COMPARISON · SOLDERING IRONS
Pinecil V2 vs TS101 Soldering Iron
Pinecil V2 vs TS101 soldering iron is the classic portable-iron decision: both are smart, OLED-equipped irons that run from USB-C Power Delivery or a DC supply. The Pinecil has a clearly published power ceiling of 88W at 24V; the Miniware TS101 brings motion-sensing sleep, a Boost button and a 65W adapter in its kit, but Miniware's wattage figures conflict.
By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·
Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Pinecil V2
4.7★★★★★USB-C powered and pocket-sized — the rare budget tool that doesn't feel like a compromise.

Miniware TS101
4.4★★★★☆A portable smart iron with an OLED screen, USB-C PD or DC input and TS100 tip compatibility.
Specs side by side
| Pinecil V2 | Miniware TS101 | |
|---|---|---|
| Rating | 4.7★★★★★ | 4.4★★★★☆ |
| Power | Up to 88W at 24V DC; about 60W from 20V USB-C PD | USB-C PD 9–20V or DC 9–24V (65W adapter included) |
| Heat-up time | ~12 seconds (with a 20V+ supply) | Not stated |
| Temperature control | OLED digital display | Digital, OLED, 50–400°C |
| Best for | Portability, field repairs | Portable kits, field repairs |
| USB-C input | PD or QC 3.0, 12–20V, 3A | PD 9–20V (PD3.0) |
| DC input | 12–24V via DC5525 barrel, 3A minimum | 9–24V |
| Maximum power | 88W at 24V; about 60W on 20V PD | Conflicting figures; not stated clearly |
| Temperature range | Not stated by Pine64 | 50–400°C |
| Display | 0.69-inch OLED, 96 × 16 | OLED |
| Sleep / safety | Not stated in Pine64's spec page | Motion-sensing sleep, overheat warning |
| Firmware | IronOS (open source) | Not stated |
| Size / weight | 155 mm with tip; 28 g | Not stated |
| Tips | Pinecil short tips; ST-B2 supplied | TS100-compatible; B2 supplied |
| In the box | Iron (no stand by default) | Iron, B2 tip, 65W USB-C adapter |
Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.
Key differences
- →Pine64 rates the Pinecil V2 up to 88W at 24V; Miniware's TS101 listing gives conflicting wattage, so we can't compare peak power directly.
- →The TS101 accepts lower supply voltages (from 9V) than the Pinecil (from 12V), which helps with small power banks.
- →The Pinecil also accepts Quick Charge 3.0 chargers at 12–20V; the TS101 listing names USB-C PD.
- →The TS101 kit includes a 65W USB-C adapter; the Pinecil is sold as the iron alone, without a stand by default.
- →The TS101 adds a Boost button, motion-sensing sleep and an overheat warning; Pine64's spec page doesn't state these for the Pinecil.
- →The TS101 takes TS100 tips, so existing TS100 owners keep their tip collection.
Power input: what each iron runs from
Portable irons live or die by their power source. A USB-C PD charger is the most convenient supply, but it caps out at 20V, so the highest wattages need a DC supply at 24V. The chart shows the voltage window each maker publishes.
Pine64 adds two cautions worth knowing before you buy a supply. Use only one power port at a time, and use a DC5525 barrel plug: a DC5521 plug, the more common size on cheap adapters, will damage the socket. Pine64 also lists 28V USB PD EPR chargers as theoretically supported, but marks it tentative, so don't plan around it.
Pinecil V2 vs TS101 spec by spec
With Miniware's wattage unclear, the fairest power comparison is what each supply can deliver. A supply's ceiling is its voltage times its current limit, and the iron can never draw more than that, whatever its own rating says.
The arithmetic shows why both irons feel sluggish on a weak supply: 12 V at 3 A is 36 W at most, a little over half of what a 20 V charger allows. Pine64's 88 W figure is for 24 V at the barrel jack; 24 × 3 is 72, so that rating implies the 24 V supply can provide more than the 3 A minimum Pine64 lists. If your work is mostly small through-hole and SMD joints, 60 W on a good PD charger is plenty for either.
| Spec | Pinecil V2 | Miniware TS101 |
|---|---|---|
| USB-C PD voltage | 12–20 V | 9–20 V |
| Quick Charge 3.0 | Yes, 12–20 V | Not stated |
| DC barrel voltage | 12–24 V (DC5525) | 9–24 V |
| Published max power | 88 W at 24 V | Conflicting; not quoted |
| Heat-up time | About 12 s on 20 V or more | Not stated |
| Temperature range | Not stated | 50–400 °C |
| Display | 0.69-inch OLED | OLED |
| Weight with tip | 28 g | Not stated |
| Supplied tip | ST-B2 short tip | B2 |
| Charger included | No | Yes, 65 W USB-C |
How USB-C PD decides your wattage
A USB-C port starts at 5 V, which is below the minimum of both irons. With Power Delivery, the charger first advertises the voltages it can supply, the iron asks for the highest one it accepts, and only then does the full voltage arrive. A phone charger that tops out at 9 V will run the TS101 but not the Pinecil; one that offers 20 V at 3 A lets either iron work at its best on USB.
01
Check the charger label
Look for 20V⎓3A (60 W) or more
02
Check the cable
Must carry 3 A; cheap cables may not
03
Plug in the iron
It negotiates the highest voltage it accepts
04
Read the OLED
Both show status on screen
Use cases: where each iron fits
The Pinecil V2 suits makers who already have a capable USB-C laptop charger or a 24 V bench supply. It is tiny, 28 g with its tip, and its open IronOS firmware is community maintained. Pine64's published 88 W ceiling gives it real headroom on ground planes and heavier wire when fed from 24 V DC. The trade-offs are that nothing else comes in the box, not even a stand, and Pine64's Amazon listing still describes the original Pinecil, so check which version you're getting.
The TS101 suits someone starting from scratch or packing a field kit. The 65 W adapter means no charger hunt, motion-sensing sleep lets the iron idle when it stops moving, and the Boost button is there for the odd stubborn joint. Owners of a TS100 can move their tips straight across. Its weak spot is documentation: Miniware's wattage figures conflict, so power claims are hard to pin down.
| Situation | Better fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You own a 65W+ USB-C PD charger | Pinecil V2 | Buy the iron alone and use your charger |
| You want one box with a charger | Miniware TS101 | Kit includes a 65W USB-C adapter |
| You need maximum heat for big joints | Pinecil V2 | 88W at 24V is published; TS101's figure isn't clear |
| You run from small power banks | Miniware TS101 | Accepts PD down to 9V |
| You already own TS100 tips | Miniware TS101 | TS100 tips fit |
| You want open, updatable firmware | Pinecil V2 | Runs the open-source IronOS |
| You leave the iron on the bench between joints | Miniware TS101 | Motion-sensing sleep is listed |
A note on wattage
Safety: a 400 °C tip in a pocket-sized body
Choose the Pinecil V2 if…
- ✓You want a clearly stated power ceiling: up to 88W from a 24V DC supply
- ✓You already own a USB-C PD charger or power bank and want the iron alone
- ✓You value fast heat-up, about 12 seconds on a 20V or higher supply
Choose the Miniware TS101 if…
- ✓You want a power adapter in the box: this kit includes a 65W USB-C charger
- ✓You want motion-sensing sleep, an overheat warning and a Boost button
- ✓You already own TS100 tips, which fit the TS101
The bottom line
Buy the Pinecil V2 if you already have a good USB-C PD charger or a 24V supply and want the clearest published power ceiling. Buy the Miniware TS101 if you want a complete kit with its own 65W adapter, motion-sensing sleep, or you already own TS100 tips.
Frequently asked questions
Is the TS101 more powerful than the Pinecil V2?+
We can't say. Pine64 states up to 88W at 24V for the Pinecil V2, while Miniware's TS101 listing gives conflicting figures, so we don't quote a TS101 wattage. On a 20V, 3A USB-C PD charger both are limited to about 60W by the charger itself, which makes them broadly comparable on USB power.
Do TS100 tips fit the TS101?+
Yes. Miniware's listing says TS100 accessories, including tips, are compatible with the TS101, so a TS100 owner can upgrade without rebuying a tip set. The Pinecil V2 uses its own short tips; Pine64's spec page lists the supplied ST-B2 tip but doesn't name TS100 compatibility, so check before buying tips for it.
Can I run either iron from a power bank?+
Yes, if the power bank supports USB-C Power Delivery at a suitable voltage. The TS101 accepts PD from 9V and the Pinecil from 12V, and higher voltages give more heat. A bank that offers 20V at 3A supplies up to 60W, while a 12V-only bank caps either iron at about 36W.
Does either iron come with a stand?+
The Pinecil V2 doesn't include a stand by default, so budget for one. The TS101 kit on Amazon includes the iron, a B2 tip and a 65W adapter; check the current listing photos and contents for a stand. A stable stand matters with both, because a tiny iron can roll off a bench.
Which is better for a beginner?+
The TS101 kit is simpler to start with because the charger is included and motion-sensing sleep protects the tip. If you already have a capable USB-C laptop charger, the Pinecil V2 is the more economical way in. Either needs a stand, solder and flux; our best soldering iron for beginners guide covers the rest.
Related



