COMPARISON · MULTIMETERS

Extech EX330 vs UNI-T UT139C

The Extech EX330 vs UNI-T UT139C choice comes down to size against accuracy on modern loads. Both are auto-ranging CAT III 600V meters with built-in non-contact voltage detection, temperature, frequency and duty cycle. The EX330 is smaller and lighter; the UT139C is True RMS, has a 6,000-count display, adds manual ranging and publishes its accuracy, while Extech states no True RMS for the EX330.

By the OhmSavvy Research Team ·

Disclosure: OhmSavvy earns a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. How we're funded.

Extech EX330 compact auto-ranging multimeter with NCV, front view
Best Compact

Extech EX330

4.2★★★★☆

A genuinely pocket-sized meter with a non-contact voltage detector built in.

UNI-T UT139C True RMS 6,000-count multimeter, front view
Best Value Auto-Ranging

UNI-T UT139C

4.4★★★★☆

True RMS and auto-ranging at a price that undercuts most of this list.

Specs side by side

Extech EX330UNI-T UT139C
Rating4.2★★★★☆4.4★★★★☆
AccuracyAuto-ranging (True RMS not stated)True RMS, 6,000-count
Safety ratingCAT III 600VCAT III 600V
Auto-ranging Yes Yes
Best forQuick checks, pocket carryBudget-conscious buyers who still want True RMS
Display4,000 counts6,000 counts, backlit
RangingAutoAuto and manual
DC volts accuracyNot stated on Extech's page±(0.5% + 2)
AC volts accuracyNot stated on Extech's page±(0.8% + 3), 45 Hz–1 kHz
Current0.1 µA to 10 A AC/DC10 A range AC/DC
ResistanceTo 40 MΩTo 60 MΩ
CapacitanceTo 200 µFTo 99.99 mF
FrequencyTo 10 MHz10 Hz to 10 MHz
Temperature-20 to 750 °C (Type K)-40 to 1000 °C (probe included)
NCV100 to 600 V AC Yes
Other CAT ratingCAT II 1000VNone listed beyond CAT III 600V
Size / weight147 × 76 × 42 mm, 260 g170 × 80 × 48 mm, 354 g
Batteries2 × AAA2 × AA (R6)
Warranty2 yearsNot stated

Specs checked against manufacturer documentation and official Amazon listings. Desk research, not bench testing. How we research.

Key differences

  • →UNI-T lists the UT139C as True RMS; Extech's EX330 page and datasheet make no True RMS claim, so expect it to misread distorted AC.
  • →The UT139C has a 6,000-count display against the EX330's 4,000 counts, which keeps finer resolution between 4 and 6 on each range.
  • →Only the UT139C offers manual ranging, plus MAX/MIN and relative modes.
  • →The EX330 is 94 g lighter and smaller in every dimension, and its current input reaches down to 0.1 µA resolution.
  • →UNI-T's capacitance range runs to 99.99 mF against Extech's 200 µF, enough for large motor-run and filter capacitors.
  • →Both are CAT III 600V with built-in NCV; Extech adds a CAT II 1000V rating.

EX330 vs UT139C spec by spec

Both makers publish ranges, but only UNI-T publishes accuracy on its product page. The function lists are close: both read volts, amps, ohms, capacitance, frequency, duty cycle, temperature, continuity and diodes, and both have NCV. The differences are display resolution, the True RMS claim, range limits and size.

Extech EX330
4,000
UNI-T UT139C
6,000
Display counts, per Extech and UNI-T. More counts keep finer resolution near the top of each range.
Extech EX330
260 g
UNI-T UT139C
354 g
Weight in grams, per each maker. Lighter carries easier.
Extech EX330
200 µF
UNI-T UT139C
99.99 mF

Bars use a logarithmic scale: each step is ten times the last.

Top capacitance range in µF, log scale. The UT139C reads about 500 times higher.
Extech EX330
750 °C
UNI-T UT139C
1,000 °C
Highest Type K temperature reading, °C, per each maker.

What 2,000 extra counts mean in practice: on common range steps, a 4,000-count meter tops out at 3.999 V on its lowest volts range, so a 5 V USB rail pushes it to the next range with 10 mV steps. A 6,000-count meter keeps 5 V on its 6 V range with 1 mV steps. That is worked arithmetic on typical range steps rather than a published range table, but it is why 6,000 counts help on 5 V logic and 4.2 V lithium cells.

Why True RMS matters on dimmers and drives

A meter without True RMS usually rectifies the AC, takes the average and multiplies by about 1.11, the ratio between RMS and average for a pure sine. On a clean outlet that gives the right number. On a waveform that isn't a sine, the ratio changes and the reading drifts. For a square wave the true ratio is 1.0, so a sine-scaled meter reads roughly 11% high; on chopped or spiky waveforms it typically reads low.

Clean sineBoth meter types read it rightPhase-cut (dimmer)Only True RMS stays accurate
A clean sine and a phase-cut dimmer waveform. The fixed 1.11 factor only fits the left one.

UNI-T lists the UT139C as True RMS over 45 Hz to 1 kHz, so it computes the heating value of the waveform itself. Extech doesn't make that claim for the EX330, so on dimmers, LED drivers, variable-speed drives and the output of many inverters, treat its AC reading as approximate. For more True RMS options at a budget price, see our best budget True RMS multimeters.

What Extech doesn't publish

Extech's EX330 page lists ranges, display counts and safety ratings but no accuracy figures and no True RMS statement. We mark those cells "Not stated" instead of borrowing figures from other Extech models. The UT139C's accuracy numbers come straight from UNI-T's series table.

Extech EX330 vs UNI-T UT139C: which should you buy?

You are…Better fitWhy
Homeowner checking outlets and breakersEitherBoth are CAT III 600V with NCV; mains is a clean sine
Installing dimmers or LED lightingUNI-T UT139CTrue RMS reads phase-cut waveforms correctly
HVAC tech checking run capacitorsUNI-T UT139CCapacitance far beyond 200 µF and higher temperature range
Electronics hobbyist on 5 V and 3.3 V boardsUNI-T UT139C6,000 counts keep 1 mV steps at 5 V
Measuring standby current on small gadgetsExtech EX330Current input resolves down to 0.1 µA
Wants a glovebox or jacket-pocket meterExtech EX330Smaller and 94 g lighter
First and only meterUNI-T UT139CTrue RMS, manual ranging and published accuracy

Both suit household work; our best multimeter for home use guide ranks them against other picks, and the multimeter buying guide explains counts, CAT ratings and True RMS in more depth.

Safety: NCV finds voltage, it doesn't prove a wire is dead

The non-contact detectors on both meters sense the AC field around a live conductor, and they can stay silent on shielded cable, through thick insulation or on DC. Before touching a conductor, confirm with the test leads on a known live source, test the circuit, then re-check the known source. Both meters stop at CAT III 600V, so keep them away from the service drop and meter base; that work belongs to an electrician or the utility.

Choose the Extech EX330 if…

  • ✓You want a meter small enough for a jacket pocket or glovebox: 147 × 76 × 42 mm, 260 g
  • ✓You mostly check outlets, batteries and continuity, where True RMS rarely changes the answer
  • ✓You want microamp resolution on the current input for small electronics

Choose the UNI-T UT139C if…

  • ✓You measure AC on dimmers, LED drivers, motor drives or switching supplies
  • ✓You want a 6,000-count display and the option to lock a range manually
  • ✓You want published accuracy figures and MAX/MIN/REL modes in one budget meter

The bottom line

Unless pocket size is the deciding factor, the UNI-T UT139C gives you more measurement capability: True RMS, 6,000 counts, manual ranging and published accuracy, at a budget price. The Extech EX330 makes sense as an everyday-carry meter for quick checks on outlets, batteries and cars, or when you want microamp resolution in a small body.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Extech EX330 True RMS?+

Extech doesn't list it as True RMS. Its product page covers autoranging, NCV, Type K temperature, capacitance, frequency and duty cycle, with no True RMS claim and no accuracy table. Treat its readings on non-sinusoidal AC, such as dimmers and motor drives, with caution. The UNI-T UT139C is listed as True RMS.

Does the UNI-T UT139C have LoZ?+

No. UNI-T lists a low-impedance AC voltage function for the UT139E and UT139S in the same series, not the UT139C. Without LoZ, a disconnected wire running beside a live one can show a phantom voltage, so confirm suspect readings with a known load or a meter that has a LoZ mode.

What batteries do the EX330 and UT139C use?+

Extech lists two AAA batteries for the EX330. UNI-T lists two 1.5 V R6 cells, the IEC name for AA, for the UT139C. AA cells hold more energy than AAA, which partly explains the UT139C's larger body. Neither maker publishes a battery-life figure on the pages we checked.

Can either meter test a motor-run capacitor?+

Both can on small capacitors. Typical motor-run capacitors fall in the single to double-digit microfarad range, inside both meters' limits. The difference shows on large start or filter capacitors: Extech's range stops at 200 µF, while UNI-T's reaches 99.99 mF. Always discharge a capacitor safely before measuring it.

Which is better for automotive work, the EX330 or the UT139C?+

Both read battery voltage, continuity, duty cycle and frequency, which covers most basic car checks. The UT139C's 6,000 counts give finer resolution on a 12.6 V battery reading, and its MAX/MIN mode helps catch cranking voltage dips. The EX330's small size suits a glovebox. Neither has RPM or dwell modes.

Related

More multimeter guides and reviews