
- +Takes TS100 tips
Reasons to avoid
- −400°C ceiling is lower than bench stations
- −Maximum wattage not clearly stated by Miniware
- −Amazon listing is a kit sold by a third-party seller
Before you buy
Buying advice
Start with the temperature you can see
The most common beginner problems, from dull joints to lifted pads, come from the wrong temperature or too much time on the joint. An iron with a readout lets you follow a suggested setting and adjust in small steps. That is why the top four here all show a number, and why the dial-only Q-MING sits in the middle despite its complete kit.
Set up the bench before the first joint
Put the holder on the side of your working hand, clear anything flammable from around it, and lay down a silicone mat if you have one. Tape the board or use helping hands so you have one hand for the iron and one for the solder. Run a small fan that pulls fumes away from your face, and keep a damp sponge or brass wool beside the holder.
Practice on something cheap
A beginner practice kit or an old circuit board is a better first project than an expensive module. Solder twenty through-hole joints, compare them with photos of good joints, and only then move on to wires and small surface-mount parts. Tips last longer when you keep them tinned and turn the iron down between sessions.
Know when to upgrade
If you find yourself soldering most weekends, want to work with surface-mount parts or keep fighting a tip that loses heat on larger joints, a station like the FX-888DX or WE1010NA is the next step. Many people keep their first kit as a backup or for messy jobs, so it isn't wasted.
Methodology
How we chose
We ranked these ten for someone who has never soldered before: safety features such as sleep, idle setback, sturdy holders and ESD safety first, then a temperature readout and simple controls, then what the kit includes and how far the iron can grow with you. Every figure comes from the maker's site or the official Amazon listing; this is desk research, and none of these ten has been hands-on tested by us.
Picks marked "Hands-on Tested" have been bought and tested by us; the rest are desk research. A pick only carries that badge once we have actually bought and tested that unit. More on how we research.
Questions
Frequently asked questions
What temperature should a beginner set a soldering iron to?+
Start around 330°C (about 625°F) for common leaded 60/40 or 63/37 solder and around 360°C (about 680°F) for lead-free. If solder takes more than two or three seconds to flow, turn it up 10–20°C rather than pressing harder. Too hot burns flux away before it can work, leaving dull, lumpy joints. Every iron in our top four shows its temperature, which makes this easy.
Should a beginner buy a soldering station or a soldering pen?+
A station is usually easier to learn on: the handpiece is lighter, the holder is sturdier and the controls sit on the bench where you can see them. Pen irons such as the Pinecil V2 and FNIRSI HS-02A are compact and quick, but they need a capable USB-C supply and come with lighter stands. If you have the bench space, start with a station.
What solder should a beginner use?+
A rosin-core solder around 0.6 to 0.8 mm thick suits most beginner kits and through-hole boards. Leaded 63/37 melts at a single point and is the most forgiving to learn with, while lead-free alloys need more heat and look duller when done right. If you use leaded solder, work with ventilation, keep food away from the bench and wash your hands afterwards.
Why won't solder stick to my soldering iron tip?+
The tip has usually oxidized, often because it sat hot without solder on it or was cleaned on a dry sponge. Turn the iron on, wipe the tip on brass wool, then immediately feed solder onto it so it turns shiny. Keep a small blob on the tip whenever it rests in the holder. If the tip stays black after that, it needs a tip tinner or replacing.
Is a cheap soldering iron kit good enough to learn on?+
It can be, if it has a readable temperature, a stable stand and tips you can replace. The Liouhoum 80W kit shows the actual temperature and sleeps after five minutes, which covers the essentials. Plain dial irons like the Q-MING 60W Kit work too, but you learn the right setting by feel. Stations such as the X-Tronic 3020-XTS add sleep, ESD safety and a warranty.




