COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 15B+ vs Fluke 107

Fluke 15B+ vs Fluke 107 is an unusual trade: the smaller meter has the extra functions. The pocket 107 reads frequency and duty cycle, which the 15B+ can't, while the full-size 15B+ counters with microamp and milliamp current ranges and a reading up to 1000V. Neither is True RMS, and both carry CAT III 600V. Buy the 15B+ if small currents matter to you, and the 107 if signals and pocketability do.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 15B+ digital multimeter, front view
Best Basic Fluke

Fluke 15B+

4.3★★★★☆

The 17B+ body and safety rating without frequency, temperature or MIN MAX: a plain, tough Fluke for volts, amps and ohms.

Fluke 107 palm-sized digital multimeter, front view
Best Pocket Fluke

Fluke 107

4.3★★★★☆

A palm-sized Fluke with CAT III 600V and a 6,000-count display, but not True RMS.

Specs side by side

Fluke 15B+Fluke 107
Rating4.3★★★★☆4.3★★★★☆
AccuracyNot stated as True RMS by FlukeAverage-responding (not True RMS)
Safety ratingCAT III 600V / CAT II 1000VCAT III 600V
Auto-rangingYes (manual override)Yes (per display)
Best forBasic electrical and electronics checksA compact second meter, home and auto checks
Display4,000 counts, backlit6,000 counts, backlit
Max voltage1000V AC/DC600V AC/DC
Current400.0 µA to 10.00 A in six ranges4.000 A and 10.00 A
Best current resolution0.1 µA1 mA
Frequency / duty cycleNo / NoYes / Yes
Capacitance40.00 nF to 1,000 µF50.00 nF to 1,000 µF
Diode / continuityYes / YesYes / Yes
Current fuses440 mA and 11 A, 1000V11 A, 1000V
Drop ratingNot stated1 m
Size / weight183 × 91 × 49.5 mm, 455 g142 × 69 × 28 mm, 200 g
Battery2 × AA, 500 h minimum2 × AAA, 200 h minimum

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →The 107 measures frequency and duty cycle; Fluke's datasheet lists both as unavailable on the 15B+.
  • →The 15B+ includes µA and mA current ranges; the 107 starts at a 4 A range with 1 mA steps.
  • →The 15B+ reads up to 1000V and is also rated CAT II 1000V; the 107 is a 600V meter.
  • →The 107's display reaches 6,000 counts, the 15B+'s 4,000.
  • →The 107 is less than half the weight (200 g against 455 g) and is rated for a 1 m drop.

What each one has that the other doesn't

Only on the 15B+

µA / mA

Small-current ranges on a fused input.

1000V

Reads to 1000V; CAT II 1000V.

Only on the 107

Frequency

For signals, motors and supplies.

Duty cycle

For PWM and switching outputs.

OhmSavvy hasn't bought either meter; the figures on this page come from Fluke's product pages and its 15B+/17B+ datasheet. Both share the same voltage and resistance accuracy class, so the choice comes down to which extra functions you'll use.

Fluke 15B+ vs 107 spec by spec

SpecFluke 15B+Fluke 107
DC volts ranges4.000 / 40.00 / 400.0 / 1000 V6.000 / 60.00 / 600.0 V
DC volts accuracy±(0.5% + 3)±(0.5% + 3)
AC volts accuracy±(1.0% + 3), 40–500 Hz±(1.0% + 3), 40–500 Hz
Current ranges400.0 µA, 4000 µA, 40.00 mA, 400.0 mA, 4.000 A, 10.00 A4.000 A, 10.00 A
Current accuracy±(1.5% + 3)±(1.5% + 3)
AC current bandwidth40–400 Hz40–200 Hz
Resistance400.0 Ω to 40.00 MΩ400.0 Ω to 40.00 MΩ
FrequencyNo10 Hz to 100 kHz, ±(0.1% + 3)
Duty cycleNo1% to 99%
Display4,000 counts, 3 updates/s6,000 counts, 3 updates/s
Safety ratingCAT III 600V, CAT II 1000VCAT III 600V
Warranty1 year (users manual)2 years
Fluke 15B+ (400 µA range)
0.1 µA
Fluke 107 (4 A range)
1 mA

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Finest current step, log scale. The 15B+ resolves 10,000 times smaller currents.
Fluke 15B+
455 g
Fluke 107
200 g
Weight in grams, per Fluke. The 107 is 255 g lighter.
Fluke 15B+ (2 × AA)
500 h
Fluke 107 (2 × AAA)
200 h
Minimum battery life in hours, per Fluke. AA cells give the 15B+ 2.5 times the runtime.
Fluke 15B+
4,000
Fluke 107
6,000
Display counts. More counts keep an extra digit on readings just above a range boundary.

Where small-current ranges make the difference

Both meters quote the same ±(1.5% + 3) current accuracy, but the "+ 3" is counted in the last digit of whichever range you're on, so resolution decides what you can see. A device drawing 50 µA in standby reads 50.0 µA on the 15B+'s 400 µA range, with a tolerance of 1.5% × 50 + 3 × 0.1 = ±1.05 µA. On the 107's 4 A range, the same current is a twentieth of one 1 mA step, so the display shows 0.000 A.

Fluke 15B+: 0.1 µA steps up to 10 AFluke 107: 1 mA steps up to 10 Areads 0.000 A here0.1 µA1 µA10 µA100 µA1 mA10 mA100 mA1 A10 ATypical currents (approximate, vary by device):sleep currentLED, small boardmotors4–20 mA loops
Current coverage on a log axis. The dashed region is below the 107's 1 mA resolution.

That gap covers battery-powered sensors, remote controls in standby, a car module that should be asleep, and 4–20 mA instrument loops, which read 4.00 to 20.00 mA on the 15B+'s 40 mA range but only 0.004 to 0.020 A on the 107. Our guide to measuring standby current walks through the hookup.

Where frequency and duty cycle make the difference

Going the other way, the 107 turns PWM questions into numbers. A 12 V PWM output switching at 25 kHz and 40% duty shows as about 4.8 V average on a voltmeter, which tells you little on its own. The 107 adds the frequency, read to ±(0.1% + 3), and the duty cycle, so you can confirm a controller is actually commanding 40%. The 15B+ shows only the average voltage. These figures are an illustrative example, not a measurement.

Frequency also helps confirm 60 Hz from a generator or an inverter's output. For waveform shape, though, neither meter replaces a scope; our guide to measuring PWM duty cycle with an oscilloscope shows what a meter can't.

Fluke 15B+ vs 107: which should you buy?

You areBetter fitReason
An electronics hobbyist debugging PWM107Frequency and duty cycle
Checking device standby current15B+mA and µA ranges
Keeping a meter in a car or bag107200 g, 1 m drop rating
Testing CAT II equipment above 600V15B+Reads to 1000V
Servicing 4–20 mA sensors15B+40.00 mA range with 0.01 mA steps
Student on a lab bench15B+Full current ranges and AA battery life
Electrician on mains wiringNeither idealNot True RMS; see the Fluke 117

If you want both sets of features

The Fluke 17B+ combines the 15B+'s current ranges with frequency, duty cycle, temperature and MIN MAX in the same full-size case, though still without True RMS. Compare it in Fluke 17B+ vs Fluke 107.

Safety: current ranges are fused for a reason

The 15B+ protects its µA/mA input with a 440 mA fuse and its A input with an 11 A fuse; the 107 has the 11 A fuse only. Never connect either current input across a voltage source, always start on the highest range when the current is unknown, and replace fuses only with Fluke's specified 1000V parts. Both meters are CAT III 600V for building wiring; the 15B+'s 1000V rating is CAT II only, for equipment, not panels.

Choose the Fluke 15B+ if…

  • ✓Small currents in µA or mA are part of your work
  • ✓You sometimes measure above 600V on CAT II equipment
  • ✓You want long battery life from AA cells: 500 hours minimum

Choose the Fluke 107 if…

  • ✓You need frequency or duty cycle, for example on PWM or motor signals
  • ✓You want a 6,000-count display
  • ✓You want a meter that fits in a pocket and survives a 1 m drop

The bottom line

The 107 is the better pick for most electronics hobbyists: frequency, duty cycle and a 6,000-count display in a pocketable, drop-rated body. The 15B+ wins if you need small-current ranges or readings above 600V, and you're happy with a full-size meter.

Frequently asked questions

Does the Fluke 15B+ measure frequency?+

No. Fluke's 15B+/17B+ datasheet lists frequency and duty cycle as not available on the 15B+, and its product page specifies only volts, current, resistance, capacitance, diode and continuity. The 107 reads frequency from 10 Hz to 100 kHz and duty cycle from 1 to 99%, and the full-size 17B+ has both as well.

Can the Fluke 107 measure milliamps?+

Only coarsely. Fluke lists 4.000 A and 10.00 A ranges for the 107, so the smallest step is 1 mA and a 25 mA load reads 0.025 A. There are no dedicated mA or µA ranges. The 15B+ has 400.0 µA, 4000 µA, 40.00 mA and 400.0 mA ranges for small currents.

Which is more rugged, the 15B+ or the 107?+

Fluke states a 1 m drop rating for the 107 and gives both meters an IP 40 rating. The 15B+ product page doesn't state a drop height, though it is a larger meter in a full-size case. Neither is sealed against water, so keep both out of rain and wet work.

Are the Fluke 15B+ and 107 True RMS?+

No. Fluke's 107 page says plainly that it is not a true-RMS meter, and Fluke makes no True RMS claim for the 15B+. Both read clean sine waves well, but on variable-speed drives, LED drivers and switch-mode supplies their AC readings can be wrong. The Fluke 115 or 117 are the True RMS step up.

Why does the 15B+ read 1000V but carry a 600V CAT III rating?+

The measurement range and the safety category are different things. The 15B+ can display up to 1000V and is rated CAT II 1000V for equipment plugged into outlets, but only CAT III 600V for building wiring such as panels and feeders. Never use it above 600V on fixed installation circuits.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews