COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 106 vs Fluke 101

The Fluke 106 vs Fluke 101 decision turns on one question: do you need to measure current? The 106 has 4A and 10A ranges; the 101 has only two input jacks and cannot read current at all. In return the 101 is smaller and lighter and adds frequency, duty cycle and a diode test that the 106 lacks. Both are CAT III 600V, 6,000-count meters that Fluke doesn't describe as True RMS.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 106 digital multimeter, front view
Best Budget Pocket Fluke

Fluke 106

4.2★★★★☆

The 107's palm-sized body for less, without diode test, frequency or duty cycle.

Fluke 101 basic digital multimeter, front view
Smallest Fluke

Fluke 101

4.1★★★★☆

Fluke's smallest, simplest meter: volts, ohms, capacitance and frequency in 160 g, but no current measurement at all.

Specs side by side

Fluke 106Fluke 101
Rating4.2★★★★☆4.1★★★★☆
AccuracyAverage-responding (not True RMS)Not stated as True RMS by Fluke
Safety ratingCAT III 600VCAT III 600V
Auto-ranging Yes Yes
Best forA small, cheap backup meterVoltage and continuity checks only
Current4.000A and 10.00A ranges, AC/DC, ±(1.5% + 3)None (two jacks only)
Max voltage600V AC/DC600V AC/DC
DC volts accuracy±(0.5% + 3)0.5% + 3
ResistanceUp to 40 MΩUp to 40 MΩ
Capacitance50 nF to 1,000 µFFluke's sources conflict: 100 µF or 1,000 µF
Frequency / duty cycle No10 Hz to 100 kHz; duty cycle 0.1% to 99.9%
Diode test No Yes
Size142 × 69 × 28 mm130 × 65 × 27 mm
Weight200 g160 g
Battery2 × AAA, 200 h minimum2 × AAA (life not stated)
Warranty2 years1 year
US availabilitySold on fluke.com USNot on fluke.com US; Amazon listing is an import

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →Only the 106 measures current; the 101 has a COM jack and a single input for everything else.
  • →The 101 adds frequency to 100 kHz, duty cycle and a diode test, none of which the 106 has.
  • →The 101 is 40 g lighter and a little smaller in every dimension.
  • →Fluke gives the 106 a two-year warranty and the 101 one year.
  • →Fluke's own 101 documents disagree on maximum capacitance (100 µF vs 1,000 µF); the 106 is listed to 1,000 µF.
  • →The 101 isn't sold on Fluke's US site, so US buyers get it through an import listing.

Why the 101 can't read current

Measuring current means routing it through the meter, which needs a dedicated, fused current jack. The 106 has a 10A jack beside COM; the 101 has none, so no setting on its dial can read amps.

Fluke 10610ACOMV ΩFluke 101COMV Ω HzNo current jack on the 101, so no current measurement
Input jacks on each meter. The 106's extra jack (highlighted) is what makes current readings possible.

A separate jack isn't a design quirk. In current mode the meter is deliberately close to a short circuit: a low-value shunt that drops only a small voltage while the full load current flows through it. Fluke protects that path on the 106 with an 11 A, 1000 V fast fuse. Sharing one jack between that shunt and the high-impedance voltage input would leave a dangerous short a single dial click away, so a two-jack meter like the 101 simply omits current.

+supplyLoad10ACOM11 A fuse + shuntFluke 106 in seriesAll the load current passes through the meter. The 101 has no such path.Leads on the V jack across a supply in this setup would be a short circuit.
Current measurement on the 106: break the circuit and let the load current pass through the meter.

Fluke 106 vs 101 spec by spec

Where both meters measure the same thing, Fluke's figures barely differ: 600 V on a 6,000-count display, 0.5% basic DC accuracy and resistance to 40 MΩ. The decision comes from the functions each one leaves out and from the practical details of size, warranty and where you can buy it.

SpecFluke 106Fluke 101
Volts6.000 to 600.0 V AC/DC6.000 to 600.0 V AC/DC
AC millivolts600.0 mV, ±(3.0% + 3)600.0 mV, 3.0% + 3
Current4.000 A and 10.00 A, AC and DCNone
Resistance400.0 Ω to 40.00 MΩ400.0 Ω to 40.00 MΩ
Capacitance50.00 nF to 1,000 µF50.00 nF up; top range 100 µF or 1,000 µF
FrequencyNo10 Hz to 100 kHz
Duty cycleNo0.1% to 99.9%
Diode testNoYes, with buzzer
ContinuityBeeps below 70 ΩYes, with buzzer
Drop ratingNot stated1 m
Battery life200 h minimumNot stated
Fluke 106
200 g
Fluke 101
160 g
Weight from Fluke's specifications. The 101 is 20% lighter.
Fluke 106
2 years
Fluke 101
1 year
Warranty length in years: the 106 per its Fluke datasheet, the 101 per Fluke's 101 page.
Fluke 106
142 mm
Fluke 101
130 mm
Case length in millimeters. Width and depth differ by only 4 mm and 1 mm.
Fluke 106
28 mm
Fluke 101
27 mm
Case thickness in millimeters: almost identical, so both slip into a shirt pocket.

Real jobs, and which meter handles them

The 106 suits people whose questions are about loads: is the space heater drawing what its label says, is a motor pulling more than normal, or is a battery charger actually delivering current? With 4.000 A at 1 mA resolution and a 10.00 A range, it answers those directly, which the 101 cannot do at any price.

The 101 suits people whose questions are about signals and parts: is this LED or rectifier good, what frequency is this sensor putting out, what duty cycle is this fan controller commanding? Its diode test and 100 kHz frequency range cover those, and the 1 m drop rating helps a meter that lives loose in a bag.

TaskFluke 106Fluke 101
Outlet or battery voltageYesYes
Appliance current drawYes, to 10 ANo
Continuity of a cable or fuseYesYes
PWM or fan signal frequencyNoYes
Diode or LED checkNoYes
Charger output currentYes, in seriesNo

Need current without a current jack?

A clamp meter reads AC current around a single conductor without breaking the circuit, which pairs well with a 101. See how to measure AC current with a clamp meter and whether a multimeter can measure current without breaking the circuit.

Fluke 106 or 101: which should you buy?

You are…Better fitWhy
Homeowner checking appliancesFluke 106Reads running current; US warranty support
Car owner with a glovebox meterFluke 101Diode test for alternator diodes, duty cycle for injectors, 160 g
Electronics hobbyistFluke 101Frequency, duty cycle and diode test matter more than amps
Solar or battery tinkererFluke 106DC current to 10 A for charge and load checks
Electrician wanting a backupFluke 106Current plus 2-year warranty; neither is True RMS
Buyer who wants every functionNeitherThe Fluke 107 has current and the 101's signal functions

That last row is worth a look: the Fluke 107 keeps the 106's body and current ranges and adds diode, frequency and duty cycle. Compare it in Fluke 106 vs Fluke 107 and Fluke 107 vs Fluke 101.

Safety: never leave leads in the current jack

After measuring current on the 106, move the red lead back to the V Ω jack before you measure voltage. A lead left in the 10A jack and placed across a supply puts a near short across it; the fuse should open, but the arc can still hurt you. Both meters are CAT III 600V, so keep them off the service drop and meter base, and call a licensed electrician if a reading at the panel makes no sense.

Choose the Fluke 106 if…

  • ✓You need to measure a load's current up to 10A
  • ✓You want a two-year warranty and a model Fluke sells in the US
  • ✓You don't need diode or frequency readings

Choose the Fluke 101 if…

  • ✓You only check voltage, resistance and continuity, never current
  • ✓You want frequency, duty cycle and a diode test in the smallest Fluke
  • ✓Every gram counts: it weighs 160 g

The bottom line

Pick the Fluke 106 if you will ever measure current: it's the only one of the two that can, and it carries a longer warranty and US availability. Pick the Fluke 101 only as an ultra-light voltage, continuity and signal checker, where its frequency and diode functions matter more than amps.

Frequently asked questions

Can the Fluke 101 measure current?+

No. The 101 has only two input jacks, COM and one input for voltage, resistance and its other functions, and Fluke's documents list no current function. Measuring current in series needs a separate fused jack and shunt, which the 106 has. A 101 owner who needs AC current would pair it with a clamp meter.

Which is smaller, the Fluke 101 or 106?+

The 101, at 130 × 65 × 27 mm and 160 g, against the 106's 142 × 69 × 28 mm and 200 g. The difference is mostly length; both fit a jacket pocket. The 101 also carries a 1 m drop rating on Fluke's spec page, while Fluke's 106 page doesn't list one.

Does the Fluke 106 measure frequency?+

No. Fluke's 106/107 manual lists frequency and duty cycle as 107-only functions, along with the diode test. The 101 measures frequency from 10 Hz to 100 kHz and duty cycle, so for signal checks it is the more capable of these two, despite having no current function.

What warranty do the Fluke 101 and 106 have?+

Fluke's 106 datasheet gives two years, while Fluke's 101 page gives one year. Because the 101 isn't sold through Fluke's US site, warranty service for a US buyer may also be less straightforward than for the 106, so check the importer's terms on the Amazon listing before you buy.

Is the Fluke 101 sold in the US?+

Fluke's US site doesn't offer it; it's listed on Fluke's Indian and Malaysian sites. US Amazon listings come from third-party importers. If you want a palm-sized Fluke that Fluke sells and supports in the US, the 106 and 107 are the models to look at.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews