COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 77 IV vs Fluke 179: Differences for Electrical Maintenance

For electrical maintenance the Fluke 179 is the stronger meter: it is True RMS, it measures temperature with the supplied 80BK probe, and its DC and AC voltage accuracy is tighter. The Fluke 77 IV matches it on safety (CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V), the 10 A input and 0.01 mA resolution, and it runs about twice as long on a 9 V battery, but its AC readings are average responding. On a plant floor full of drives, LED fixtures and electronic controls, that difference decides it.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 77 IV general-purpose digital multimeter, front view with fused current jacks
Best Average-Responding Fluke Workhorse

Fluke 77 IV

4.3★★★★☆

The updated Fluke 77: a 6000-count, 10 A, 1000 V meter with capacitance and a backlight, but average-responding AC.

Fluke 179 True RMS multimeter with backlit display and analog bar graph, front view
Best for Industrial Work

Fluke 179

4.7★★★★★

Fluke's do-everything bench-and-field meter: CAT IV 600V, True RMS, temperature and a 6,000-count display with bar graph.

Specs side by side

Fluke 77 IVFluke 179
Rating4.3★★★★☆4.7★★★★★
AccuracyAverage responding, ±(0.3% + 1) DC VTrue RMS
Safety ratingCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600VCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
Auto-rangingYes (manual RANGE)Yes (manual override)
Best forGeneral electrical and electronic repairIndustrial maintenance, electronics, HVAC
AC measurementAverage respondingTrue RMS
DC volts accuracy±(0.3% + 1)±(0.09% + 2)
AC volts accuracy±(2.0% + 2)±(1.0% + 3)
DC amps accuracy±(1.5% + 2)±(1.0% + 3)
CurrentTo 10 A; 0.01 mA resolutionTo 10 A; 0.01 mA resolution
Temperature No-40 °C to 400 °C, 80BK probe included
ResistanceTo 50 MΩTo 50 MΩ
CapacitanceTo 9,999 µFTo 10,000 µF (one Fluke table: 9,999 µF)
FrequencyTo 99.99 kHzTo 100 kHz
RecordingMin/MaxMin/Max-Average, Auto Hold
Weight420 g420 g
Battery9 V, 400 h typical9 V, about 200 h
WarrantyNot stated on fluke.comLifetime

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →Waveforms: the 179 is True RMS. The 77 IV is average responding, so AC current on drives, LED drivers and switch-mode supplies reads low.
  • →Temperature: only the 179 reads a K-type thermocouple, -40 °C to 400 °C, with the 80BK probe in the box.
  • →Voltage accuracy: the 179's DC volts are ±(0.09% + 2) against ±(0.3% + 1), and its AC volts ±(1.0% + 3) against ±(2.0% + 2).
  • →Battery: the 77 IV is rated about 400 hours on a 9 V, roughly twice the 179's 200 hours.
  • →Warranty: Fluke gives the 179 a lifetime warranty; the 77 IV's term isn't stated on fluke.com.
  • →Shared: CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V, 6,000 counts with a bar graph, 10 A with 0.01 mA resolution, 50 MΩ, Min/Max, a backlight and the same 420 g weight. Neither lists LoZ, non-contact voltage or a low-pass filter.

What maintenance work asks of a meter

Distorted current

Drives, LED lighting and UPS units draw pulsed current. Only the 179 reads it as True RMS.

Heat checks

Hot lugs and bearings show trouble early. Only the 179 measures temperature.

Trend against limits

Tighter accuracy makes small drifts visible. The 179 leads on volts.

Rated for the switchgear

Both are CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V, so both belong at the MCC.

Long shifts

The 77 IV's 400 h battery outlasts the 179's 200 h.

Ownership

Lifetime warranty on the 179; not stated for the 77 IV.

Neither meter has been tested by OhmSavvy. Everything here is desk research against Fluke's product pages and the 170 Series datasheet. One naming note: Amazon sells the 77 IV as the "77-4 Automotive" meter, while Fluke describes it as a general-purpose meter that replaces the original 77. Its specification has no automotive functions, so treat it as a general electrical meter.

Fluke 77 IV vs 179 spec by spec

On paper these two are the same size class: both weigh 420 g, both read 6,000 counts with a bar graph, both carry the same category rating and both resolve current to 0.01 mA on a 10 A meter. The rows that differ are the ones a maintenance technician feels: how the meter treats a distorted waveform, whether it reads temperature, how tight its voltage readings are, and how long the battery and warranty last.

SpecFluke 77 IVFluke 179Edge
AC responseAverage respondingTrue RMS179
Category ratingCAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000VCAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000VSame
DC voltsTo 1000 V, ±(0.3% + 1)To 1000 V, ±(0.09% + 2)179
AC voltsTo 1000 V, ±(2.0% + 2)To 1000 V, ±(1.0% + 3)179
DC ampsTo 10 A, ±(1.5% + 2)To 10 A, ±(1.0% + 3)179
Current resolution0.01 mA0.01 mASame
ResistanceTo 50 MΩTo 50 MΩSame
CapacitanceTo 9,999 µFTo 10,000 µFSame in practice
FrequencyTo 99.99 kHz, ±(0.1% + 1)To 100 kHz, ±(0.1% + 1)Same
TemperatureNone-40 °C to 400 °C, ±(1.0% + 10)179
Hold and recordingMin/Max; HOLD key on the meterMin/Max-Average, Auto Hold179
LoZ, NCV, low-pass filterNone listedNone listedSame
Battery9 V, 400 h typical9 V, about 200 h77 IV
Weight420 g420 gSame
WarrantyNot stated on fluke.comLifetime179
DC V, Fluke 179
0.09% + 2
DC V, Fluke 77 IV
0.3% + 1
AC V, Fluke 179
1.0% + 3
AC V, Fluke 77 IV
2.0% + 2
Basic DC and AC volts accuracy, ±% of reading. Lower is better; the 179 is tighter on both.
Fluke 77 IV
400 h typical
Fluke 179
About 200 h
Rated battery life on one 9 V cell. The 77 IV runs roughly twice as long between changes.

Drives and nonlinear loads: why True RMS matters here

A variable-frequency drive rectifies its three-phase supply into a DC bus, then switches that bus to build a variable-frequency output. The rectifier draws current from the line in short pulses near each voltage peak, not as a smooth sine. An average-responding meter like the 77 IV assumes a sine and multiplies the average by 1.11, so on that pulsed current it shows less than is really flowing. The 179 computes True RMS and follows the actual waveform.

480 V supplyline sideVFDrectifier, DC bus, inverterMotorPWM output1Line currentPulsed draw179: True RMS77 IV: reads low2DC busRoughly 650 V DCBoth: DC volts1000 V range3Motor leadsPWM choppedNeither listsa low-pass filterBus voltage is a typical value for a 480 V drive, not a spec of either meter.
Three places you measure on a drive-fed motor, and which meter suits each. Neither has a filter for the motor side.

Point 2 is fair to both meters: the DC bus of a 480 V drive sits at roughly 1.35 × 480 ≈ 650 V DC, inside either meter's 1000 V range and CAT III 1000V rating. Point 3 is fair to neither. A drive's output is pulse-width modulated, and Fluke lists no low-pass filter on the 77 IV or the 179, so motor-side voltage readings can be erratic on both. If drive output work is a regular task, the Fluke 87V and 289 list a low-pass filter; see Fluke 87V vs Fluke 179 and Fluke 289 vs Fluke 179.

The same logic covers the rest of a modern facility. LED high-bays, electronic ballasts, computer loads and UPS inputs all draw nonlinear current. On a maintenance meter that will read those circuits weekly, True RMS is the line between a number you can act on and one you have to second-guess.

Accuracy in maintenance terms: a 480 V unbalance check

Spec sheet percentages are easier to judge as volts. A common maintenance check is three-phase voltage unbalance on a motor feed, using the NEMA definition: the largest deviation from the average of the three line voltages, divided by that average. A 1% unbalance on a 480 V system is a 4.8 V deviation on one leg.

  1. 01

    Read A-B, B-C, C-A

    Same meter, same range

  2. 02

    Average the three

    For example 480 V

  3. 03

    Largest deviation

    For example 4.8 V

  4. 04

    Divide by average

    4.8 ÷ 480 = 1.0%

Now the meter's allowance on each reading, assuming the 600.0 V range with 0.1 V resolution. The 179 allows 1.0% of 480 (4.8 V) plus 3 counts (0.3 V), so ±5.1 V. The 77 IV allows 2.0% of 480 (9.6 V) plus 2 counts (0.2 V), so ±9.8 V. That worst-case band is about twice the 4.8 V deviation you are trying to see. In practice the same meter on the same range tends to err similarly on all three legs, which helps, but the spec doesn't promise it.

Fluke 179 at 480 V
±5.1 V
Fluke 77 IV at 480 V
±9.8 V
1% unbalance
4.8 V
Worst-case allowance on one 480 V AC reading, per each meter's spec line. Lower is better.
Fluke 179 at 24 V DC
±0.04 V
Fluke 77 IV at 24 V DC
±0.08 V
Allowance on a 24 V DC control supply, assuming the 60.00 V range (0.01 V steps). Lower is better.

The 24 V DC row is worked the same way: 0.09% of 24 V plus 2 counts gives ±0.04 V on the 179, and 0.3% plus 1 count gives ±0.08 V on the 77 IV. Both are fine for a go/no-go check on a control power supply. The gap matters when you write readings into a PM log and compare them month to month.

Temperature on the 179: what it adds to a PM route

The 179 reads a K-type thermocouple from -40 °C to 400 °C, rated ±(1.0% + 10 counts), and Fluke ships the 80BK bead probe in the box. On a maintenance round that means one meter for the electrical check and the heat check: a lug that runs hotter than its neighbors on the same breaker, a motor frame or bearing housing that has crept up since last quarter, or supply and return air on an air handler. The 77 IV has no temperature function at all, so the same route needs a second instrument.

PM taskFluke 77 IVFluke 179
Motor feed voltage and unbalanceYes, ±(2.0% + 2) per legYes, ±(1.0% + 3) per leg
Running current through a drive or LED driverReads low (average responding)True RMS
Lug, bearing or frame temperatureSeparate thermometer80BK probe, -40 to 400 °C
4–20 mA loop signal0.01 mA resolution0.01 mA resolution
Run capacitor on a fan or compressorTo 9,999 µFTo 10,000 µF
Control transformer secondary, 24 V ACYesYes
Unattended watch for a dipMin/MaxMin/Max-Average

A thermocouple on a surface reads that point only; for a whole panel, a thermal imager is quicker, but the 179's probe is a good confirmation tool. For HVAC-heavy maintenance, our best multimeter for HVAC technicians guide covers meters with microamp ranges for flame sensors, which neither of these has.

Which should you buy?

Your maintenance roleBetter fitWhy
Plant electrician with drives on siteFluke 179True RMS on drive input current; same CAT IV rating
Facilities tech with LED lighting and UPSFluke 179Nonlinear current reads correctly; temperature for hot spots
HVAC and building maintenanceFluke 179Temperature probe and capacitance in one meter
Instrument tech on 4–20 mA loopsEitherBoth resolve 0.01 mA; the 179 is tighter on DC volts
Spare meter for voltage-only roundsFluke 77 IVSame safety rating, twice the battery life
Electrician who wants LoZ and NCVNeitherLook at the Fluke 117 for building wiring

For electricians weighing the 77 IV against a wiring-focused meter instead, read Fluke 77 IV vs Fluke 117. To see the 179 against its smaller siblings, read Fluke 177 vs Fluke 179, and for the wider field, our best multimeters roundup.

Same armor, different instruments

The 77 IV and 179 share a safety rating, a weight and a 10 A input, so it is tempting to call them equivalent. They aren't. The 179 reads distorted current correctly, measures heat and holds tighter voltage limits, which are the three things a maintenance log depends on. The 77 IV's advantage is battery life.

Safety on maintenance rounds

Both meters are rated CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V, but that protects you only with matching leads and within your training. De-energize and lock out before touching conductors, prove the meter on a known live source before and after testing, and keep probes off the motor side of a running drive unless you know its output voltage. A drive's DC bus stays charged after power is removed; wait the time on its label and verify with the meter. Arc-flash labeled equipment needs the PPE and permit your site requires.

Choose the Fluke 77 IV if…

  • ✓Your maintenance rounds are mostly voltage, continuity and resistance checks on sine-wave equipment
  • ✓You want about 400 hours from a 9 V battery rather than about 200
  • ✓You already carry a separate thermometer and a clamp meter for current

Choose the Fluke 179 if…

  • ✓You maintain drives, LED lighting, UPS systems or other nonlinear loads
  • ✓You check motor, bearing or termination temperatures and want the probe in the same case
  • ✓You log readings against limits and want tighter voltage accuracy and a lifetime warranty

The bottom line

For electrical maintenance, buy the Fluke 179. It shares the 77 IV's CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V rating, 10 A input and 0.01 mA resolution, then adds True RMS for drives and LED loads, a temperature probe for hot spots, tighter voltage accuracy and a lifetime warranty. The 77 IV makes sense only as a voltage-and-continuity meter on clean sine-wave equipment, where its roughly 400-hour battery life is its real advantage.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Fluke 179 True RMS and the 77 IV not?+

Yes. Fluke lists the 179 as True RMS, and it describes the 77 IV's AC function as average responding. On sine-wave loads both agree. On pulsed current from drives, LED drivers and switch-mode supplies, the 77 IV reads low because it assumes a sine wave. For maintenance on modern facilities, that is the main reason to choose the 179.

Can the Fluke 77 IV measure temperature?+

No. Fluke's 77 IV specification lists no temperature function. The Fluke 179 reads a K-type thermocouple from -40 °C to 400 °C at ±(1.0% + 10) and ships with the 80BK bead probe. If you check lug, motor or bearing temperatures on PM rounds, the 179 saves carrying a separate thermometer.

Do the Fluke 77 IV and 179 have the same safety rating?+

Yes. Both are rated CAT IV 600V and CAT III 1000V, so both can be used at service equipment, motor control centers and 480 V panels within those limits. Use leads rated to match, and remember the rating doesn't cover the PWM output of a drive, where neither meter lists a low-pass filter.

Which has better battery life, the Fluke 77 IV or 179?+

The 77 IV. Fluke rates it at about 400 hours typical on a 9 V alkaline battery, against about 200 hours for the 179. Both use a single 9 V cell. If the meter lives in a truck and gets used a few minutes at a time, either lasts a long while; on long logging sessions with Min/Max, the 77 IV goes further.

Is the Fluke 179 accurate enough for voltage unbalance checks?+

It is better than the 77 IV for it. On a 480 V reading, the 179's spec allows about ±5.1 V against ±9.8 V for the 77 IV. A 1% unbalance is a 4.8 V deviation, so the worst-case band of either meter is close to or larger than the effect. Use one meter on one range for all three legs and record trends.

Can either meter read a VFD's output voltage?+

Not reliably. A drive's output is pulse-width modulated, and Fluke lists no low-pass filter on the 77 IV or the 179, so motor-side voltage can read high or erratic on both. On the drive's input side the 179's True RMS helps with current, and both read the DC bus. For output measurements, the Fluke 87V and 289 have a filter.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews