COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS
Fluke 27 II vs Fluke 87V MAX
The Fluke 27 II and 87V MAX are both sealed to IP67, both run about 800 hours on three AA cells and both carry CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V and a lifetime warranty, but they measure AC in different ways. The 87V MAX is a True RMS industrial meter with a low-pass filter for variable frequency drives, 250 µs peak capture, temperature and a 19,999-count mode, and it is rated for a 4 m drop. The 27 II is average responding, so it reads clean sine waves correctly but not drive outputs or electronic loads; in exchange it carries MSHA approval, which Fluke doesn't list for the MAX.
By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·
Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 87V MAX
4.7★★★★★The 87V's measurement set in an IP67 case rated for a 4 m drop, with 800-hour AA battery life and a backlit keypad.

Fluke 27 II
4.4★★★★☆The 28 II's IP67, 3 m-drop body with average-responding AC, for harsh sites where the loads are plain sine waves.
Specs side by side
| Fluke 87V MAX | Fluke 27 II | |
|---|---|---|
| Rating | 4.7★★★★★ | 4.4★★★★☆ |
| Accuracy | True RMS, ±(0.05% + 1) DC V | Average responding, ±(0.1% + 1) DC V |
| Safety rating | CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V | CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V |
| Auto-ranging | Yes (manual override) | Yes (manual RANGE) |
| Best for | Industrial, outdoor and VFD work | Wet, dusty or cold sites with sine-wave loads |
| AC measurement | True RMS | Average responding |
| Low-pass (VFD) filter | Yes, 3 dB at 1 kHz | Not listed |
| DC volts | ±(0.05% + 1) | 0.1% + 1 |
| AC volts / bandwidth | ±(0.7% + 4) / 20 kHz | 0.5% + 3 / 40 Hz to 30 kHz |
| DC amps / AC amps | ±(0.2% + 2) / ±(1.0% + 2) | 0.2% + 4 / 1.5% + 2 |
| Resistance, capacitance, frequency accuracy | Published for all three | Ranges only |
| Temperature | −200 to 1090 °C, 80BK-A included | Not listed |
| Peak capture / hi-res | 250 µs / 19,999 counts | Not listed / 6000 counts |
| Input Alert | Yes | Not stated |
| IP / drop | IP67 / 4 m | IP67 / 3 m |
| MSHA | Not listed (CE, CSA) | Approved |
| Battery | 3 × AA, 800 h | 3 × AA, 800 h |
| Holstered size / weight | 6.0 × 10.1 × 21.5 cm, 698.5 g | 6.35 × 10.0 × 19.81 cm, 698.5 g |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime | Limited lifetime |
Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.
Key differences
- →AC method: the 87V MAX is True RMS; the 27 II is the average-responding "AVG" model and is only accurate on sine waves.
- →Drive tools: the 87V MAX lists a low-pass filter (3 dB at 1 kHz) and 250 µs peak capture. Fluke lists neither for the 27 II.
- →Extra functions on the MAX: temperature with an included probe, a 19,999-count mode and Input Alert for leads in the wrong jack.
- →Accuracy: the MAX halves the DC volts percentage and prints accuracy for ohms, capacitance and frequency; the 27 II prints only ranges for those.
- →Toughness: both IP67 with the same cold rating, but the MAX is drop-rated to 4 m against 3 m. The 27 II is MSHA approved; the MAX page doesn't list MSHA.
Rugged meets rugged, with different AC brains
People shortlist these two for the same reason: both survive rain, dust and cold that would kill an ordinary meter. What separates them is not the shell but the measuring method. The 87V MAX carries the measuring set of Fluke's industrial 87 line into a sealed case. The 27 II carries an average-responding front end, which Fluke and Amazon both label "AVG", into a sealed case. On a plant with drives, that one word decides the purchase.
87V MAX: drive-ready
True RMS plus a 1 kHz low-pass filter for VFD output readings.
87V MAX: tougher drop
Rated to 4 m (13 ft), one meter more than the 27 II.
87V MAX: fuller toolkit
Temperature, peak capture, hi-res mode, Input Alert.
27 II: MSHA
Listed as MSHA approved for mining use; the MAX is not.
27 II: wider AC band
40 Hz to 30 kHz, valid only on sine-shaped signals.
Both
IP67, −15 to 55 °C, 800 h on AAs, 698.5 g, lifetime warranty.
OhmSavvy hasn't hands-on tested the 27 II or the 87V MAX. Their scores, 4.4 and 4.7, reflect desk research against Fluke's product pages and the official Amazon listings, which are also the source of every figure on this page.
Fluke 27 II vs 87V MAX spec by spec
| Spec | Fluke 87V MAX | Fluke 27 II | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| AC conversion | True RMS | Average responding | 87V MAX |
| DC volts | ±(0.05% + 1), to 1000 V | 0.1% + 1, to 1000 V | 87V MAX |
| AC volts | ±(0.7% + 4) | 0.5% + 3 (sine only) | Depends on waveform |
| AC bandwidth | 20 kHz | 40 Hz to 30 kHz | 27 II on sine |
| Low-pass filter | Yes, 3 dB at 1 kHz | Not listed | 87V MAX |
| DC amps | ±(0.2% + 2) | 0.2% + 4 | 87V MAX |
| AC amps | ±(1.0% + 2) | 1.5% + 2 | 87V MAX |
| Current span | 0.1 µA to 10 A, 20 A for 30 s | 0.1 µA to 10 A, 20 A for 30 s | Same |
| Resistance | ±(0.2% + 1), to 50 MΩ | 0.1 Ω to 50 MΩ, accuracy not listed | 87V MAX |
| Capacitance | ±(1% + 2), 0.01 nF to 9999 µF | 1 nF to 9999 µF, accuracy not listed | 87V MAX |
| Frequency | ±(0.005% + 1), to 199.99 kHz | To 199.99 kHz, accuracy not listed | 87V MAX |
| Temperature | −200 to 1090 °C | Not listed | 87V MAX |
| Counts | 6000; 19,999 hi-res | 6000 | 87V MAX |
| Peak capture | 250 µs | Not listed | 87V MAX |
| IP rating | IP67 | IP67 | Same |
| Drop rating | 4 m (13 ft) | 3 m (10 ft) | 87V MAX |
| MSHA | Not listed | Approved | 27 II |
| Operating range | −15 to 55 °C; −40 °C for 20 min | −15 to +55 °C; −40 °C for 20 min | Same |
| Leads included | TL175 TwistGuard | Test leads (model not stated) | 87V MAX |
| Battery | 3 × AA, 800 h | 3 × AA, 800 h | Same |
That last chart matters more than it looks for anyone working under a quality system. If a procedure asks you to record a capacitor's value or a contact resistance with a stated measurement tolerance, the 87V MAX gives you a number to quote, while the 27 II gives you a range and nothing else. Size is the one place the 27 II comes out ahead: its holstered length is 19.8 cm against 21.5 cm, at the same 698.5 g.
What a drive puts on the motor leads
A variable frequency drive rectifies the incoming AC to a DC bus, then switches that bus on and off thousands of times a second. The motor leads see full-height pulses whose widths rise and fall in a sine pattern. The motor's inductance smooths the current, so the motor responds mainly to the low-frequency fundamental, but a meter connected across those leads sees every switching edge.
With its low-pass filter on, the 87V MAX attenuates content above about 1 kHz, so its True RMS reading tracks the fundamental the motor actually uses. The 27 II has two problems on the same leads. Its averaging assumes a sine, which a pulse train is not, and it lists no filter while accepting AC up to 30 kHz, so the switching edges reach the converter. Its band also starts at 40 Hz, so a drive turned down below that, for a slow conveyor or fan, sits outside its published range.
| Point on a drive | What you see | Fluke 87V MAX | Fluke 27 II |
|---|---|---|---|
| Line input, phase to phase | Utility AC, close to sine | Fine | Fine |
| Input current per phase | Peaky rectifier pulses | True RMS, correct within spec | Likely to read low |
| DC bus | Roughly 1.41 × line volts (≈680 V on 480 V) | Fine, CAT III 1000V | Fine, CAT III 1000V |
| Output voltage to motor | PWM pulses | Low-pass filter on | Not trustworthy |
| Output current (with a clamp accessory) | Smoothed by the motor | True RMS | Error grows with distortion |
The DC bus figure is the usual rectifier rule of thumb, not a Fluke specification; real buses sag under load and rise during braking. If your work involves drives every week, also look at our Fluke 87V vs 87V MAX comparison, since the standard 87V shares the filter and is the one we have tested ourselves.
Where the 27 II still earns its place
Not every harsh site has drives on every circuit. A mine's mobile equipment shop, a farm, a quarry or an irrigation district may spend most of its meter time on 12 and 24 V DC systems, fuses, solenoid coils, continuity and line-fed motors. Averaging doesn't affect DC, resistance or continuity at all, and on a utility sine the 27 II's AC volts line, 0.5% + 3, is actually tighter on paper than the MAX's 0.7% + 4. Add MSHA approval and a case that is 1.7 cm shorter, and it is a sensible meter for that work.
The catch is that a meter tends to outlive the job it was bought for. If there is any chance you'll be asked to check a drive, a UPS or a panel of LED lighting, the average-responding front end becomes a liability, and that is a hard thing to remember in the moment.
Decide by the waveform, then by the paperwork
Fluke 27 II vs 87V MAX: which should you buy?
| You are… | Buy | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Industrial electrician on a plant with VFDs | Fluke 87V MAX | True RMS, low-pass filter, peak capture |
| Mine electrician whose program requires MSHA | Fluke 27 II, or 28 II for True RMS | MSHA listed; MAX doesn't list it |
| Wind, solar or tower technician | Fluke 87V MAX | 4 m drop, inverter-driven circuits |
| Heavy-equipment or fleet mechanic | Fluke 27 II | Mostly DC; IP67 body; averaging is irrelevant |
| Water and wastewater maintenance | Fluke 87V MAX | Pump drives and wet pits |
| Plant metrology or audited maintenance | Fluke 87V MAX | Accuracy published for every core function |
| Explosive or classified atmosphere | Neither | Neither is described as intrinsically safe |
For more sealed and industrial options, see Fluke 28 II vs Fluke 87V MAX, our best multimeter for electricians guide and the full best multimeters roundup.
Safety: drive circuits stay dangerous after the motor stops
Choose the Fluke 87V MAX if…
- ✓You troubleshoot variable frequency drives, inverters or other power electronics
- ✓You need published accuracy for resistance, capacitance and frequency, or a temperature input
- ✓Your meter takes falls from lifts, ladders and platforms, where a 4 m drop rating helps
Choose the Fluke 27 II if…
- ✓Your site's electrical program requires MSHA-approved test instruments
- ✓Your AC is line-fed and close to a sine, and most readings are DC, ohms and continuity
- ✓You want a sealed Fluke without the drive, temperature and hi-res features you won't use
The bottom line
Buy the Fluke 87V MAX for industrial work: True RMS with a 1 kHz low-pass filter makes it trustworthy on drives and electronic loads, it adds temperature, peak capture and a hi-res mode, it publishes accuracy for every core function and it is rated for a 4 m drop. Buy the Fluke 27 II only if you need an MSHA-approved sealed meter and your AC work is line-fed sine waves, or most of your readings are DC.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Fluke 27 II good for VFD work?+
No. It is average responding and Fluke lists no low-pass filter for it, so readings on a drive's output leads can be well off. Its AC band also starts at 40 Hz. The 87V MAX is True RMS with a filter that rolls off at about 1 kHz, which is the setup Fluke designs for drive outputs.
Is the Fluke 87V MAX MSHA approved?+
Fluke's 87V MAX page lists CE and CSA approvals and doesn't mention MSHA, while the 27 II and 28 II pages both list MSHA approval. If your mine's electrical program specifies MSHA-approved instruments, buy one of those two or get written confirmation from Fluke before choosing the MAX.
Which is tougher, the Fluke 27 II or the 87V MAX?+
On paper the 87V MAX, by one drop-test meter: 4 m against 3 m. Both are IP67, so dust-tight and protected against temporary immersion, and both share the −15 to 55 °C operating range with 20-minute excursions to −40 °C. They weigh the same 698.5 g in their holsters.
Does the Fluke 27 II measure temperature?+
Fluke doesn't list a temperature function for the 27 II. The 87V MAX reads −200 to 1090 °C at the meter and ships with the 80BK-A bead probe, which covers −40 to 260 °C. If you check bearings, enclosures or pipework, that saves carrying a separate thermometer.
Why does the 27 II have a higher AC bandwidth than the 87V MAX?+
Fluke lists the 27 II's AC band as 40 Hz to 30 kHz and the 87V MAX's as 20 kHz. A wider band only helps on clean sine signals, because the 27 II is average responding. On drive outputs, a wider band without a filter lets in more switching noise, which is why the MAX adds a low-pass filter.
Do the Fluke 27 II and 87V MAX use the same batteries?+
Yes. Both take three AA cells and Fluke rates both at about 800 hours; for the 87V MAX that figure is without the backlight. Standard AA cells are easy to find on a remote site, and the long run time means battery changes are rare on either meter.
Related



