COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 1587 FC vs Fluke 289: Insulation Testing or Data Logging?

The Fluke 1587 FC vs 289 comparison is really a question about when you test equipment. The 1587 FC does its most valuable work with the power off: it pushes 50 to 1000 V into de-energized windings and cables and reads insulation up to 2 GΩ. The 289 does its most valuable work with the power on, recording up to 10,000 time-stamped readings while a fault comes and goes. Both are True RMS and rated CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V, but they answer different questions.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 1587 FC insulation multimeter with insulation test button, front view
Best Insulation Multimeter

Fluke 1587 FC

4.6★★★★★

A True RMS multimeter and 50–1000 V insulation tester in one, with PI/DAR tests and Fluke Connect logging to your phone.

Fluke 289 True RMS logging multimeter with LoΩ dial position, front view
Best for Low Resistance

Fluke 289

4.7★★★★★

The only handheld here with a 50 Ω range at 1 mΩ resolution, plus 0.01 µA current resolution and on-screen trend logging.

Specs side by side

Fluke 1587 FCFluke 289
Rating4.6★★★★★4.7★★★★★
AccuracyTrue RMS, ±(0.09% + 2) DC VTrue RMS, 0.025% basic DC V
Safety ratingCAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000VCAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V
Auto-rangingYes (manual override)Yes (manual override)
Best forMotor, cable and insulation testingLow-ohm, µA and logged electronics work
Insulation test50, 100, 250, 500, 1000 V; 0.01 MΩ to 2 GΩNone
PI / DARYes, with TrendIt graphs in the app No
RecordingVia the Fluke Connect app (phone memory)On the meter: 10,000 intervals plus events, real-time clock
PC / phone linkFluke Connect wireless (2.4 GHz)IR link to FlukeView Forms; no wireless
Display6,000 counts, backlit50,000 counts, on-screen trend graph
DC volts accuracy±(0.09% + 2)±(0.025% + 2)
AC volts accuracy±(1% + 3) at 50–60 Hz±(0.3% + 25) at 45–65 Hz
Current60 mA and 400 mA ranges only; no 10 A input0.01 µA (500 µA range) up to 10 A
Resistance (meter)0.1 Ω to 50 MΩ50 Ω range at 0.001 Ω; up to 500 MΩ
CapacitanceUp to 9999 µF1 nF to 100 mF
FrequencyUp to 99.99 kHz0.5 Hz to 999.99 kHz
Temperature−40 to 537 °C, K-type included−200 to 1350 °C excluding probe
Low-pass filter YesYes, blocks above 1 kHz
LoZ / peak captureNot stated / Not statedYes (3.2 kΩ) / 250 µs
SealingIP40 (non-operating)Not stated
Battery4 × AA; 1000 h meter use, 1000+ insulation tests6 × AA; 100 h minimum, 200 h logging
Weight550 g (Amazon lists 1645 g)871 g
Warranty3 years (5 with registration, offer may end)Lifetime limited

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →Insulation testing is the 1587 FC's alone: five test voltages from 50 to 1000 V, readings to 2 GΩ and timed PI/DAR ratios. The 289 has no insulation function.
  • →Unattended recording is the 289's strength: it stores up to 10,000 intervals plus events with a real-time clock on the meter. The 1587 FC saves and graphs through the Fluke Connect phone app instead.
  • →Current range: the 289 runs from a 0.01 µA step on its 500 µA range up to 10 A. The 1587 FC has 60 mA and 400 mA ranges only.
  • →Low resistance: the 289's 50 Ω range resolves 0.001 Ω at up to 10 mA; the 1587 FC's meter side starts at 0.1 Ω.
  • →Resolution and accuracy: 50,000 counts and ±(0.025% + 2) DC volts on the 289, against 6,000 counts and ±(0.09% + 2) on the 1587 FC.
  • →Identical: True RMS AC, CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V, a low-pass filter for drive outputs and a thermocouple temperature input.

Power off, power on: two halves of a motor job

Think about how a motor problem usually unfolds. A drive trips at odd hours, or a pump motor runs hot. The first question is what the supply and load are doing while it runs, and that's a recording job: leave a meter on the circuit through a shift and come back to a timeline. The second question, once the machine is locked out, is whether the windings and the feeder cable are still sound, and that's an insulation job. The 289 is built for the first question and the 1587 FC for the second.

Stage of the jobEquipment stateBetter toolWhat it gives you
Catch the eventEnergized, runningFluke 289Timestamped record of sags, spikes or current swings
Check winding resistance balanceLocked outFluke 2890.001 Ω steps on the 50 Ω range
Check insulation to groundLocked outFluke 1587 FCMegohm reading at 500 or 1000 V
Judge insulation condition over timeLocked outFluke 1587 FCPI and DAR ratios with app graphs
Confirm repair under loadEnergizedEitherTrue RMS volts; the 289 also logs it

Neither replaces the other

A shop that rebuilds or maintains motors often ends up wanting both readings, because a winding can pass an insulation test and still be unbalanced, or measure balanced and still be leaking to the frame. If you can only buy one, pick by which question you're asked most often: "is it safe to energize?" points to the 1587 FC, "why does it keep tripping?" points to the 289.

Two resistance tests that share only the ohm symbol

Both meters measure resistance at the extremes, but from opposite ends. The 289's low-ohm range drives up to 10 mA through a connection and resolves a thousandth of an ohm, using no more than about 20 V of open-circuit voltage. The 1587 FC's insulation test drives about 1 mA into a short and holds the test voltage you choose, up to 1000 V, to find leakage paths in the gigaohm region.

1587 FC insulation
1000 V
289 low-ohm
≤20 V open

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Highest voltage each meter applies during its specialist resistance test, log scale.
1587 FC insulation
2 GΩ
289 ohms
500 MΩ
1587 FC meter
50 MΩ

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Highest resistance reading, log scale. Fluke's ±(10% + 3) applies above 0.6 GΩ.

Why can't the 289's 500 MΩ range stand in for an insulation tester? Because a weakened insulation path often looks fine at a few volts and only starts conducting when it is stressed near the voltage the equipment sees in service. That's a widely accepted engineering principle, not a figure from Fluke, but it's the reason insulation testers exist. Going the other way, the 1587 FC's meter side starts at 0.1 Ω, too coarse to compare three winding phases that may differ by a few milliohms, which is where the 289's 50 Ω range and its relative mode for zeroing the leads come in. Fluke describes that range as two-terminal, not four-wire Kelvin. Our motor winding short test guide walks through the meter side of that check.

Before you press the insulation test button

Safety: insulation testing puts up to 1000 V on the conductor

Only qualified personnel should run insulation tests. De-energize the equipment, apply your lockout/tagout procedure and prove absence of voltage with a meter you've checked on a known live source. Disconnect drives, surge devices and electronics that the test voltage could damage, and keep everyone clear of the far end of the cable or winding under test. The 1587 FC refuses to start if it sees more than 30 V on its terminals and discharges up to 1 µF in under half a second, but long cables and large windings can hold more charge than that: discharge and verify zero before touching anything. Never rely on the meter's lockout as your isolation. If you're not trained for it, call a licensed electrician or a motor shop.

The 289 doesn't raise this question, since its highest test source is the roughly 20 V of its low-ohm range. That doesn't make it harmless: logging sessions are usually set up on energized circuits, so the same CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V rules for leads, PPE and arc-flash boundaries apply when you clip it on.

Where each meter keeps its records

Both meters can build a history, but they put it in different places. The 289 holds the record itself: up to 10,000 sample intervals plus events, each with a real-time-clock stamp, graphed on its own screen with TrendCapture and downloadable over an IR link to FlukeView Forms. You can walk away with no phone in range. The 1587 FC sends readings over Fluke Connect, where the app stores them, draws TrendIt graphs and applies temperature compensation to insulation results. Our sources don't list an on-meter memory for it.

Record-keeping needFluke 1587 FCFluke 289
Overnight capture with nobody thereNeeds a phone link; not statedYes, on the meter
Timestamp on each readingThrough the appReal-time clock
Insulation trend for an asset filePI/DAR and TrendIt graphsNot applicable
Temperature-corrected megohm valuesYes, in the appNot applicable
Getting data to a PCFrom the appIR link, FlukeView Forms

PI is the 10-minute reading divided by the 1-minute reading, and DAR divides the 60-second reading by the 30-second one. Rising values usually mean clean, dry insulation; flat values point to moisture or contamination. We go deeper on the ratios on Fluke 1587 FC vs 87V. For other approaches to remote readings, see Fluke 3000 FC vs 289.

As an everyday meter, the 289 reaches further

Set aside the specialist functions and the 289 is the broader meter on nearly every line. Its 50,000-count display shows 4.9999 V where a 6,000-count meter shows 4.999 V, and its DC accuracy line is close to four times tighter. The bigger practical gap is current: the 1587 FC tops out at 400 mA, so motor and heater currents need a clamp, while the 289 takes up to 10 A directly and also reads microamps.

Fluke 289
50,000
Fluke 1587 FC
6,000
Display counts. More counts show an extra digit before the meter changes range.

The 289 also lists LoZ for ghost voltages and 250 µs peak capture; our 1587 FC sources state neither. Both carry a low-pass filter for drive outputs, so motor-lead voltage on a VFD is readable on either. The 1587 FC has one edge on the meter side: its K-type thermocouple comes in the box, while the 289's box contents aren't stated in our data.

Weight, batteries and warranty

Fluke 1587 FC
1000 h
Fluke 289
100 h min
Rated meter-use battery life in hours. The 289 reaches 200 h in logging mode.
Fluke 1587 FC
550 g
Fluke 289
871 g
Weight per Fluke. Amazon's 1587 FC listing says 1645 g, which conflicts.

The 289's large display and recorder are thirsty: six AA cells for a 100-hour minimum, or 200 hours in logging mode. The 1587 FC gets about 1000 hours of meter use from four AA cells and Fluke quotes at least 1000 insulation tests per set. Warranties differ too. The 289 carries a lifetime limited warranty; the 1587 FC has three years, which Fluke says registration can extend to five, though that offer may end without notice. The 1587 FC's case is IP40 when not operating; our 289 sources give no IP rating. Fluke's own pages also disagree on whether the 1587 FC ships with a soft or a hard case.

Which should you buy?

If your work is mostly…BuyBecause
Motor and cable commissioningFluke 1587 FCInsulation test at 50–1000 V with PI/DAR
Predictive maintenance with asset recordsFluke 1587 FCInsulation trends saved in the app
Nuisance trips and intermittent dropoutsFluke 289Unattended, timestamped recording
Electronics and sleep-current workFluke 2890.01 µA resolution, 50,000 counts
Contact, busbar and connection resistanceFluke 28950 Ω range at 0.001 Ω
Direct current readings above 400 mAFluke 28910 A input
Motor shop doing bothBothEach covers the other's blind spot

If you only need insulation at 500 V and 1000 V, the simpler meter in Fluke 1577 vs 1587 FC may be enough. If you want the 289's recorder without the low-ohm range and LoZ, read Fluke 289 vs 287. Sealed-site buyers should also see Fluke 1587 FC vs 87V MAX.

Who should skip each

Skip the 1587 FC if you never test insulation. Without that function you're paying for a 6,000-count meter with no 10 A jack and no microamp range, and a general-purpose Fluke covers more ground. Skip it too if you need records without a phone nearby.

Skip the 289 if your job is deciding whether equipment is safe to energize: no amount of logging or resolution replaces a high-voltage insulation test. Skip it as well if weight and battery changes bother you, or if a 6,000-count meter already covers your readings. Neither meter is owner-tested by OhmSavvy; both verdicts are desk research against Fluke's published specifications.

Choose the Fluke 1587 FC if…

  • ✓You megger motors, cables, transformers or switchgear before energizing or after a fault
  • ✓You want PI and DAR ratio tests and trend graphs saved to your phone through Fluke Connect
  • ✓Your current readings stay under 400 mA, or you use a clamp for anything larger

Choose the Fluke 289 if…

  • ✓You chase intermittent faults and need a timestamped record of when the voltage or current changed
  • ✓You measure microamps, milliohm contact resistance or currents up to 10 A on the same meter
  • ✓You value 50,000-count resolution and ±(0.025% + 2) DC volts accuracy

The bottom line

Buy the Fluke 1587 FC if you need to prove insulation before energizing motors, cables or switchgear: it tests at 50 to 1000 V up to 2 GΩ, runs PI/DAR and stores trends in the Fluke Connect app. Buy the Fluke 289 if you troubleshoot energized equipment and need an on-meter, timestamped record, plus microamps, milliohms and 10 A. Teams that do both kinds of work end up wanting both.

Frequently asked questions

Can the Fluke 289 do insulation resistance testing?+

No. Its resistance function reads up to 500 MΩ using a low test voltage, and its low-ohm range sources no more than about 20 V. A proper insulation test applies a rated voltage such as 500 or 1000 V. For that you need a tester like the 1587 FC, which applies 50 to 1000 V.

Does the Fluke 1587 FC log data like the 289?+

Differently. The 1587 FC sends readings to the Fluke Connect app, which stores them, graphs insulation trends with TrendIt and runs PI/DAR. Our sources don't list an on-meter memory. The 289 records up to 10,000 timestamped intervals plus events inside the meter and graphs them on its own screen.

Can the Fluke 1587 FC measure motor current?+

Not directly above 400 mA. Its current inputs are limited to 60 mA and 400 mA ranges with a 0.44 A fuse and no 10 A jack, so motor running current needs a clamp accessory. The Fluke 289 accepts up to 10 A on its own input and also resolves 0.01 µA.

Which is more accurate, the 1587 FC or the 289?+

On the meter functions, the 289. Fluke lists ±(0.025% + 2) on DC volts for the 289 against ±(0.09% + 2) for the 1587 FC, on a 50,000-count display versus 6,000 counts. For insulation resistance only the 1587 FC has a spec: ±(1.5% + 5) at 250 to 1000 V up to 600 MΩ.

Is the Fluke 1587 FC heavier than the 289?+

Fluke lists the 1587 FC at 550 g and the 289 at 871 g, so the insulation tester is lighter. Amazon's 1587 FC listing gives 1645 g, which conflicts with Fluke; that figure may include packaging or a case. We use Fluke's number on this page.

Do both meters work on variable-frequency drives?+

Both list a low-pass filter for reading drive output voltage, and both are True RMS. The 289 adds LoZ for ghost voltages and 250 µs peak capture, which our 1587 FC sources don't state. Never run an insulation test with a drive connected: disconnect it first, because the test voltage can damage the electronics.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews