COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Fluke 787B vs Fluke 789: Which ProcessMeter Is Better?

The Fluke 789 is the better ProcessMeter if you ever work on 2-wire transmitters away from a powered panel: Fluke's data sheet lists a 24 V loop power supply and a HART mode that adds a 250 Ω resistor as 789-only features. Everything else Fluke publishes is shared. Both are 1000 V True RMS multimeters with the same accuracy table, both source or simulate 0–20 or 4–20 mA at 0.05% of span with 1,200 Ω drive, and both share the step and ramp modes, CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V rating, battery life and 3-year warranty. If you only feed signals into PLC inputs and valves, the 787B does that job.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Fluke 789 ProcessMeter with dual display and mA output controls, front view
Best for 4-20 mA Loops

Fluke 789

4.7★★★★★

A full multimeter that also sources, simulates and powers 4-20 mA loops, with 0.001 mA resolution.

Fluke 787B ProcessMeter showing the 0-24 mA source and simulate output, front view
Best mA Source Without the 789's Price

Fluke 787B

4.6★★★★★

A True RMS ProcessMeter that measures, sources and simulates 0-20 or 4-20 mA, without the 789's built-in loop supply.

Specs side by side

Fluke 789Fluke 787B
Rating4.7★★★★★4.6★★★★★
AccuracyTrue RMS AC volts; 0.05% DC mATrue RMS; 0.05% of span mA source
Safety ratingCAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000VCAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V
Auto-rangingYes (manual RANGE)Yes (manual RANGE)
Best forInstrument techs: 4-20 mA loops and transmittersSourcing and simulating 4-20 mA signals
24 V loop power supply YesNo (data sheet: 789 only)
HART 250 Ω resistorYes, switched in with loop powerNot listed
mA source0–20 / 4–20 mA, to 24 mA; 0.05% of span0–20 / 4–20 mA, to 24 mA; 0.05% of span
Source drive24 V compliance or 1,200 Ω at 20 mA24 V compliance or 1,200 Ω at 20 mA
mA simulateExternal 15–48 V supply, 1000 Ω at 20 mAExternal 15–48 V supply, 1000 Ω at 20 mA
mA measure30.000 mA, 0.05% + 230.000 mA, 0.05% + 2
Step / rampCoarse, fine, 25%, 100%; auto step, slow and fast rampSame
DC volts / AC volts0.1% + 1 / 0.7% + 2 True RMS, to 1000 V0.1% + 1 / 0.7% + 2 True RMS, to 1000 V
Current input1 A (0.44 A continuous)1 A (0.44 A continuous)
DisplayDual, two backlight levelsBacklit (details not stated)
Fluke ConnectWith optional IR3000FC moduleNot stated
Battery life140 h measuring; 10 h sourcing140 h measuring; 10 h sourcing
Weight610 g (product page) / 600 g (data sheet)600 g
Warranty3 years3 years

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →Loop power: Fluke's data sheet lists the 24 V loop power supply as 789 only, so the 789 can power a 2-wire transmitter by itself.
  • →HART: the 789 has a HART mode that adds a 250 Ω resistor in series with its loop supply; Fluke lists nothing similar for the 787B.
  • →Display and logging: Fluke's 789 page describes a dual display with two backlight levels and optional Fluke Connect logging through an IR3000FC module; the 787B page says only "backlit display".
  • →Identical in the shared spec table: every DMM range and accuracy, the 30 mA measure range, source and simulate accuracy and drive, step and ramp modes, battery life, size, drop rating and safety rating.

Two ProcessMeters, one spec table

Fluke sells these as a pair and describes the split in one sentence of its data sheet: whether you only need to source and simulate mA, or need a 24 V loop power supply, there is a ProcessMeter for you. The data sheet then prints a single accuracy table for both models and a short list headed "789 additional features" with two entries, the loop supply and the HART resistor. That is the whole difference in measuring and output capability.

789: powers the loop

Built-in 24 V supply runs a 2-wire transmitter with nothing else.

789: HART-ready

Selectable internal 250 Ω resistor for a HART communicator.

Both: source

0–20 or 4–20 mA at 0.05% of span, 1,200 Ω at 20 mA.

Both: simulate

Act as a transmitter in a loop powered by a 15–48 V supply.

Both: full DMM

1000 V True RMS, 30 mA range at 0.05% + 2, 1 A input.

Both: rating

CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V, 1 m drop, 3-year warranty.

We haven't hands-on tested either ProcessMeter. The 4.7 for the 789 and 4.6 for the 787B come from desk research, and every number on this page is from Fluke's data sheet, the two product pages, the 789 manual or the official Amazon listings. Both Amazon offers were from third-party sellers when we checked.

Fluke 787B vs 789 spec by spec

SpecFluke 789Fluke 787BSame?
24 V loop supplyYesNo789 only
HART 250 Ω resistorYesNot listed789 only
mA source range0–20 or 4–20 mA, to 24 mA0–20 or 4–20 mA, to 24 mASame
Source accuracy0.05% of span0.05% of spanSame
Source drive24 V compliance or 1,200 Ω at 20 mA24 V compliance or 1,200 Ω at 20 mASame
Simulate1000 Ω at 20 mA, external 15–48 V1000 Ω at 20 mA, external 15–48 VSame
mA and % of span togetherYesYesSame
Step / rampCoarse, fine, 25%, 100%; auto step, slow and fast rampSame setSame
mA measure30.000 mA, 0.05% + 230.000 mA, 0.05% + 2Same
DC volts400.0 mV to 1000 V, 0.1% + 1400.0 mV to 1000 V, 0.1% + 1Same
AC volts (True RMS)0.7% + 20.7% + 2Same
Amps1.000 A (0.440 A continuous)1.000 A (0.440 A continuous)Same
Resistance400.0 Ω to 40 MΩ, 0.2% + 1400.0 Ω to 40 MΩ, 0.2% + 1Same
Frequency0.5 Hz to 20 kHz, 0.005% + 10.5 Hz to 20 kHz, 0.005% + 1Same
DisplayDual, two backlight levelsBacklit789 more detailed
Fluke ConnectOptional IR3000FCNot stated789
Battery4 × AA; 140 h measure; 10 h source4 × AA; 140 h measure; 10 h sourceSame
Operating range / drop−20 to 55 °C / 1 m−20 to 55 °C / 1 mSame
Safety ratingCAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000VCAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000VSame
Fluke 787B setup
3: meter, supply, resistor
Fluke 789 setup
1: the 789
Pieces of equipment needed to power and talk to a bench HART transmitter, besides the communicator.
Measuring
140 h
Sourcing 12 mA
10 h
Typical battery life on four AA cells, per Fluke's data sheet. Identical for both models.

Fluke's 789 product page gives the sourcing figure at 20 mA instead of 12 mA, and its weight as 610 g instead of the data sheet's 600 g; neither changes the comparison. Source accuracy works out the same on both: 0.05% of a 16 mA span (4–20 mA) is ±0.008 mA, and on the 0–20 mA span it is ±0.010 mA.

One line on Fluke's 787B page to read carefully

The 787B product page has a feature bullet that says "Measure/Source/Simulate loop currents while powering the loop". Its own spec table lists no loop supply, and Fluke's joint data sheet marks the 24 V loop power supply as "789 only". We follow the data sheet: the 787B can drive a passive input from its internal source, but it can't power a 2-wire transmitter.

Powering a transmitter on the bench

A 2-wire transmitter takes its power from the same pair of wires that carries its 4–20 mA signal, so it needs a DC supply in the loop before it outputs anything. In a plant, that supply lives in the control system. On a bench, in a shop, or when a new instrument arrives before the panel is energized, it doesn't exist yet, and that is the moment the two ProcessMeters part ways.

With a 787B: three itemsWith a 789: one item24 V DCexternal250 Ωloose resistor787BmA measureTransmitter2-wire, HARTHART communicator across 250 Ω78924 V + 250 Ω insideTransmitter2-wire, HARTHART communicator789 shows mA and % of spanArrangement per Fluke's data sheet and 789 manual; follow your transmitter's wiring guide.
Bench check of a HART transmitter with each meter. The 789 replaces the supply and the resistor.

With a 787B you wire a separate 24 V supply, a 250 Ω resistor and the 787B on its mA measure range in series with the transmitter, then clip the HART communicator across the resistor. With a 789 you connect the transmitter to the meter, select loop power, and switch in the internal 250 Ω resistor; the 789 supplies the loop and reads the current the transmitter draws, with % of span on the second line of the display.

The resistor costs voltage, so check the budget. At 20 mA, 250 Ω drops 250 × 0.020 = 5 V, leaving about 19 V of a 24 V supply for the transmitter and the test leads. At 4 mA the drop is only 1 V. Most 2-wire transmitters need somewhere around 10 to 12 V at their terminals to operate, but that figure varies by model, so confirm the minimum supply voltage in your transmitter's data sheet before relying on either setup.

Loop supply
24 V
Across 250 Ω at 20 mA
5 V
Left for transmitter
≈19 V
Voltage budget at 20 mA on a 24 V loop with the 250 Ω HART resistor in. Worked arithmetic.

Jobs where the 787B is all you need

Much loop work never touches a transmitter's power. Sourcing 4, 12 and 20 mA into a PLC or DCS analog input to check scaling and alarms uses the internal source, which both meters drive into up to 1,200 Ω. Stroking a valve through an I/P converter or positioner is the same. Simulating a transmitter inside a live loop, so you can check the wiring and the input card with the field device disconnected, uses the plant's own 15–48 V supply, which both meters accept. Reading loop current in series, with % of span alongside, is also identical.

TaskFluke 787BFluke 789
Source 4–20 mA into a PLC inputYesYes
Stroke a valve via I/P or positionerYesYes
Simulate a transmitter in a powered loopYesYes
Measure loop current, mA and %YesYes
Power a 2-wire transmitter aloneNeeds external supplyYes, 24 V
HART communication on the benchNeeds supply and 250 Ω resistorYes, internal resistor
Check 120 V control power or a 24 V DC railYes, to 1000 VYes, to 1000 V

For a side-by-side of the 789 against a pure industrial multimeter, including its 440 mA current limit, see Fluke 789 vs Fluke 87V. For clamp-on loop testers and other options, see our best multimeters for 4–20 mA loop testing guide.

Fluke 787B vs 789: which should you buy?

You are…BuyWhy
Instrument tech commissioning new transmittersFluke 789Powers and HART-connects them without extra kit
Calibration shop with a bench supply and resistorFluke 787BSame accuracy; bench already has the loop power
PLC or controls technician checking analog inputsFluke 787BSource and simulate are identical
Valve and positioner technicianFluke 787BSourcing into an I/P is the same on both
Field tech covering remote skids and wellheadsFluke 789One tool can power a transmitter anywhere
Team that logs results to Fluke ConnectFluke 789IR3000FC option listed only for the 789

If your loop work is mostly troubleshooting live loops without breaking them, a mA clamp may suit you better than either; the 4–20 mA guide above compares those. For general electrical work the full best multimeters roundup is the place to start, and our walkthrough on measuring milliamps with a multimeter covers series connections.

Safety: loop wiring often shares a cabinet with mains

4–20 mA loops run at 24 V, but the terminal strips and marshalling cabinets they pass through often carry 120 V or higher control power. Both ProcessMeters are rated CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V; use leads rated to match, and choose the dial position and output mode before the leads touch anything, so the meter is never sourcing into a circuit you meant only to measure. Breaking a loop to measure in series can drive a valve or trip a shutdown, so get the operator's permission and put the loop in manual or bypass first. In hazardous (classified) areas, use only equipment and permits your site allows; neither meter is described by Fluke as intrinsically safe.

Choose the Fluke 789 if…

  • ✓You bench-test, configure or commission 2-wire transmitters and want the meter to power them
  • ✓You use a HART communicator and don't want to carry a loose 250 Ω resistor and a separate supply
  • ✓You want the two-level backlight and the optional IR3000FC Fluke Connect logging Fluke lists for the 789

Choose the Fluke 787B if…

  • ✓Your mA work is sourcing into PLC analog inputs, I/P converters and valve positioners
  • ✓You simulate transmitters inside live loops that already have a 15–48 V control-system supply
  • ✓You don't use HART, or you already carry a loop supply and resistor in your kit

The bottom line

Buy the Fluke 789 if you work on 2-wire transmitters away from a powered control panel or use HART: its built-in 24 V loop supply and switchable 250 Ω resistor replace a separate supply and resistor. Buy the Fluke 787B if your mA work is sourcing into PLC inputs and valves or simulating transmitters in live loops; Fluke publishes identical measurement, source and simulate specs, safety rating, battery life and warranty for both.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the Fluke 787B and 789?+

Fluke's joint data sheet lists two 789-only features: a 24 V loop power supply and a HART mode that adds a 250 Ω resistor. Everything in the spec table is shared, including DMM accuracy, the 30 mA range, 0.05%-of-span source and simulate, 1,200 Ω drive, step and ramp modes, battery life and the CAT IV 600V / CAT III 1000V rating.

Can the Fluke 787B power a 4-20 mA transmitter?+

No. Fluke's data sheet marks the 24 V loop power supply as 789 only, even though one bullet on the 787B product page mentions powering the loop. The 787B can source current into passive inputs and simulate a transmitter in a loop that already has a 15–48 V supply, but a 2-wire transmitter on the bench needs an external supply.

Does the Fluke 787B have a HART resistor?+

Fluke doesn't list one. The HART mode, which switches a 250 Ω resistor in series with the loop supply, is listed only for the 789. With a 787B, carry a separate 250 Ω resistor and a supply when you need a HART communicator to talk to a transmitter that isn't in a powered loop.

Are the Fluke 787B and 789 equally accurate?+

Yes, according to Fluke's single spec table: DC volts 0.1% + 1, True RMS AC volts 0.7% + 2, the 30.000 mA range at 0.05% + 2, resistance 0.2% + 1, and source and simulate at 0.05% of span. On a 4–20 mA span, 0.05% works out to ±0.008 mA from either meter.

How long do the batteries last on the 787B and 789?+

Fluke's data sheet gives the same figures for both: about 140 hours measuring and about 10 hours sourcing 12 mA, on four AA cells. Fluke's 789 page quotes the 10 hours at 20 mA. Simulating draws on the loop's own supply, so on a long commissioning day, simulate rather than source wherever the plant supply is available.

Can either ProcessMeter measure motor current?+

Only small currents. Both have a 1.000 A range rated 0.440 A continuous and no 10 A input, so motor, heater and contactor currents need a clamp meter. Both still measure AC and DC volts to 1000 V as True RMS, which covers control power and supply checks inside a panel.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews