COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 113 vs Fluke 179: Which Multimeter Offers More Useful Features?

The Fluke 179 offers far more useful features for nearly every buyer: True RMS volts and amps to 10 A, a temperature probe, frequency to 100 kHz, high-impedance volts to 1000 V and resistance to 50 MΩ. The Fluke 113 has exactly one feature the 179 lacks, its VCHEK low-impedance voltage test that falls back to a continuity beep on a dead circuit, and that single trick is only worth choosing if proving power wiring live or dead is your entire workload. This Fluke 113 vs 179 comparison sorts every function by who actually uses it.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 113 utility multimeter showing the VCHEK and low impedance dial markings
Best Fluke Utility Meter with VCHEK

Fluke 113

4.4★★★★☆

A 6000-count utility meter built around VCHEK: one LoZ dial position that reads voltage and drops to continuity when the circuit is dead.

Fluke 179 True RMS multimeter with backlit display and analog bar graph, front view
Best for Industrial Work

Fluke 179

4.7★★★★★

Fluke's do-everything bench-and-field meter: CAT IV 600V, True RMS, temperature and a 6,000-count display with bar graph.

Specs side by side

Fluke 113Fluke 179
Rating4.4★★★★☆4.7★★★★★
AccuracyTrue RMS, ±(2.0% + 3) VCHEK voltsTrue RMS
Safety ratingCAT IV 600V (per Fluke)CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
Auto-rangingYes (manual override)Yes (manual override)
Best forUtility and ghost-voltage checksIndustrial maintenance, electronics, HVAC
Volts inputVCHEK LoZ only, about 3 kΩHigh impedance, no LoZ listed
Highest voltage600 V1000 V
DC volts accuracy±(2.0% + 3)±(0.09% + 2)
AC volts accuracy±(2.0% + 3), 45–500 Hz±(1.0% + 3)
CurrentNone (two jacks)0.01 mA to 10 A, no µA range
Resistance600 Ω to 60 kΩUp to 50 MΩ
Capacitance1,000 nF to 9,999 µFUp to 10,000 µF (one Fluke table: 9,999 µF)
FrequencyNot statedUp to 100 kHz
TemperatureNone−40 °C to 400 °C, 80BK probe included
Bar graphNot stated33-segment analog bar graph
Hold / recordingMin/MaxMin/Max-Average, Auto Hold
Safety ratingCAT IV 600V per Fluke (Amazon: CAT III 600V / CAT IV 300V)CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V
Battery9 V, about 300 h9 V, about 200 h
Weight404 g420 g
WarrantyNot stated for a new unitLifetime

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →Volts: the 113 can only read voltage through VCHEK, a roughly 3 kΩ input that drains ghost voltage. The 179 has ordinary high-impedance volts to 1000 V and Fluke lists no LoZ mode for it.
  • →Current: the 179 reads 0.01 mA steps up to 10 A. The 113 has two jacks and no current function of any kind.
  • →Temperature and frequency: the 179 reads −40 °C to 400 °C with the included 80BK probe and frequency to 100 kHz. The 113 has neither, and Fluke states no frequency spec for it.
  • →Resistance: the 179 reaches 50 MΩ against the 113's 60 kΩ, though on the kilohm ranges both carry the same ±(0.9% + 1) accuracy.
  • →Identical or nearly so: both are rated CAT IV 600V by Fluke, both use 6,000-count backlit displays and a 9 V battery, and they weigh 404 g and 420 g.
  • →Warranty: Fluke gives the 179 a lifetime warranty; it states no term for a new 113.

Counting features vs counting the ones you use

A feature only earns its keep if it answers a question you actually ask on the job. So rather than tally dial positions, the map below splits the two meters into three groups: what the 113 alone does, what the pair share, and what the 179 adds. The middle column is larger than most buyers expect, and the left column is a single idea.

Only the 113VCHEK LoZ volts≈3 kΩ inputDrops to continuitywhen circuit is deadGhost voltage drains404 gBoth metersCAT IV 600V6,000 countsBacklightMin/MaxCaps to ≈10,000 µFkΩ ohms ±(0.9% + 1)9 V batteryOnly the 179Amps to 10 ATemperature + 80BKFrequency 100 kHzHigh-Z volts, 1000 VOhms to 50 MΩAuto Hold, Min/Max-AvgLifetime warrantyBar graph
Feature overlap drawn from Fluke's published specifications. The shared column covers the safety rating, display and basic passive measurements.

Read the right column as a list of jobs. Amps covers motor loads, heater elements and the milliamp draw of a control board. Temperature covers bearings, breaker lugs, supply air and heat sinks. Frequency covers drive output checks and generator setups. High-impedance volts covers anything electronic. If none of those jobs appears in your week, the 179's advantage shrinks to accuracy, range and warranty; if two or more appear, the 113 isn't really a candidate.

The full function list, side by side

FunctionFluke 113Fluke 179Who uses it
LoZ voltage testYes, VCHEK ≈3 kΩNoElectricians chasing phantom readings
Volts with auto continuity fallbackYesNoUtility live/dead verification
High-impedance voltsNoYes, to 1000 VControls, sensors, electronics
CurrentNo0.01 mA to 10 AHVAC, appliance, motor, automotive
TemperatureNo−40 °C to 400 °CHVAC, maintenance, electronics
FrequencyNot statedTo 100 kHzDrives, generators, power supplies
ResistanceTo 60 kΩTo 50 MΩInsulation leakage hints, sensors
Capacitance1,000 nF to 9,999 µFTo 10,000 µFMotor run and start capacitors
ContinuityBeeps below 20 ΩNot in the specs we citeEveryone
Diode test2.000 V, ±(2.0% + 3)Not in the specs we citeElectronics
Hold and recordingMin/MaxMin/Max-Average, Auto HoldIntermittent faults
Bar graphNot stated33 segmentsWatching a reading settle or drift

Two rows on that list are blank for the 179 only because the Fluke spec lines we work from don't itemize continuity and diode figures for it, not because Fluke says they're absent. We'd rather mark them than guess. Every other cell comes from Fluke's spec tabs or the 113's official Amazon listing.

The 113's single exclusive: a voltmeter that can't be fooled

Pull a conductor off its breaker in a conduit shared with live circuits and a high-impedance meter like the 179 will often show tens of volts on it. That charge is coupled through the insulation and can't drive a load, but on the display it looks real. The 113 presents about 3 kΩ across its leads on VCHEK, which bleeds that coupled charge away so the reading collapses toward zero. Fluke lists no low-impedance mode for the 179, so its owner has to recognize the phantom some other way. Our explainer on voltage on a disconnected circuit covers why it happens.

The second half of VCHEK is what makes it quick. When no voltage is present, the same position turns into a continuity check that beeps below 20 Ω. Confirming that a feeder is dead and then confirming which conductor it is takes one dial setting instead of two.

That same low input is a handicap away from mains wiring. A 3 kΩ load drags down any weak source, and Fluke notes the 113's autorange needs at least 3 V DC before it registers, so thermostat signals, sensor outputs and logic rails are effectively off limits. The Fluke 113 vs Fluke 115 page works through that loading arithmetic, and Fluke 113 vs Fluke 117 looks at a meter that offers LoZ as a switchable option instead of the only way to read volts.

What the tighter accuracy means on real readings

Feature lists hide a quieter difference: how close each meter's voltage reading is guaranteed to be. Applying each published accuracy line to two common readings gives these worst-case bands. On a 6,000-count meter, 120 V sits on the 600.0 V range (one count is 0.1 V) and 24 V sits on the 60.00 V range (one count is 0.01 V).

113 VCHEK
±2.7 V
179 V AC
±1.5 V
Worst-case band on 120 V AC, ± volts. Lower is better. Arithmetic on Fluke specs.
113 VCHEK
±0.51 V
179 V DC
±0.04 V
Worst-case band on 24 V DC, ± volts. Lower is better. Arithmetic on Fluke specs.

The working: at 120 V the 113 allows 2.0% (2.4 V) plus 3 counts (0.3 V), so ±2.7 V; the 179 allows 1.0% (1.2 V) plus 3 counts, so ±1.5 V. At 24 V DC the 113 allows 0.48 V plus 0.03 V, about ±0.51 V; the 179 allows 0.09% (about 0.02 V) plus 2 counts (0.02 V), about ±0.04 V. For a live-or-dead decision, ±2.7 V on a 120 V circuit is irrelevant. For a voltage-drop calculation on a long branch circuit, or checking a 24 V control transformer against its nameplate, the 179's band is roughly a tenth as wide.

Resistance is the exception where the two match. On the 6 kΩ and 60 kΩ ranges both are specified at ±(0.9% + 1), so a thermistor or coil that fits inside 60 kΩ reads with equal confidence on either. Capacitance leans to the 179 at ±(1.2% + 2) against the 113's ±(1.9% + 2); on a 45 µF run capacitor the percentage part alone works out to about ±0.5 µF versus ±0.9 µF, a gap that rarely changes a pass-or-replace call.

Weight, battery and ratings: closer than the feature lists suggest

It's easy to assume the bigger feature set comes with a heavier, thirstier meter. The published numbers say otherwise. Fluke lists 404 g for the 113 and 420 g for the 179, a 16 g gap you won't feel on a belt. Both run on one 9 V battery; the 113 is rated about 300 hours and the 179 about 200 hours, so the simpler meter goes roughly half as long again between battery swaps.

Fluke 113
≈300 h
Fluke 179
≈200 h
Rated battery life on one 9 V cell, in hours, per Fluke. The simpler 113 lasts about 50% longer.

The safety ratings also overlap. Fluke rates both meters CAT IV 600V, which covers service drops and the line side of a meter base. The 179 adds CAT III 1000V, useful on higher-voltage DC or industrial equipment inside a building, and the 113 doesn't go past 600 V at all. Where the 179 pulls clearly ahead off the spec sheet is the warranty: lifetime, against no published term for a new 113.

Which should you buy?

Your situationBetter fitReason
Utility crew verifying de-energized linesFluke 113VCHEK reads live or dead, then beeps continuity
Electrician tracing circuits in crowded old conduitFluke 113LoZ input ignores coupled phantom voltage
Plant maintenance on motors and panelsFluke 179Amps to 10 A, temperature, 1000 V and frequency
HVAC service callsFluke 179Current, the 80BK probe and capacitance; no µA range on either
Electronics and control boardsFluke 179High-impedance volts and DC accuracy of ±(0.09% + 2)
Automotive and 12 V systemsFluke 179The 113 can't read current and needs 3 V DC to autorange
One meter for every job in the vanFluke 179It covers all but the LoZ test
Ghost voltage and amps in one toolNeither: see the 117LoZ on a switch plus current ranges

Skip the 113 if…

You will ever need current, temperature, frequency or readings on electronics. You also give up the published lifetime warranty and anything above 600 V. Its accuracy is set for go/no-go decisions, not measurement records.

Skip the 179 if…

Your whole day is proving conductors dead in shared raceways, where its high-impedance input shows phantom volts and it has no low-impedance setting. In that narrow role its extra functions sit unused and the 113's longer battery life is the better trade.

For the ladder below the 179, the Fluke 175 vs Fluke 179 comparison shows what each rung adds. If you want the 179's breadth plus a LoZ position, the Fluke 289 vs Fluke 179 page covers a logging meter with both, and the best multimeter for electricians guide lists the wider field.

Conflicting published specs to know about

Both meters carry at least one disagreement between sources. For the 113, Fluke's spec tab and the terminal markings give CAT IV 600V, while one Amazon bullet says CAT III 600V and CAT IV 300V; we follow Fluke. Its True RMS claim appears in the Amazon title and on the meter's front label but only in a footnote on Fluke's spec tab, and Fluke lists a 3-year term only for the reconditioned unit.

For the 179, Fluke's comparison table names µA as a function and gives 9,999 µF and a 400 °F temperature ceiling, while its detailed spec table gives 0.01 mA as the finest current step, 10,000 µF and 400 °C. We use the spec table, which means the 179 is not a flame-sensor meter; the Fluke 177 vs Fluke 179 page lays those rows out, and our microamp meter guide lists meters that do read a few microamps.

Safety: dead means tested, not assumed

Use either meter only within its rating: CAT IV 600V for both at the service entrance, and never above 600 V with the 113. A VCHEK check from hot to ground draws real current and can trip a GFCI or RCD, as Fluke warns, so test hot to neutral on protected circuits. A near-zero reading is not proof of a safe conductor on its own: prove the meter on a known live source, test, then prove it again. Inspect the leads before each use, and leave service-entrance and panel work to a licensed electrician if it isn't your trade.

Choose the Fluke 113 if…

  • ✓Most of your readings answer one question: is this conductor live, dead or carrying a phantom charge?
  • ✓You work in shared conduit and old buildings where induced voltage keeps fooling high-impedance meters
  • ✓You never measure current, temperature or frequency and want a two-jack meter with nothing extra to set

Choose the Fluke 179 if…

  • ✓You measure amps, from milliamp control signals up to 10 A motor and appliance loads
  • ✓You check temperatures on bearings, ducts, breakers or heat sinks and want the 80BK probe in the box
  • ✓You read sensors, drives or electronics where a low-impedance input would distort the result

The bottom line

For more useful features, buy the Fluke 179: it adds current, temperature, frequency, high-impedance volts to 1000 V, far wider resistance, tighter accuracy and a lifetime warranty while weighing only 16 g more. Pick the Fluke 113 only when your job is verifying power conductors live or dead, where its VCHEK low-impedance test and continuity fallback do something the 179 can't and the missing functions never come up.

Frequently asked questions

Does the Fluke 179 have a low-impedance (LoZ) mode like the 113?+

No. Fluke lists no LoZ position for the 179, so a disconnected conductor running beside live ones can show a coupled phantom voltage on its high-impedance input. The 113 reads voltage only through VCHEK, roughly 3 kΩ, which drains that charge. If you want both LoZ and current ranges, look at the Fluke 117 or the 289.

Can the Fluke 113 measure amps or temperature?+

Neither. The 113 has two input jacks and no current function, and Fluke lists no thermocouple input for it. The Fluke 179 reads current in 0.01 mA steps up to 10 A and temperature from −40 °C to 400 °C with the 80BK probe Fluke packs in the box. For either job, the 113 would need a second instrument alongside it.

Are the Fluke 113 and 179 both CAT IV rated?+

Yes, per Fluke. Both carry CAT IV 600V, and the 179 also lists CAT III 1000V. One bullet on the 113's Amazon listing quotes a lower CAT III 600V / CAT IV 300V rating, which conflicts with Fluke's spec tab and the meter's own markings. We follow Fluke. The 113 has no ranges above 600 V either way.

Which battery lasts longer, the Fluke 113 or 179?+

The 113. Fluke rates it at about 300 hours on a 9 V battery against about 200 hours for the 179, both figures without the backlight. That is roughly 50% more running time for the 113. Weight is almost identical: 404 g for the 113 and 420 g for the 179, so neither is noticeably easier to carry.

Can the Fluke 179 test a furnace flame sensor?+

Not by Fluke's detailed spec table, which gives 0.01 mA (10 µA) as the 179's finest current step. A flame-rod signal is typically only a few microamps. Fluke's comparison table on the same page mentions µA, so the sources conflict; we follow the spec table. The 113 has no current function at all, so neither suits that test.

Is the Fluke 113 good for electronics or automotive work?+

No. Every voltage reading passes through its 3 kΩ VCHEK input, which loads weak signals, and Fluke notes the autorange needs at least 3 V DC to register. It has no current function for drain tests and resistance stops at 60 kΩ. The 179's high-impedance volts, 0.01 mA current steps and 50 MΩ range suit both jobs much better.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews