COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 1587 FC vs Fluke 87V MAX: Insulation Testing or Rugged Diagnostics?

Choose the Fluke 1587 FC if your work includes proving that motor windings, feeders or cables will hold up before they are switched back on: it applies 50 to 1000 V DC, reads up to 2 GΩ and logs PI and DAR tests through Fluke Connect. Choose the Fluke 87V MAX if your problem is where you work rather than what you test: it is sealed to IP67, rated for a 4 m drop, runs about 800 hours on three AA cells and reads up to 10 A. In the Fluke 1587 FC vs 87V MAX decision, one tool adds a task and the other adds survivability; neither does both.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 1587 FC insulation multimeter, front view with the yellow insulation test key
Best Insulation Multimeter

Fluke 1587 FC

4.6★★★★★

A True RMS multimeter and 50–1000 V insulation tester in one, with PI/DAR tests and Fluke Connect logging to your phone.

Fluke 87V MAX IP67 industrial multimeter in its yellow holster
Best Rugged Industrial Meter

Fluke 87V MAX

4.7★★★★★

The 87V's measurement set in an IP67 case rated for a 4 m drop, with 800-hour AA battery life and a backlit keypad.

Specs side by side

Fluke 1587 FCFluke 87V MAX
Rating4.6★★★★★4.7★★★★★
AccuracyTrue RMS, ±(0.09% + 2) DC VTrue RMS, ±(0.05% + 1) DC V
Safety ratingCAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000VCAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V
Auto-rangingYes (manual override)Yes (manual override)
Best forMotor, cable and insulation testingIndustrial, outdoor and VFD work
Insulation test50 to 1000 V, 0.01 MΩ to 2 GΩ, PI/DAR No
Ingress protectionIP40 (non-operating)IP67 (IEC 60529)
Drop ratingNot stated4 m (13 ft)
Operating temperature-20 to 55 °C-15 to 55 °C; -40 °C for 20 min
Battery4 × AA; 1000 h meter use, ≥1000 IR tests3 × AA; 800 h without backlight
Weight550 g (Amazon lists 1645 g)698.5 g with holster
WirelessFluke Connect, 2.4 GHzNone listed
Current60 mA and 400 mA only0.1 µA to 10 A (20 A for 30 s)
DC volts accuracy±(0.09% + 2)±(0.05% + 1)
AC volts accuracy±(1% + 3) at 50–60 Hz±(0.7% + 4) True RMS
Peak capture / hi-resNot listed / 6,000 counts only250 µs / 19,999 counts
BacklightBacklit display; keypad not statedDisplay and keypad backlit
Warranty3 yearsLimited lifetime

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →Task: only the 1587 FC can put a 50 to 1000 V DC stress on insulation and read the result up to 2 GΩ. The 87V MAX has no insulation function, and no amount of ruggedness changes that.
  • →Environment: the 87V MAX is IP67 and rated for a 4 m drop. The 1587 FC is IP40, a rating Fluke qualifies as non-operating, and none of the sources we use publish a drop figure for it.
  • →Live troubleshooting: the MAX reads 0.1 µA to 10 A, captures 250 µs peaks and has a 19,999-count mode. The 1587 FC stops at 400 mA and lists neither feature.
  • →Records: the 1587 FC saves readings and PI/DAR trends to Fluke Connect. Fluke lists no wireless or logging for the 87V MAX.
  • →Shared ground: both are rated CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V, both have a low-pass filter for drive outputs, both run on AA cells, and both measure temperature with a K-type probe.

Task tool or site tool?

Most comparisons pit two meters that do the same job. These two answer different questions. The 1587 FC answers "is this insulation fit to be energized?", which is a maintenance task you schedule. The 87V MAX answers "will my meter still work after today?", which is a property of the place you work. A motor shop that never sees rain gains little from IP67. A solar crew that never lifts a feeder for a megohm test gains nothing from a 1000 V insulation source.

Live troubleshootingDe-energized insulation workShelteredsiteWet, dusty,drop-proneEither meterBoth CAT IV 600V,both read VFD outputsFluke 1587 FCOnly one of the twothat tests insulationFluke 87V MAXIP67 and a 4 mdrop rating1587 FC + careIP40 (non-operating):keep it dry and shelteredThe task decides whether you need the 1587 FC at all;the site decides how much the 87V MAX's sealing is worth.
Read the columns for the job and the rows for the site. Highlighted cells are the clear wins.

Neither meter is hands-on tested by us: the 1587 FC carries an editorial 4.6 and the 87V MAX a 4.7, both from Fluke's published specifications and the official Amazon listings. If you are weighing the MAX against the standard model, our Fluke 87V vs 87V MAX comparison isolates exactly what the sealed body adds. For the 1587 FC against the indoor 87V, with a walk-through of PI and DAR, see Fluke 1587 FC vs 87V.

What the 87V MAX's ruggedness adds

Fluke's two ratings tell different stories. IP40 on the 1587 FC means, in IEC 60529 terms, that objects larger than about 1 mm are kept out and no water protection is claimed; Fluke adds "non-operating", so even that applies to the meter while it is switched off. IP67 on the 87V MAX means dust-tight and rated for temporary immersion. Add the MAX's 4 m drop rating, against no published drop figure for the 1587 FC, and the gap is about survival on harsh sites, not about measurement.

MAX: IP67

Dust-tight; rated for brief immersion.

MAX: 4 m drop

About 13 ft, per Fluke.

MAX: cold excursions

-40 °C for 20 min when brought from 20 °C.

1587 FC: IP40

Non-operating rating; no water claim.

1587 FC: drop

Not stated in our sources.

1587 FC: -20 °C

Lower continuous minimum than the MAX's -15 °C.

The cold-weather line cuts both ways. The 1587 FC lists a continuous operating range from -20 °C, five degrees lower than the MAX's -15 °C. The MAX instead publishes a short excursion to -40 °C for 20 minutes, which fits the pattern of carrying a meter from a heated truck to a frozen disconnect and back. If you work for hours in steady cold, the 1587 FC's published range is actually the wider one.

Fluke 1587 FC (4 × AA)
1000 h
Fluke 87V MAX (3 × AA)
800 h
Published battery life on AA cells. The 1587 FC figure is meter use; Fluke also quotes at least 1000 insulation tests.
Fluke 1587 FC
550 g
Fluke 87V MAX
698.5 g
Weight as Fluke lists it. The MAX figure includes its holster; Amazon gives the bare 1587 FC 1645 g, which conflicts with Fluke.

What insulation testing adds

An ordinary ohms range, including the MAX's, drives a low voltage and tops out at 50 MΩ. That finds open windings and dead shorts, but not insulation that is slowly failing. The 1587 FC raises the stakes to the voltage the equipment actually sees, or more: 500 V for typical low-voltage motors and cables, up to 1000 V for heavier gear, and 50 to 250 V for control wiring that can't take more. It then reads the leakage as resistance up to 2 GΩ.

The value is in timing. A winding that reads 400 MΩ this spring and 40 MΩ next spring is telling you to schedule a rewind before it trips on a hot afternoon. That trend only exists if someone tests on a schedule and keeps the numbers, which is what the 1587 FC's Fluke Connect memory, TrendIt graphs and temperature compensation are for. Those figures are illustrative, not measurements.

Ruggedness protects the tool; insulation testing protects the equipment

The 87V MAX's IP67 body keeps a 3 a.m. breakdown call from ending with a drowned meter. The 1587 FC's insulation test keeps a motor from failing in service in the first place. Ask which of those two losses costs your operation more, and the choice usually makes itself.

Insulation testing on a wet or dusty site

The awkward case is a tech who needs megohm readings in exactly the conditions where the MAX shines: pump stations, outdoor feeders, wash-down areas. Here the 1587 FC's non-operating IP40 rating matters, and so does physics. Surface moisture and conductive dust on terminals and cable ends create leakage paths of their own, so an insulation reading taken on a damp afternoon often comes out lower than the same winding tested dry. That is a reason to clean and dry the test points, note the conditions, and compare like with like, which the app's temperature compensation helps with.

In practice, crews in harsh environments often carry both: a sealed meter for live checks all shift, and an insulation tester that comes out of its case under cover when a motor or feeder is isolated. If your sealed meter needs MSHA approval as well, compare the MAX with the Fluke 28 II; if you only need a simpler insulation tester, the Fluke 1577 vs 1587 FC page covers the two-voltage option.

Live diagnostics: where the MAX pulls ahead

On energized equipment the MAX is the stronger instrument. It reads current from 0.1 µA to 10 A, so a flame-sensor signal and a small motor's running current both go through the same meter. Its 250 µs peak capture catches short dropouts, and the 19,999-count mode resolves finer steps on a sensor or supply rail. DC volts are ±(0.05% + 1) against the 1587 FC's ±(0.09% + 2). The 1587 FC reads only 60 mA and 400 mA ranges, so motor amps need a clamp.

Live checkFluke 1587 FCFluke 87V MAX
Motor running currentClamp needed (400 mA max)Up to 10 A in series
Flame sensor µANot suitable0.1 µA resolution
Drive output voltsLow-pass filterLow-pass filter
Short voltage dipsPeak capture not listed250 µs peak capture
FrequencyTo 99.99 kHzTo 199.99 kHz
Temperature-40 to 537 °C-200 to 1090 °C

Fluke 1587 FC vs 87V MAX: which should you buy?

Your workBetter fitWhy
Motor repair or rewind shopFluke 1587 FCIndoor work; insulation and PI/DAR on every job
Plant predictive maintenanceFluke 1587 FCScheduled megohm tests with app records
Solar O&M on rooftops and arraysFluke 87V MAXRain, dust and drops; live checks dominate
Wastewater and lift stationsBothMAX for live calls; 1587 FC for isolated pump motors, kept dry
Outdoor feeder commissioningFluke 1587 FCTest cable insulation before first energization
Breakdown calls in all weatherFluke 87V MAXIP67, 4 m drop, 10 A and peak capture
Site that restricts radiosFluke 87V MAXNo wireless listed; the 1587 FC uses 2.4 GHz

For shortlists beyond these two, see the best multimeter for electricians, our multimeters for solar panel testing and the multimeter buying guide. For a low-voltage winding check you can do with any meter, read how to check a motor winding for a short.

Safety: insulation testers generate up to 1000 V by design

The 1587 FC creates its own high voltage, so the circuit under test becomes hazardous even though it is disconnected from the supply. Only qualified, authorized personnel should run insulation tests. De-energize the equipment, apply your lockout/tagout procedure, and verify zero voltage with a meter you have checked on a known live source. Isolate drives, surge protection and electronics before testing. Keep yourself and others off the conductors and the far end of any cable while the test runs. When it finishes, let the tester discharge the circuit, then confirm with a voltmeter that the stored charge is gone; long cables and large windings can hold more than the auto-discharge is rated for. The 30 V live-circuit block is a backstop, not a substitute for lockout. An IP67 meter does not make wet live work safe either: stay out of standing water, and bring in a qualified electrician for service-entrance or utility equipment.

Choose the Fluke 1587 FC if…

  • ✓Your maintenance routine includes megohm tests on motors, feeders or transformers before re-energizing
  • ✓You want timed PI and DAR results stored by asset in the Fluke Connect app
  • ✓Most of your work happens in plant rooms, shops or switchgear spaces that stay dry

Choose the Fluke 87V MAX if…

  • ✓Rain, wash-down spray, dust or drops onto concrete are an everyday risk for your meter
  • ✓You troubleshoot live circuits and need a 10 A input, 250 µs peak capture and 0.05% DC volts
  • ✓Insulation testing is someone else's job, or you already carry a separate insulation tester

The bottom line

Buy the Fluke 1587 FC if insulation testing is part of your job: 50 to 1000 V tests to 2 GΩ, PI and DAR, and readings stored through Fluke Connect, in a meter best kept in dry plant rooms. Buy the Fluke 87V MAX if your meter faces rain, dust and drops while you troubleshoot live equipment: IP67, a 4 m drop rating, a 10 A input and peak capture. Crews who do both kinds of work in harsh places usually end up carrying both.

Frequently asked questions

Can the Fluke 87V MAX test insulation resistance?+

No. Its resistance function reads to 50 MΩ using a low test voltage, which finds opens and shorts but can't stress insulation. Weak insulation can pass a low-voltage ohms check and still break down at working voltage. For megohm testing at 500 V or 1000 V you need an insulation tester such as the 1587 FC or the 1577.

Is the Fluke 1587 FC waterproof?+

No. Fluke rates it IP40 and qualifies that as non-operating. In IEC 60529 terms the zero means no water protection is claimed. Keep it dry, use it under cover outdoors, and dry test points before an insulation test, since moisture also lowers the reading. The 87V MAX is the sealed one, at IP67.

Which is tougher, the Fluke 1587 FC or the 87V MAX?+

The 87V MAX, on published ratings. Fluke lists IP67 and a 4 m drop rating for it, plus a short excursion to -40 °C. For the 1587 FC our sources give IP40 (non-operating) and no drop figure. The 1587 FC does list a lower continuous operating minimum, -20 °C against the MAX's -15 °C.

Can the Fluke 1587 FC replace an 87V MAX for everyday troubleshooting?+

Partly. It reads AC and DC volts with a low-pass filter, resistance, capacitance, frequency and temperature, all rated CAT IV 600V. It stops at 400 mA, so there's no 10 A input, and Fluke lists no peak capture or hi-res mode. Its DC accuracy is ±(0.09% + 2) against the MAX's ±(0.05% + 1).

Does the Fluke 87V MAX have Fluke Connect?+

Fluke doesn't list any wireless or logging function for the 87V MAX. Readings stay on its display, with Min/Max and peak capture for catching changes. If you want readings saved to a phone, the 1587 FC sends them over Fluke Connect, which is also how it graphs PI and DAR insulation tests.

Which has better battery life?+

On paper, the 1587 FC. Fluke quotes 1000 hours of meter use on four AA cells, or at least 1000 insulation tests. The 87V MAX is rated for 800 hours typical on three AA cells without the backlight. Both use AA cells, so either is easy to keep running from a hardware store shelf.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews