COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 113 vs Fluke 115: Which Multimeter Is Better?

These two Flukes answer different questions. The Fluke 113 is a two-jack utility meter built around VCHEK, a low-impedance voltage test that turns into a continuity check when the circuit is dead; it has no current ranges and its resistance stops at 60 kΩ. The Fluke 115 is a general-purpose True RMS meter with 6A and 10A current, high-impedance volts, resistance to 40 MΩ and frequency. For most buyers the 115 is the better multimeter; the 113 wins only when fast live-or-dead checks on power wiring are the whole job.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 113 True RMS utility multimeter with VCHEK dial position, front view
Best Fluke Utility Meter with VCHEK

Fluke 113

4.4★★★★☆

A 6000-count utility meter built around VCHEK: one LoZ dial position that reads voltage and drops to continuity when the circuit is dead.

Fluke 115 True RMS field service digital multimeter, front view
Best for Field ServiceHands-on Tested

Fluke 115

4.8★★★★★

The same Fluke reliability as the 117, in the same body, without the electrician-specific extras (NCV, AutoVolt, LoZ).

Specs side by side

Fluke 113Fluke 115
Rating4.4★★★★☆4.8★★★★★
AccuracyTrue RMS, ±(2.0% + 3) VCHEK voltsTrue RMS
Safety ratingCAT IV 600V (per Fluke)CAT III 600V
Auto-rangingYes (manual override) Yes
Best forUtility and ghost-voltage checksField technicians, general electrical and electronics work
Volts inputVCHEK LoZ only, about 3 kΩ>10 MΩ DC, >5 MΩ AC
Voltage ranges6 / 60 / 600 V600 mV to 600 V
Voltage accuracy±(2.0% + 3), DC and 45–500 HzDC ±(0.5% + 2); AC ±(1.0% + 3)
CurrentNone6 A and 10 A AC/DC
Resistance600 Ω to 60 kΩ600 Ω to 40 MΩ
Capacitance1,000 nF to 9,999 µF1 nF to 9,999 µF
FrequencyNot statedTo 50 kHz
Diode test2.000 V, ±(2.0% + 3)2.000 V, ±(0.9% + 2)
Safety ratingCAT IV 600V per Fluke (Amazon: CAT III 600V / CAT IV 300V)CAT III 600V
True RMSPer Amazon and meter label; fluke.com only in a footnoteYes, AC volts and amps
Battery lifeAbout 300 h (9 V, no backlight)400 h typical (9 V, no backlight)
Size / weight167.1 × 85.1 × 46.0 mm, 404 g167 × 84 × 46 mm, 550 g
WarrantyNot stated for a new unit3 years

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Fluke 115 is hands-on tested by OhmSavvy; the Fluke 113 assessment is desk research. How we research.

Key differences

  • →The 113 reads volts only through VCHEK, a low-impedance input of about 3 kΩ. The 115 has normal high-impedance volts positions (over 10 MΩ DC) and no LoZ mode at all.
  • →The 115 measures current on 6 A and 10 A ranges; the 113 has no current function and only two input jacks.
  • →Resistance on the 113 tops out at 60.00 kΩ; the 115 reaches 40 MΩ.
  • →Fluke rates the 113 CAT IV 600V and the 115 CAT III 600V, although the 113's Amazon listing quotes a lower CAT IV 300V figure.
  • →The 115 adds frequency, a mV range and tighter diode and voltage accuracy; the 113 is lighter at 404 g against 550 g.

Two meters, two jobs

113 in one line

Live, dead or ghost? VCHEK answers on one dial position, then checks continuity.

115 in one line

A complete general-purpose set: volts, amps, ohms, capacitance, frequency.

113 limit

No amps, ohms only to 60 kΩ, and every volts reading loads the circuit.

115 limit

No LoZ, so a coupled phantom voltage reads like a real one.

Safety rating

113: CAT IV 600V per Fluke. 115: CAT III 600V.

Verdict

General use: 115. Power-wiring verification only: 113.

The Fluke 115 carries our Hands-on Tested badge; the 113 does not, so everything said about it here comes from Fluke's spec tab and the official Amazon listing rather than bench time. Our Fluke 115 review has the longer write-up of the general-purpose meter.

Fluke 113 vs 115 spec by spec

Put the two spec tabs side by side and the 113 looks like a stripped 115, but that undersells what Fluke did. It removed the amps input, trimmed the ohms ranges and replaced the ordinary volts positions with a single low-impedance test. That is a design for proving circuits live or dead quickly, not for diagnosing equipment.

SpecFluke 113Fluke 115
Display6,000 counts, 4 updates/s, backlit6,000 counts + 33-segment bar graph, backlit
Input jacksTwo (COM and V/Ω)Three (A, COM and V/Ω)
Volts functionVCHEK LoZ, about 3 kΩV AC, V DC and mV, high impedance
Volts accuracy, DC±(2.0% + 3)±(0.5% + 2)
Volts accuracy, AC 45–500 Hz±(2.0% + 3)±(1.0% + 3)
Volts accuracy, AC 500 Hz–1 kHz±(4.0% + 3)±(2.0% + 3)
CurrentNone6.000 A and 10.00 A; 20 A for 30 s
Resistance600.0 Ω, 6.000 kΩ, 60.00 kΩ600.0 Ω to 40.00 MΩ
ContinuityBeeps below 20 Ω, off above 250 ΩBeeps below 20 Ω
Capacitance1,000 nF to 9,999 µF1 nF to 9,999 µF
FrequencyNot statedTo 50.00 kHz
Min/MaxYesYes, plus average
Safety ratingCAT IV 600V (Fluke)CAT III 600V
Battery9 V, about 300 h9 V, 400 h typical
Weight404 g550 g
Fluke 113
60 kΩ
Fluke 115
40 MΩ

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Highest resistance each meter can read, on a log scale. The 115 reaches about 670 times further.
115 V DC
0.5% + 2
115 V AC
1.0% + 3
113 VCHEK
2.0% + 3
Basic voltage accuracy, ±% of reading at DC. Lower is better. The 113 can only read volts on VCHEK.
Fluke 113
404 g
Fluke 115
550 g
Weight in grams, per Fluke. The 113 is about 146 g lighter, a quarter less to carry on a belt.

What VCHEK actually does

VCHEK is the reason the 113 exists. Touch the leads to a conductor and the meter presents roughly 3 kΩ across them. If a supply is there, you get a voltage on the 6, 60 or 600 V range. If nothing is there, the same position switches to a continuity test and beeps for anything under 20 Ω. One turn of the dial answers both "is it live?" and "is this the conductor I think it is?"

VCHEK positionleads on circuit, ≈3 kΩ inputVoltagepresent?yesnoShows volts6 / 60 / 600 V rangesghost voltage drains awayContinuity checkbeeps below 20 Ωsilent above 250 Ω
The VCHEK decision path on the Fluke 113, drawn from Fluke's feature description and continuity spec.

The low impedance is what defeats ghost voltage. A disconnected wire run beside an energized one picks up a charge through stray capacitance, and a 10 MΩ input like the 115's barely disturbs it, so the display shows tens of volts on a wire that can't power anything. At 3 kΩ that charge is drained and the phantom collapses toward zero. Our guide to voltage readings on a disconnected circuit walks through the physics; with a 115 you would need to load the circuit by other means to get the same answer.

47.3V ACV~ (>5 MΩ)
Illustrative: a 115 on V AC across an abandoned conductor in a shared run.
0.4VVCHEK LoZ
Illustrative: a 113 on VCHEK across the same conductor.

The cost of a 3 kΩ voltmeter

LoZ is a strength on mains wiring and a liability almost everywhere else. Because the 113 has no high-impedance volts position, every reading it takes draws current from whatever it measures. A stiff 120 V supply doesn't care. A sensor output, a thermostat signal or a resistor divider in a control board does.

5 Vsource10 kΩ inside sourcemeterinput R113 VCHEK, 3 kΩ:≈1.15 V115 V DC, 10 MΩ:≈5.00 VReading = 5 V × R_meter ÷ (10 kΩ + R_meter). Illustrative values.
How input resistance changes the reading on a weak source. The arithmetic is illustrative, not measured.

Worked example: a 5 V signal behind 10 kΩ of internal resistance, read with the 113, forms a divider of 10 kΩ and 3 kΩ. The meter sees 5 × 3 ÷ 13, about 1.15 V, and you would wrongly conclude the sensor is dead. The 115's 10 MΩ DC input sees 5 × 10,000 ÷ 10,010, which rounds to 5.00 V. Fluke also notes that the 113's autorange needs at least 3 V DC to register, so small signals are out of reach anyway.

The second cost is ground-fault devices. At the nominal 3 kΩ, Ohm's law puts about 40 mA through the meter on a 120 V hot-to-ground check, while a US GFCI receptacle is designed to trip at only a few milliamps of leakage (roughly 4 to 6 mA). Fluke's 113 page warns that LoZ measurements phase-to-earth can trip a GFCI or RCD. Test hot-to-neutral on protected circuits, or expect to walk back and reset the device. See why a GFCI keeps tripping before blaming the outlet.

Current: the 115's deciding feature

The single biggest gap is amps. The 115 has a fused A jack with 6.000 A and 10.00 A ranges for AC and DC, True RMS on AC, and tolerates 20 A for 30 seconds. That covers a blower motor, a well pump control circuit, a 12 V accessory draw on a vehicle or a small appliance. The 113 can't measure any of it, and nothing in its spec tab suggests a workaround short of buying a separate clamp meter.

Current jobFluke 113Fluke 115
Bathroom fan draw, 120 VNot possibleIn series, 6 A range
Car parasitic drainNot possibleCoarse: 1 mA resolution
Small motor running ampsNot possibleIn series, to 10 A
1,500 W heater (12.5 A)Not possibleOver range; use a clamp
Flame-sensor µANot possibleNot possible; see the 116

The 115's current ranges have limits of their own: there is no mA or µA input, so standby and sensor currents are below its resolution. For flame rods, the Fluke 116 vs Fluke 115 comparison covers the meter that does read microamps.

Where the 113 earns its place

Fluke sells the 113 as a utility meter, and its feature set suits a narrow but common workload. A lineworker, a facilities electrician tracing circuits in an older building, or a service tech verifying that a disconnect really isolated a load spends the day on two questions: is there voltage, and is this the right conductor. VCHEK answers both without a dial change, and the LoZ input means a shared conduit full of phantom readings doesn't slow the job down.

The rating matters here too. Fluke lists the 113 under IEC 61010-2-033 at CAT IV 600V, and the terminals on the listing photo are printed CAT IV 600V. That category covers the origin of the installation, such as service drops and the line side of the meter base, where the 115's CAT III 600V does not reach. If your work genuinely happens there, the 113 is the one of these two built for it.

Its capacitance range is a pleasant surprise for a meter this simple. It reads from 1,000 nF up to 9,999 µF, so motor run and start capacitors are within reach, though Fluke widens the tolerance to ±(5% + 20) on the top 9,999 µF range. The 115 starts lower, at 1 nF, which matters if you also touch small electronics capacitors. Our guide to testing a capacitor with a multimeter applies to either.

Which should you buy?

You are…Better fitWhy
Utility or service-entrance workerFluke 113CAT IV 600V per Fluke and a one-position live/dead/continuity check
Facilities electrician tracing old circuitsFluke 113LoZ volts ignore phantom readings in crowded conduit
General maintenance technicianFluke 115Needs amps, high-impedance volts and wide resistance ranges
HVAC technicianFluke 115, or 116113 has no amps; µA and temperature need the 116
Electronics hobbyistFluke 115A 3 kΩ input would load low-power circuits
Automotive DIYerFluke 11512 V current and resistance above 60 kΩ
HomeownerFluke 115Broader set; consider the 117 if you open boxes often
Electrician on panels and branch circuitsNeither: Fluke 117LoZ plus current, capacitance and VoltAlert

If you were drawn to the 113 for ghost-voltage protection but also need current, the meter that combines both in this family is the 117; our Fluke 115 vs Fluke 117 page sets out what the extras buy. For a broader shortlist, see the best multimeter for electricians guide and the best multimeters roundup.

Where the sources disagree

Three facts to read carefully

First, the safety rating: Fluke's spec tab gives IEC 61010-2-033 CAT IV 600V for the 113 and the meter is printed CAT IV 600V, but one bullet on the Amazon listing says CAT III to 600 V and CAT IV to 300 V. We follow Fluke. Second, True RMS: the Amazon title and the meter's front label say True RMS, but Fluke's spec tab mentions it only in a generic footnote, so treat it as a label claim. Third, warranty: Fluke shows 3 years only for the reconditioned R-FLUKE-113 and states no term for a new unit, while the 115's 3 years is published.

Safety: LoZ checks and protected circuits

A low-impedance test draws real current, so hot-to-ground checks with the 113 can trip GFCI and RCD devices, and Fluke warns about exactly this. A reading near zero on VCHEK is still not proof of dead: confirm with the live-dead-live sequence on a known source before you touch a conductor. Keep the 115 off service drops and meter bases, where its CAT III 600V rating doesn't apply, and replace either meter's leads if the insulation is nicked. If you are not qualified to work inside panels, call a licensed electrician.

Choose the Fluke 113 if…

  • ✓Your work is utility, service or facilities wiring where most checks are live or dead
  • ✓You want one dial position that reads LoZ volts and then confirms continuity
  • ✓You value Fluke's CAT IV 600V rating and never need to measure amps

Choose the Fluke 115 if…

  • ✓You need to measure current, up to 10 A in series
  • ✓You test electronics, sensors or controls where a 3 kΩ input would drag the reading down
  • ✓You want resistance above 60 kΩ, frequency, or tighter DC voltage accuracy

The bottom line

The Fluke 115 is the better multimeter for almost everyone: it measures current, reads volts without loading the circuit, covers resistance to 40 MΩ and adds frequency. Choose the Fluke 113 only if your work is verifying power wiring, where its VCHEK low-impedance test, continuity fallback and Fluke-stated CAT IV 600V rating are exactly what you need and the lack of amps never matters.

Frequently asked questions

Can the Fluke 113 measure current?+

No. The Fluke 113 has no current ranges at all and only two input jacks, COM and V/Ω. Fluke's spec tab lists voltage through VCHEK, resistance, capacitance, continuity and diode test. If you need amps, the Fluke 115 measures 6 A and 10 A AC and DC in series, or pair the 113 with a clamp meter.

Is the Fluke 113 True RMS?+

The meter's front label and the official Amazon listing both say True RMS. Fluke's own spec tab for the 113 only mentions true-RMS meters in a general footnote about open-lead readings and never states it as a feature. The Fluke 115 is clearly specified as True RMS on AC volts and AC amps on Fluke's datasheet.

What is VCHEK on the Fluke 113?+

VCHEK is a single dial position that tests for voltage through a low input impedance of about 3 kΩ. If voltage is present it shows the reading on the 6, 60 or 600 V range; if not, it runs a continuity check that beeps below 20 Ω. The low impedance stops ghost voltage on disconnected wires from showing as a real reading.

Why does the Fluke 113 trip GFCI outlets?+

Its VCHEK input is only about 3 kΩ, so a hot-to-ground check draws roughly 40 mA on a 120 V circuit by Ohm's law. A GFCI is designed to trip at a few milliamps of leakage to ground. Fluke warns that LoZ measurements phase-to-earth can trip GFCI and RCD devices. Measure hot to neutral on protected circuits instead.

Is the Fluke 113 CAT IV rated?+

Fluke says yes: its spec tab lists IEC 61010-2-033 CAT IV 600 V, and the terminals in the listing photo are printed CAT IV 600V. One Amazon bullet instead says CAT III 600 V and CAT IV 300 V. We follow Fluke's published rating. The Fluke 115 is rated CAT III 600V, so it is not intended for service drops or meter bases.

Can I use the Fluke 113 for electronics or automotive work?+

It's a poor fit. Every voltage reading goes through the 3 kΩ VCHEK input, which pulls down weak signals such as sensor outputs, and Fluke notes the autorange needs at least 3 V DC. Resistance stops at 60 kΩ and there is no current range for drain tests. The Fluke 115's high-impedance inputs and 10 A range suit both jobs better.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews