COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 116 vs Fluke 179: Which Is Better for HVAC Troubleshooting?

For furnace and boiler service the Fluke 116 is the better HVAC meter, because it is the only one of the two that can read a flame-rod signal: its 600.0 µA range steps in 0.1 µA, while the 179's smallest current step is 0.01 mA, a hundred times coarser. The Fluke 179 wins everywhere else a tech pushes current through the leads, up to 10 A, and it adds CAT IV 600V, tighter DC accuracy and a lifetime warranty. Both read Type K temperature with the same published accuracy. This Fluke 116 vs 179 comparison maps each spec to an HVAC task so you can see which gap matters for your calls.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 116 HVAC multimeter with microamp and temperature functions, front view
Best HVAC Multimeter

Fluke 116

4.6★★★★★

Fluke's HVAC multimeter: a 0.1 µA flame-sensor range, temperature, capacitance and LoZ in a CAT III 600V body.

Fluke 179 True RMS multimeter with backlit display and bar graph, front view
Best for Industrial Work

Fluke 179

4.7★★★★★

Fluke's do-everything bench-and-field meter: CAT IV 600V, True RMS, temperature and a 6,000-count display with bar graph.

Specs side by side

Fluke 116Fluke 179
Rating4.6★★★★★4.7★★★★★
AccuracyTrue RMSTrue RMS
Safety ratingCAT III 600VCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
Auto-rangingNot stated by Fluke (manual RANGE button)Yes (manual override)
Best forHVAC flame sensors, capacitors, controlsIndustrial maintenance, electronics, HVAC
Microamp range600.0 µA AC/DC, 0.1 µA stepsNone (finest step 0.01 mA)
mA and A rangesNone60 mA, 400 mA, 6 A, 10 A (20 A for 30 s)
Temperature-40 to 400 °C, ±(1% + 10), Type K-40 to 400 °C, ±(1.0% + 10), Type K
Probe in the box80BK80BK
LoZ inputYes, AutoVolt, about 3 kΩ No
CapacitanceTo 9,999 µF, ±(1.9% + 2)To 10,000 µF, ±(1.2% + 2)
DC volts accuracy±(0.5% + 2)±(0.09% + 2)
AC volts accuracy±(1.0% + 3)±(1.0% + 3)
Resistance / frequency40 MΩ / 50 kHz50 MΩ / 100 kHz
Display6,000 counts, 33-segment bar graph, backlight6,000 counts, 33-segment bar graph, backlight
Auto-rangingNot stated by Fluke (manual RANGE button)Yes, with manual override
Safety ratingCAT III 600VCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
Battery9 V, about 400 h9 V, about 200 h
Size / weight167 × 84 × 46 mm, 550 g43 × 90 × 185 mm, 420 g
Warranty3 yearsLifetime

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →Current is split down the middle: the 116 covers 0.1 µA to 600 µA and nothing higher, while the 179 starts at 0.01 mA steps and runs to 10 A. Neither one spans both.
  • →Only the 116 has a low-impedance AutoVolt input, which bleeds off induced voltage on idle thermostat and control conductors.
  • →Temperature is a tie on paper: both list -40 to 400 °C at 0.1 °C with a ±(1% + 10) tolerance and ship with the 80BK bead probe.
  • →The 179 is rated CAT III 1000V and CAT IV 600V; the 116 stops at CAT III 600V.
  • →The 179 reads capacitance at ±(1.2% + 2) against the 116's ±(1.9% + 2), and DC volts at 0.09% against 0.5%.
  • →The 116 runs about twice as long per 9 V cell (400 h vs 200 h); the 179 is 130 g lighter and carries a lifetime warranty instead of three years.

Six HVAC checks, two meters

A no-heat or no-cool call tends to run through the same handful of measurements. Here is how each meter handles them, using only Fluke's published figures. This is desk research against maker specs; we have not run either meter on a furnace ourselves.

Flame signal

116 reads it in 0.1 µA steps. 179 shows 0.00 mA on a typical signal.

Run capacitor

Both read it. 179's tolerance is a little tighter.

Supply / return air

Identical spec on both, 80BK probe included with each.

24 V control voltage

Same AC accuracy. 116 adds LoZ to sort ghost readings.

Inducer or blower amps

179 in series to 10 A. 116 can't; use a clamp.

Disconnect and panel

Both fine at CAT III. 179 also CAT IV 600V.

The current gap, drawn to scale

The single biggest difference in this Fluke 116 vs 179 comparison is where each current input lives on the scale. Plot both on a logarithmic axis and they barely overlap: the 116 covers roughly four decades at the very bottom, and the 179 covers six decades starting just above it.

Where each meter's current input can seeflamecontrolsmotorsFluke 116: 0.1 µA steps, stops at 600 µAFluke 179: 0.01 mA steps up to 10 A0.1µA1µA10µA100µA1mA10mA100mA1A10AShaded bands are illustrative, not spec figures
The 116 resolves 0.1 µA but tops out at 600 µA. The 179 resolves 10 µA (0.01 mA) and reaches 10 A. The flame, control and motor bands are rough illustrative zones; your equipment's manual sets the real figures.

Flame-rectification signals are small. Furnace makers generally specify them in single-digit microamps, and the exact minimum is printed in the equipment manual. Take an illustrative 2.5 µA reading. On the 116's DC µA line, the tolerance is 1.0% of 2.5 µA (0.025 µA) plus 2 counts of 0.1 µA, about ±0.23 µA, so the display shows something close to 2.5 and you can compare it with the manual. On the 179's 60.00 mA range one count is 10 µA, so the same 2.5 µA is a quarter of a single digit and the display reads 0.00. That is not a matter of precision: the 179 simply cannot see the signal.

Turn the problem around and the 116 fails just as completely. A thermostat heat anticipator, a damper actuator or a gas valve coil draws current measured in tenths of an amp, and small inducer and blower motors draw amps. The 116's input ends at 600 µA, well under one milliamp, so none of that can go through its leads. The 179 handles it on its 400 mA, 6 A and 10 A ranges. Our guide to measuring microamps covers the series hookup for flame rods.

Capacitors and temperature: closer than you'd think

On run and start capacitors both meters do the job. Work it through on an illustrative 45 µF label value, which falls on each meter's 100.0 µF range with 0.1 µF steps. The 116 allows 1.9% of 45 (0.855 µF) plus 2 counts (0.2 µF), so about ±1.06 µF. The 179 allows 1.2% of 45 (0.54 µF) plus 0.2 µF, about ±0.74 µF. A typical ±6% capacitor tolerance on 45 µF is ±2.7 µF, so either meter can tell a good part from one that has drifted out of spec. The 179's edge only matters when a reading lands right at the tolerance line.

Fluke 116
±1.06 µF
Fluke 179
±0.74 µF
Part tolerance (±6%)
±2.7 µF
Meter tolerance on an illustrative 45 µF run capacitor, compared with a ±6% part tolerance.

Temperature is a genuine draw. Fluke publishes the same range, resolution and ±(1% + 10) tolerance for both, excluding probe error, and puts an 80BK bead probe in each box. Ten counts at 0.1 °C is 1.0 °C, so a 13 °C supply-air reading carries roughly ±1.1 °C on either meter. If you calculate temperature split, the probe and where you place it will move the result more than the choice between these two. See how to check a thermocouple with a multimeter for the pilot-generator side of temperature work.

Ghost voltage on control wiring

Thermostat cable often runs alongside line-voltage conductors, and an unused or open conductor can pick up a few volts by capacitive coupling. A standard high-impedance input reports that voltage faithfully, which can send you chasing a fault that isn't there. The 116's AutoVolt position drops the input to about 3 kΩ, enough load to collapse a coupled reading while a real 24 V source holds steady. Fluke lists no LoZ mode for the 179, so on that meter you have to judge suspicious readings by context, for example by checking whether the voltage stays put when the thermostat calls. Our page on voltage on a disconnected circuit explains the mechanism.

Same AC accuracy at 24 V

Both meters list True RMS AC volts at ±(1.0% + 3). On a 24.00 V control transformer reading that is 0.24 V plus 3 counts of 0.01 V, about ±0.27 V on either one. The LoZ input, not accuracy, is what separates them on control circuits.

Which should you buy?

Your situationBetter fitWhy
Residential gas heat, lots of no-heat callsFluke 116Reads flame-rod µA directly
Cooling-heavy work: condensers, heat pumpsFluke 179Amps to 10 A, tighter capacitance
Commercial building or plant maintenanceFluke 179Broader electrical coverage, CAT IV
Thermostat and zoning troubleshootingFluke 116LoZ sorts induced voltage
You already carry a µA-capable clampFluke 179The clamp covers flame signals
You already carry an amp clampFluke 116The clamp covers motor current
One meter for decades of useFluke 179Lifetime warranty vs 3 years

The pairing rows matter most. Neither meter covers every HVAC current, so think in two-tool kits. A 116 plus any amp clamp covers flame signals, capacitors, temperature and motor draw. A 179 plus a clamp with a microamp function, such as the Fluke 902 FC with its 200 µA DC range, gets you to the same place with the 179's CAT IV rating and lifetime warranty on the meter. Our clamp meter buying guide and best multimeter for HVAC technicians pick up from here.

Who should skip each one

Skip the 116 if you rarely see gas ignition problems, or if you want one meter that also handles general electrical work: with no milliamp or amp ranges it can't check a fuse-protected control circuit's draw, a doorbell transformer load or a small motor. Its CAT III 600V rating also rules it out for work at the service entrance. Skip the 179 if flame-sensor checks are a weekly job and you don't want a second tool, or if battery life matters: Fluke quotes about 200 hours against the 116's 400.

Already narrowing it down within one family? Compare the 116 with its siblings in Fluke 116 vs 115 for HVAC and Fluke 116 vs 117, or see whether you need the 179 at all in Fluke 177 vs 179, since the 177 drops only the thermometer.

A conflict on Fluke's 179 page

Fluke's own 179 product page disagrees with itself. Its model comparison table names microamps as an extra function and gives 9,999 µF and "400 °F", while the detailed spec table on the same page lists 0.01 mA as the best current resolution, 10,000 µF and an upper temperature of 400 °C. We follow the spec table, which matches the Fluke 170 Series datasheet. If microamps are why you are looking at the 179, treat that as unconfirmed and plan on the 116 or a µA clamp for flame work.

Live-circuit safety on HVAC equipment

Flame-rod checks are made with the appliance running, and the burner compartment has 120 V present even though the signal you read is tiny. Condensers and rooftop units may be fed at 208 to 480 V. Keep within each meter's rating (CAT III 600V for the 116), prove the meter on a known live source before and after a dead test, and never put test leads in the current jacks to read voltage. If you smell gas, leave the building and call the gas utility or 911 from outside.

Choose the Fluke 116 if…

  • ✓Most of your calls are gas furnaces and boilers with flame-rod or flame-rectification ignition
  • ✓You get confusing voltages on thermostat cable and want a LoZ input to drain them
  • ✓You already own a clamp meter for blower and compressor amps

Choose the Fluke 179 if…

  • ✓You split your time between HVAC and general building or plant maintenance
  • ✓You want in-series current from 0.01 mA to 10 A for control circuits and small motors
  • ✓You work near service equipment where CAT IV 600V applies, or want a lifetime warranty

The bottom line

Choose the Fluke 116 if gas heating calls are your bread and butter: it is the only one of the two that reads flame-sensor microamps, and its LoZ input helps on thermostat wiring, but plan on a clamp for motor amps. Choose the Fluke 179 if HVAC is part of a broader maintenance job: it measures current to 10 A, carries CAT IV 600V and a lifetime warranty, and reads temperature to the same spec, but it needs a µA clamp for flame rods.

Frequently asked questions

Can the Fluke 179 test a flame sensor?+

Not usefully. Its finest current step is 0.01 mA on the 60.00 mA range, which equals 10 µA, while flame-rectification signals are typically a few microamps. A healthy signal would display as 0.00 mA. Fluke's 179 comparison table does mention µA, but the spec table on the same page does not, so we don't rely on it.

Can the Fluke 116 measure blower motor amps?+

No. The 116's only current input is the 600.0 µA range, and Fluke lists no milliamp or amp ranges for it. Putting a motor in series with that input is outside its rating. Measure blower, inducer and compressor current with a clamp meter instead, which also avoids breaking into the circuit.

Do the Fluke 116 and 179 read temperature the same way?+

On paper, yes. Fluke lists -40 to 400 °C at 0.1 °C resolution with a ±(1% + 10) tolerance for both, excluding probe error, and each ships with an 80BK Type K bead probe. Fluke's 179 page has one table that says 400 °F, which conflicts with its own spec table; we follow the spec table.

Is CAT IV 600V on the Fluke 179 needed for HVAC work?+

Not for most of it. Furnaces, air handlers and condenser disconnects are downstream of the panel, where CAT III applies, and the 116's CAT III 600V rating covers that. CAT IV matters at the service drop, meter base and outdoor service conductors, so it helps techs who also do service-entrance electrical work.

Which has better battery life, the Fluke 116 or 179?+

The 116. Fluke quotes about 400 hours on its 9 V battery, against about 200 hours for the 179. Both use a single 9 V cell. If you keep the 179's backlight on in attics and crawl spaces, expect to change batteries more often than on a 116 used in the same conditions.

Is the Fluke 116 auto-ranging?+

Fluke's spec table for the 116 doesn't state it, and the meter has a manual RANGE button, so we list auto-ranging as not stated rather than guess. The 179 is listed as auto-ranging with manual override. In daily HVAC use most functions on both meters pick a sensible range without intervention.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews