COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 15B+ vs Fluke 101

Fluke 15B+ vs Fluke 101 compares Fluke's two most basic meters, and each lacks something the other has. The 15B+ measures current from microamps to 10A but has no frequency range; the 101 reads frequency and duty cycle to 100 kHz but cannot measure current at all. Size, warranty and US availability split them further.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 15B+ digital multimeter, front view
Best Basic Fluke

Fluke 15B+

4.3★★★★☆

The 17B+ body and safety rating without frequency, temperature or MIN MAX: a plain, tough Fluke for volts, amps and ohms.

Fluke 101 compact digital multimeter, front view
Smallest Fluke

Fluke 101

4.1★★★★☆

Fluke's smallest, simplest meter: volts, ohms, capacitance and frequency in 160 g, but no current measurement at all.

Specs side by side

Fluke 15B+Fluke 101
Rating4.3★★★★☆4.1★★★★☆
AccuracyNot stated as True RMS by FlukeNot stated as True RMS by Fluke
Safety ratingCAT III 600V / CAT II 1000VCAT III 600V
Auto-rangingYes (manual override) Yes
Best forBasic electrical and electronics checksVoltage and continuity checks only
CurrentµA, mA and A ranges to 10A AC/DCNone
Frequency / duty cycleNo / NoTo 100 kHz / 0.1–99.9%
Display4,000 counts, backlit6,000 counts
Max voltage1000V AC/DC600V AC/DC
CapacitanceUp to 1,000 µFFluke sources conflict: 100 µF or 1,000 µF
Diode / continuityYes / YesYes / Yes
Size / weight183 × 91 × 49.5 mm, 455 g130 × 65 × 27 mm, 160 g
Battery2 × AA, 500 h minimum2 × AAA, 200 h minimum
Warranty1 year (users manual)1 year
Sold by Fluke US YesNo (third-party import on Amazon)

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →Current is the dividing line: the 15B+ covers µA to 10A, and the 101 has no current function at all.
  • →The 101 reads frequency to 100 kHz and duty cycle; the 15B+ reads neither.
  • →The 101 counts to 6,000, the 15B+ to 4,000.
  • →The 101 is 160 g against the 15B+'s 455 g, and is rated for a 1 m drop.
  • →Both carry a one-year warranty, but the 15B+ has a Fluke US listing while the 101 is imported.

Pick by the measurement you can't do without

  1. 01

    Need current?

    Only the 15B+ measures amps

  2. 02

    Need frequency?

    Only the 101 reads Hz

  3. 03

    Need both?

    Look at the 17B+ or 107

Each meter misses one common measurement, so start there.

Most first-time buyers underestimate how often they will want amps. Checking what a USB gadget draws, a 4–20 mA sensor loop, or whether a 12 V pump is pulling more than its label says all need a current range. Frequency, on the other hand, matters mainly for checking a generator's output, a fan's PWM signal or a sensor that reports by pulse rate. If you can't name a frequency job you have now, the current ranges are the more useful half of the trade.

Fluke 15B+ vs 101 spec by spec

Fluke publishes accuracy for both in the same ±(% of reading + digits) format, specified for one year after calibration. On the functions they share, the numbers are the same: neither meter is more precise than the other at volts or ohms. The differences are which functions exist and how far the ranges reach.

SpecFluke 15B+Fluke 101
DC volts4 V to 1000 V, ±(0.5% + 3)6 V to 600 V, ±(0.5% + 3)
AC volts, 40 to 500 Hz4 V to 1000 V, ±(1.0% + 3)600 mV to 600 V
Volts input impedance>10 MΩNot stated on the page we checked
Smallest current step0.1 µA on the 400.0 µA rangeNo current function
Largest current range10.00 A, ±(1.5% + 3)No current function
Resistance400.0 Ω to 40.00 MΩ400.0 Ω to 40.00 MΩ
FrequencyNo10 Hz to 100 kHz
Duty cycleNo0.1% to 99.9%
Display updates3 per secondNot stated
Current fuses440 mA and 11 A, 1000 VNone (no current inputs)
Ingress ratingIP40IP40
Fluke 15B+
455 g
Fluke 101
160 g
Weight in grams, per Fluke. The 101 is about a third of the 15B+.
Fluke 15B+
500 h
Fluke 101
200 h
Minimum battery life Fluke quotes, in hours: two AA cells against two AAA.
Fluke 15B+
1000 V
Fluke 101
600 V
Highest DC voltage range: the 15B+ reaches 1000 V, the 101 stops at 600 V.
Fluke 15B+
4,000
Fluke 101
6,000
Display counts: 6,000 on the 101, 4,000 on the 15B+.

The count difference has one practical effect. The 101's lowest DC range is 6.000 V, so a 5 V USB rail reads to the millivolt, while the 15B+ has to step up from its 4.000 V range to 40.00 V and shows the same rail to the nearest 10 mV. For a 12 V battery both land on a range with 0.01 V steps, so the difference disappears. On capacitance, Fluke's current 101 page lists ranges up to 1,000 µF, but another Fluke document gives 100 µF; if large electrolytics matter to you, the 15B+'s 1,000 µF is the figure you can rely on.

Why the 101 can't measure current

Measuring current means routing the whole circuit current through the meter, which needs a dedicated low-resistance input and a fuse to protect it. The 15B+ has two such inputs, each behind its own 1000 V-rated fuse. The 101 was designed with only a COM jack and a volts jack, so there is no path for current at all; no setting or accessory changes that.

Fluke 15B+: four jacksA11 A fusemA µA440 mA fuseCOMcommonV Ωvolts, ohmsFluke 101: twoCOMcommonV Ω Hzno currentShaded jacks carry current through the meter and are protected by a fuse.With no current jack, the 101 has no fuse to blow and no amps function.Schematic only: jack order and spacing are not the real panel layout.
Input jacks on each meter. The fused current jacks are what the 101 leaves out.

There is an upside to that design. The most common way to destroy a cheap meter, or blow its fuse, is to leave a lead in the amps jack and then probe a voltage. With no current jack, the 101 can't be set up that way. If you choose the 15B+, make a habit of moving the red lead back to the V Ω jack after every current reading; our guide to why a multimeter fuse blows when measuring current explains the failure in detail.

Which should you buy?

You are…Better fitWhy
Electronics student or hobbyistFluke 15B+µA and mA ranges for LED, Arduino and sensor current
Car owner chasing a battery drainFluke 15B+The 101 has no current function at all
Technician wanting a glovebox voltage checkerFluke 101160 g and 130 × 65 × 27 mm
Checking generator output or PWM signalsFluke 101Frequency to 100 kHz and duty cycle
Working on equipment above 600 VFluke 15B+Ranges to 1000 V; the 101 stops at 600 V
Buyer who wants US warranty supportFluke 15B+Sold by Fluke US; the 101 is an import

If you need both current and frequency, neither meter is the right one. The Fluke 17B+ adds frequency, duty cycle and temperature to the 15B+'s body, and the Fluke 107 keeps a pocket size while adding 4A and 10A ranges. For more beginner options, see the best multimeter for beginners guide.

Neither is True RMS

Fluke makes no True RMS claim for either meter. Both read ordinary mains, batteries and components correctly, but on the distorted current and voltage from LED drivers, dimmers or variable-speed drives their AC readings can be off. For that work, look at a True RMS meter such as the Fluke 115 or 117.

Safety: match the meter to the circuit

Both meters are rated CAT III 600V, suitable for outlets, branch circuits and panels inside a building, not for the service entrance or meter base. The 15B+ reads to 1000 V, but its CAT III rating still stops at 600 V. Test on a known live source before and after checking a circuit is dead, and call a licensed electrician for anything you aren't sure is safe to probe.

Choose the Fluke 15B+ if…

  • ✓You need current readings of any size
  • ✓You want a meter sold and supported by Fluke US
  • ✓You may measure above 600V on CAT II equipment

Choose the Fluke 101 if…

  • ✓You want frequency and duty cycle in the smallest possible Fluke
  • ✓You only check voltage, resistance and continuity, never current
  • ✓Low weight matters more than US support

The bottom line

For most people the 15B+ is the safer buy: it measures current and is sold by Fluke US. The 101 suits only someone who wants a very small voltage, continuity and frequency checker and will never need to measure amps.

Frequently asked questions

Which Fluke is cheaper to run, the 15B+ or 101?+

The 15B+. Fluke quotes at least 500 hours from its two AA cells against at least 200 hours from the 101's two AAA cells, so you change batteries less than half as often. AA cells also hold more energy per cell, which is why the larger meter goes further between changes.

Can the Fluke 101 measure current?+

No. It has only two input jacks, COM and volts, and no current function or current fuse. Not even milliamps can be read. If you need amps, the Fluke 15B+ measures from 0.1 µA resolution up to 10 A, and the pocket-sized Fluke 107 adds 4 A and 10 A ranges.

Does the Fluke 15B+ read frequency?+

No. Fluke's datasheet lists frequency and duty cycle as not available on the 15B+; they are features of the 17B+, which shares its body and safety rating. The Fluke 101 reads frequency from 10 Hz to 100 kHz and duty cycle from 0.1% to 99.9%, so it is the one of these two for signal checks.

Which has the better display, the 15B+ or the 101?+

The 101 counts to 6,000 against the 15B+'s 4,000, so it shows an extra digit on readings between 4 and 6 volts, such as a 5 V USB rail. The 15B+ has a backlight, which helps in panels and under dashboards; Fluke's 101 documents don't mention one, so plan on a flashlight in dark spaces.

Is the Fluke 101 a good first multimeter?+

Only if you are sure you won't need current. It is small, tough and simple, with frequency and capacitance, but most beginners eventually want to measure what a circuit draws. The 15B+ covers that and is sold by Fluke US, so it is the better single first meter for most people.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews