Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through the links below, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.
At a glance
Our top picks

Klein Tools MM720
CAT IV 600V, 1000V, LoZ and True RMS at a budget price, the most panel-ready meter in this tier.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
KAIWEETS HT118A
True RMS, CAT III 1000V and µA current with NCV and temperature at a low price.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓
KAIWEETS HT208D
A low-cost 1000 A AC/DC clamp with 1000 V DC, CAT III 1000V, LoZ, VFD and inrush modes.
Check price on Amazon →Why we picked it ↓Also great
- 4
Southwire 16030ACheck pricePrice →Best Waterproof Voltage Checker4.0★★★★☆ - 5Milwaukee 2235-20Check pricePrice →Best Clamp Meter4.6★★★★★
- 6
KAIWEETS HT118ECheck pricePrice →Cheapest 20,000-Count µA Meter4.2★★★★☆ - 7
UNI-T UT139CCheck pricePrice →Best Value Auto-Ranging4.4★★★★☆ - 8
KAIWEETS KM602Check pricePrice →Best Rechargeable Smart Meter4.2★★★★☆ - 9
Klein Tools MM450Check pricePrice →Best Slim True RMS4.5★★★★★ - 10
Klein Tools MM420Check pricePrice →Best Budget Klein True RMS4.5★★★★★
Quick shopping
Compare at a glance
Swipe sideways on mobile to see every spec.
| Model | Award | Rating | Accuracy | Safety rating | Auto-ranging | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
#1Klein Tools MM720 | Best Budget Electrician's Meter | 4.6★★★★★ | True RMS, 6,000-count | CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V | Yes (manual RANGE button) | Check price → |
#2KAIWEETS HT118A | Best Low-Cost True RMS | 4.4★★★★☆ | True RMS, 6,000-count | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes | Check price → |
#3KAIWEETS HT208D | Best Budget AC/DC Clamp | 4.2★★★★☆ | True RMS | CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V | Yes (manual RAN button) | Check price → |
#4Southwire 16030A | Best Waterproof Voltage Checker | 4.0★★★★☆ | True RMS, 4,000-count | CAT IV 600V | Yes (auto-selects AC/DC) | Check price → |
| Best Clamp Meter | 4.6★★★★★ | True RMS | CAT III 600V | Not stated by Milwaukee | Check price → | |
#6KAIWEETS HT118E | Cheapest 20,000-Count µA Meter | 4.2★★★★☆ | ±(0.08%+5) DC V; True RMS not stated | CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V | Yes | Check price → |
#7UNI-T UT139C | Best Value Auto-Ranging | 4.4★★★★☆ | True RMS, 6,000-count | CAT III 600V | Yes | Check price → |
#8KAIWEETS KM602 | Best Rechargeable Smart Meter | 4.2★★★★☆ | True RMS, 6,000-count | CAT III 600V | Yes, plus Smart mode | Check price → |
#9Klein Tools MM450 | Best Slim True RMS | 4.5★★★★★ | True RMS | CAT III 600V | Yes | Check price → |
#10Klein Tools MM420 | Best Budget Klein True RMS | 4.5★★★★★ | True RMS, 4,000-count | CAT III 600V | Yes (manual RANGE button) | Check price → |
In depth
Detailed reviews
Klein Tools MM720
CAT IV 600V, 1000V, LoZ and True RMS at a budget price, the most panel-ready meter in this tier.
Best for:Electricians working panels and feeders
The MM720 is rated CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V and measures up to 1000V AC/DC, with a LoZ mode for ghost voltages. It is True RMS, auto-ranging and 6,000-count, and the reverse-contrast display adjusts itself to the light. Current runs from a 600.0 µA range (0.1 µA) to 10 A. It adds 60 MΩ resistance, capacitance to 6,000 µF, temperature to 1832°F, IP42 and a 2 m drop rating, and a carrying pouch comes in the box. Klein lists no NCV.
Why it fits: First place goes to the one meter here that combines CAT IV 600V, 1000 V AC and DC, LoZ and True RMS with an IP42 case and a 2 m drop rating. Its only gap for electrical work is the missing NCV, and at the time we checked its listing sat a few cents under the $100 cut-off.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, 6,000-count
- Safety rating
- CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual RANGE button)
- Best for
- Electricians working panels and feeders
Reasons to buy
- +CAT IV 600V and 1000V AC/DC
- +LoZ mode for ghost voltages
- +IP42, 2 m drop rating and pouch included
Reasons to avoid
- −Priced at the top of the budget tier
- −No non-contact voltage detection
KAIWEETS HT118A
True RMS, CAT III 1000V and µA current with NCV and temperature at a low price.
Best for:Budget all-rounder for home, car and hobby
The HT118A is a 6,000-count, auto-ranging True RMS meter with an analog bar. KAIWEETS's manual rates it CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V for up to 1000V DC and 750V AC, and current runs from a 600 µA range (0.1 µA) to 10 A. It also measures resistance to 60 MΩ, capacitance, frequency to 10 MHz, duty cycle and temperature, and adds NCV, a Live-wire test, Min/Max, jack lights, a flashlight and a kickstand. KAIWEETS gives a 3-year warranty. Its own product page lists 600V AC/DC, which disagrees with the manual and the meter face.
Why it fits: It ranks second because it brings CAT IV 600V, NCV with a Live-wire test and fused µA-to-10 A ranges at a fraction of the price of the leader, and the display changes color above 80 V as a reminder. It has no LoZ, and KAIWEETS's product page lists a lower maximum voltage than its manual, so check the face of the unit you receive.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, 6,000-count
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes
- Best for
- Budget all-rounder for home, car and hobby
Reasons to buy
- +µA, mA and 10 A ranges
- +NCV, temperature and Min/Max included
- +3-year warranty
Reasons to avoid
- −Maker's product page and manual disagree on max voltage
- −Bulky compared with slim meters
KAIWEETS HT208D
A low-cost 1000 A AC/DC clamp with 1000 V DC, CAT III 1000V, LoZ, VFD and inrush modes.
Best for:Budget DC current and small solar checks
The HT208D clamps AC and DC current to 1000 A and measures DC voltage to 1000 V (AC to 750 V), with a CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V rating. That makes it an affordable way to read DC string current on small solar systems. It adds LoZ, a VFD filter, AC inrush, NCV, temperature to 1000 °C, capacitance and a color 6,000-count display. KAIWEETS doesn't publish resolution figures on its page, the current accuracy is ±(2.5% + 5), and there is no µA range or solar-specific function such as polarity alarm or DC power.
Why it fits: As a clamp, it reads AC or DC current to 1000 A without breaking a circuit, and it adds LoZ, NCV, a VFD filter and AC inrush, all under CAT IV 600V. It sits third because its current accuracy is a fairly loose ±(2.5% + 5) and it has no milliamp ranges for small loads.
- Accuracy
- True RMS
- Safety rating
- CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual RAN button)
- Best for
- Budget DC current and small solar checks
Reasons to buy
- +AC and DC clamp current to 1000 A
- +1000 V DC and CAT III 1000V
- +LoZ, VFD filter, inrush and NCV
Reasons to avoid
- −No µA range or PV-specific functions
- −Resolution not published; ±(2.5% + 5) current accuracy
Southwire 16030A
A rugged CAT IV 600V, IP67 voltage-and-continuity meter that picks AC or DC for you, with no current ranges at all.
Best for:Quick voltage and continuity checks on the job
The 16030A is a simplified True RMS meter for electricians who mostly check voltage. One button cycles between voltage, resistance and continuity. In voltage mode it picks AC or DC itself, and in resistance or continuity it switches to voltage if the circuit is live (above 2.6V). It reads to 600V AC/DC on a 4,000-count backlit display and resistance to 400 kΩ, and it adds a 100-600V non-contact detector, a flashlight and Autohold. The housing is IP67 and the rating is CAT IV 600V. It cannot measure current, capacitance or frequency. Southwire gives a two-year warranty.
Why it fits: This is the toughest voltage checker in the group: CAT IV 600V, an IP67 housing, automatic AC/DC selection and a switch to voltage if you probe a live circuit in resistance mode. It cannot measure current, capacitance or frequency, so it works best alongside a clamp rather than as your only meter.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, 4,000-count
- Safety rating
- CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (auto-selects AC/DC)
- Best for
- Quick voltage and continuity checks on the job
Reasons to buy
- +CAT IV 600V and IP67 waterproof housing
- +Automatic AC/DC selection and Autohold
- +Built-in NCV and flashlight
Reasons to avoid
- −No current, capacitance or frequency measurement
- −Resistance tops out at 400 kΩ
Milwaukee 2235-20
Skip the test leads entirely for current readings — clamp it on and read.
Best for:Quick current checks without disconnecting wiring
A clamp meter measures current without breaking the circuit open, which is faster and safer for everyday electrical troubleshooting. The 2235-20 covers up to 400A AC with a 1-inch jaw opening and the same CAT III 600V and True RMS fundamentals as a good multimeter.
Why it fits: It earns a place for electricians who mostly need branch-circuit and motor current: 400 A AC through a 1-inch jaw, plus 600 V AC/DC and True RMS at CAT III 600V. It cannot read DC amps and has no CAT IV rating.
- Accuracy
- True RMS
- Safety rating
- CAT III 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Not stated by Milwaukee
- Best for
- Quick current checks without disconnecting wiring
Reasons to buy
- +No need to break the circuit to measure current
- +1-inch jaw fits most residential/commercial wiring
- +Backed by Milwaukee's tool ecosystem and reputation
Reasons to avoid
- −Measures AC current only (400A AC); no DC amps
- −Bulkier than a pocket multimeter
KAIWEETS HT118E
A budget 20,000-count meter with a 200 µA range (KAIWEETS doesn't claim True RMS) and no relative mode for low-ohm work.
Best for:Beginner Arduino and µA checks
The HT118E has a 20,000-count display, CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V and a 200 µA range at ±(0.5% + 5 digits) DC. At 20,000 counts that implies 0.01 µA resolution, though KAIWEETS doesn't print it. It covers temperature, capacitance, frequency, NCV and continuity, with lit input jacks and a flashlight. Its 200 Ω range is only ±(1.0% + 15 digits) and KAIWEETS lists no relative mode, so you have to subtract lead resistance yourself. That makes it better for sleep-current checks than for milliohm work.
Why it fits: Its 20,000-count display and CAT IV 600V rating suit controls work where you want an extra digit, and it keeps the NCV, Live test and lit jacks of the HT118A. It ranks below its sibling because the extra resolution matters little on 120/240 V circuits and KAIWEETS lists no relative mode.
- Accuracy
- ±(0.08%+5) DC V; True RMS not stated
- Safety rating
- CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes
- Best for
- Beginner Arduino and µA checks
Reasons to buy
- +200 µA range with 20,000 counts at a budget price
- +CAT III 1000V / CAT IV 600V
- +Lit input jacks, NCV and flashlight
Reasons to avoid
- −No relative mode listed for zeroing test leads
- −Per-range resolution and burden voltage not published
UNI-T UT139C
True RMS and auto-ranging at a price that undercuts most of this list.
Best for:Budget-conscious buyers who still want True RMS
UNI-T's UT139C packs True RMS accuracy, a 6,000-count display, and both auto and manual ranging into one of the more affordable meters here — a strong value pick if you don't need a specific brand name.
Why it fits: A True RMS, CAT III 600V meter with NCV and both automatic and manual ranging makes a sensible spare for the truck. It lacks the CAT IV rating and LoZ of the higher picks, which is why it sits mid-table for panel work.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, 6,000-count
- Safety rating
- CAT III 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes
- Best for
- Budget-conscious buyers who still want True RMS
Reasons to buy
- +True RMS at a budget price
- +Both auto and manual ranging
- +Non-contact voltage detection included
Reasons to avoid
- −Less established brand recognition than Fluke/Klein
- −Build quality is adequate, not rugged
KAIWEETS KM602
A rechargeable True RMS meter whose Smart mode measures voltage, resistance or continuity without turning a dial.
Best for:Beginners who want a no-dial, rechargeable meter
The KM602 starts in Smart mode, where it detects voltage, resistance and continuity on its own, and a FUNC button switches to manual mode. It has a full-screen colour display, 6,000 counts with an analog bar, True RMS, and a built-in 1,200 mAh lithium battery that charges by cable. It measures up to 600V AC/DC, current on 600 mA, 6 A and 10 A ranges (no µA), resistance to 60 MΩ, capacitance, frequency, duty cycle and temperature, and it has NCV, Live, Max/Min/Avg and a flashlight. KAIWEETS's manual rates it CAT III 600V, lower than the 1000V figure on its listing.
Why it fits: Smart mode decides between voltage, resistance and continuity on its own, so checking a row of receptacles goes quickly, and NCV and a Live test are built in. Its manual and meter face say CAT III 600V (the listing claims more), there is no LoZ, and current starts at a 600 mA range.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, 6,000-count
- Safety rating
- CAT III 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes, plus Smart mode
- Best for
- Beginners who want a no-dial, rechargeable meter
Reasons to buy
- +Smart mode plus manual mode
- +Rechargeable, no batteries to buy
- +NCV, temperature and Max/Min/Avg
Reasons to avoid
- −No µA range; smallest current resolution 0.1 mA
- −Listing's CAT IV claim isn't backed by the manual
Klein Tools MM450
A slim, current Klein True RMS meter with a reverse-contrast display and wide temperature range, rated CAT III 600V.
Best for:Home electrical, appliance and HVAC work
The MM450 is Klein's current slim True RMS meter: CAT III 600V, auto-ranging, with a reverse-contrast 4,000-count display that adjusts its own backlight, Lead-Alert lights that show where the test leads belong, and temperature from −40°F to 1832°F. At 258 g and 2.8 cm thick it carries easily, and it is drop-rated to 2 m. It lacks a low-impedance mode and NCV, so it suits home electrical and appliance work more than panel troubleshooting.
Why it fits: The slim 2.8 cm body, Lead-Alert jack lights and a µA-to-10 A current range make it easy to carry on residential service calls. With no LoZ or NCV, and a CAT III 600V rating on the meter (the CAT IV figure on listings refers to the leads), it ranks near the bottom for a panel-focused electrician.
- Accuracy
- True RMS
- Safety rating
- CAT III 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes
- Best for
- Home electrical, appliance and HVAC work
Reasons to buy
- +Slim 2.8 cm body and 258 g
- +Lead-Alert lights guide test lead placement
- +Temperature from −40°F to 1832°F
Reasons to avoid
- −CAT III 600V only (the CAT IV figure on listings is the leads)
- −No low-impedance mode or NCV
- −4,000-count display
Klein Tools MM420
Klein's everyday True RMS, auto-ranging meter: µA to 10 A, temperature and capacitance, rated CAT III 600V.
Best for:Home electrical, HVAC and appliance work
The MM420 is a 4,000-count, True RMS, auto-ranging meter rated CAT III 600V. It measures AC/DC current from a 400.0 µA range (0.1 µA resolution) up to 10 A, resistance to 50 MΩ, capacitance to 400 µF, frequency to 50 kHz and temperature from -40 to 1832°F with the included thermocouple. Lead-Alert lights show which jacks to use, it has Min/Max, a backlight and a 2 m drop rating. There's no LoZ mode or NCV, and Klein rates it for indoor use only.
Why it fits: It covers the basics an electrician needs indoors with True RMS, CAT III 600V, fused current ranges up to 10 A, temperature and a 2 m drop rating. Klein rates it for indoor use only and it has neither LoZ nor NCV, which puts it last here.
- Accuracy
- True RMS, 4,000-count
- Safety rating
- CAT III 600V
- Auto-ranging
- Yes (manual RANGE button)
- Best for
- Home electrical, HVAC and appliance work
Reasons to buy
- +µA, mA and 10 A ranges on AC and DC
- +Temperature, capacitance and frequency included
- +Lead-Alert jack lights help beginners
Reasons to avoid
- −No LoZ mode or non-contact voltage detection
- −CAT III 600V only, not for service-entrance work
Before you buy
Buying advice
Read the rating printed on the meter
Listings for budget meters often quote the highest number they can find. Klein's MM450 listings show CAT IV, but that figure belongs to the supplied leads; the meter is CAT III 600V. KAIWEETS's KM602 manual and printed face say CAT III 600V while the listing claims CAT IV. We used the maker's manual or the marking on the meter in every case, and you should check the unit in your hand the same way.
Decide how you will measure current
Putting a meter in series on a branch circuit means opening the circuit, and a 10 A jack is the ceiling. For motor loads, feeders and tripping breakers a clamp is faster and keeps you out of the circuit. That is why two clamps rank in this top 10. If you already own a clamp, put the money into a CAT IV handheld with LoZ instead.
Prioritize LoZ if you troubleshoot more than you install
Ghost voltage shows up most on long runs, shared conduit and abandoned conductors, which is daily life on service calls. A meter without LoZ forces you to add a load or second-guess readings. The MM720 is the handheld with LoZ in this price range; the HT208D clamp also has it.
Leave room in the budget for leads and a case
Good leads with shrouded tips and a CAT rating that matches the meter are part of the safety system, and a worn lead can undo a well-rated meter. Some picks include extras: the MM720 ships with a pouch and thermocouple, and the HT118A has a kickstand and flashlight. Factor that in before comparing listed prices.
Methodology
How we chose
We filtered our verified multimeter catalog to meters listed under $100 on Amazon.com in October 2026, then ranked them for electrical work: the CAT rating documented by the maker or printed on the meter first, then LoZ, NCV, True RMS and how each one reads current, with toughness as a tie-breaker. This is desk research against maker manuals, product pages and official listings; none of these ten carries our Hands-on Tested badge.
Picks marked "Hands-on Tested" have been bought and tested by us; the rest are desk research. A pick only carries that badge once we have actually bought and tested that unit. More on how we research.
Questions
Frequently asked questions
Can a multimeter under $100 be safe for electrical panel work?+
Yes, provided the meter itself carries a genuine CAT III 600V or better rating and you use leads with at least the same rating. Several meters here, including the Klein MM720 and KAIWEETS HT118A, are rated CAT IV 600V. Price says nothing about safety; the category marking printed on the meter, fused current inputs and leads in good condition are what count.
Do electricians need a low-impedance (LoZ) multimeter?+
It is one of the most useful features for troubleshooting. A normal high-impedance input can show tens of volts on a disconnected conductor that runs beside a live one, and that phantom reading wastes time or causes a wrong call. LoZ puts a small load across the leads so the ghost voltage collapses. Under $100, the Klein MM720 and KAIWEETS HT208D clamp both list it.
Is CAT III enough, or do I need CAT IV?+
CAT III covers distribution panels, feeders, fixed equipment and branch circuits inside a building. CAT IV covers the origin of the installation: the utility service, meter base, overhead drop and outdoor feeders where transients are largest. If you only work downstream of the main breaker, CAT III 600V suffices. If you ever measure at the service entrance, choose a CAT IV 600V meter.
Should an electrician buy a clamp meter or a multimeter first?+
Most electricians end up with both. A multimeter with fused current jacks is better for resistance, continuity, capacitance and low-current readings; a clamp reads load current on a live conductor without breaking the circuit, which is faster and safer for motors and feeders. If you can only buy one under $100, a clamp such as the KAIWEETS HT208D that also reads volts, ohms and LoZ covers more daily work.
Is non-contact voltage detection reliable enough to trust?+
Treat it as a warning light, not proof. NCV senses the electric field around an AC conductor, so shielded cable, DC circuits, a low battery or holding the meter at the wrong angle can all hide a live wire. Use it to spot a hot conductor quickly, then confirm with the test leads, and verify the meter on a known live source before and after testing dead.
Why is the Fluke 117 not on this list?+
It was listed well above $100 on Amazon when we checked in October 2026, so it falls outside this price limit. It remains our Best Overall pick and carries our Hands-on Tested badge. If your budget can stretch, compare it with the meters here; if not, the Klein MM720 matches its CAT III 600V rating and adds the CAT IV 600V rating that the 117 does not carry.






