COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS
Fluke 114 vs Fluke 116: Which Meter Fits Your Work?
Pick the Fluke 114 if you are an electrician who checks voltage, continuity and resistance on building wiring; pick the Fluke 116 if you service furnaces, boilers or air conditioning. The two share a case, a True RMS voltage core, AutoVolt LoZ and a CAT III 600V rating. The 116 adds a 600.0 µA flame-sensor range, Type K temperature, capacitance and frequency. Neither reads load amps, so both belong next to a clamp meter.
By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·
Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 114
4.5★★★★★A True RMS voltage-and-continuity meter with AutoVolt LoZ, made for quick go/no-go checks on 600 V circuits.

Fluke 116
4.6★★★★★Fluke's HVAC multimeter: a 0.1 µA flame-sensor range, temperature, capacitance and LoZ in a CAT III 600V body.
Specs side by side
| Fluke 114 | Fluke 116 | |
|---|---|---|
| Rating | 4.5★★★★★ | 4.6★★★★★ |
| Accuracy | True RMS, ±(0.5% + 2) DC V | True RMS |
| Safety rating | CAT III 600V | CAT III 600V |
| Auto-ranging | Yes (manual override) | Not stated by Fluke (manual RANGE button) |
| Best for | Electrician go/no-go voltage checks | HVAC flame sensors, capacitors, controls |
| AutoVolt LoZ | 600.0 V, ±(2.0% + 3) | 600.0 V, ±(2.0% + 3) |
| DC / AC volts accuracy | ±(0.5% + 2) / ±(1.0% + 3) | ±(0.5% + 2) / ±(1.0% + 3) |
| Millivolts | AC and DC mV | DC mV, 600.0 mV (AC mV not stated) |
| Current | None (two jacks) | 600.0 µA AC/DC only, 0.1 µA steps |
| Temperature | None | -40 to 400 °C, Type K, 80BK probe included |
| Capacitance | Not listed | To 9,999 µF, ±(1.9% + 2) |
| Frequency | Not listed | To 50.00 kHz |
| Resistance | To 40.00 MΩ | To 40.00 MΩ |
| Display | 6,000 counts + 33-segment bar graph | 6,000 counts + 33-segment bar graph |
| Recording | Min/Max/Avg with elapsed time | Min/Max/Avg |
| Weight | 550 g (Amazon: 0.51 kg) | 550 g |
| Battery / warranty | 9 V, 400 h; 3 years | 9 V, 400 h; 3 years |
Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.
Key differences
- →The 116 has a 600.0 µA range with 0.1 µA resolution for flame-rectification checks. The 114 has no current function of any kind.
- →Only the 116 measures temperature, through a Type K input from -40 to 400 °C, and it ships with an 80BK probe.
- →Only the 116 lists capacitance (to 9,999 µF) and frequency (to 50 kHz).
- →Both have AutoVolt with a low-impedance input of about 3 kΩ and the same voltage accuracy, so ghost-voltage handling is identical.
- →Case, display, CAT III 600V rating, battery life and 3-year warranty are the same. Neither has amp or milliamp ranges.
One meter is the other plus four functions
Lay Fluke's two spec tabs side by side and the relationship is unusual for a comparison: nothing the 114 measures is missing from the 116. Voltage, millivolts, the AutoVolt low-impedance position, resistance, continuity and Min/Max/Avg all appear on both, with matching voltage accuracy lines. The 116 then adds four functions that only an HVAC technician uses every week.
Two small items run the other way. The 114's spec tab lists AC millivolts as well as DC; for the 116 we could only confirm the DC 600.0 mV range. Fluke also states auto-ranging with manual override for the 114, while the 116 entry in our catalog notes a manual RANGE button and no explicit auto-ranging statement. Neither changes the decision for most buyers. Neither meter carries our Hands-on Tested badge; this page is desk research against Fluke's spec tabs, the 110 Series datasheet and the official Amazon listings.
Fluke 114 vs 116 comparison, spec by spec
| Spec | Fluke 114 | Fluke 116 | Same? |
|---|---|---|---|
| AC volts, True RMS | To 600.0 V, ±(1.0% + 3) | To 600.0 V, ±(1.0% + 3) | Same |
| DC volts | To 600.0 V, ±(0.5% + 2) | To 600.0 V, ±(0.5% + 2) | Same |
| AutoVolt LoZ | About 3 kΩ, AC/DC auto | About 3 kΩ, AC/DC auto | Same |
| Resistance | To 40.00 MΩ | To 40.00 MΩ | Same |
| Continuity | Beeps below 20 Ω | Beeps below 20 Ω | Same |
| Microamps | No | 600.0 µA AC/DC | 116 only |
| DC µA accuracy | Not applicable | ±(1.0% + 2) | 116 only |
| Temperature | No | Type K, 0.1 °C steps, ±(1% + 10) | 116 only |
| Capacitance | Not listed | To 9,999 µF | 116 only |
| Frequency | Not listed | To 50.00 kHz | 116 only |
| Amps / milliamps | No | No | Same |
| Safety rating | CAT III 600V | CAT III 600V | Same |
| Temperature probe in the box | No | 80BK | 116 only |
The two charts count rows from the tables on this page, not Fluke figures. The 116's temperature line excludes probe error, so the 80BK adds its own tolerance on top. Everything else in the table comes straight from Fluke's spec tabs, with the 114's missing functions marked "Not listed" where Fluke simply doesn't mention them.
The electrician's view: what the 116's extras are worth
For a wiring electrician, the 116's additions mostly sit unused. A receptacle check, a ghost reading on a switch leg, a continuity test on a home run and a resistance check on a baseboard heating element are the same on both meters, because the voltage, LoZ and resistance lines are identical. The microamp jack and thermocouple input exist for gas heating equipment.
Capacitance is the exception that can tip an electrician toward the 116. Ceiling fans with a slow speed, bath fans that hum and condenser fans on a service call all point at a run capacitor, and the 114 can't read one. Frequency helps too if you check portable or standby generators. If those calls are rare, the 114's shorter dial is a fair trade; if they come up monthly, the 116 earns its place even without a furnace in sight.
| Function | Fluke 114 | Fluke 116 |
|---|---|---|
| True RMS AC volts | Yes | Yes |
| DC volts | Yes | Yes |
| Millivolts | AC and DC | DC |
| AutoVolt LoZ | Yes | Yes |
| Resistance | Yes | Yes |
| Continuity | Yes | Yes |
| Min/Max/Avg | Yes, elapsed time | Yes |
| Microamps | No | Yes |
| Temperature | No | Yes |
| Capacitance | No | Yes |
| Frequency | No | Yes |
The HVAC technician's view: why the 114 falls short
On heating and cooling equipment the picture flips. Take a typical no-heat or no-cool call and count the readings a technician reaches for. The 114 handles the voltage side well, including thermostat wiring where its LoZ position sorts induced voltage on spare conductors from a real 24 V call. It stops at the components.
| HVAC service check | Fluke 114 | Fluke 116 |
|---|---|---|
| Line voltage at the disconnect | Yes | Yes |
| 24 V transformer secondary | Yes | Yes |
| Induced voltage on thermostat wire | AutoVolt LoZ | AutoVolt LoZ |
| Igniter or heating element ohms | Yes | Yes |
| Run or start capacitor | No | Yes, µF |
| Furnace flame-rod current | No | 600.0 µA range |
| Supply and return air temperature | No | Type K, 80BK probe |
| Blower or compressor amps | Clamp meter | Clamp meter |
The three rows the 116 adds are the ones that find failed parts. A burner that lights and drops out points at the flame signal; our guide to measuring microamps with a multimeter covers the series hookup, and the Fluke 116 vs Fluke 115 page works through flame-signal and temperature accuracy in detail. For the voltage rows, see checking a 24 V transformer, which either meter handles.
Can the 116 tell you a capacitor is out of tolerance?
This is the 116 function electricians and HVAC technicians share, so it is worth checking that the accuracy is good enough. Run capacitors are commonly labeled with a tolerance such as ±6%. Take an illustrative 35 µF capacitor with that marking: the acceptable band is 35 × 0.94 = 32.9 µF to 35 × 1.06 = 37.1 µF.
| Illustrative reading | 116 allowance, ±(1.9% + 2) | Possible true value | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|
| 35.0 µF | 0.67 + 0.2 = ±0.87 µF | 34.1 to 35.9 µF | In tolerance |
| 33.5 µF | 0.64 + 0.2 = ±0.84 µF | 32.7 to 34.3 µF | Borderline: recheck |
| 31.0 µF | 0.59 + 0.2 = ±0.79 µF | 30.2 to 31.8 µF | Out of tolerance |
The 2-count term assumes the 100.0 µF range with 0.1 µF steps. Readings well inside or well outside the band are clear; one within about 1 µF of the edge deserves a second reading after the capacitor has been discharged and isolated. The 114 can only show whether a capacitor is shorted on its resistance ranges, which is not a capacitance test. Our guide to testing a fan motor capacitor gives the full procedure.
Neither one measures load current
Fluke 114
Two jacks, COM and +. No current function at all.
Fluke 116
A µA input that tops out at 600.0 µA, under a milliamp.
What that means
Motor, blower, compressor and appliance amps need a clamp.
If you want amps
The 117 adds 6 A and 10 A ranges but no µA or temperature.
It is easy to read "µA" on the 116's dial and assume it covers current in general. It doesn't: 600.0 µA is 0.0006 A, far below a 24 V control load, let alone a motor. Buyers coming from the 114 sometimes expect the 116 to fill that gap, and it won't. In practice both meters ride in a bag with a clamp meter; our clamp meter buying guide covers that second tool. If one meter with amps matters more than microamps, compare the Fluke 114 vs Fluke 117 or Fluke 116 vs Fluke 117.
Which should you buy?
| You are… | Better fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Residential or commercial electrician | Fluke 114 | Voltage, LoZ and continuity cover the work |
| New-construction installer | Fluke 114 | Nothing on the 116's extra positions gets used |
| HVAC service technician | Fluke 116 | Flame-rod µA, temperature and capacitors |
| Electrician who also services furnaces | Fluke 116 | Same electrical core plus the heating functions |
| Electrician who replaces fan capacitors | Fluke 116 | The 114 can't read µF |
| Facilities maintenance tech | Fluke 116 | Boilers, air handlers and capacitors on one meter |
| Anyone who needs amps through the leads | Neither | Look at the Fluke 117, or add a clamp |
Compare current prices before deciding. Because the 116 covers every 114 function, a small price gap favors the 116 for anyone who touches HVAC equipment even occasionally. For broader shortlists, see the best multimeter for electricians and the best multimeter for HVAC technicians.
Notes on Fluke's published specs
Conflicts we found
Safety: CAT III 600V, and the µA jack is for control circuits only
Choose the Fluke 114 if…
- ✓Your day is receptacles, switch legs, feeders and panels, not heating equipment
- ✓You want the shortest dial in the series, with LoZ and nothing you won't use
- ✓You carry a clamp meter for current and never need to read a capacitor
Choose the Fluke 116 if…
- ✓You check gas furnace flame sensors, which need a microamp range
- ✓You want supply, return or line temperature without a second instrument
- ✓You test run and start capacitors on condensers, blowers and pumps
The bottom line
Electricians who only check voltage, continuity and resistance on building wiring are well served by the Fluke 114, with its AutoVolt LoZ and short dial. Anyone who works on furnaces, air conditioners or motor capacitors should buy the Fluke 116: it keeps every 114 function and adds microamps, temperature, capacitance and frequency. Pair either with a clamp meter, because neither reads amps.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Fluke 116 just a Fluke 114 with HVAC functions?+
Close to it. Per Fluke's spec tabs, the 116 has every measurement the 114 has, with the same voltage accuracy, AutoVolt LoZ input and 40 MΩ resistance, and adds a 600.0 µA range, Type K temperature, capacitance and frequency. The 114 lists AC millivolts and states auto-ranging explicitly; the 116 page we used does not.
Does the Fluke 114 measure temperature?+
No. The 114's spec tab carries a temperature footnote, but no temperature function or range is listed, and the meter has no thermocouple input. In the 110 Series, Fluke's datasheet gives temperature to the 116 only, which reads -40 to 400 °C with a Type K probe and ships with the 80BK.
Can the Fluke 114 test a run capacitor?+
No. Capacitance isn't among the 114's functions, so it can only show whether a capacitor is shorted on a resistance range. The 116 measures up to 9,999 µF at ±(1.9% + 2), which is tight enough to compare most run capacitors against the tolerance printed on the can.
Can either the Fluke 114 or 116 measure amps?+
Not load current. The 114 has no current function. The 116's only current input reads up to 600.0 µA, intended for flame sensors and small control currents. For blower, compressor or appliance current, use a clamp meter, or choose the Fluke 117, which has 6 A and 10 A ranges.
Do the Fluke 114 and 116 both have LoZ?+
Yes. Both have the AutoVolt position, which selects AC or DC and drops the input to about 3 kΩ so coupled ghost voltage drains away. Fluke gives the same ±(2.0% + 3) accuracy on the 600.0 V range for both, so they behave identically on spare thermostat conductors or abandoned branch wiring.
Which is better for a furnace that won't stay lit?+
The Fluke 116. A burner that lights and then shuts down often has a weak flame signal, and the only way to read it is a microamp range in series with the flame rod. The 116's 600.0 µA range resolves 0.1 µA steps. The 114 can confirm voltages and check igniter resistance but can't read the flame signal.
Related



