Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through the links below, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
At a glance
Our top picks

Fluke 289
The only handheld here with a 50 Ω range at 1 mΩ resolution, plus 0.01 µA current resolution and on-screen trend logging.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
UNI-T UT620A
A 4-wire micro-ohm meter with 10 µΩ resolution and up to 5 A test current, for resistance a multimeter can't resolve.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
UNI-T UT620C+
A compact 4-wire micro-ohmmeter reading down to 1 µΩ with a 1 A test current, for about a third of the UT620A's price.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓Also great
- 4
Fluke 287Check pricePrice →Best Logging Meter for Electronics4.6★★★★★ - 5
EEVblog Brymen BM786Check pricePrice →Best Brymen for Electronics4.6★★★★★ - 6
UNI-T UT181ACheck pricePrice →Best Color-Screen Data Logger4.4★★★★☆ - 7
UNI-T UT61E+Check pricePrice →Best Budget Meter for Electronics4.5★★★★★ - 8
OWON B41T+Check pricePrice →Best Budget Bluetooth Logger4.2★★★★☆ - 9
OWON OW18ECheck pricePrice →Best Budget µA Meter4.1★★★★☆ - 10
Fluke 87VCheck pricePrice →Best for Professionals4.8★★★★★
Quick shopping
Compare at a glance
Swipe sideways on mobile to see every spec.
| Model | Award | Rating | Accuracy | Safety rating | Auto-ranging | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
#1Fluke 289 | Best for Low Resistance | 4.7★★★★★ | True RMS, 0.025% basic DC V | CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V | Yes (manual override) | Check price → |
#2UNI-T UT620A | Best Dedicated Micro-Ohm Meter | 4.3★★★★☆ | ±(0.25%+25), 4-wire DC | Not stated | No (manual ranges) | Check price → |
#3UNI-T UT620C+ | Best Budget Micro-Ohm Meter | 4.3★★★★☆ | Up to ±0.1% FS (4-wire DC) | Not stated (input protection 36V) | Yes (manual option) | Check price → |
#4Fluke 287 | Best Logging Meter for Electronics | 4.6★★★★★ | True RMS, 0.025% basic DC V | CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V | Yes (manual override) | Check price → |
#5EEVblog Brymen BM786 | Best Brymen for Electronics | 4.6★★★★★ | AC+DC True RMS, 0.03% DC V | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes (manual override) | Check price → |
#6UNI-T UT181A | Best Color-Screen Data Logger | 4.4★★★★☆ | True RMS, ±(0.025%+5) DC V | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes (manual override) | Check price → |
#7UNI-T UT61E+ | Best Budget Meter for Electronics | 4.5★★★★★ | True RMS, ±(0.05%+5) DC V | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes (manual override) | Check price → |
#8OWON B41T+ | Best Budget Bluetooth Logger | 4.2★★★★☆ | True RMS, ±(0.1%+2) DC V | 1000V CAT III (case marking) | Yes | Check price → |
#9OWON OW18E | Best Budget µA Meter | 4.1★★★★☆ | True RMS, ±(0.1%+2) DC V | 1000V CAT III / 600V CAT IV (case marking) | Yes | Check price → |
#10Fluke 87V✓ Tested | Best for Professionals | 4.8★★★★★ | True RMS | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes | Check price → |
In depth
Detailed reviews
Fluke 289
The only handheld here with a 50 Ω range at 1 mΩ resolution, plus 0.01 µA current resolution and on-screen trend logging.
Best for:Low-ohm, µA and logged electronics work
The Fluke 289 is a 50,000-count True RMS logging meter rated CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V. Its two-terminal 50 Ω range resolves 1 mΩ using a 10 mA test current, and relative mode removes test-lead resistance, so you can check shunts, contacts and PCB traces without a separate milliohm meter. The 500 µA range resolves 0.01 µA with a published burden of about 102 µV per µA. TrendCapture graphs logged readings on the meter itself, and LoZ and a low-pass filter cover electrical work too. The catch is the price, roughly three times a good hobby meter.
Why it fits: It takes first place as the only full multimeter here with a dedicated 50 Ω range: 1 mΩ resolution from a 10 mA source, with relative mode for the leads. You get milliohm-level checks without carrying a second instrument. It's still a 2-wire measurement, so contact resistance stays in the reading, and the price is high.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, 0.025% basic DC V
- Safety rating
- CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual override)
- Best for
- Low-ohm, µA and logged electronics work
Reasons to buy
- +50 Ω range with 1 mΩ resolution and REL lead zeroing
- +500 µA range with 0.01 µA resolution and published burden voltage
- +Logs and graphs readings on screen (TrendCapture)
Reasons to avoid
- −Expensive, and sold here by a third-party seller
- −Two-terminal low-ohm range, not true 4-wire Kelvin
UNI-T UT620A
A 4-wire micro-ohm meter with 10 µΩ resolution and up to 5 A test current, for resistance a multimeter can't resolve.
Best for:Windings, busbars, welds, contacts
The UT620A isn't a multimeter. It's a 4-wire (Kelvin) DC resistance meter that drives up to 5 A through the part on its 120 mΩ range, so lead and contact resistance drop out and it resolves 10 µΩ. Accuracy is ±(0.25% + 25 digits) from 120 mΩ to 600 Ω, on a 60,000-count display, and it ships with Kelvin clips. Zeroing, high/low limit comparison, wire-length calculation, 1,000-reading storage and USB make it suit motor windings, busbars, welds and connectors. It costs as much as a Fluke 289 and is sold by a third-party seller.
Why it fits: For pure low-resistance accuracy it outperforms every multimeter here: 4-wire Kelvin clips, 5 A on the 120 mΩ range, 10 µΩ resolution and a published ±(0.25% + 25 digits). It ranks second only because it measures nothing but resistance, weighs 1.5 kg and costs about as much as the Fluke 289.
- Accuracy
- ±(0.25%+25), 4-wire DC
- Safety rating
- Not stated
- Auto-ranging
- No (manual ranges)
- Best for
- Windings, busbars, welds, contacts
Reasons to buy
- +True 4-wire Kelvin measurement with 10 µΩ resolution
- +Up to 5 A test current on the lowest range
- +Limit comparison, wire length and 1,000-reading memory
Reasons to avoid
- −Resistance only; no voltage or current
- −Expensive, heavy (1.5 kg) and sold by a third-party seller
UNI-T UT620C+
A compact 4-wire micro-ohmmeter reading down to 1 µΩ with a 1 A test current, for about a third of the UT620A's price.
Best for:Low-ohm checks on wires, fuses, shunts
The UT620C+ is a palm-sized 4-wire resistance meter covering 0.001 mΩ to 300 kΩ. On its lowest range it drives 1 A and resolves 0.001 mΩ (1 µΩ). UNI-T quotes accuracy only as "up to ±0.1% FS", with no per-range table. It stores 500 readings, connects over USB-C, is IP54 rated and runs on a rechargeable 3,200 mAh battery. Its 1 A test current is lower than the UT620A's 5 A, but it's far cheaper. The Amazon photo shows Chinese-language packaging and manual, so check what's in the box.
Why it fits: It resolves 1 µΩ with 4-wire leads and a 1 A test current in a 480 g, IP54, rechargeable body, at about a third of the UT620A's price. UNI-T publishes accuracy only as up to ±0.1% of full scale, with no per-range table, and the lower test current is why it sits behind the UT620A.
- Accuracy
- Up to ±0.1% FS (4-wire DC)
- Safety rating
- Not stated (input protection 36V)
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual option)
- Best for
- Low-ohm checks on wires, fuses, shunts
Reasons to buy
- +1 µΩ resolution with 4-wire Kelvin leads
- +Compact 480 g, IP54, rechargeable
- +500-reading memory and USB-C
Reasons to avoid
- −UNI-T publishes no per-range accuracy
- −Kit photo shows Chinese-language manual and box
Fluke 287
Fluke's electronics logging meter: 50,000 counts, 0.01 µA resolution and graphs on the meter, without the 289's industrial extras.
Best for:Electronics design, µA and logging
The 287 shares the 289's 50,000-count display, 500 µA range with 0.01 µA resolution, 100 mF capacitance and TrendCapture logging, and it carries the same CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V rating. It drops the 289's 50 Ω low-ohm range, LoZ and low-pass filter, so its finest resistance resolution is 0.01 Ω on the 500 Ω range (with relative mode to zero the leads). For bench electronics, sleep-current checks and logging a drifting supply overnight, it does the job for less than the 289.
Why it fits: Its 500 Ω range reads to 0.01 Ω at ±(0.05% + 10 digits), a percentage term matched only by the same range on the Fluke 289, and REL removes the leads. It lacks the 289's 50 Ω range, so readings under about an ohm are limited by the 10-digit term.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, 0.025% basic DC V
- Safety rating
- CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual override)
- Best for
- Electronics design, µA and logging
Reasons to buy
- +0.01 µA resolution on the 500 µA range
- +On-screen trend logging with real-time clock
- +Limited lifetime warranty
Reasons to avoid
- −No 50 Ω low-ohm range (that's the 289)
- −Third-party seller and an Amazon listing with wrong CAT wording
EEVblog Brymen BM786
A 60,000-count Brymen with 0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution and CAT IV 600V, for about a third of a Fluke 287.
Best for:Bench electronics and PCB repair
The BM786 is a Brymen meter made for the EEVblog: AC+DC True RMS, 60,000 counts, CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V, and 0.03% best DC voltage accuracy. Its 600.00 µA range resolves 0.01 µA at ±(0.075%+20 digits), and its 600.00 Ω range resolves 0.01 Ω. Brymen publishes a burden of 0.2 mV per µA, twice the BM235's, so in very low-voltage circuits it drops more voltage than you may expect. The BeepLit continuity responds in under 100 µs. It has no logging or PC link, but for hands-on bench work and PCB repair it's a strong all-rounder.
Why it fits: A 600.00 Ω range at 0.01 Ω and ±(0.085% + 10 digits), Relative Zero and a continuity beeper that responds in under 100 µs make it strong for finding shorts on circuit boards. It has no milliohm range, so treat readings under an ohm as comparisons rather than absolute values.
- Accuracy
- AC+DC True RMS, 0.03% DC V
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual override)
- Best for
- Bench electronics and PCB repair
Reasons to buy
- +0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution at 60,000 counts
- +Fast latching BeepLit continuity (<100 µs)
- +Relative zero, Max/Min/Avg and crest capture
Reasons to avoid
- −0.2 mV/µA burden is higher than the BM235's
- −No data logging or PC connection
UNI-T UT181A
A 60,000-count colour-screen logging meter that stores 20,000 readings and graphs them, for well under Fluke 287 money.
Best for:Logging battery drain and drift
The UT181A is a True RMS logging meter with a 3.5-inch colour TFT, 60,000 counts and CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V. Its lowest ranges are 600 µA and 600 Ω, so at 60,000 counts it reads to 0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω, though UNI-T doesn't print a per-range resolution. It logs 20,000 readings with a real-time clock and trend graph, measures two thermocouples at once, and runs on a rechargeable Li-ion pack. It has IP65 sealing and a 1 kHz low-pass filter. Bluetooth needs UNI-T's optional adaptor, despite what the listing implies.
Why it fits: Its 600 Ω range at 60,000 counts implies 0.01 Ω steps, and the logger can record how a heating element's or winding's resistance changes as it warms. UNI-T doesn't publish per-range resolution or low-range accuracy, so it trails the Fluke and Brymen meters for absolute low-ohm work.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, ±(0.025%+5) DC V
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual override)
- Best for
- Logging battery drain and drift
Reasons to buy
- +20,000-reading logger with trend graph on a colour screen
- +60,000 counts, 600 µA and 600 Ω lowest ranges
- +Rechargeable battery and IP65 sealing
Reasons to avoid
- −Bluetooth needs an optional adaptor
- −UNI-T doesn't publish per-range resolution or burden voltage
UNI-T UT61E+
A budget 22,000-count True RMS meter with 0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution, REL mode and a USB link.
Best for:Arduino, hobby electronics, PCB repair
The UT61E+ is UNI-T's 22,000-count version of the UT61+ series: True RMS, CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V, with a 220.00 µA range at 0.01 µA resolution and a 220.00 Ω range at 0.01 Ω (±0.5% + 10 digits). REL mode subtracts lead resistance, which UNI-T's manual tells you to do for low-ohm readings. It also adds capacitance to 220 mF, frequency to 220 MHz, hFE, NCV and a USB cable for PC readout. It has no temperature function (that's the UT61D+), and UNI-T doesn't publish its burden voltage.
Why it fits: The 220.00 Ω range resolves 0.01 Ω at ±(0.5% + 10 digits), and UNI-T's manual explicitly tells you to subtract the shorted-lead reading, which REL does for you. The 0.5% term is looser than the meters above it, but it's a capable low-cost choice.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, ±(0.05%+5) DC V
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual override)
- Best for
- Arduino, hobby electronics, PCB repair
Reasons to buy
- +0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution at a budget price
- +REL mode to zero test-lead resistance
- +USB PC link, capacitance to 220 mF, frequency to 220 MHz
Reasons to avoid
- −No temperature measurement
- −Burden voltage not published
OWON B41T+
A 22,000-count Bluetooth meter with 0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution that logs 10,000 points by itself.
Best for:Logging µA sleep current on a budget
The B41T+ is OWON's 4½-digit (22,000-count) True RMS meter. Its 220 µA range resolves 0.01 µA and its 220 Ω range resolves 0.01 Ω, both at ±(0.5% + 10 digits), and relative mode zeroes the leads. Bluetooth 4.0 sends readings to a phone app, and the "+" model records up to 10,000 points over as long as 168 hours with no phone attached, so it can log a project's sleep current overnight. OWON doesn't state a CAT rating on its page (the case says 1000V CAT III), AC voltage tops out at 750 V and burden voltage isn't published.
Why it fits: Like the UT61E+, it offers a 220 Ω range at 0.01 Ω and ±(0.5% + 10 digits) with relative mode. Bluetooth and offline recording help when you're logging a resistance over time. OWON gives no CAT rating on its page, which matters only if the meter also goes near mains.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, ±(0.1%+2) DC V
- Safety rating
- 1000V CAT III (case marking)
- Auto-ranging
- Yes
- Best for
- Logging µA sleep current on a budget
Reasons to buy
- +0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution
- +Offline logging of 10,000 points without a phone
- +Bluetooth app, capacitance to 220 mF, temperature
Reasons to avoid
- −OWON publishes no CAT rating or burden voltage
- −AC voltage limited to 750 V
OWON OW18E
A budget True RMS meter with a 200.00 µA range, 0.01 Ω resolution, Bluetooth and offline logging.
Best for:Arduino and hobby electronics on a budget
The OW18E is a 19,999-count (sold as 20,000) True RMS meter. Its 200.00 µA range resolves 0.01 µA at ±(0.5% + 10 digits) DC and its 200.00 Ω range resolves 0.01 Ω. It adds NCV, a flashlight, Type-K temperature, capacitance to 20 mF and a 20 A range, plus BLE 4.0 and offline recording on the E model. The case is marked 1000V CAT III / 600V CAT IV, but OWON's page doesn't state a rating and doesn't publish burden voltage. Amazon showed only one in stock when we checked.
Why it fits: A 200.00 Ω range at 0.01 Ω and ±(0.5% + 10 digits) is the finest low-ohm resolution at the bottom of the price range. REL appears on the display, but OWON's spec text doesn't describe it.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, ±(0.1%+2) DC V
- Safety rating
- 1000V CAT III / 600V CAT IV (case marking)
- Auto-ranging
- Yes
- Best for
- Arduino and hobby electronics on a budget
Reasons to buy
- +0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution at a budget price
- +Bluetooth with offline recording
- +NCV, flashlight and temperature included
Reasons to avoid
- −Low stock on Amazon at last check
- −OWON publishes no burden voltage or CAT rating
Fluke 87V
The step-up pick for anyone who needs CAT IV protection and high-resolution readings daily.
Best for:Industrial technicians, daily professional use
The 87V is Fluke's industrial-grade step up from the 117 — a 1000V CAT III / 600V CAT IV rating, a 6,000-count main display with a 19,999-count high-resolution mode, and a 32-segment analog bar graph for watching signals change in real time.
Why it fits: Its 600.0 Ω range stops at 0.1 Ω with ±(0.2% + 2 digits), so it is the coarsest low-ohm meter here, though Fluke notes that relative mode removes lead resistance. It carries our Hands-on Tested badge and earns its place if your main work is electrical and low-ohm checks are occasional.
- Accuracy
- True RMS
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes
- Best for
- Industrial technicians, daily professional use
Reasons to buy
- +Joint-highest CAT rating in this list (CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V)
- +19,999-count high-resolution mode
- +Analog bar graph tracks fast-changing signals
Reasons to avoid
- −Among the most expensive picks here
- −Overkill for casual home use
Before you buy
Buying advice
Decide how low you actually need to go
Speaker voice coils, heating elements, solenoids and relay coils sit in ohms or tens of ohms, where any 2-wire meter with a 200 Ω to 600 Ω range and REL does a good job. Current-sense shunts, relay contacts and long cable runs reach tenths of an ohm or less, which pushes you toward the Fluke 289. Busbar joints, crimps and welds need a 4-wire micro-ohm meter.
Do the uncertainty arithmetic before you buy
Take the lowest range's digit term and multiply it by the resolution. On many 0.01 Ω meters that gives 0.1 Ω or more, which makes a 0.05 Ω reading meaningless as an absolute value. Comparing two similar parts with the same leads is still useful, but for a pass or fail against a milliohm limit, buy the instrument whose fixed error is well below that limit.
Treat leads and contacts as part of the measurement
On a 2-wire meter, the probes, clips and the pressure you apply all add resistance. Zero the meter with the exact leads you'll use, press the tips firmly into clean metal, and take more than one reading. A 4-wire meter removes this problem, which is the main reason to buy one, more than its extra digits.
Don't overlook test current
A meter that sources 1 mA through a 1 mΩ joint produces just 1 µV to measure. The Fluke 289 uses 10 mA on its 50 Ω range, the UT620C+ up to 1 A and the UT620A up to 5 A, which is why their low-range readings are steadier. The flip side is that a high current can warm a small part, so allow for that on fine wires and fuses.
Methodology
How we chose
We ranked these ten for low-resistance work: the finest resolution and published accuracy on the lowest ohms range first, then lead zeroing and 4-wire capability, then test current and extras like logging. Figures come from maker datasheets, manuals and official listings; this is desk research, and only the Fluke 87V carries our Hands-on Tested badge.
Picks marked "Hands-on Tested" have been bought and tested by us; the rest are desk research. A pick only carries that badge once we have actually bought and tested that unit. More on how we research.
Questions
Frequently asked questions
Can a regular multimeter measure milliohms?+
Only roughly. Most meters start at a 200 Ω to 600 Ω range with 0.01 Ω or 0.1 Ω steps, and their accuracy specs add 10 or more digits, so the fixed uncertainty is around 0.1 Ω or worse. The Fluke 289's 50 Ω range is the exception among handhelds here, at 1 mΩ resolution. For anything below a few tens of milliohms, a 4-wire micro-ohm meter is the right tool.
What is 4-wire (Kelvin) resistance measurement?+
One pair of leads drives a known current through the part and a second pair measures the voltage directly across it. Because almost no current flows in the sense leads, their resistance and the contact resistance at the clips don't add to the reading. That's why the UNI-T UT620A and UT620C+ can resolve micro-ohms while a 2-wire multimeter can't.
How do I zero out test lead resistance on a multimeter?+
Select the lowest resistance range, touch the probe tips firmly together, wait for the reading to settle and press REL (relative) or ZERO. The meter then subtracts that value from later readings. Redo it if you change leads, clips or probe tips, and keep the leads in the same position, because pressure and flexing change the contact resistance.
How accurate is a multimeter on a 0.1 Ω resistor?+
Work it out from the spec. On a range with 0.01 Ω resolution and a +10 digit term, the fixed part alone is 0.1 Ω, as large as the resistor. The Fluke 289's 50 Ω range, at ±(0.15% + 20 digits) with 1 mΩ resolution, gives roughly ±0.02 Ω. The UT620A's 120 mΩ range, at ±(0.25% + 25 digits) with 10 µΩ steps, gives about ±0.5 mΩ.
What resistance should a motor winding or busbar joint read?+
It depends on the conductor size and length, so compare against the manufacturer's figure or between phases of the same motor rather than against a universal number. Small motors and solenoid coils often read a few ohms, which a good multimeter handles, while large windings, busbar joints and welds sit in the milliohm or micro-ohm range where a 4-wire meter is needed.
Why does my multimeter show a few tenths of an ohm with the leads shorted?+
That's the resistance of the leads, the probe tips and the jack contacts. Typical values are a few tenths of an ohm, more if the tips are dirty or the leads are worn. Use the meter's relative mode to subtract it, clean the tips, and if the shorted reading jumps around, replace the leads before trusting any low-resistance measurement.





