COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS
Fluke 27 II vs Fluke 179: Rugged Design or Everyday Versatility?
In this Fluke 27 II vs 179 comparison the split is simple: the 27 II is the one to take somewhere wet, dusty, cold or high up, and the 179 is the one that handles more kinds of measurement on an ordinary day. Fluke rates the 27 II IP67 with a 3 m drop and MSHA approval, and it reads down to 0.1 µA. The 179 counters with True RMS AC, a thermocouple input and a body that weighs roughly 280 g less. Both share CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V, 6,000 counts and a lifetime warranty.
By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·
Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 27 II
4.4★★★★☆The 28 II's IP67, 3 m-drop body with average-responding AC, for harsh sites where the loads are plain sine waves.

Fluke 179
4.7★★★★★Fluke's do-everything bench-and-field meter: CAT IV 600V, True RMS, temperature and a 6,000-count display with bar graph.
Specs side by side
| Fluke 27 II | Fluke 179 | |
|---|---|---|
| Rating | 4.4★★★★☆ | 4.7★★★★★ |
| Accuracy | Average responding, ±(0.1% + 1) DC V | True RMS |
| Safety rating | CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V |
| Auto-ranging | Yes (manual RANGE) | Yes (manual override) |
| Best for | Wet, dusty or cold sites with sine-wave loads | Industrial maintenance, electronics, HVAC |
| AC conversion | Average responding (per Amazon title) | True RMS |
| Display | 6,000 counts, bar graph, backlight | 6,000 counts, 33-segment bar graph, backlight |
| DC volts accuracy | ±(0.1% + 1) | ±(0.09% + 2) |
| AC volts accuracy | ±(0.5% + 3), 40 Hz to 30 kHz | ±(1.0% + 3); bandwidth not stated |
| Current | 0.1 µA to 10 A (20 A for 30 s) | 0.01 mA to 10 A; no µA range |
| Resistance | 0.1 Ω to 50 MΩ | Up to 50 MΩ |
| Capacitance | 1 nF to 9999 µF | Up to 10,000 µF (one Fluke table: 9,999 µF) |
| Frequency | 0.5 Hz to 199.99 kHz | Up to 100 kHz |
| Temperature | Not listed | −40 to 400 °C, 80BK probe included |
| Recording | Min/Max/Avg, hold, relative | Min/Max-Average, Hold, Auto Hold |
| Sealing / drop | IP67, 3 m (10 ft) | Not stated |
| MSHA approval | Yes | Not stated |
| Operating temperature | −15 to +55 °C; −40 °C for 20 min | Not stated |
| Battery | 3 × AA, about 800 h | One 9 V, about 200 h without backlight |
| Weight | 698.5 g with holster | 420 g |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime | Lifetime |
Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.
Key differences
- →Environment: Fluke publishes IP67, a 3 m drop rating, MSHA approval and a −40 °C excursion for the 27 II. None of those figures appear in our 179 sources.
- →AC method: the 179 is True RMS; the 27 II is sold as an average-responding (AVG) meter, so it is only trustworthy on clean sine waves.
- →Low current: the 27 II resolves 0.1 µA. The 179 stops at 0.01 mA, a step 100 times coarser, and has no microamp range.
- →Temperature: the 179 reads −40 to 400 °C with its included 80BK probe; Fluke lists no temperature function for the 27 II.
- →Carry and power: the 179 weighs 420 g on a single 9 V cell rated for about 200 hours; the 27 II weighs 698.5 g in its holster and runs about 800 hours on three AA cells.
- →Identical: CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V, 6,000 counts with a bar graph and backlight, a 50 MΩ resistance ceiling, 10 A current and a lifetime warranty.
Where each meter is meant to work
Fluke built these two for different places. The 27 II's spec sheet reads like an environmental certificate: dust-tight and protected against temporary immersion, survives a fall from 3 m, keeps working from −15 to +55 °C and tolerates −40 °C for twenty minutes. The 179's sheet spends its lines on functions instead: True RMS, a thermocouple input, Auto Hold. Where Fluke leaves a line blank in our sources, the table below says so rather than guessing.
| Condition | Fluke 27 II | Fluke 179 |
|---|---|---|
| Rain, hose-down or a dropped-in-a-puddle meter | IP67 | Not stated |
| Falls from a ladder or lift | 3 m (10 ft) rated | Not stated |
| Underground coal or metal mine | MSHA approved | Not stated |
| Winter outdoor work | −15 °C; −40 °C for 20 min | Not stated |
| Heat | Up to +55 °C | Not stated |
| Service entrance, outdoor feeders | CAT IV 600V | CAT IV 600V |
"Not stated" isn't the same as "fails." It means you can't point to a number if a safety officer or a mine inspector asks. That paperwork is often the real reason crews buy the 27 II: on an MSHA site, an unlisted meter may simply not be allowed past the portal. If your work never leaves a dry building, these rows matter far less than the function list further down.
On a clean sine, the rugged meter is tighter on paper
It's easy to assume the meter with more features is also the more accurate one. Fluke's headline lines say otherwise for clean signals. The 27 II lists ±(0.1% + 1) on DC volts and ±(0.5% + 3) on AC volts; the 179 lists ±(0.09% + 2) and ±(1.0% + 3). Working them out on two common readings shows where each one lands.
| Reading | Fluke 27 II band | Fluke 179 band | How it's worked |
|---|---|---|---|
| 12.00 V DC (60.00 V range) | ±0.022 V | ±0.031 V | 0.1% or 0.09% of 12 V, plus 1 or 2 counts of 0.01 V |
| 277.0 V AC sine (600.0 V range) | ±1.69 V | ±3.07 V | 0.5% or 1.0% of 277 V, plus 3 counts of 0.1 V |
On a 12 V DC control circuit the difference is a few hundredths of a volt either way, which won't change a diagnosis. On a 277 V commercial lighting branch the 27 II's band is close to half the 179's. That advantage only exists while the waveform is a true sine. These are headline lines applied to the range a 6,000-count meter would select, not per-range guarantees, so read them as illustrative.
The moment the waveform stops being a sine
An average-responding meter assumes the AC it sees is sinusoidal and scales its reading on that assumption. Variable-frequency drive outputs, the current drawn by switch-mode supplies and LED drivers, and loaded neutrals in offices full of computers all break it. On those circuits the 27 II's tight paper spec stops meaning anything, and the 179's True RMS reading becomes the one to trust. We drew the error for square and pulse shapes on our Fluke 27 II vs 28 II page, so we won't repeat it here.
A quick way to sort your own work
Microamps and temperature: one exclusive function each
Here the versatility story flips. The "basic" rugged meter has the low-current range, and the "versatile" one lacks it. Fluke specifies the 27 II from 0.1 µA up to 10 A, while the 179's finest current step is 0.01 mA (10 µA) and there's no dedicated microamp position. In return, only the 179 has a temperature function.
Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.
Who notices the current gap? Anyone checking a flame-rectification signal on a furnace or the standby draw of a battery-powered sensor. A 10 µA step can't show a 2 µA reading at all. Who notices the temperature gap? HVAC technicians measuring supply and return air, and maintenance staff checking a warm bearing housing or a breaker lug. Fluke rates the 179's temperature input at ±(1.0% + 10) from −40 to 400 °C. One repo page gives the bundled 80BK probe's own rating as −40 to 260 °C; another says the 179 page doesn't state it, so check the probe before measuring anything hotter. For more meters with a true microamp range, see our microamp meter guide.
Battery life, weight and what you carry all day
Put those hours in calendar terms. At two hours of meter-on time per working day, 800 hours is about 400 workdays, more than a year and a half between battery changes. The 179's 200 hours is about 100 workdays, and less if you lean on the backlight. AA cells are also easier to find on a remote site than a fresh 9 V. The trade is mass: the 27 II's 698.5 g with holster is roughly two-thirds heavier than the 179's 420 g, which you feel on a tool belt by the end of a shift. Since the 179's figure may exclude a holster, the real gap could be somewhat smaller.
Which should you buy?
| Your situation | Better fit | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Underground mining crew | Fluke 27 II | MSHA approved, IP67, 3 m drop |
| Plant with VFDs and soft starters | Fluke 179 | True RMS on distorted AC |
| HVAC service, residential and light commercial | Fluke 179 | Temperature probe included; lighter |
| Furnace flame-sensor checks | Fluke 27 II | 0.1 µA resolution; the 179 has no µA range |
| Outdoor utility, irrigation or marine work | Fluke 27 II | Sealed body and winter rating |
| Heavy-equipment and fleet DC diagnostics | Fluke 27 II | Mostly DC; drop-rated; long AA life |
| Electronics bench and building maintenance | Fluke 179 | True RMS, temperature, Auto Hold |
| Wet site with drives and electronic loads | Neither ideal | Consider the True RMS, IP67 Fluke 28 II |
That last row is where many buyers land. If you want the 27 II's body and the 179's True RMS and temperature, the 28 II combines them; we compare it with Fluke's flagship in Fluke 27 II vs 87V MAX. If the 179's feature set is more than you need, the Fluke 177 vs 179 page shows what dropping temperature saves.
Who should skip each meter
Skip the 27 II if you measure the output side of drives, UPS units or inverters, if you want temperature in the same tool, or if you work mostly indoors and would rather not carry the extra weight. Its ruggedness is real, but it doesn't fix average-responding readings on distorted AC.
Skip the 179 if you need microamps, if your employer requires an MSHA-listed or IP-rated instrument, or if the meter routinely gets dropped from height or soaked. Neither meter lists a low-pass filter or peak capture; for those, look at the Fluke 87V vs 179 comparison. Neither is owner-tested by OhmSavvy: both ratings come from desk research against Fluke's published specifications.
Safety: rated meters, rated habits
Choose the Fluke 27 II if…
- ✓Your meter lives in rain, wash-down areas, mines or a truck bed, where IP67 and a 3 m drop rating earn their keep
- ✓Your site requires MSHA-approved instruments
- ✓You need a microamp reading (0.1 µA resolution) and the 179's 0.01 mA floor is too coarse
Choose the Fluke 179 if…
- ✓You measure drives, LED drivers, UPS outputs or other electronic loads, where True RMS matters
- ✓You want temperature readings from the included 80BK thermocouple
- ✓You work indoors most days and would rather carry 420 g than about 700 g
The bottom line
Choose the Fluke 27 II when the environment is the hardest part of the job: IP67, a 3 m drop rating, MSHA approval, microamp resolution and about 800 hours on AA cells, as long as your AC loads are plain sine waves. Choose the Fluke 179 when the variety of measurements is the hard part: True RMS, a thermocouple input and a lighter body make it the better all-rounder indoors.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Fluke 27 II True RMS?+
No. The official Amazon listing calls it the "Fluke 27II AVG Multimeter", meaning average responding, and Fluke's own spec page doesn't claim True RMS. It reads clean sine waves accurately, but on drive outputs or switch-mode loads the reading can be well off. The Fluke 179 is True RMS.
Is the Fluke 179 waterproof or drop rated?+
Our Fluke sources for the 179 don't state an IP rating or a drop height, so we can't call it waterproof. The 27 II is rated IP67, which means dust-tight and protected against temporary immersion, and it is drop rated to 3 m (10 ft). If a sealed body matters to you, only the 27 II has the published numbers.
Can the Fluke 179 measure microamps for a flame sensor?+
Not usefully. Its finest current step is 0.01 mA, which is 10 µA, and it has no microamp range, while flame-sensor signals are usually a few microamps. The Fluke 27 II resolves 0.1 µA and is the better choice of these two for that check. Our microamp meter guide lists other options.
Does the Fluke 27 II have a temperature function?+
Fluke doesn't list one, and no thermocouple is mentioned in its box contents. If you need temperature from the same meter, the Fluke 179 includes an 80BK probe and reads −40 to 400 °C at ±(1.0% + 10). The sealed Fluke 28 II adds temperature to the 27 II's rugged body.
Which has the longer battery life, the 27 II or the 179?+
The 27 II, by a wide margin on paper. Fluke rates it at about 800 hours on three AA cells, against about 200 hours on one 9 V battery for the 179, measured without the backlight. At two hours a day that's roughly 400 workdays against 100 between changes.
Are the Fluke 27 II and 179 equally safe for panel work?+
They share the same rating: CAT IV 600V and CAT III 1000V, which covers service entrances, outdoor feeders and distribution panels. The safety difference is about the environment, not the category. Only the 27 II publishes IP67 sealing and MSHA approval, which some wet or underground sites require.
Related


