COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS
Fluke 15B+ vs Fluke 117/323 Kit
These sit at opposite ends of what Fluke sells. The 15B+ is a straightforward, budget-tier meter: no True RMS claim, no frequency or temperature, just voltage, current from microamps to 10A, resistance, capacitance, diode and continuity in a tough case. The 117/323 kit is two True RMS tools in one purchase: an electrician's multimeter with VoltAlert and LoZ, plus a 400A AC clamp meter. The price gap is real, and so is the capability gap behind it.
By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·
Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 15B+
4.3★★★★☆The 17B+ body and safety rating without frequency, temperature or MIN MAX: a plain, tough Fluke for volts, amps and ohms.

Fluke 117/323 Kit
4.6★★★★★The Fluke 117 and 323 clamp meter bundled together, covering both general multimeter work and clamp current checks in one purchase.
Specs side by side
| Fluke 15B+ | Fluke 117/323 Kit | |
|---|---|---|
| Rating | 4.3★★★★☆ | 4.6★★★★★ |
| Accuracy | Not stated as True RMS by Fluke | Fluke 117 multimeter + Fluke 323 clamp meter |
| Safety rating | CAT III 600V / CAT II 1000V | CAT III 600V (both tools) |
| Auto-ranging | Yes (manual override) | Included soft case |
| Best for | Basic electrical and electronics checks | Electricians who want both tools in one purchase |
| AC measurement | Not stated as True RMS by Fluke | True RMS (both tools in the kit) |
| Display | 4,000 counts, backlit | 117: 6,000 counts + 33-segment bar graph |
| Series current | 400 µA to 10A AC/DC | 117: 6A and 10A AC/DC; no mA or µA ranges |
| Clamp AC current | No | Yes, up to 400A AC via the included 323 |
| Frequency | No (17B+ only) | 117: yes, to 50 kHz; 323: no |
| Min/Max recording | No | 117: Min/Max/Avg |
| Temperature | No | No (neither tool) |
| Non-contact voltage / LoZ | No | 117: VoltAlert and AutoVolt LoZ |
| Safety rating | CAT III 600V / CAT II 1000V | CAT III 600V (117) / CAT III 600V + CAT IV 300V (323) |
| Max voltage | 1000V | 600V (both tools) |
| Battery | 2 × AA, 500 h minimum | 117: 9V, about 400 h typical |
Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.
Key differences
- →Fluke doesn't describe the 15B+ as True RMS; both tools in the 117/323 kit are True RMS, which matters on variable-speed drives, dimmers and other non-sinusoidal AC loads.
- →The kit includes clamp-based AC current measurement to 400A via the 323, a capability the 15B+ doesn't have at all.
- →The 15B+ has µA and mA ranges that neither tool in the kit offers, so for small electronics currents the cheaper meter is actually better equipped.
- →The 117 adds VoltAlert non-contact detection, a LoZ input for ghost voltage, frequency and Min/Max/Avg, none of which the 15B+ has.
- →The 15B+ is a single, simple tool; the kit is two purpose-built tools plus leads, a TPAK hanger and a carrying case.
Fluke 15B+ vs 117/323 kit spec by spec
This isn't two competing options at similar price points; it's a budget-versus-capability choice. The surprise is that it isn't one-sided: the 15B+ reads lower currents and higher voltages than anything in the kit, while the kit wins on high current, AC accuracy on distorted loads and electrician features.
Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.
Who covers which currents
Current is where the two options split most clearly. The 15B+ has four current ranges below 4A, fed through a separate 440 mA fused input, so it can read a microcontroller's sleep current or a 4-20 mA sensor loop. The 117 starts at a 6.000 A range with 1 mA resolution. The 323 clamp starts at 400.0 A with 0.1 A resolution and reads AC only, but it never needs the circuit opened.
| Current to read | 15B+ | 117 | 323 clamp |
|---|---|---|---|
| 50 µA flame-rod or sleep current | Yes, 400.0 µA range | No | No |
| 20 mA sensor loop | Yes, 40.00 mA range | Reads 0.020 A at best | No |
| 2 A appliance draw | Yes, in series | Yes, in series | Yes, but coarse at 0.1 A steps |
| 15 A space heater circuit | No (10A limit) | No (10A; 20A for 30 s only) | Yes, clamp one conductor |
| 80 A feeder or motor start | No | No | Yes, up to 400A AC |
The 2 A row is worth a moment. The 323 can read it, but on a 400.0 A range Fluke's ±(2% + 5 digits) allows ±(0.04 + 0.5) A, which is about ±0.54 A on a 2 A load. That's arithmetic from the spec, not a test. For small loads, series measurement with a multimeter is the more precise route; the clamp is for big currents and for speed. Our guide to measuring milliamps walks through the series method.
Fuses and categories protect you only within their limits
Which should you buy?
| Your situation | Better choice | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Basic home electrical checks, no electronics work | Fluke 15B+ | Covers the essentials at the lowest full-size Fluke price |
| Variable-speed drives, dimmers, or other electronic loads | 117/323 Kit | True RMS reads these correctly; Fluke makes no such claim for the 15B+ |
| Need current measurement without disconnecting circuits | 117/323 Kit | Only the kit includes clamp current via the 323 |
| Electronics hobby: sleep currents, sensor loops | Fluke 15B+ | µA and mA ranges the kit doesn't have |
| Remodel or service work in older buildings | 117/323 Kit | VoltAlert and LoZ separate live wires from ghost voltage |
| Tight budget, simple needs, occasional use | Fluke 15B+ | No reason to pay for capability you won't use |
Consider the middle ground too
Choose the Fluke 15B+ if…
- ✓Your needs are basic: voltage, current, resistance, capacitance and continuity
- ✓You mostly measure ordinary sine-wave AC, not variable-speed drives or electronic loads
- ✓You need µA and mA ranges for electronics, which the 117 doesn't have
- ✓You want the lowest-cost full-size Fluke and don't need clamp current
Choose the Fluke 117/323 Kit if…
- ✓You need True RMS accuracy for electronic loads, drives, or dimmers
- ✓You want both a general multimeter and a clamp meter from the start
- ✓You read load currents above 10A, which the 323 handles up to 400A AC
- ✓You want VoltAlert non-contact detection and a LoZ input for building wiring
Neither if…
The 15B+'s basic checks are too little but the 117/323 kit's clamp-meter bundle is more than you need — the Fluke 117 alone is the middle option neither extreme covers.
The bottom line
Don't compare these as if they're close alternatives; they serve different budgets and needs. The 15B+ is a sensible choice for straightforward electrical and electronics checks, and its µA and mA ranges beat anything in the kit for small currents. The 117/323 kit is for anyone who needs True RMS on electronic loads, electrician features like VoltAlert and LoZ, and clamp current to 400A from the start. If neither extreme fits, the 117 alone is worth a look as a middle option.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Fluke 15B+ a "real" Fluke, or a budget knockoff?+
It's a genuine Fluke, positioned at the simple, affordable end of the lineup. It carries a CAT III 600V rating, 1000V-rated fuses on both current inputs and IP40 protection, the same CAT III 600V level as the 117. What it lacks is a True RMS claim and the extra functions of Fluke's pricier meters.
Will the 15B+ give wrong readings on normal household circuits?+
No. On ordinary sine-wave AC such as standard outlets and resistive loads, a meter without True RMS reads within its spec. The error shows up on non-sinusoidal loads like variable-speed drives, dimmers, LED drivers and some electronic equipment, where an average-responding reading can be well off.
Can I upgrade later if the 15B+ turns out to be too basic?+
Yes, there's no lock-in. You can add a True RMS meter or a clamp meter later as your work grows, and the 15B+ remains useful as a µA and mA meter or a spare. Just weigh that against buying the tool you'll need once, rather than paying twice.
Does the 117/323 kit include everything needed to start using both tools immediately?+
Yes. Fluke lists the 117 with its test leads and holster, the 323 with its own leads and soft case, a spare TL175 test lead set, a TPAK magnetic hanger and a carrying case. When it arrives, check the contents against Fluke's list so you know every piece is there.
Can the Fluke 15B+ measure current above 10 amps?+
No. Its highest range is 10.00 A, protected by an 11 A fuse, and current must flow through the meter in series. For a 15A or 20A circuit you need a clamp meter like the 323 in the kit, which reads AC current up to 400A by closing its jaw around one conductor.
Related



