Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through the links below, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
At a glance
Our top picks

Fluke 789
A full multimeter that also sources, simulates and powers 4-20 mA loops, with 0.001 mA resolution.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
Fluke 772
A mA clamp that also sources, simulates and powers 4-20 mA loops with 24 V.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
Fluke 771
Reads 4-20 mA loop current through a clamp, so you don't have to break the loop.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓Also great
- 4
Fluke 289Check pricePrice →Best for Low Resistance4.7★★★★★ - 5
Fluke 87VCheck pricePrice →Best for Professionals4.8★★★★★ - 6
Fluke 287Check pricePrice →Best Logging Meter for Electronics4.6★★★★★ - 7
EEVblog Brymen BM786Check pricePrice →Best Brymen for Electronics4.6★★★★★ - 8
UNI-T UT181ACheck pricePrice →Best Color-Screen Data Logger4.4★★★★☆ - 9
UNI-T UT61E+Check pricePrice →Best Budget Meter for Electronics4.5★★★★★ - 10
Klein Tools MM720Check pricePrice →Best Budget Electrician's Meter4.6★★★★★
Quick shopping
Compare at a glance
Swipe sideways on mobile to see every spec.
| Model | Award | Rating | Accuracy | Safety rating | Auto-ranging | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
#1Fluke 789 | Best for 4-20 mA Loops | 4.7★★★★★ | True RMS AC volts; 0.05% DC mA | CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V | Yes (manual RANGE) | Check price → |
#2Fluke 772 | Best mA Clamp with Loop Power | 4.6★★★★★ | 0.2% + 2 counts in series; 0.2% + 5 clamp | Not stated by Fluke | Not stated | Check price → |
#3Fluke 771 | Best mA Clamp | 4.6★★★★★ | 0.2% + 2 counts (0-20.99 mA) | Not stated by Fluke | Not stated | Check price → |
#4Fluke 289 | Best for Low Resistance | 4.7★★★★★ | True RMS, 0.025% basic DC V | CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V | Yes (manual override) | Check price → |
#5Fluke 87V✓ Tested | Best for Professionals | 4.8★★★★★ | True RMS | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes | Check price → |
#6Fluke 287 | Best Logging Meter for Electronics | 4.6★★★★★ | True RMS, 0.025% basic DC V | CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V | Yes (manual override) | Check price → |
#7EEVblog Brymen BM786 | Best Brymen for Electronics | 4.6★★★★★ | AC+DC True RMS, 0.03% DC V | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes (manual override) | Check price → |
#8UNI-T UT181A | Best Color-Screen Data Logger | 4.4★★★★☆ | True RMS, ±(0.025%+5) DC V | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes (manual override) | Check price → |
#9UNI-T UT61E+ | Best Budget Meter for Electronics | 4.5★★★★★ | True RMS, ±(0.05%+5) DC V | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes (manual override) | Check price → |
#10Klein Tools MM720 | Best Budget Electrician's Meter | 4.6★★★★★ | True RMS, 6,000-count | CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V | Yes (manual RANGE button) | Check price → |
In depth
Detailed reviews
Fluke 789
A full multimeter that also sources, simulates and powers 4-20 mA loops, with 0.001 mA resolution.
Best for:Instrument techs: 4-20 mA loops and transmitters
The 789 ProcessMeter is a 1000 V CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V multimeter with a process calibrator built in. It measures DC mA to 30 mA with 0.001 mA resolution and 0.05% accuracy, and it sources or simulates 0-20 or 4-20 mA at the same resolution, with 24 V compliance. A built-in 24 V loop supply powers a transmitter, the 250 Ω HART resistor is selectable, % of span shows next to the mA reading, and SpanCheck, step and ramp make valve and transmitter checks quick. It is expensive, and Amazon's new stock was down to one unit from a third-party seller.
Why it fits: First because it is the only full multimeter here that also sources, simulates and powers a loop, at 0.001 mA resolution and 0.05% DC mA accuracy, with % of span, SpanCheck, step and ramp, and a 250 Ω HART resistor. Its price is the catch.
- Accuracy
- True RMS AC volts; 0.05% DC mA
- Safety rating
- CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual RANGE)
- Best for
- Instrument techs: 4-20 mA loops and transmitters
Reasons to buy
- +0.001 mA measure and source resolution
- +24 V loop power and 250 Ω HART resistor
- +% of span, SpanCheck, step and ramp
Reasons to avoid
- −Expensive for a single-function-group meter
- −Limited new Amazon stock from a third-party seller
Fluke 772
A mA clamp that also sources, simulates and powers 4-20 mA loops with 24 V.
Best for:Loop troubleshooting and transmitter checks
The 772 adds calibrator functions to the 771's clamp. It measures 0 to 20.99 mA through the jaw at 0.2% + 5 counts, or 0 to 24.00 mA in series at 0.2% + 2 counts. It sources 0-24 mA (24 mA into 1,000 Ω), simulates a transmitter, and powers one from its 24 V loop supply. Linear ramp and 25% steps, plus a mA and % of span display, cover valve stroking and transmitter checks. Fluke lists no voltage measurement or CAT rating, and the price is high.
Why it fits: Second because it reads loop current through a clamp or in series and also sources, simulates and powers a loop with 24 V, with ramp and 25% steps for valve work. It cannot measure voltage, so you still need a multimeter alongside it.
- Accuracy
- 0.2% + 2 counts in series; 0.2% + 5 clamp
- Safety rating
- Not stated by Fluke
- Auto-ranging
- Not stated
- Best for
- Loop troubleshooting and transmitter checks
Reasons to buy
- +Clamp, in-series measure, source and simulate
- +24 V loop power
- +Ramp, 25% steps and % of span display
Reasons to avoid
- −Expensive
- −No voltage measurement
Fluke 771
Reads 4-20 mA loop current through a clamp, so you don't have to break the loop.
Best for:Checking 4-20 mA loops without breaking them
The 771 measures DC milliamps through a small clamp: 0 to 20.99 mA at 0.2% + 2 counts and up to 100 mA, with 0.01 mA resolution. The dual backlit display shows mA and % of the 4-20 mA span together. The detachable jaw on an extension cable reaches conductors up to 4.5 mm in crowded cabinets, and an LED spotlight helps in dark enclosures. It only measures: it can't source, simulate or power a loop (that's the 772 and 773), and Fluke doesn't list a CAT rating for it.
Why it fits: Third because its clamp reads 0-20.99 mA to 0.01 mA at 0.2% + 2 counts without opening the loop, and it shows % of span next to mA. It only measures: no source, simulate or loop power, and Fluke lists no CAT rating.
- Accuracy
- 0.2% + 2 counts (0-20.99 mA)
- Safety rating
- Not stated by Fluke
- Auto-ranging
- Not stated
- Best for
- Checking 4-20 mA loops without breaking them
Reasons to buy
- +Clamp-on mA reading with 0.01 mA resolution
- +Shows mA and % of 4-20 mA span
- +Detachable jaw and LED spotlight
Reasons to avoid
- −Measure only: no source, simulate or loop power
- −Costs more than many full multimeters
Fluke 289
The only handheld here with a 50 Ω range at 1 mΩ resolution, plus 0.01 µA current resolution and on-screen trend logging.
Best for:Low-ohm, µA and logged electronics work
The Fluke 289 is a 50,000-count True RMS logging meter rated CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V. Its two-terminal 50 Ω range resolves 1 mΩ using a 10 mA test current, and relative mode removes test-lead resistance, so you can check shunts, contacts and PCB traces without a separate milliohm meter. The 500 µA range resolves 0.01 µA with a published burden of about 102 µV per µA. TrendCapture graphs logged readings on the meter itself, and LoZ and a low-pass filter cover electrical work too. The catch is the price, roughly three times a good hobby meter.
Why it fits: The best plain multimeter here for loops: a 50.000 mA range reads to 0.001 mA, the published burden is 1.8 mV/mA, and TrendCapture logs current over hours to catch an intermittent dropout. It has no % of span or sourcing, and you must break the loop to use it.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, 0.025% basic DC V
- Safety rating
- CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual override)
- Best for
- Low-ohm, µA and logged electronics work
Reasons to buy
- +50 Ω range with 1 mΩ resolution and REL lead zeroing
- +500 µA range with 0.01 µA resolution and published burden voltage
- +Logs and graphs readings on screen (TrendCapture)
Reasons to avoid
- −Expensive, and sold here by a third-party seller
- −Two-terminal low-ohm range, not true 4-wire Kelvin
Fluke 87V
The step-up pick for anyone who needs CAT IV protection and high-resolution readings daily.
Best for:Industrial technicians, daily professional use
The 87V is Fluke's industrial-grade step up from the 117 — a 1000V CAT III / 600V CAT IV rating, a 6,000-count main display with a 19,999-count high-resolution mode, and a 32-segment analog bar graph for watching signals change in real time.
Why it fits: It carries our Hands-on Tested badge and its 60.00 mA range reads to 0.01 mA at ±(0.2% + 4), with HiRes mode showing up to 19,999 counts. Fluke lists no % of 4-20 mA scale, so you convert readings to span yourself, which is why it sits behind the 289.
- Accuracy
- True RMS
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes
- Best for
- Industrial technicians, daily professional use
Reasons to buy
- +Joint-highest CAT rating in this list (CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V)
- +19,999-count high-resolution mode
- +Analog bar graph tracks fast-changing signals
Reasons to avoid
- −Among the most expensive picks here
- −Overkill for casual home use
Fluke 287
Fluke's electronics logging meter: 50,000 counts, 0.01 µA resolution and graphs on the meter, without the 289's industrial extras.
Best for:Electronics design, µA and logging
The 287 shares the 289's 50,000-count display, 500 µA range with 0.01 µA resolution, 100 mF capacitance and TrendCapture logging, and it carries the same CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V rating. It drops the 289's 50 Ω low-ohm range, LoZ and low-pass filter, so its finest resistance resolution is 0.01 Ω on the 500 Ω range (with relative mode to zero the leads). For bench electronics, sleep-current checks and logging a drifting supply overnight, it does the job for less than the 289.
Why it fits: It shares the 289's 50.000 mA range, 1.8 mV/mA burden and on-meter logging, so it handles loop current just as well. It drops the 289's LoZ and low-ohm extras, which matter more for electrical work than for loops.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, 0.025% basic DC V
- Safety rating
- CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual override)
- Best for
- Electronics design, µA and logging
Reasons to buy
- +0.01 µA resolution on the 500 µA range
- +On-screen trend logging with real-time clock
- +Limited lifetime warranty
Reasons to avoid
- −No 50 Ω low-ohm range (that's the 289)
- −Third-party seller and an Amazon listing with wrong CAT wording
EEVblog Brymen BM786
A 60,000-count Brymen with 0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution and CAT IV 600V, for about a third of a Fluke 287.
Best for:Bench electronics and PCB repair
The BM786 is a Brymen meter made for the EEVblog: AC+DC True RMS, 60,000 counts, CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V, and 0.03% best DC voltage accuracy. Its 600.00 µA range resolves 0.01 µA at ±(0.075%+20 digits), and its 600.00 Ω range resolves 0.01 Ω. Brymen publishes a burden of 0.2 mV per µA, twice the BM235's, so in very low-voltage circuits it drops more voltage than you may expect. The BeepLit continuity responds in under 100 µs. It has no logging or PC link, but for hands-on bench work and PCB repair it's a strong all-rounder.
Why it fits: Its 60.000 mA range resolves 0.001 mA, and Brymen publishes a 2.0 mV/mA burden, so at 20 mA it drops about 40 mV. It has no logging or % scale, but it gives Fluke-289 resolution on mA for far less.
- Accuracy
- AC+DC True RMS, 0.03% DC V
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual override)
- Best for
- Bench electronics and PCB repair
Reasons to buy
- +0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution at 60,000 counts
- +Fast latching BeepLit continuity (<100 µs)
- +Relative zero, Max/Min/Avg and crest capture
Reasons to avoid
- −0.2 mV/µA burden is higher than the BM235's
- −No data logging or PC connection
UNI-T UT181A
A 60,000-count colour-screen logging meter that stores 20,000 readings and graphs them, for well under Fluke 287 money.
Best for:Logging battery drain and drift
The UT181A is a True RMS logging meter with a 3.5-inch colour TFT, 60,000 counts and CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V. Its lowest ranges are 600 µA and 600 Ω, so at 60,000 counts it reads to 0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω, though UNI-T doesn't print a per-range resolution. It logs 20,000 readings with a real-time clock and trend graph, measures two thermocouples at once, and runs on a rechargeable Li-ion pack. It has IP65 sealing and a 1 kHz low-pass filter. Bluetooth needs UNI-T's optional adaptor, despite what the listing implies.
Why it fits: A 60 mA range at 60,000 counts, 20,000-reading logging and a trend graph make it a capable loop recorder. UNI-T doesn't publish its per-range resolution or burden voltage, so it ranks behind the meters that do.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, ±(0.025%+5) DC V
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual override)
- Best for
- Logging battery drain and drift
Reasons to buy
- +20,000-reading logger with trend graph on a colour screen
- +60,000 counts, 600 µA and 600 Ω lowest ranges
- +Rechargeable battery and IP65 sealing
Reasons to avoid
- −Bluetooth needs an optional adaptor
- −UNI-T doesn't publish per-range resolution or burden voltage
UNI-T UT61E+
A budget 22,000-count True RMS meter with 0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution, REL mode and a USB link.
Best for:Arduino, hobby electronics, PCB repair
The UT61E+ is UNI-T's 22,000-count version of the UT61+ series: True RMS, CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V, with a 220.00 µA range at 0.01 µA resolution and a 220.00 Ω range at 0.01 Ω (±0.5% + 10 digits). REL mode subtracts lead resistance, which UNI-T's manual tells you to do for low-ohm readings. It also adds capacitance to 220 mF, frequency to 220 MHz, hFE, NCV and a USB cable for PC readout. It has no temperature function (that's the UT61D+), and UNI-T doesn't publish its burden voltage.
Why it fits: Its 22.000 mA range covers the full 4-20 mA signal at 0.001 mA resolution at a budget price, and USB readout sends values to a PC. UNI-T doesn't publish burden voltage, and there is no % scale or loop function.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, ±(0.05%+5) DC V
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual override)
- Best for
- Arduino, hobby electronics, PCB repair
Reasons to buy
- +0.01 µA and 0.01 Ω resolution at a budget price
- +REL mode to zero test-lead resistance
- +USB PC link, capacitance to 220 mF, frequency to 220 MHz
Reasons to avoid
- −No temperature measurement
- −Burden voltage not published
Klein Tools MM720
CAT IV 600V, 1000V, LoZ and True RMS at a budget price, the most panel-ready meter in this tier.
Best for:Electricians working panels and feeders
The MM720 is rated CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V and measures up to 1000V AC/DC, with a LoZ mode for ghost voltages. It is True RMS, auto-ranging and 6,000-count, and the reverse-contrast display adjusts itself to the light. Current runs from a 600.0 µA range (0.1 µA) to 10 A. It adds 60 MΩ resistance, capacitance to 6,000 µF, temperature to 1832°F, IP42 and a 2 m drop rating, and a carrying pouch comes in the box. Klein lists no NCV.
Why it fits: A CAT IV 600V electrician's meter with a 60.00 mA range at 0.01 mA, enough to confirm a loop is alive and roughly in span. Its resolution is ten times coarser than the 0.001 mA meters above, so it ranks last for calibration work.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, 6,000-count
- Safety rating
- CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual RANGE button)
- Best for
- Electricians working panels and feeders
Reasons to buy
- +CAT IV 600V and 1000V AC/DC
- +LoZ mode for ghost voltages
- +IP42, 2 m drop rating and pouch included
Reasons to avoid
- −Priced at the top of the budget tier
- −No non-contact voltage detection
Before you buy
Buying advice
Decide whether you need to measure, or also drive, the loop
If your job is confirming that a transmitter's signal matches the process, a multimeter with a fine mA range is enough. If you commission new instruments, stroke valves or need to test a controller input with no transmitter fitted, you need sourcing and simulation. That one decision splits this list into the Fluke 789 and 772 on one side and everything else on the other.
Count the cost of breaking the loop
Opening a live loop to insert a meter makes the control system see 0 mA, which can trip an alarm, drive a valve to its fail position or upset a process. A mA clamp avoids that. The Fluke 771 is the measure-only clamp and the 772 adds sourcing, which is why they rank above several excellent multimeters that must be wired in series.
Check burden against the loop's spare voltage
A 24 V loop has to feed the transmitter, the receiver's input resistor and the wiring, and a series meter takes its share. At 20 mA, a 1.8 mV/mA burden costs about 36 mV, negligible on most loops. It becomes a factor only on long runs or loops with a 250 Ω HART resistor already near the limit of the transmitter's minimum supply voltage.
Use percent of span to speed up five-point checks
Calibration checks usually step through 0, 25, 50, 75 and 100 percent, which is 4, 8, 12, 16 and 20 mA. Meters that show percent of span next to mA, like the Fluke 789, 772 and 771, let you read the error directly. On a general multimeter, subtract 4 from the reading and divide by 0.16 to get the percentage.
Methodology
How we chose
We ranked these ten for 4-20 mA work: loop functions first (source, simulate, 24 V loop power and clamp-on reading), then mA resolution and published accuracy, then logging, burden voltage and percent-of-span display. Every figure comes from the maker's site, datasheet or manual; the ranking is desk research, and only the Fluke 87V carries our Hands-on Tested badge.
Picks marked "Hands-on Tested" have been bought and tested by us; the rest are desk research. A pick only carries that badge once we have actually bought and tested that unit. More on how we research.
Questions
Frequently asked questions
Can a regular multimeter test a 4-20mA loop?+
Yes, for measuring. Any meter with a DC mA range can read loop current in series, and one with a 20 to 60 mA range at 0.01 mA or finer resolution is accurate enough for most checks. What a regular multimeter cannot do is source or simulate current, or power a transmitter. For those you need a loop calibrator such as the Fluke 789 or Fluke 772.
How do I measure 4-20mA without breaking the loop?+
Use a milliamp clamp such as the Fluke 771 or Fluke 772, which reads DC milliamps through the jaw on a single conductor. Some transmitters also have test terminals with a diode across them, so a meter connected there takes the current while the loop stays closed. Otherwise you must open the loop and insert the meter in series, which interrupts the signal.
What resolution do I need for 4-20mA calibration?+
One percent of a 16 mA span is 0.16 mA, and 0.1 percent is 0.016 mA. A meter resolving 0.01 mA shows about 1,600 steps across the span, enough for troubleshooting. For calibrating a transmitter to tight tolerance, 0.001 mA resolution with matching accuracy, as on the Fluke 789 (0.05% on DC mA), is the better tool.
What is the difference between sourcing and simulating mA?+
Sourcing means the meter supplies the loop current from its own battery, for driving a valve positioner, indicator or controller input. Simulating means the meter controls a current that an external loop supply powers, standing in for a two-wire transmitter. The Fluke 789 and Fluke 772 do both; the other meters here only measure.
Why does my 4-20mA loop read 0 mA or below 4 mA?+
Zero usually means an open circuit: a broken wire, a blown fuse in the loop supply or a disconnected terminal. A reading below 4 mA but above zero often means the transmitter is signaling a fault, has lost supply voltage, or the loop has too much resistance for the available compliance. Check the supply voltage at the transmitter terminals next.
Do I need a HART resistor to test a 4-20mA loop?+
Only for HART communication. A HART communicator needs at least about 250 ohms in the loop to read the digital signal riding on the current. Many control systems already provide it. The Fluke 789 has a selectable 250 ohm resistor, so you can talk to a transmitter on the bench while powering it from the meter's 24 V supply.





