COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Brymen BM235 vs Fluke 117

Brymen BM235 vs Fluke 117 is the enthusiast's favorite against the electrician's standard. On the core electrician features they match: True RMS, 6,000 counts, a low-impedance voltage mode and non-contact voltage detection. The BM235 piles on a VFD mode, Type-K temperature, relative zero and µA/mA ranges; the 117 answers with a bar graph, a three-year warranty and Fluke's US support network.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Brymen BM235 True RMS digital multimeter, front view
Best Features for the Money

Brymen BM235

4.6★★★★★

True RMS with AutoV LoZ, NCV, VFD mode and temperature: more electrician features than most meters at its price.

Fluke 117 True RMS multimeter, front view
Best OverallHands-on Tested

Fluke 117

4.8★★★★★

The meter working electricians actually buy with their own money, not just the one brands push.

Specs side by side

Brymen BM235Fluke 117
Rating4.6★★★★★4.8★★★★★
AccuracyTrue RMSTrue RMS
Safety ratingCAT III 600V / CAT IV 300VCAT III 600V
Auto-rangingYes (manual override) Yes
Best forElectricians and enthusiasts who want every featureElectricians, serious hobbyists
Display6,000 counts, 5 updates/s, white backlight6,000 counts, 4 updates/s + 33-segment bar graph
DC volts accuracy±(0.2% + 2) to ±(0.4% + 2) by range±(0.5% + 2)
Low-impedance modeAutoV LoZ, impedance varies with voltageAutoVolt position, about 3 kΩ
Non-contact voltageYes (Hi/Lo EF detection)Yes (VoltAlert, Lo/Hi)
VFD modeYes, 600 V, ±(1.0% + 3) at 10–100 Hz No
TemperatureType-K, -40 to 400 °C, bead probe includedNo (Fluke datasheet: 116 only)
Current ranges600 µA to 10A, six ranges6A and 10A AC/DC
Capacitance20 nF to 10 mF1 nF to 9,999 µF
ContinuityBeep + backlight flash, 30–480 Ω thresholdBeeps below 20 Ω
RecordingMax/Min/Avg, relative zeroMin/Max/Average
Max voltageBrymen sources differ (600V–1000V)600V AC/DC
Ingress protectionIP40Not stated
Battery2 × AAAOne 9V, 400 h typical
Size / weight161 × 80 × 50 mm, about 334 g with holster167 × 84 × 46 mm, 550 g
WarrantyNot stated in our sources3 years

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Fluke 117 is hands-on tested by OhmSavvy; the Brymen BM235 assessment is desk research. How we research.

Key differences

  • →Both are True RMS with a low-impedance mode and non-contact voltage detection, so the core electrician toolkit is shared.
  • →The BM235 adds a VFD voltage and frequency mode, Type-K temperature, relative zero and µA/mA current ranges.
  • →The Fluke 117 adds a 33-segment bar graph and comes with a stated three-year warranty.
  • →Brymen's own documents disagree on the BM235's ratings: its BM230 Series catalog gives CAT III 600V and CAT IV 300V, while the BM235 product sheet and web page list CAT II 1kV and CAT III 600V.
  • →The BM235's low-impedance input changes with voltage, from above 8 MΩ to about 2.1 kΩ and back up to 240 kΩ at 600 V; Fluke quotes about 3 kΩ for the 117.
  • →The BM235's US Amazon listing is the EEVblog edition, and support runs through Brymen's distributors rather than a large US brand.

Feature-by-feature

FeatureBrymen BM235Fluke 117
True RMSYesYes
Low-impedance voltageYesYes
Non-contact voltageYesYes
Automatic AC/DC selectionYes (AutoV)Yes (AutoVolt)
VFD modeYesNo
TemperatureYesNo
µA and mA rangesYesNo
Relative zeroYesNot listed
Bar graphNot listedYes

Brymen BM235 vs Fluke 117 spec by spec

Brymen publishes a full accuracy table for the BM230 Series in its catalog, and Fluke publishes one for the 110 Series. Set side by side, the Brymen is the tighter instrument on paper for DC volts and line-frequency AC volts, and it resolves far smaller currents. The Fluke's advantages are elsewhere: the analog-style bar graph, a lower continuity threshold that only beeps on a near-dead short, and the paperwork behind the brand.

Brymen BM235
0.2% + 2
Fluke 117
0.5% + 2
Best-case DC volts accuracy, ±% of reading. Lower is better. The BM235 figure is its tightest range; its other ranges are ±(0.3% + 2) or ±(0.4% + 2), all still inside the 117's ±(0.5% + 2).
Brymen BM235
0.1 µA
Fluke 117
1 mA

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Smallest current step on a log scale. The BM235's 600.0 µA range shows 0.1 µA; the 117's 6.000 A range shows 1 mA, a step 10,000 times larger.
BM235, 50–60 Hz
0.7% + 3
Fluke 117, 45–500 Hz
1.0% + 3
BM235, 45–440 Hz
2.0% + 3
AC volts accuracy at 50/60 Hz mains, ±% of reading. Brymen widens its figure to ±(2.0% + 3) across 45 to 440 Hz; Fluke holds ±(1.0% + 3) from 45 to 500 Hz.
Brymen BM235
≈334 g
Fluke 117
550 g
Weight in grams. Brymen's figure includes the holster; Fluke doesn't say whether its 550 g does, so treat the gap as approximate.

What those numbers mean on the job: for checking a 120 V receptacle, either meter is far more accurate than the question needs. A 0.5% error on 120 V is 0.6 V. The gap matters on a 0-10 V control signal or a 4-20 mA loop, where the BM235's mA ranges read loop current directly at 0.01 mA resolution and the 117 can only show whole milliamps on its 6 A range. For furnace flame-sensor current in microamps, only the Brymen has a range at all.

Two kinds of low-impedance input

Both meters fight ghost voltage, the phantom reading a disconnected wire picks up from a live neighbor in the same conduit, by loading the circuit with a low input impedance. They do it differently. Fluke gives one figure for the 117's AutoVolt position: about 3 kΩ. Brymen publishes a curve. Below about 8 V the BM235's AutoV input stays above 8 MΩ, so it doesn't load a low-voltage control circuit. Between 9 V and 50 V it falls to about 2.6 kΩ. Push well past 50 V and it starts near 2.1 kΩ, then climbs within a fraction of a second to about 12 kΩ at 100 V and 240 kΩ at 600 V.

1k10k100k1M10M1 V10 V100 V1000 VVoltage across the leads (log scale)Input impedance, ΩFluke 117 AutoVolt ≈ 3 kΩBM235: above 8 MΩ under ~8 Vrises to 240 kΩ at 600 V≈2.6 kΩ at 50 V
Low-impedance input versus voltage. BM235 values are Brymen's typical figures; the dashed accent line is where the input settles after the first fraction of a second.

Why the rise matters is our arithmetic, not a Brymen statement: at 600 V a 240 kΩ load dissipates about 1.5 W (600² ÷ 240,000), while a fixed 2.1 kΩ would have to absorb more than 170 W. A ghost voltage never gets that far, because the coupled source can't hold its voltage up once the meter loads it, so it collapses while the BM235 is still in its low-impedance region. A real supply holds its voltage and drives the meter up the curve. For a walk-through of the check itself, see why a multimeter shows voltage on a disconnected circuit.

Reading the BM235's safety rating

BM235, BM230 Series catalog

CAT III 600V and CAT IV 300V, 6 kV transient

BM235, product sheet and web page

CAT II 1kV and CAT III 600V

Fluke 117

CAT III 600V, stated consistently

Ratings as published by each maker. Brymen's catalog and product sheet disagree, so we follow the catalog and the meter's markings.

Practical meaning

For household panels and building wiring, both meters carry the CAT III 600V rating you need. The BM235's extra CAT IV 300V rating suits low-voltage service points; neither is a CAT IV 600V meter. Brymen protects the BM235's current inputs with 0.4 A and 11 A, 1000 V HBC fuses rated to interrupt 30 kA and 20 kA.

Who each meter suits

The BM235 is the better instrument for anyone who works across trades. An HVAC technician gets temperature, microamps for flame rectification and capacitance up to 10 mF for run and start capacitors in one meter. A maintenance technician on drives gets a VFD mode with a low-pass filter that reads the fundamental voltage of a PWM motor output, specified at ±(1.0% + 3) from 10 Hz to 100 Hz, a job where an ordinary True RMS input reads the switching noise too.

The 117 is the safer purchase for a working electrician who wants the meter the inspector, the employer and the rental crib already recognize. Its bar graph tracks a drifting reading better than digits alone, its 9V battery lasts about 400 hours, and Fluke's three-year warranty is stated plainly. We have owner-tested the 117; the BM235 assessment here is desk research against Brymen's catalog. Our Fluke 117 review covers the Fluke in depth.

Brymen BM235 vs Fluke 117: which should you buy?

You are…Better fitWhy
Residential or commercial electricianFluke 117Known brand, stated warranty, LoZ and VoltAlert cover daily wiring checks
HVAC technicianBrymen BM235Temperature, µA for flame sensors and capacitance in one meter
Drive and motor maintenanceBrymen BM235VFD mode reads the drive's fundamental voltage and frequency
Controls and 4-20 mA loopsBrymen BM235Dedicated mA ranges at 0.01 mA resolution
Apprentice whose employer specifies FlukeFluke 117Matches what the crew and the tool list expect
Electronics hobbyist who also does house wiringBrymen BM235µA ranges and finer DC accuracy, plus LoZ for mains

If the Fluke appeals but you don't need VoltAlert or LoZ, see Fluke 115 vs Fluke 117. For a shortlist by trade, read our best multimeter for HVAC technicians and best multimeter for electricians guides.

Safety: a beep is not a voltage test

Neither the BM235's EF detection nor the 117's VoltAlert proves a conductor is dead: shielding, distance and DC all hide voltage from a non-contact sensor. Confirm with the test leads on a known live source before and after you test the circuit (live-dead-live). Keep both meters to CAT III 600V work, which covers panels and branch circuits; at the service entrance or meter base, use a CAT IV 600V meter or call a licensed electrician.

Choose the Brymen BM235 if…

  • ✓You service variable-frequency drives and want a dedicated VFD voltage and frequency mode
  • ✓You want temperature, relative zero and µA/mA ranges in the same meter
  • ✓You value features per dollar over brand and US support

Choose the Fluke 117 if…

  • ✓You want the meter most electricians and employers already know and accept
  • ✓You prefer a clear CAT III 600V rating stated consistently by the maker
  • ✓You want a 33-segment bar graph and Fluke's three-year warranty

The bottom line

Choose the Brymen BM235 if you want the most features for the money, especially a VFD mode and temperature, and you're comfortable buying the EEVblog edition with distributor support. Choose the Fluke 117 if you want a consistently documented rating, a three-year warranty and the meter employers and inspectors already trust.

Frequently asked questions

Do both the Brymen BM235 and Fluke 117 have LoZ and NCV?+

Yes. Brymen lists AutoV LoZ and Hi/Lo EF non-contact detection for the BM235, and Fluke lists AutoVolt with a low-impedance input of about 3 kΩ plus VoltAlert for the 117. The Brymen's input impedance changes with the applied voltage, while Fluke quotes a single figure, but both are built to collapse ghost voltage on disconnected wires.

What is the Brymen BM235's CAT rating?+

Brymen's BM230 Series catalog and the meter's own markings give CAT III 600V and CAT IV 300V. Its BM235 product sheet and web page list CAT II 1kV and CAT III 600V instead. Either way it covers CAT III 600V household and panel work, the same as the Fluke 117, and neither is rated CAT IV 600V for service entrances.

Why is the BM235 sold as an EEVblog meter?+

The US Amazon listing we link is titled EEVblog Brymen BM235. It is the Brymen meter sold through that channel, which is how most US buyers get one. Support and warranty run through Brymen's distributors rather than a US service network, so check the seller, the contents and the return terms on the listing before you buy.

Can the Fluke 117 measure a VFD output?+

It can read the True RMS voltage, but Fluke doesn't list a VFD mode or low-pass filter for the 117, so the switching noise on a PWM drive output can inflate the reading. The BM235's VFD mode filters that out and reads the fundamental voltage and frequency, specified at ±(1.0% + 3) from 10 Hz to 100 Hz.

Which meter is better for HVAC work?+

The BM235, for most technicians. It reads Type-K temperature from -40 °C to 400 °C with an included bead probe, has a 600.0 µA range for flame-sensor current and measures capacitance up to 10 mF. Fluke's datasheet puts temperature and microamps on the Fluke 116, not the 117, so the 117 would need extra tools for those checks.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews