COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 113 vs Fluke 117: Which Is Better for Electrical Testing?

For general electrical testing the Fluke 117 is the better meter, because it measures current, reads volts with or without a low-impedance load and adds VoltAlert non-contact detection. The Fluke 113 is not a cheaper 117. It is a verification tool: its single VCHEK position proves a conductor live, dead or carrying phantom voltage, Fluke rates it CAT IV 600V, and it has no amps at all. Buy it only when proving power wiring is the whole job.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 113 utility multimeter with the VCHEK low-impedance position on its dial, front view
Best Fluke Utility Meter with VCHEK

Fluke 113

4.4★★★★☆

A 6000-count utility meter built around VCHEK: one LoZ dial position that reads voltage and drops to continuity when the circuit is dead.

Fluke 117 electrician's True RMS multimeter with the VoltAlert sensor at the top, front view
Best OverallHands-on Tested

Fluke 117

4.8★★★★★

The meter working electricians actually buy with their own money, not just the one brands push.

Specs side by side

Fluke 113Fluke 117
Rating4.4★★★★☆4.8★★★★★
AccuracyTrue RMS, ±(2.0% + 3) VCHEK voltsTrue RMS
Safety ratingCAT IV 600V (per Fluke)CAT III 600V
Auto-rangingYes (manual override) Yes
Best forUtility and ghost-voltage checksElectricians, serious hobbyists
Volts positionsVCHEK LoZ only, about 3 kΩAutoVolt LoZ plus V AC (>5 MΩ) and V DC (>10 MΩ)
Volts accuracy±(2.0% + 3), DC and 45–500 HzDC ±(0.5% + 2); AC ±(1.0% + 3); LoZ ±(2.0% + 3)
Non-contact voltageNot listedVoltAlert, Lo and Hi sensitivity
CurrentNone (two jacks)6 A and 10 A AC/DC; 20 A for 30 s
Resistance600 Ω to 60 kΩ600 Ω to 40 MΩ
Capacitance1,000 nF to 9,999 µF1 nF to 9,999 µF
FrequencyNot statedTo 50 kHz (manual: 99.99 kHz)
Display6,000 counts; bar graph not stated6,000 counts + 33-segment bar graph
Min/MaxMin/MaxMin/Max/Avg
Safety ratingCAT IV 600V per Fluke (Amazon: CAT III 600V / CAT IV 300V)CAT III 600V
Battery lifeAbout 300 h (9 V)About 400 h (9 V)
Weight404 g550 g
WarrantyNot stated for a new unit3 years

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Fluke 117 is hands-on tested by OhmSavvy; the Fluke 113 assessment is desk research. How we research.

Key differences

  • →Both meters have a low-impedance volts check of about 3 kΩ, but on the 113 it is the only way to read volts. The 117 also keeps normal high-impedance V AC and V DC positions.
  • →The 117 measures current on 6 A and 10 A ranges through a fused A jack. The 113 has two jacks and no current function.
  • →Only the 117 has VoltAlert non-contact detection, frequency and a 33-segment bar graph.
  • →Fluke rates the 113 CAT IV 600V and the 117 CAT III 600V; one Amazon bullet for the 113 gives a lower CAT IV 300V figure.
  • →The 113 is 146 g lighter (404 g against 550 g), but its resistance stops at 60 kΩ against the 117's 40 MΩ.

What the Fluke 113 is actually for

Most people who search for the 113 assume it sits below the 117 on a ladder of electrician's meters. It doesn't. Fluke sells it as a utility meter, and its dial is shaped around a single question asked over and over: is this conductor energized, and if not, is it the one I think it is? The 117 answers that question too, then goes on to measure what the circuit is doing.

113: the job

Prove live, dead or ghost; then confirm the conductor by continuity.

117: the job

Prove the circuit, then measure the load: amps, Hz, capacitors.

113: the edge

CAT IV 600V per Fluke, 404 g, one-position VCHEK.

117: the edge

Two volts inputs, a 10 A range and VoltAlert built in.

Shared

LoZ against phantom voltage, 6,000 counts, backlight, 9 V battery.

Our testing

The 117 is owner-tested; the 113 is desk research on Fluke specs.

The Fluke 117 is one of the meters the site owner has bought and used, so it carries our Hands-on Tested badge, and the Fluke 117 review goes into it in depth. The 113 has not been through that, so every statement about it below comes from Fluke's spec tab and the official Amazon listing. If you are choosing between the 113 and the general-purpose model with no LoZ at all, our Fluke 113 vs Fluke 115 page works through VCHEK and its circuit-loading trade-off in more detail.

Both have LoZ; only the 117 lets you switch it off

This is the difference that decides the pair, and spec tables bury it. Fluke lists a low-impedance input of about 3 kΩ on the 113's VCHEK position and on the 117's AutoVolt position, with the same ±(2.0% + 3) accuracy line. On a shared conduit full of abandoned conductors, the two behave alike: coupled voltage drains through the meter and a real supply stays put.

Fluke 113Fluke 117Two jacksCOM and V/ΩVCHEK only≈3 kΩ, always loadsNo current inputuse a clamp meterThree jacksA, COM and V/ΩAutoVolt≈3 kΩV AC / V DC>5 / >10 MΩFused A input6 A and 10 A, AC/DCImpedances per Fluke; the 117 lets you pick the path, the 113 does not.
Measurement paths behind each meter's jacks, drawn from Fluke's published input impedances.

The 117 then has a second choice the 113 lacks. Turn one click to V AC or V DC and the input rises above 5 MΩ or 10 MΩ, so the meter barely disturbs what it reads. That matters on anything that isn't a stiff mains supply: a thermostat output, a doorbell transformer under load, a photocell or occupancy-sensor lead, a battery bank feeding a small inverter. On the 113 those readings all pass through 3 kΩ, and Fluke adds that its autorange won't register below 3 V DC, so low-voltage signals are largely out of reach.

LoZ also draws real current, and Fluke's 113 page warns that phase-to-earth LoZ checks can trip a GFCI or RCD. The same physics applies to the 117's AutoVolt position. The difference is that a 117 user can make the hot-to-ground check on V AC instead, while a 113 user has to test hot to neutral or reset the device afterward. Our explainer on why a GFCI keeps tripping covers the trip threshold.

Fluke 113 vs 117 comparison, function by function

FunctionFluke 113Fluke 117
Low-impedance voltsVCHEK, 6 / 60 / 600 VAutoVolt, 600.0 V, AC/DC auto-select
High-impedance voltsNo600 mV to 600 V AC and DC
Falls back to continuity when deadYes, on VCHEKNo; separate continuity position
Non-contact detectionNot listedVoltAlert
Amps AC/DCNo6.000 A and 10.00 A
ResistanceTo 60.00 kΩTo 40.00 MΩ
ContinuityBeeps below 20 Ω, off above 250 ΩBeeps below 20 Ω
Capacitance1,000 nF to 9,999 µF1 nF to 9,999 µF, ±(1.9% + 2)
FrequencyNot statedTo 50.00 kHz
Diode test2.000 V, ±(2.0% + 3)Yes
TemperatureNoNo (the 116 has it)
RecordingMin/MaxMin/Max/Avg
117 V DC
0.5% + 2
117 V AC
1.0% + 3
117 AutoVolt
2.0% + 3
113 VCHEK
2.0% + 3
Best basic volts accuracy on each meter, ±% of reading. Lower is better.
Fluke 113
About 300 h
Fluke 117
About 400 h
Typical battery life on one 9 V cell without the backlight, in hours, per Fluke.

The first chart shows the cost of a meter with no high-impedance position. On LoZ the two are equal, but the 117 can read DC four times more tightly by switching to V DC. On a 120.0 V reading, ±(2.0% + 3) allows about ±2.7 V, while the 117's V AC line of ±(1.0% + 3) allows about ±1.5 V. For proving a circuit live, either is plenty. For checking whether a supply sits inside a tolerance band, the 117 is the meter to trust.

The 113's real advantage: CAT IV 600V

Measurement category describes how much transient energy a meter is built to survive at a point in the supply. The closer you work to the utility, the larger the possible surge. Fluke lists the 113 under IEC 61010-2-033 at CAT IV 600V, and the meter body in the listing photo is printed the same. The 117 is rated CAT III 600V.

Where you measure (typical)CategoryFluke 113Fluke 117
Service drop, meter base, line side of the mainCAT IVRated, per FlukeNot rated
Distribution panel, feeders, buswayCAT IIIRatedRated
Branch circuits, receptacles, fixed equipmentCAT III / IIRatedRated
Plug-in appliance on a cordCAT IIRatedRated

The zones above are the common reading of IEC 61010 categories, not a site survey, so check your own employer's rules. Note the source conflict: one bullet on the 113's Amazon listing gives CAT III 600V and CAT IV 300V, below Fluke's figure. We follow Fluke. If you need CAT IV and current together, the Fluke 117 vs Fluke 87V comparison covers a meter that has both.

A verification routine with each meter

Picture opening a disconnect to isolate a load and proving it dead before work. With the 113 the routine never leaves one dial position: check the meter on a known live source, test each conductor on the load side, and when nothing is there the same position confirms the conductor by continuity. With the 117 you can sweep the enclosure with VoltAlert before the leads come out, then use AutoVolt for the contact checks.

  1. 01

    Prove the meter

    Known live source first

  2. 02

    Test each conductor

    113 VCHEK or 117 AutoVolt

  3. 03

    Near 0 V on LoZ

    Phantom drained, not a feed

  4. 04

    Prove the meter again

    Live-dead-live, then work

The routine is the same on both, and that is the point: for verification alone, the 113 gives up nothing important. The gap opens the moment the job turns into diagnosis. A small motor that trips its overload needs a current reading, and a portable generator holding the wrong speed needs a frequency reading; the 117 takes both and the 113 lists neither. Our guide to voltage on a disconnected circuit explains why the LoZ step collapses a phantom reading.

Which should you buy?

SituationBetter fitWhy
Utility or service-entrance verificationFluke 113CAT IV 600V per Fluke; one-position live/dead check
Switching and isolation checks, clamp in the truckFluke 113VCHEK covers the meter's whole job
Residential or commercial service callsFluke 117Amps, high-impedance volts and VoltAlert
Apprentice's first meterFluke 117One tool for everything you'll be asked to measure
Tracing circuits in old buildingsEitherBoth have a 3 kΩ LoZ check
Low-voltage controls and sensorsFluke 117The 113 always loads the circuit
Motor, fan or generator troubleshootingFluke 117Current, frequency and capacitance from 1 nF
HVAC flame sensors or temperatureNeitherThose need the Fluke 116

For the electrician-side alternatives in the same family, see Fluke 114 vs Fluke 117 for the LoZ meter without amps, and Fluke 116 vs Fluke 117 for the HVAC model. The best multimeter for electricians guide ranks meters beyond Fluke's 110 Series.

Where the published specs disagree

Read these before you buy

On the 113, Fluke and Amazon disagree on the safety rating (CAT IV 600V against CAT III 600V / CAT IV 300V), True RMS appears on the meter label and Amazon title but only in a footnote on Fluke's spec tab, and Fluke states no warranty term for a new unit (its reconditioned R-FLUKE-113 lists 3 years). On the 117, Fluke's 2020 users manual lists a 99.99 kHz frequency range that the datasheet's 50.00 kHz ceiling doesn't show; the 117's 3-year warranty is published.

Safety: a LoZ reading near zero is not permission to touch

Both meters drain phantom voltage on their low-impedance positions, which makes a near-zero reading more meaningful but still not proof of isolation. Prove the meter on a known live source before and after, follow your lockout procedure, and keep the 117 off the service drop and meter base, where its CAT III 600V rating doesn't apply. VoltAlert silence on the 117 is not proof of dead either. If you aren't qualified to work inside panels or at the service entrance, call a licensed electrician or the utility.

Choose the Fluke 113 if…

  • ✓Your job is proving conductors live or dead, not diagnosing the loads on them
  • ✓You need Fluke's CAT IV 600V rating for work at the origin of the installation
  • ✓You already carry a clamp meter for every current reading

Choose the Fluke 117 if…

  • ✓You troubleshoot circuits and equipment, not just verify them
  • ✓You want both a LoZ check and an ordinary high-impedance volts reading on one dial
  • ✓You want current, frequency and non-contact detection without a second tool

The bottom line

The Fluke 117 is the better meter for electrical testing in general: it reads volts through either a LoZ or a high-impedance input, measures current to 10 A, and adds VoltAlert and frequency. The Fluke 113 is the right choice only for verification work, where its one-position VCHEK check, Fluke-stated CAT IV 600V rating and lighter body matter and a clamp meter handles every amp reading.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Fluke 113 used for?+

It is a utility meter for proving conductors live or dead. Its VCHEK position reads voltage through a low input impedance of about 3 kΩ and switches to a continuity check when nothing is there. It also reads resistance to 60 kΩ, capacitance and diodes, but it has no current ranges, so it is a verification tool rather than a troubleshooting meter.

Do the Fluke 113 and 117 both have LoZ?+

Yes. Fluke lists about 3 kΩ on the 113's VCHEK position and on the 117's AutoVolt position, with the same ±(2.0% + 3) accuracy. The difference is that the 113 has no other way to read volts, while the 117 also has normal V AC and V DC positions above 5 MΩ and 10 MΩ for circuits a low-impedance input would pull down.

Which is safer to use at the service entrance?+

The Fluke 113, on paper. Fluke rates it CAT IV 600V, which covers the meter base and service conductors, and the 117 is rated CAT III 600V, which stops at the distribution panel. One Amazon bullet for the 113 quotes CAT IV 300V instead, so confirm the rating printed on the meter you receive.

Can a Fluke 113 replace a Fluke 117 for an electrician?+

Only for part of the work. The 113 handles live-dead checks, ghost voltage and continuity, but it can't measure current, frequency or resistance above 60 kΩ, and it has no non-contact sensor. An electrician who also carries a clamp meter and a pen tester can manage with it; most service electricians are better served by the 117.

Does the Fluke 113 have non-contact voltage detection?+

Fluke's 113 spec tab lists no non-contact function, so plan on a separate pen tester. In this pair, only the 117 has it: VoltAlert, a sensor in the top edge with Lo and Hi sensitivity settings. A silent non-contact check is never proof that a conductor is dead, on either tool.

Can the Fluke 113 or 117 measure temperature?+

No. Neither meter lists a temperature function. Fluke's 110 Series datasheet gives the Type K thermocouple input to the Fluke 116 only, which also adds a 600.0 µA range for furnace flame sensors. If you need temperature and current on one meter, look outside the 110 Series at a model such as the Fluke 179.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews