COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 289 vs Fluke 179: Which Is Better for Industrial Maintenance?

For industrial maintenance, the Fluke 179 is the better everyday meter for most technicians, and the Fluke 289 is the better tool for the faults that don't show up while you're standing there. Both carry CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V, both are True RMS and both read temperature. The 289 adds unattended recording with timestamps, a low-pass filter for drive outputs, LoZ, a microamp range and 50,000 counts; the 179 is half the weight, simpler to use and runs on one 9 V battery.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 289 True RMS logging multimeter for industrial maintenance, front view
Best for Low Resistance

Fluke 289

4.7★★★★★

The only handheld here with a 50 Ω range at 1 mΩ resolution, plus 0.01 µA current resolution and on-screen trend logging.

Fluke 179 True RMS multimeter with thermocouple, front view
Best for Industrial Work

Fluke 179

4.7★★★★★

Fluke's do-everything bench-and-field meter: CAT IV 600V, True RMS, temperature and a 6,000-count display with bar graph.

Specs side by side

Fluke 289Fluke 179
Rating4.7★★★★★4.7★★★★★
AccuracyTrue RMS, 0.025% basic DC VTrue RMS
Safety ratingCAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000VCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
Auto-rangingYes (manual override)Yes (manual override)
Best forLow-ohm, µA and logged electronics workIndustrial maintenance, electronics, HVAC
Display50,000 counts6,000 counts, analog bar graph
DC volts accuracy±(0.025% + 2)±(0.09% + 2)
AC volts accuracy±(0.3% + 25) at 45–65 Hz±(1.0% + 3)
RecordingUp to 10,000 intervals plus events, real-time clockMin/Max-Average, Auto Hold
Low-pass filterYes, blocks above 1 kHz (manual ranging)Not listed by Fluke
LoZ (ghost voltage)Yes, 3.2 kΩ AC volts inputNot listed by Fluke
Peak capture250 µsNot listed by Fluke
Finest current step0.01 µA (500 µA range)0.01 mA; no µA range
Resistance50 Ω range at 0.001 Ω; up to 500 MΩUp to 50 MΩ
Capacitance1 nF to 100 mFUp to 10,000 µF (one Fluke table: 9,999 µF)
Frequency0.5 Hz to 999.99 kHzUp to 100 kHz
Temperature-200 to 1350 °C, excluding probe-40 to 400 °C, 80BK probe included
PC transferIR link, FlukeView FormsNone listed
Battery6 AA; 100 h minimum, 200 h loggingOne 9 V, about 200 h
Weight871 g420 g
IP rating / drop heightNot statedNot stated
WarrantyLifetime limitedLifetime

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →Recording: the 289 stores up to 10,000 time-stamped intervals plus events and graphs them on screen. The 179 keeps a running minimum, maximum and average, with no timeline.
  • →Drives: only the 289 has a low-pass filter (it blocks content above 1 kHz and forces manual ranging). Fluke lists no filter for the 179.
  • →Low current: the 289 resolves 0.01 µA on its 500 µA range. The 179's finest step is 0.01 mA and it has no microamp range.
  • →Ghost voltage: the 289 has a LoZ position with a 3.2 kΩ input; the 179 doesn't.
  • →Accuracy: DC volts is ±(0.025% + 2) on the 289 against ±(0.09% + 2) on the 179, on a 50,000-count display against 6,000 counts.
  • →Carrying it: the 179 weighs 420 g on one 9 V cell; the 289 weighs 871 g and takes six AA cells.
  • →Identical: CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V, True RMS, a thermocouple input and a lifetime warranty (Fluke calls the 289's a lifetime limited warranty).

The maintenance question in one table

A maintenance technician doesn't buy a meter for a spec sheet. The useful test is which jobs on a typical plant shift each meter finishes on its own, and which ones send you back to the crib for another instrument. We put the common ones side by side using Fluke's published functions. Neither meter has been hands-on tested by OhmSavvy, so this is desk research against Fluke's manual and spec pages.

Shift taskFluke 289Fluke 179Edge
Verify 480 V at an MCC bucketCAT IV 600VCAT IV 600VEqual
Read a VFD output1 kHz low-pass filterNo filter listed289
Nuisance trip once a shiftTime-stamped recordingMin/Max-Average289
Ghost voltage on a spare conductorLoZ, 3.2 kΩNot listed289
4-20 mA transmitter check0.001 mA on the 50 mA range0.01 mA stepsEither
Flame-rod microamps on a burner0.01 µA stepsNo µA range289
Motor frame or bearing temperatureThermocouple input80BK probe includedEither
Contactor or busbar joint resistance50 Ω range, 0.001 ΩStandard ohms to 50 MΩ289
All-day carry on a tool belt871 g, 6 AA420 g, one 9 V179

The pattern is plain: the 179 matches the 289 on safety, True RMS and the routine verify-and-move-on tasks, and the 289 pulls ahead wherever time, filtering or very small quantities enter the job. How much that matters depends on how many drives and intermittent faults your site has.

Min/Max-Average versus a real recording

Both meters can sit on a circuit while you walk away, but they remember very different things. The 179's Min/Max-Average mode updates three registers: the lowest reading, the highest and a running average. When you come back you know a 24 V control supply sagged to some value, but not when, how often or for how long. The 289 records intervals and events against a real-time clock, up to 10,000 intervals in Fluke's manual, and plots them on its own screen so you can scroll back through the shift.

Fluke 179: Min/Max-AverageMIN 21.6 VMAX 24.2 VAVG 23.9 VFluke 289: recorded intervals and events06:0018:0021.6 V07:4222.9 V11:1521.9 V14:03Illustrative values. Three numbers versus a timeline you can match to the machine log.
Illustrative values, not a recording. The 179 tells you the worst sag; the 289 tells you each sag and the time it happened.

That timeline is what turns a recurring fault into a work order you can close. If the dips line up with a compressor start or a press cycle, you know where to look. A minimum value alone confirms there's a problem but leaves you guessing at the cause. The 289's IR link also moves the record into FlukeView Forms on a PC, which helps when a contractor, an OEM or a reliability engineer asks for evidence. For the general method, see our guide on finding an intermittent electrical fault.

When the 179's three numbers are enough

If you only need to prove a voltage stays inside a band across a cycle, such as a control transformer that should never drop below a relay's pick-up voltage, Min/Max-Average answers the question. You need the 289's recording when the answer depends on timing.

Accuracy at plant voltages

The 289 is the more precise instrument on paper, by a wide margin. Fluke lists ±(0.025% + 2) DC on its lower ranges and ±(0.3% + 25) AC at 45–65 Hz; the 179 is ±(0.09% + 2) DC and ±(1.0% + 3) AC. A percentage is easier to judge as volts, so here is the worst-case allowance at two readings, using the resolution of the range each reading falls on.

ReadingFluke 289 allowanceFluke 179 allowance
24.000 V DC control supply0.006 + 0.002 = ±0.008 V0.022 + 0.02 = ±0.042 V
480.0 V AC, 60 Hz feeder1.44 + 0.25 = ±1.69 V4.8 + 0.3 = ±5.1 V
Fluke 289
±0.008 V
Fluke 179
±0.042 V
Worst-case allowance on a 24 V DC reading, from Fluke's accuracy lines. Lower is better.
Fluke 289
±1.69 V
Fluke 179
±5.1 V
Worst-case allowance on a 480 V AC reading at 60 Hz. Lower is better.

The arithmetic: 0.025% of 24 V is 0.006 V, plus 2 counts of 0.001 V on the 289's 50.000 V range; the 179's 0.09% is 0.0216 V, plus 2 counts of 0.01 V on its 60.00 V range. At 480 V the 289 sits on its 500.00 V range (25 counts of 0.01 V), the 179 on its 600.0 V range (3 counts of 0.1 V). These are limits from published specs, not measurements. For a go/no-go check on a 480 V feeder, ±5.1 V is perfectly usable; the 289's margin matters when you trend slow drift or check a transducer's output.

Drives, LoZ and the CAT rating

The CAT rating is a tie. Both are rated CAT III 1000V and CAT IV 600V, so either can go from the service entrance down to a machine's control panel. The split comes from the 289's two field functions. Its low-pass filter blocks AC content above 1 kHz so a drive's output reads close to the fundamental the motor responds to; with the filter on, the meter switches to manual ranging. Fluke lists no such filter for the 179, so on a PWM drive output its True RMS reading includes the switching energy and can sit well away from the value the drive's own display shows.

LoZ is the second. On long cable runs in trays, an isolated conductor picks up voltage capacitively from its live neighbors, and a 10 MΩ meter input shows it as a real-looking reading. The 289's LoZ position loads the line with about 3.2 kΩ and collapses that phantom. A 179 user has to reason it out or carry a separate tester. The 289 also lists 250 µs peak capture, which Fluke doesn't list for the 179.

Filter and LoZ have limits

Fluke warns not to use the low-pass filter to decide whether voltage is present, because it can hide some of it: test unfiltered first. Don't use LoZ on circuits that a roughly 3 kΩ load could disturb or damage. Whatever the CAT rating, follow your site's lockout/tagout and arc-flash rules, and prove the meter on a known live source before and after a dead test. Drive DC bus capacitors can stay charged after isolation.

Current, temperature and resistance on the plant floor

Current is where the 179 runs out first. Its finest step is 0.01 mA and it has no microamp range, which is fine for a 4-20 mA loop (0.01 mA is 0.0625% of the 16 mA span) but rules out flame-rod current on burner management systems, typically a few microamps. The 289's 500 µA range resolves 0.01 µA, and its 50 mA range resolves 0.001 mA for loop work. Both top out at 10 A, so motor current still goes to a clamp meter.

Fluke 289
0.01 µA
Fluke 179
0.01 mA

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Finest current step, log scale. The 289 resolves 1,000 times smaller steps than the 179.

Temperature is closer than the ranges suggest. The 289 accepts -200 to 1350 °C excluding the probe, the 179 -40 to 400 °C, and Fluke ships the 179 with the 80BK bead probe. Our data doesn't say whether a probe comes with the 289. Motor frames, bearings, enclosures and panel hot spots all sit inside the 179's range; the 289's reach only helps with a suitable high-temperature probe on ovens, kilns or cryogenic lines.

On resistance the 289 has a 50 Ω range that resolves 0.001 Ω using up to 10 mA of test current, with REL to subtract the leads. That makes it possible to compare contact resistance across a contactor's poles or a bolted busbar joint. It's still two-terminal, not four-wire Kelvin. The 179 reads up to 50 MΩ with no low-ohm range, adequate for continuity, coils and heater elements. Our low-resistance meter guide covers dedicated alternatives.

Weight, batteries and daily carry

Fluke lists the 289 at 871 g on six AA cells, rated 100 hours minimum and 200 hours in logging mode. The 179 weighs 420 g on one 9 V battery, about 200 hours. Neither spec source we use gives an IP rating or drop height, so we don't rank them on ruggedness. Both carry lifetime warranties, so long-term support is a wash.

Fluke 289
871 g
Fluke 179
420 g
Weight per Fluke. The 179 is less than half the 289's mass.

In practice many maintenance departments solve this by owning both: a 179-class meter for every technician and a 289 kept in the shop for the faults that need a recording. If you can only carry one, decide by how often you face drives and intermittent faults.

Which should you buy?

ScenarioBetter fitDeciding spec
Plant with many variable-frequency drivesFluke 289Low-pass filter, 250 µs peak
Trips or resets nobody can catch liveFluke 289Time-stamped recording
Reliability reports and OEM warranty claimsFluke 289Logged data to FlukeView Forms
Burner and boiler flame-rod checksFluke 289500 µA range at 0.01 µA
Facilities rounds: lighting, HVAC, pumpsFluke 179Same CAT IV 600V, lighter, simpler
Bearing and motor temperaturesFluke 17980BK probe in the box
Apprentice or second-shift meterFluke 179Fewer modes, one 9 V battery
Service entrance and switchgearEitherCAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V on both

Who should buy or skip each

Buy the 289

Controls and reliability techs who need evidence of when a fault happened.

Skip the 289

If you diagnose live and never leave a meter connected; you'd carry extra weight for nothing.

Buy the 179

Maintenance generalists on fixed-speed motors, lighting, heaters and HVAC.

Skip the 179

If drives, flame rods or overnight logging are part of every week.

If the choice is really between two field meters, read Fluke 87V vs Fluke 179; the 87V adds a drive filter and peak capture without the logging. For the 289 against the 87V, see Fluke 87V vs Fluke 289, and for the 289 against its bench sibling, see Fluke 289 vs Fluke 287. Both meters also appear in our best multimeter for electricians and 4-20 mA loop testing guides.

Choose the Fluke 289 if…

  • ✓You chase nuisance trips, sags and dropouts that happen between rounds, not while you watch
  • ✓You measure variable-frequency drive outputs and want a low-pass filter on the meter
  • ✓You also need microamps, LoZ for ghost voltage, or milliohm contact checks in one instrument

Choose the Fluke 179 if…

  • ✓Your shift is mostly verifying voltage, current, continuity and temperature on fixed-speed equipment
  • ✓Min/Max-Average is enough to confirm a sag happened, and you don't need to know when
  • ✓You want a lighter meter on a single 9 V battery, with the same CAT IV 600V rating

The bottom line

Buy the Fluke 179 as the everyday industrial maintenance meter: same CAT IV 600V protection, True RMS, an included temperature probe and a lifetime warranty, at less than half the weight. Buy the Fluke 289 when your work includes drives, intermittent trips you can't watch for, flame-rod microamps or reports that need recorded data. It is a troubleshooting and documentation instrument, not a lighter daily meter.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Fluke 289 better than the Fluke 179 for industrial maintenance?+

For drive work and intermittent faults, yes: the 289 adds a 1 kHz low-pass filter, time-stamped recording, LoZ and a microamp range. For routine rounds the 179 does the same core jobs with the same CAT IV 600V rating, at 420 g against 871 g. Many sites keep one 289 in the shop and give each technician a 179-class meter.

Does the Fluke 179 have data logging?+

No. It has Min/Max-Average and Auto Hold, which keep the lowest, highest and average readings but not when they happened. Fluke lists no recording memory, clock or PC link for it. The Fluke 289 records up to 10,000 intervals plus events against a real-time clock and transfers them over its IR link.

Can the Fluke 179 measure VFD output voltage?+

It will show a True RMS number, but Fluke lists no low-pass filter for the 179, so the reading includes the drive's switching energy and may not match what the motor sees. The 289 has a filter that blocks content above 1 kHz, which brings the reading close to the fundamental. Measure unfiltered first to confirm voltage is present.

Do the Fluke 289 and 179 have the same safety rating?+

Yes. Fluke rates both CAT III 1000V and CAT IV 600V, so either is suitable from the service entrance and switchgear down to machine control panels. The rating covers transient protection only; lockout/tagout, arc-flash PPE and proving the meter on a known live source still apply on every job.

Can the Fluke 179 measure microamps for flame sensors?+

No. The 179's finest current step is 0.01 mA and Fluke's spec table lists no microamp range, though one comparison table on Fluke's page mentions µA. We follow the spec table. Flame-rod signals are typically a few microamps, so you need the 289's 500 µA range, which resolves 0.01 µA, or another meter with a µA input.

How long do the batteries last in the Fluke 289 and 179?+

Fluke lists the 289 at 100 hours minimum on six AA cells, rising to 200 hours in logging mode, and the 179 at about 200 hours on one 9 V battery. For a multi-day recording run on the 289, start with fresh cells, because a flat battery ends the record early.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews