COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS
Fluke 175 vs Fluke 115 for Everyday Electrical Troubleshooting
For everyday electrical troubleshooting that includes low-current or control work, the Fluke 175 is the more capable meter: it has 60 mA and 400 mA ranges that resolve 0.01 mA, reads to 1000 V, carries CAT IV 600V and specifies DC volts at ±(0.15% + 2) against the 115's ±(0.5% + 2). The Fluke 115 is the easier meter to live with: it has a backlight (Fluke lists none for the 175), about 400 hours per 9 V battery against about 200, and it's the one we have hands-on tested. Both are True RMS 6,000-count meters with 10 A inputs, capacitance, frequency and Min/Max/Avg.
By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·
Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 175
4.5★★★★★The entry 170-series Fluke: True RMS volts and amps to 10 A, CAT IV 600V and a lifetime warranty, minus the 177's backlight.

Fluke 115
4.8★★★★★The same Fluke reliability as the 117, in the same body, without the electrician-specific extras (NCV, AutoVolt, LoZ).
Specs side by side
| Fluke 175 | Fluke 115 | |
|---|---|---|
| Rating | 4.5★★★★★ | 4.8★★★★★ |
| Accuracy | True RMS, ±(0.15% + 2) DC V | True RMS |
| Safety rating | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | CAT III 600V |
| Auto-ranging | Yes (manual override) | Yes |
| Best for | General electrical and electronic repair | Field technicians, general electrical and electronics work |
| Lowest current range | 60.00 mA, 0.01 mA resolution | 6.000 A, 0.001 A resolution |
| Maximum voltage | 1000 V AC/DC | 600 V AC/DC |
| Safety rating | CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V | CAT III 600V |
| DC volts accuracy | ±(0.15% + 2) | ±(0.5% + 2) |
| AC volts, True RMS | ±(1.0% + 3), 45 to 500 Hz | ±(1.0% + 3), 45 to 500 Hz |
| Resistance | To 50.00 MΩ | To 40.00 MΩ, ±(0.9% + 1) |
| Capacitance | ±(1.2% + 2), to 10,000 µF | ±(1.9% + 2), to 9,999 µF |
| Frequency | ±(0.1% + 1), to 100 kHz | ±(0.1% + 2), to 50 kHz |
| Continuity capture | Opens or shorts of 250 µs or longer | Opens or shorts of 500 µs or longer |
| Backlight | No (177 and 179 only, per Fluke's 170 Series datasheet) | Yes |
| Battery | 9 V, about 200 h | 9 V, 400 h typical |
| Size / weight | 43 × 90 × 185 mm, 420 g | 167 × 84 × 46 mm, 550 g |
| Warranty | Lifetime | 3 years |
Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Fluke 115 is hands-on tested by OhmSavvy; the Fluke 175 assessment is desk research. How we research.
Key differences
- →Milliamps: the 175 has 60 mA and 400 mA ranges with 0.01 mA and 0.1 mA resolution. The 115's only current ranges are 6 A and 10 A, so its smallest step is 1 mA.
- →Voltage and category: the 175 measures to 1000 V and is rated CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V. The 115 stops at 600 V and is rated CAT III 600V.
- →DC accuracy: ±(0.15% + 2) on the 175 against ±(0.5% + 2) on the 115, so the 175's percentage term is a third the size.
- →Backlight: the 115 has one. Fluke's 170 Series datasheet lists the backlight on the 177 and 179 only.
- →Battery and warranty: about 400 hours and 3 years on the 115; about 200 hours and a lifetime warranty on the 175.
- →Shared: True RMS AC volts at ±(1.0% + 3), DC amps at ±(1.0% + 3), AC amps at ±(1.5% + 3), 10 A inputs, 6,000 counts, a 33-segment bar graph, capacitance, frequency, diode test and Min/Max/Avg.
What "everyday troubleshooting" asks of a meter
Most troubleshooting days are a string of small questions. Is the outlet live? Is the breaker feeding the right voltage? Is this element open? Is the capacitor in spec? Is the control circuit getting 24 V? Both meters answer every one of those. They split on three narrower questions: how much current is the thermostat or coil drawing, can I measure on the service side of the panel, and can I read the display in the dark?
175: milliamps
60 mA and 400 mA ranges; the 115 has none.
175: CAT IV 600V
And 1000 V, against CAT III 600V.
175: DC accuracy
0.15% against 0.5% basic DC volts.
115: backlight
Lit display; the 175 has none.
115: battery
About 400 h against about 200 h.
Both
True RMS, 10 A, 6,000 counts, Min/Max/Avg.
We own and have tested the 115, which holds our 4.8 rating. The 175 is scored 4.5 from Fluke's product page, Fluke's 170 Series detailed specifications and its Amazon listing; we haven't used one.
Fluke 175 vs 115 spec by spec
| Function | Fluke 175 | Fluke 115 | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| DC volts | ±(0.15% + 2), 600.0 mV to 1000 V | ±(0.5% + 2), 600.0 mV to 600.0 V | 175 |
| AC volts, True RMS | ±(1.0% + 3) at 45 to 500 Hz, to 1000 V | ±(1.0% + 3) at 45 to 500 Hz, to 600 V | 175 (range) |
| DC amps | 60 mA, 400 mA, 6 A, 10 A; ±(1.0% + 3) | 6 A, 10 A; ±(1.0% + 3) | 175 |
| AC amps, True RMS | ±(1.5% + 3), 45 Hz to 1 kHz | ±(1.5% + 3), 45 to 500 Hz | 175 (bandwidth) |
| Resistance | 600.0 Ω to 50.00 MΩ | 600.0 Ω to 40.00 MΩ, ±(0.9% + 1) | 175 (range) |
| Continuity | On below 25 Ω; catches 250 µs opens/shorts | On below 20 Ω; catches 500 µs opens/shorts | 175 |
| Diode test | 2.400 V | 2.000 V | 175 |
| Capacitance | ±(1.2% + 2), to 10,000 µF | ±(1.9% + 2), to 9,999 µF | 175 |
| Frequency | ±(0.1% + 1), to 100 kHz | ±(0.1% + 2), to 50 kHz | 175 |
| Display | 6,000 counts; 33-segment bar graph at 40/s | 6,000 counts; 33-segment bar graph at 32/s | Same |
| Backlight | No | Yes | 115 |
| Hold / Min/Max/Avg | Hold, Auto Hold, Min/Max/Avg | Hold, Min/Max/Avg | Same |
| Safety | CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V | CAT III 600V | 175 |
| Battery | 9 V, about 200 h | 9 V, 400 h typical | 115 |
| Weight | 420 g | 550 g | 175 |
| Warranty | Lifetime | 3 years | 175 |
Here is what the DC figures mean on a 24 V DC control supply that reads 24.00 V on the 60.00 V range: the 175 allows 0.15% of 24 V (0.036 V) plus two counts of 0.01 V, about ±0.056 V. The 115 allows 0.5% (0.12 V) plus 0.02 V, about ±0.14 V. Both are fine for "is it there?"; the 175 is the better judge of a supply that is drifting toward its tolerance limit.
The milliamp gap, drawn out
This is the difference you'll notice first in everyday work. A thermostat's anticipator circuit, a relay coil, a small solenoid, an LED driver's output or a 4–20 mA sensor all draw tens of milliamps. The 175 has a dedicated mA jack and ranges built for that. The 115 measures current only through its 10 A jack, on 6 A and 10 A ranges.
On the 6 A range, the 115's ±(1.0% + 3) spec allows about ±0.003 A at 14 mA, roughly a fifth of the reading. On the 175's 60 mA range, ±(1.0% + 3) allows about ±0.17 mA. If your troubleshooting includes coil and control currents, the 175 is the meter that can actually answer the question. For the technique, see how to measure milliamps with a multimeter.
The 175's mA input is protected by a 440 mA, 1000 V fuse and its 10 A input by an 11 A, 1000 V fuse, per Fluke's 170 Series datasheet. Put the red lead in the mA jack on a circuit that can deliver more and you'll blow the small fuse, so start in the 10 A jack when the current is unknown.
Everyday jobs, side by side
| Job | Fluke 175 | Fluke 115 | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dead outlet or tripped GFCI | Yes | Yes | Either; the 115's backlight helps behind furniture |
| Voltage at the main breaker or meter base | Yes, CAT IV 600V | No: CAT III 600V | Service-side work needs CAT IV |
| Heating element or igniter resistance | Yes | Yes | Same ±(0.9% + 1) on common ranges |
| Run capacitor in µF | ±(1.2% + 2) | ±(1.9% + 2) | Both well inside a typical ±5% or ±6% part tolerance |
| 24 V control circuit voltage | Yes | Yes | 175 tighter on DC |
| Thermostat, relay coil or solenoid current | Yes, 0.01 mA | Only to 1 mA | 175 |
| Motor or appliance amps, up to 10 A | Yes | Yes | Same accuracy |
| Solar string or battery bank over 600 V DC | Yes, to 1000 V | No | 175 |
| Wiggle-test a cord for a break | 250 µs capture | 500 µs capture | 175 catches shorter dropouts |
Notice what's missing from both. Neither has a LoZ input for ghost voltage, non-contact detection or a temperature input. If you work mostly on residential branch circuits and want LoZ and VoltAlert, the Fluke 117 vs 115 comparison covers what the 117 adds. If you want the 175's ranges with a backlight, look at Fluke 175 vs 177.
Capability versus convenience
Fluke 175 vs 115 for field technicians
A field technician's meter lives in a van, a tool bag or a belt pouch, gets used in basements and on rooftops, and has to work on the third call of the day without a hunt for a battery. Judged that way, the spec sheet matters less than carry weight, where you may legally probe, whether you can see the display, and what happens when it gets knocked about.
| Field factor | Fluke 175 | Fluke 115 | What it means on the job |
|---|---|---|---|
| Size | 185 × 90 × 43 mm | 167 × 84 × 46 mm | 115 is shorter; 175 is slimmer |
| Weight | 420 g | 550 g | 175 is 130 g lighter on the belt |
| Category rating | CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V | CAT III 600V | Only the 175 covers meter bases |
| Backlight | None listed (Pub 10824-eng) | Yes, auto-off after 40 s | 115 in crawlspaces and panels |
| Display | 6,000 counts, 33-segment bar graph at 40/s | 6,000 counts, 33-segment bar graph at 32/s | Effectively the same |
| Hands-busy reading | Hold and Auto Hold | Hold | 175 captures a steady reading itself |
| Battery | 9 V, about 200 h | 9 V, 400 h typical without backlight | 115 goes twice as long |
| Ingress rating | Not stated in our sources | IP42 | 115 documented |
| Surge protection | 8 kV (170 Series) | Not stated in our sources | 175 documented |
| Drop rating | Not stated | Not stated | Neither published |
| Operating temperature | −10 to +50 °C | −10 to +50 °C | Same |
| Warranty | Lifetime | 3 years | 175 for a career-long meter |
Size cuts both ways. By the box dimensions the 175 occupies about 716 cm³ (185 × 90 × 43 mm) and the 115 about 645 cm³ (167 × 84 × 46 mm), so the 175 is roughly 11% bigger yet about 24% lighter. In a pouch the lighter meter wins; in a crowded tool case the shorter one might.
Battery life is easier to feel in weeks. Take an illustrative technician who has the meter switched on three hours a day, five days a week: 15 hours of use per week. At Fluke's ratings that is about 200 / 15 ≈ 13 weeks per 9 V cell in the 175 and 400 / 15 ≈ 27 weeks in the 115, though the 115's figure assumes the backlight is off and heavy backlight use will shorten it. Either way, keep a spare 9 V in the bag.
The backlight is the trade-off field techs argue about most. Fluke's 170 Series specifications put the backlight on the 177 and 179 only, so a 175 user reading a meter at the back of a dark condensing unit needs a headlamp. The 175 answers with Auto Hold, which freezes a stable reading so you can look after pulling the probes away. For ruggedness, Fluke publishes no drop rating for either meter, so compare what it does publish: an IP42 rating on the 115, 8 kV surge protection on the 175. The deciding line for many techs is the category rating: if your calls include meter bases or service equipment, only the 175 is rated for them. If a backlight and CAT IV both matter, the Fluke 175 vs Fluke 177 comparison covers the 170-series model that has both.
Fluke 175 or 115: which should you buy?
| You are… | Buy | Why |
|---|---|---|
| HVAC or appliance technician | Fluke 175 | Milliamp ranges for controls; tighter capacitance spec |
| Residential electrician | Fluke 175 | CAT IV 600V for meter bases and service equipment |
| Maintenance tech in dim plant rooms | Fluke 115 | Backlight; CAT III 600V covers branch and equipment work |
| Homeowner or DIYer | Fluke 115 | Backlit, long battery life, everything a home needs below 600 V |
| Solar or off-grid installer | Fluke 175 | Reads to 1000 V DC |
| Electronics hobbyist | Fluke 175 | mA ranges and 0.15% DC volts |
For more on the 115, read our hands-on Fluke 115 review. For other everyday options, see Fluke 107 vs 115, our best multimeter for home use guide and the full best multimeters roundup.
Safety: the category rating decides where you may probe
Choose the Fluke 175 if…
- ✓You check milliamp signals: thermostat and relay coil currents, sensor loops, small DC loads
- ✓You work on service entrances or 1000 V DC systems such as solar strings, where CAT IV 600V and 1000 V matter
- ✓You want a lifetime warranty and a lighter 420 g meter
Choose the Fluke 115 if…
- ✓You often read the meter in dim panels, crawlspaces or under sinks and want a backlit display
- ✓Your work stays below 600 V on branch circuits, appliances and equipment, where CAT III 600V covers you
- ✓You want the longer 400-hour battery life and the meter we've tested ourselves
The bottom line
The Fluke 175 measures more: 0.01 mA current ranges, 1000 V, CAT IV 600V, ±(0.15% + 2) DC volts and a lifetime warranty, so it's the better everyday troubleshooter if your work touches control currents or service equipment. The Fluke 115, which we've tested hands-on, is the more comfortable meter for branch-circuit and equipment work under 600 V, with a backlit display and about 400 hours per battery. Neither has LoZ, non-contact voltage or temperature.
Frequently asked questions
Can the Fluke 115 measure milliamps?+
Only coarsely. Its current ranges are 6 A and 10 A, so its finest step is 1 mA and a 14 mA reading shows as 0.014 A, with an error allowance of about 3 mA. For coil, thermostat or sensor currents you need mA ranges, which the Fluke 175 has at 60 mA (0.01 mA steps) and 400 mA.
Does the Fluke 175 have a backlight?+
No. Fluke's 170 Series detailed specifications list the backlight as a feature of the 177 and 179 only, and the 175's Amazon listing photo shows no backlight key. If you often read the meter in dark spaces, the backlit Fluke 115 or the 177 is a better fit.
Is the Fluke 175 or 115 better for an electrician?+
The 175, for most electricians, because its CAT IV 600V rating covers meter bases and service equipment and it reads to 1000 V. The 115's CAT III 600V rating covers panels and branch circuits only. Electricians who want ghost-voltage protection should also look at the Fluke 117, which adds LoZ and non-contact detection.
Which has the longer battery life, the Fluke 175 or 115?+
The 115. Fluke rates it at 400 hours typical on a 9 V alkaline cell without the backlight, while the 175 is rated at about 200 hours. In daily use that means the 175 needs a new battery roughly twice as often.
Are the Fluke 175 and 115 both True RMS?+
Yes. Both read AC volts and AC amps as True RMS, with the same ±(1.0% + 3) AC volts and ±(1.5% + 3) AC amps accuracy. The 175's AC amps spec runs to 1 kHz, the 115's to 500 Hz. That keeps either one accurate on LED drivers, variable-speed motors and other non-sinusoidal loads.
Why is the Fluke 175's warranty longer than the 115's?+
Fluke lists a lifetime warranty for the 175 and three years for the 115. The warranty covers defects, not damage from misuse, and fuses and batteries are consumables. If you expect to keep a meter for decades, the 175's lifetime cover is a real point in its favor.
Is the Fluke 175 or 115 better for field service technicians?+
It depends on the calls. The 175 is 130 g lighter, carries CAT IV 600V for meter bases and service equipment, adds Auto Hold and has a lifetime warranty. The 115 has the backlight the 175 lacks and roughly twice the battery life, which suits technicians who mostly work below 600 V in dim crawlspaces, attics and equipment rooms.
How rugged are the Fluke 175 and Fluke 115?+
Fluke doesn't publish a drop rating for either. Its 115 datasheet gives an IP42 ingress rating, and its 170 Series specifications give the 175 8 kV surge protection; we found no matching figure for the other meter in each case. Both are specified to operate from −10 to +50 °C, and both use a single 9 V battery.
Related


