COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 107 vs Fluke 113: Which Meter Is Better for Basic Testing?

For basic testing around the house, the bench or the car, the Fluke 107 is the better meter. It reads current, frequency, small capacitors and resistance up to 40 MΩ, all things the Fluke 113 can't do. The 113 wins a narrower contest: confirming whether building wiring is live or dead, where its VCHEK low-impedance position, CAT IV 600V rating and automatic fallback to continuity make it quicker and safer. This Fluke 107 vs 113 comparison walks through the everyday jobs one at a time.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 107 palm-sized digital multimeter with backlit display, front view
Best Pocket Fluke

Fluke 107

4.3★★★★☆

A palm-sized Fluke with CAT III 600V and a 6,000-count display, but not True RMS.

Fluke 113 True RMS utility multimeter with VCHEK, front view
Best Fluke Utility Meter with VCHEK

Fluke 113

4.4★★★★☆

A 6000-count utility meter built around VCHEK: one LoZ dial position that reads voltage and drops to continuity when the circuit is dead.

Specs side by side

Fluke 107Fluke 113
Rating4.3★★★★☆4.4★★★★☆
AccuracyAverage-responding (not True RMS)True RMS, ±(2.0% + 3) VCHEK volts
Safety ratingCAT III 600VCAT IV 600V (per Fluke)
Auto-rangingYes (per display)Yes (manual override)
Best forA compact second meter, home and auto checksUtility and ghost-voltage checks
Volts inputOver 10 MΩ (normal)About 3 kΩ (VCHEK LoZ only)
DC volts accuracy±(0.5% + 3)±(2.0% + 3)
Small DC voltages6.000 V range, any level3 V DC minimum in autorange
Current4 A and 10 A, AC/DCNone
Resistance400 Ω to 40 MΩ600 Ω to 60 kΩ
Capacitance50 nF to 1,000 µF1,000 nF to 9,999 µF
Frequency / duty cycle10 Hz to 100 kHz; 1–99%Not stated
Diode test2.000 V, ±10%2.000 V, ±(2.0% + 3)
Continuity beepBelow 70 ΩBelow 20 Ω; automatic in VCHEK
True RMSNo (Fluke: "not a true-RMS")Per Amazon and meter label; fluke.com footnote only
Safety ratingCAT III 600VCAT IV 600V per Fluke (Amazon: CAT III 600V / CAT IV 300V)
Size / weight142 × 69 × 28 mm, 200 g167.1 × 85.1 × 46.0 mm, 404 g
Battery2 × AAA, 200 h minimumOne 9 V, about 300 h without backlight
Warranty2 yearsNot stated for a new unit

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →The 107 reads volts through a conventional input of over 10 MΩ; the 113 reads volts only through VCHEK, a low-impedance input of about 3 kΩ.
  • →The 107 measures current on 4 A and 10 A ranges plus frequency and duty cycle; the 113 has no current input and Fluke lists no frequency function.
  • →Resistance stops at 60 kΩ on the 113 against 40 MΩ on the 107.
  • →The 107's capacitance starts at a 50 nF range; the 113's starts at 1,000 nF but reaches 9,999 µF, ten times the 107's 1,000 µF top.
  • →Fluke rates the 113 CAT IV 600V and the 107 CAT III 600V, and the 113's Amazon listing quotes a lower figure than Fluke does.
  • →Both show 6,000 counts, both have a backlight and a 2.000 V diode range, and both run auto-ranging.

What counts as basic testing

Ask ten people what they need a meter for and most lists look alike: is this battery any good, is this fuse blown, does this outlet have power, is this wire broken, what value is this resistor, and is this capacitor dead. The 107 and 113 handle that list very differently, because Fluke built them for different people. The 107 is a small general-purpose meter. The 113 is a utility meter whose volts function exists mainly to answer one question about mains wiring.

Everyday testFluke 107Fluke 113
AA or AAA cell (about 1.5 V)Yes, 6 V rangeBelow the 3 V autorange minimum
9 V or 12 V batteryYesYes, under a 3 kΩ load
Outlet live or deadYes, high-ZYes, LoZ with continuity fallback
Blown fuse or broken wireBeeps below 70 ΩBeeps below 20 Ω
Resistor over 60 kΩYes, to 40 MΩNo
Ceramic cap under 1 µF50 nF rangeNo range that small
Large electrolytic, 2,000 µF+No (1,000 µF top)Yes, to 9,999 µF
Current drawTo 10 ANo
LED or rectifier diode2.000 V range2.000 V range
Fan or dimmer frequencyTo 100 kHzNot stated

Count the rows and the 107 covers more of the list. The 113's wins are real but concentrated on mains work and very large capacitors. Fluke documents a 3 V DC minimum for VCHEK in autorange; it doesn't say whether manual ranging reads lower, so we wouldn't buy a 113 to check AA cells.

The ranges that decide everyday jobs

Fluke 107
40 MΩ
Fluke 113
60 kΩ

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Top resistance range, log scale: the 107 reaches about 670 times higher.
Fluke 107
50 nF
Fluke 113
1,000 nF

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Smallest capacitance range, log scale: lower is better for small parts.
Fluke 107
1,000 µF
Fluke 113
9,999 µF

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Largest capacitance range, log scale: the 113 goes ten times higher.
Fluke 107
200 g
Fluke 113
404 g
Weight per Fluke. The 113 is about twice as heavy.

The resistance gap rules out a lot of hobby work on the 113: pull-up resistors, potentiometers, many thermistors and anything in the hundreds of kilohms sits above its 60 kΩ ceiling. The capacitance ranges split the other way. Decoupling and timing capacitors in the 10 nF to 470 nF region fit the 107's small ranges (at ±(2% + 5) on the nF ranges) and fall below anything the 113 lists, while a large bus capacitor beyond 1,000 µF needs the 113.

Battery checks, worked on each meter

Take a 9 V battery reading 9.00 V. Both meters land on their 60 V range with 0.01 V resolution. The 107's DC spec of ±(0.5% + 3) works out to 0.045 V plus 3 counts of 0.01 V, so ±0.075 V. The 113's VCHEK spec of ±(2.0% + 3) gives 0.18 V plus 0.03 V, so ±0.21 V, nearly three times the uncertainty. For a pass/fail check that doesn't matter; for tracking a battery's slow decline, it does.

There is a side effect worth knowing. At about 3 kΩ the 113 draws roughly 9 ÷ 3,000, or 3 mA, from the battery while you measure. That is a tiny load, far short of a proper load test, so don't treat it as one; our guide on checking a 9 V battery under load explains the right method. The 107's 10 MΩ input draws under a microamp.

Where the 3 kΩ input hurts

A low-impedance meter pulls weak sources down. On a car's sensor signal or a thermostat line the 113 can show a voltage far below the true one, which is the opposite of what you want while troubleshooting. The 107 has no low-impedance mode, so it reads those circuits as they are. The loading arithmetic is laid out in Fluke 113 vs Fluke 115.

Where the 113 earns a place in a basic kit

On household wiring the 113 is the more decisive tool. Its VCHEK position shows voltage if any is present and switches to a continuity check if none is, so you can probe a switch leg or a receptacle without turning the dial. The low input impedance also drags induced ghost voltage on unused conductors toward zero, where the 107's high-impedance input may show a confusing reading. Fluke rates the 113 CAT IV 600V, a step above the 107's CAT III 600V.

Its continuity threshold is stricter too: the 113 beeps below 20 Ω and goes quiet above 250 Ω, while the 107 beeps anywhere below 70 Ω. For a fuse either works. For a crimped connector you suspect is going bad, the tighter threshold tells you more. And the 113's 9,999 µF capacitance range reaches the large capacitors found in some motor and power-supply circuits; our capacitor testing guide covers discharging them first.

Which should you buy?

If you mostly…PickBecause
Check batteries of every sizeFluke 107Reads 1.5 V cells; tighter DC accuracy
Fix small electronics or hobby circuitsFluke 10740 MΩ, 50 nF range, Hz and duty cycle
Measure a car or appliance current drawFluke 1074 A and 10 A ranges
Prove outlets and switch legs deadFluke 113VCHEK LoZ with continuity fallback
Work near the panel feed or meter baseFluke 113CAT IV 600V per Fluke
Test capacitors above 1,000 µFFluke 113Range to 9,999 µF
Want one meter in a gloveboxFluke 107200 g and 28 mm thick

Buy the Fluke 107 if "basic testing" means a mix of batteries, fuses, cords, resistors and the odd current reading. Skip it if your main job is mains verification on distorted loads, since Fluke states it is not True RMS. Buy the Fluke 113 if you are an electrician, facilities tech or utility worker who mostly confirms voltage presence and absence. Skip it for electronics, automotive sensors or anything below 3 V. Those whose basic kit includes mains work and current should also read Fluke 107 vs Fluke 115, and Fluke 113 vs Fluke 117 shows what a full electrician's meter adds to VCHEK.

Mains safety with either meter

Check the meter on a known live source before and after testing any circuit you plan to work on. The 107's CAT III 600V rating covers branch circuits and panels, not the utility side of the meter base; leave that to a licensed electrician. Fluke warns that low-impedance readings taken from hot to ground can trip a GFCI or RCD, so on protected outlets test hot to neutral with the 113. If you smell burning or see scorch marks at an outlet, switch off the breaker and call an electrician rather than probing it.

Where the sources disagree

Fluke rates the 113 CAT IV 600V under IEC 61010-2-033, and the meter is printed that way, but a bullet on its Amazon listing gives CAT III 600V and CAT IV 300V; we follow Fluke. The Amazon title and the meter's front label say True RMS, while Fluke's spec tab mentions it only in a general footnote. Fluke does not state a warranty for a new 113 (the reconditioned version lists three years). For the 107 the sources agree: Fluke's page answers plainly that it is not True RMS and gives a two-year warranty.

Choose the Fluke 107 if…

  • ✓You test AA, 9 V and car batteries, fuses, resistors and small electronics
  • ✓You need current up to 10 A, frequency or duty cycle
  • ✓You want a 200 g meter that fits a glovebox or pocket

Choose the Fluke 113 if…

  • ✓Your basic test is proving a circuit live or dead before you touch it
  • ✓You work near the service entrance and want Fluke's CAT IV 600V rating
  • ✓You check large motor-run or filter capacitors up to 9,999 µF

The bottom line

For basic testing in the broad sense, the Fluke 107 is the better buy: it reads small cells, current, frequency, resistance to 40 MΩ and small capacitors, in a 200 g body. The Fluke 113 is better only when your basic test is proving mains wiring live or dead, where VCHEK and its CAT IV 600V rating earn their keep.

Frequently asked questions

Can the Fluke 113 test an AA battery?+

Not reliably. Fluke specifies a 3 V DC minimum for the 113's VCHEK voltage function in autorange, and a fresh AA cell sits around 1.5 V. Fluke doesn't say whether manual ranging changes that. The Fluke 107 reads 1.5 V cells on its 6.000 V range with millivolt resolution, so it is the better choice for household batteries.

Does the Fluke 107 have a low-impedance mode like VCHEK?+

No. The 107's volts input is over 10 MΩ and there is no LoZ position, so induced voltage on an open wire can show as a reading. That high impedance is an advantage on electronics and sensors. If ghost voltage is a regular problem in your work, the 113, 114 or 117 have a low-impedance option.

Which is easier for a beginner, the Fluke 107 or 113?+

The 107 for most beginners. Its functions match what new users actually test, it reads current and frequency, and its 200 g body is easy to carry. The 113 is simpler on mains, with one VCHEK position for voltage and continuity, but its 60 kΩ resistance limit and 3 V minimum trip up anyone working on electronics.

Can either meter measure milliamps?+

No. The 107 has 4 A and 10 A ranges with 1 mA best resolution, which is too coarse for small standby or sensor currents. The 113 has no current function at all. For milliamp and microamp work, a meter with dedicated low-current ranges, such as the Fluke 15B+ with ranges starting at 400.0 µA, is the better tool.

Can the Fluke 107 or 113 test a white LED?+

Usually not. Both have a 2.000 V diode range, and white and blue LEDs typically need around 3 V to conduct, so they read as open. Red and some green LEDs, with forward voltages typically under 2 V, can register. Either meter checks ordinary silicon rectifier diodes, which drop well under 1 V.

Is the Fluke 113 True RMS?+

Amazon's title and the meter's own front label say True RMS, but Fluke's spec tab mentions it only in a general footnote. The Fluke 107 is not True RMS by Fluke's own statement. On clean sine-wave outlet voltage both are fine; on dimmers or drives a True RMS meter gives the more trustworthy AC reading.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews